Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

theanswer
post Nov 7 2018, 03:17 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Nov 6 2018, 10:55 PM)
no such thing on civic turbo. even the new CRV is using the same engine. very sure on honda reliability on engines.
so far no prob on the engine. but other stuff like aircond..fittings..rattling issue.
theanswer
post Nov 7 2018, 03:24 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(chinteck79 @ Nov 6 2018, 10:45 PM)
New camry is same engine so not exciting but new platform. Heard the handling will be good. Very good they say
this one i'd wait for ckd hybrid version..might be cheaper.
MeToo
post Nov 7 2018, 06:12 PM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(I.Am.Bryan @ Nov 6 2018, 09:59 AM)
Hi all

after read a few reviews, the 2.0 seems to be more value for money. but questions linger on my mind

a) is 2.0 under powered?
b) honda sensing really worth it?
c) fuel consumption?

use it for daily commute to work and weekend with family (wife and 2 primary school kids)

thanks all.
NEW Camry out alrdy.

Why bother looking at Accord.... new accord was launched overseas in 2017.... until today Honda Malaysia still trying to clear old stock of Accord to water fishes..
BigMan123
post Nov 7 2018, 06:14 PM

2,426 posts

Drive previous gen accord 2.0. Like what you said, not underpowered but taking off has some lag. Once you are up to speed, it’s a non issue
6UE5T
post Nov 7 2018, 07:00 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(DM54 @ Nov 7 2018, 06:09 PM)
I agree u with this, If people dont really need space and comfort, civic turbo is the best option. But if space needed especially frequent long distance drive, maybe force to take accord 2.0.
As I had test drove both model, I want to correct people mistake and myth here:

A) 155hp 2.0 not underpowered at all, in fact it is just nice, while 2.4 felt just a little bit umphh, but still both car not fast, if ts pick 2.4 and feel it will way more faster than 2.0, then it is not going to happen. As I had pedal to the metal both car(thanks I got connection inside), 2.4 got 9.5 second, while 2.0 got 10.5 second. 1 second only  doh.gif

If see on paper, people will said, walaweh, 2.4 wayyyy more power bro, more 19hp and 32nm of torque as compared to 2.0 (155hp vs 174hp, 190nm vs 222nm), but that power I believe wasted to 18inch rims(235/45/r18), as opposed to 2.0 17inch rims(225/50/r17), as I dont really felt noticeable power gain, not that obvious, or that 19hp and 32nm torque too small to felt. If ts drive biasa2 and not doing real hard acceleration, the power differences not felt at all.

This one ts, must test drive both. If u can feel the difference, then it is good, as I had trash both car a lot, just not do high speed cruising, maybe high speed cruising can felt when needle touch 180km/h. I also dont know. But if u want power, I still felt honda 2.4 not that great. Test drive it and u will know, only suitable for cruise. If want fast, Take vw passat la, really umphhhh.

B) Honda sensing damn important bro. No brainer not getting it.

C) R20 engine sohc vs K24 dohc earth dreams engine, 17inch rims vs 18inch rims. Depends on ts what road he use. If 100% highway with climb here and there, then k24 maybe more jimat, but if ts drive mixed cycyle involve city, start and stop traffic, goes highway, r20 will be more jimat, since r20 indeed be made for fuel efficiency while k24 is for performance. R20 is not underpowered at all, it just nice for fuel efficiency on town.

In the end ts. best is getting 2.4 la, if budget permit why not. 2.4 getting more respect since roadtax more expensive and malaysia people myth that perceive it is a wayyyy more powerful car than 2.0(while it is not). People might be less brave to cucuk u after see 2.4 emblem. That myth is a good things right since people mindset already instill 2.4, what a monstrous car.lol.

Only 2.4 downside is tyre freaking expensive liao. My camry 2.4, 215/55r17 already fetch 500 per piece for a set of michelin ps4. If 18inch rims at least la must be rm650 per piece for p4. Crazy bro. Lol. Unless u getting rovelo. Just kidding, please dont get that tyre for the sake of safety. But I see a lot of vellfire/mazda 6 2.5 use that kind of tyre. Really facepalm.
The reviewers are rights, 2.0 tuned for city driving. Not more power, but more responsiveness at lower rpm. Since it felt more responsiveness, people will press the throttle lighter during traffic jams and stop and go traffic. R series engine indeed be made efficiency at city driving, while k24 eath dreams engine be made for highway drive.

Very difference characteristics setting by engineer for both engine.

18inch indeed pricy la. My camry under 2 years, tyre must finished, same goes to other heavy d segment sedan such as mazda 6, accord, teana, passat. If drive hardcore on highway, prepare to burn wallet just for changing 4 tyres at once frequently. Lol.
The reason I said underpowered is not because I think the 2.4 is very powerful. To the contrary, it's because like you said, even the 2.4 is also still slow! So the 2.0 is even worse. 😂 I agree also with the 18' with that 235/45/18 tires, they're not necessary for that slow car. If I were to have that car, I'd downsize it to 17' lighweight rims.
DM52
post Nov 7 2018, 07:11 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(I.Am.Bryan @ Nov 6 2018, 09:59 AM)
Hi all

after read a few reviews, the 2.0 seems to be more value for money. but questions linger on my mind

a) is 2.0 under powered?
b) honda sensing really worth it?
c) fuel consumption?

use it for daily commute to work and weekend with family (wife and 2 primary school kids)

thanks all.
Use last gen accord 2.0 and current gen accord, use same engine r20 as me.

a) underpowered?. It is subjective matter. But migrate from 1.5 na engine, I can say 2.0 is powerful on highway. Obvious feel when try to accelerate from 110km/h to overtake car in the middle lane, it is a breeze as compared to my previous 1.5 na car. But on startup, feel like carry dinasour, so heavy, but once speed past, 80km/h it feel better than 1.5 my orevious car.

c) fuel consumption?. Depends on ur right foots, but I do get 13km/L mix driving cycle(city & highway), driving leisurely, on highway switch on cruise control almost all the time when condition permit. I dont know this is good for 2.0 or not as America people that frequenly use fuelly dont have 2.0 variant and when I compared with 2017 Accord 2.4 model, I can say, my 2.0 record better fc from most of 2.4 user there. Can see below

http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/accord/2017

zenix
post Nov 7 2018, 08:16 PM

Pirate Captain
6,149 posts

i can't understand this mat flip flop
first first say civic not fuel efficient with this statement

ask him the figures correct or not
i dunno he blur or what suddenly edit post
then become maths teacher
nothing to do with mathematic formula if your figures wrong in the first place right? (which was the initial question)
so nevermind lah consider based on statements the city is more fuel efficient case close right?

plot twist....civic suddenly more fuel efficient
dey....different cars have different advantages
on average the city is still going to be more fuel efficient

story of mat flip flop end.
zenix
post Nov 7 2018, 08:50 PM

Pirate Captain
6,149 posts

QUOTE(Keisuke Honda @ Nov 7 2018, 08:33 PM)
doh.gif

^ on weed or fail to comprehend English.

I rest my case.
someone loves self pleasure.......nvm lah.....u suka lo.....city/civic fc better or worse.....u like lo....hi/lo as u fancy right?
simply pluck figure from sky oso nvm rite?

rolleyes.gif
zenix
post Nov 7 2018, 09:10 PM

Pirate Captain
6,149 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Nov 4 2018, 06:23 PM)

Depends on what you're looking for.
If you're going to keep it for the long term perhaps the old tech Almera would be a better choice.
If you want the best in class it is Honda Jazz within your budget.
Mazda2 would be more expensive and slightly more for maintenance.

QUOTE(12321 @ Nov 5 2018, 02:30 PM)

Latest F48 X1 isn't floating around in that 150k range iinm. (the one with the shared platform as the latest Mini Countryman)
The previous generation E84 X1 isn't considered very popular, the older ones which are below 100k basically share alot in common with the E90 3-series.
Only the facelift variants got the newer F30 engines but still had that ugly body which looks like a risen E90 3-series.
The 3-series wasn't known for a spacious cabin especially with the shaft running through the middle for the RWD.
What more with AWD in the X1, it's a decent compact SUV but I think the looks are dated and parts would be a killer.

The GLA200/250 to me is similar to the E84 in that it took a sedan/hatch body and jacked it up for that SUV look.
To be it has more of a crossover look, hate it or love it depends on ones taste.
Among the 3 you mentioned this would be the lesser troublesome one to upkeep.

Did you ever consider the Mini Countryman?

QUOTE(drunkonpiss @ Nov 6 2018, 01:11 AM)

As mentioned by everyone else usually you need to add around 5k for the OTR price which includes all documentation, roadtax and insurance.
This is usually a fair amount if they charge more then you better get a deal elsewhere unless the roadtax is expensive, e.g. you purchased a 3.7L Audi Q5 for 90k vs a 2.0L variant. Although the insurance is still based on 90k the extra is going towards the roadtax (RM2500 for the 3700cc vs RM400 for the 2000cc).

Buying used also you have to understand the reality of the situation. A used car is a used car so there is bound to be dirty spots and small niggling issues.
e.g. yesterday i went to survey a W204 Merc C-Class the asking price was 95k and mileage was stated as under 100k, went to see the car itself once I popped the hood i felt something weird.....the engine bay was too clean....of course the salesman said it is because seldom used and well taken care of by richman everyday got maid wash the car but still hardly any dirty spots at all at the engine bay rings alarm bells for me......something wrong like engine leak or accident so the whole front part was washed clean or new because replaced by insurance after accident.

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Nov 6 2018, 11:13 AM)

depends on the specs.
but if few listing websites stated the same average price for the same spec and year -- maybe that dealer try to tipu.
but then why did you choose the 120k one over the others? better spec?
SgtScoop
post Nov 7 2018, 09:48 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(takemehomepls @ Nov 6 2018, 06:06 PM)
I agree with the 2.4. Anyone remember when it used to have 3.5 v6? Damn good times
Do you know how many they sold in Malaysia?
post Nov 8 2018, 08:17 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 7 2018, 09:10 PM)

Latest F48 X1 isn't floating around in that 150k range iinm. (the one with the shared platform as the latest Mini Countryman)
The previous generation E84 X1 isn't considered very popular, the older ones which are below 100k basically share alot in common with the E90 3-series.
Only the facelift variants got the newer F30 engines but still had that ugly body which looks like a risen E90 3-series.
The 3-series wasn't known for a spacious cabin especially with the shaft running through the middle for the RWD.
What more with AWD in the X1, it's a decent compact SUV but I think the looks are dated and parts would be a killer.

The GLA200/250 to me is similar to the E84 in that it took a sedan/hatch body and jacked it up for that SUV look.
To javascript:emoticon(':D')be it has more of a crossover look, hate it or love it depends on ones taste.
Among the 3 you mentioned this would be the lesser troublesome one to upkeep.

Did you ever consider the Mini Countryman?

Dear Zenix thanks for your insight reply.
What do you think if getting a 2016 F48 X1 which is when it 1st change the engine and new look? I think 2016 still got Diesel model summore.

So I see you never mention Audi Q3 at all, so it is totally out of the game? tongue.gif

GLA for me the only setback is the space and boot size. May I knw why do you say so GLA would be the lesser troublesome one to upkeep? hmm.gif

Mini Countryman, no leh nvr consider, is it consider B-segment or crossover as well? Will search and see see.
archonixm
post Nov 8 2018, 10:24 PM

772 posts

2.4 NA on a 1.5tonne body i assume, 19hp/1500 = will be comes to almost nothing lol..so the difference is not much..seriously wasting time..

if u want more umpph, u need turbo/supercharger, NA....2.0 or 2.4 not really much different, even after modding it, still +5hp..hahaha..

ketupatlazat
post Nov 8 2018, 10:31 PM

545 posts

wait, don't commit just yet

at least wait till the 10th gen gets announced/launched

it's just a few months down the road lol

unless you can get a unit of the current gen at at least 20k discount
6UE5T
post Nov 8 2018, 10:49 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(DM54 @ Nov 8 2018, 01:26 PM)
2.0 Just a lil bit less powerful but not until it eats more fuel than 2.4

I also feel weird with car manufacture. They goes bigger and bigger. I dont think that is really necessary. What more important is tyre selection. Ps4 on 17inch much better than mc6 on 18inch rims.

18 inch on accord 2.4 got gaya only, but it makes car, become less fuel efficient, more bumpy ride, cut slighly power and cost a bomb to replace(the good tyre one).
It's because of fashion trend! People/the market are so infatuated by big rims, that's why! Car manufacturers simply follow that trend so that they can sell more. Worse example is the Mazda 6 2.5 using bloody 19' ffs! doh.gif
archonixm
post Nov 8 2018, 11:10 PM

772 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 8 2018, 10:49 PM)
It's because of fashion trend! People/the market are so infatuated by big rims, that's why! Car manufacturers simply follow that trend so that they can sell more. Worse example is the Mazda 6 2.5 using bloody 19' ffs!  doh.gif
yeap, i agree, 2.5 only already use 19", they think their 2.5 is so good like a 400nm car?? bangwall.gif
DS51
post Nov 9 2018, 12:13 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Nov 8 2018, 10:24 PM)
2.4 NA on a 1.5tonne body i assume, 19hp/1500 = will be comes to almost nothing lol..so the difference is not much..seriously wasting time..

if u want more umpph, u need turbo/supercharger, NA....2.0 or 2.4 not really much different, even after modding it, still +5hp..hahaha..
Ya. I use 2.4 cp2 8th gen. That 2400cc can only felt when maintain high speed cruising. So effortless cruise at 160km/h to 180km/h.

But on startup, always need to rev engine, up to 4k rpm sometimes. Lel. If not, felt like car not moving but it does moving a lot more compare to smaller car, maybe due to heavy weight, it not feel fast.
DS51
post Nov 9 2018, 12:24 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Nov 8 2018, 10:31 PM)
wait, don't commit just yet

at least wait till the 10th gen gets announced/launched

it's just a few months down the road lol

unless you can get a unit of the current gen at at least 20k discount
Kinda agree with this. Current gen accord, fc is fuel drinker in city, newer turbo will be very efficient in city. Right now 2.0 not really efficient in city, 2.4 even worse la.

But if u can wait, why not. But if u cannot, please ask the best of the best discount that u can get. In term of maintenance, NA is the best. I had use my accord since 2010, always hentam 200km/h. Never once overheat whatsoever. Send to service centre from day 1. Same goes to r20 accord 2.0, so bulletproof. Gearbox conventional 5 speed auto. Current gen can easily last 20 years without major problem/broke ur wallet.
fastreader
post Nov 9 2018, 10:40 PM

4,551 posts

Hi dear all,

I've spotted a Honda CR-v First Gen for sale at below RM20k and is extremely interested.

1) Is this a good buy? Or should I stay away from this old car?

2) What are the common problem encountered by the FIRST gen CR-V?

I';m noob when it comes to car and based it soley on the final price... smile.gif
Chrix
post Nov 10 2018, 09:36 AM

1,082 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Nov 9 2018, 10:40 PM)
Hi dear all,

I've spotted a Honda CR-v First Gen for sale at below RM20k and is extremely interested.

1) Is this a good buy? Or should I stay away from this old car?

2) What are the common problem encountered by the FIRST gen CR-V?

I';m noob when it comes to car and based it soley on the final price... smile.gif
It’s a good work horse, to an extent. What what are your criteria for a vehicle? There maybe other choices to consider.
fastreader
post Nov 10 2018, 10:56 PM

4,551 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Nov 10 2018, 09:36 AM)
It’s a good work horse, to an extent. What what are your criteria for a vehicle? There maybe other choices to consider.
I'm looking for vehicle with good ground clearance, spacious interior...and most importantly, cos below 18k....

so far the model in consideration is the first gen CR-V....but i'm still holding back as i'm concern if there are any big problem with this model..

340 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:28 PM