Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

lsm1991
post Oct 19 2016, 01:44 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 19 2016, 01:41 PM)
no.... thats just the typical a 2.5....... with the auto tranny, very common.

the seller seems familiar tho....
SUSlowya
post Oct 19 2016, 01:58 PM

4,821 posts

what is the ideal used car given following criteria?

1. good fuel consumption and low maintenance (spare parts and service etc)

2. max 1600cc, for low road tax.

3. reliable, good quality and comfort, good for both city and long distance.

4. spacious, for family use, safety, etc.

Please recommend with following budget range:

up to rm10k: <recommend here>

rm10-20k range: <recommend here>

rm20-30k range: <recommend here>

Thank you.
zenix
post Oct 19 2016, 03:22 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 19 2016, 01:58 PM)
what is the ideal used car given following criteria?

1. good fuel consumption and low maintenance (spare parts and service etc)

2. max 1600cc, for low road tax.

3. reliable, good quality and comfort, good for both city and long distance.

4. spacious, for family use, safety, etc.
Please recommend with following budget range:

up to rm10k: u kidding me?  confused.gif

rm10-20k range: Skoda Octavia 1.6

rm20-30k range: Nissan Latio, Mit. Lancer GLX 1.6

Thank you.
ok!
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 19 2016, 03:29 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 18 2016, 06:33 PM)
Where got sifu here? TCSS kings only  laugh.gif
Later other tered TCSS gods butthurt come here  sweat.gif

Since your car so old don't need go back SC do anything. They'll just suck your money.

NCP 42 rear bumper which is made from PP material which nowadays many manufacturers and OEM also use as original parts but older Vios I think still used ABS material for their bumpers, you can scout around chop shops for used bumpers which will cost less than RM100 or if you want cheap but new can go see parts stockist if they carry those but usually they'll carry compatibles like the one in this advertisement, really original from factory is going to cost you double the price.

Vios original rim (i think this is the first gen NCP42 model rim) still so shiny and only for RM200 what a steal.
If in used car lots as a used car, yes.
If as unregistered new car usually no, unless cannot sell like VW Polo, but Perodua Myvi's made in November usually crossover to January without price drop as the factory usually ramp up production around that time of the year to have enough supply for CNY sales.
intimidating because you not sure if the CVT can handle that much power?
It's not the same CVT in your Preve.
It has a torque converter and able to withstand high torque.
Though I think it's limits are far lower than manuals.
But hey Audi's had high powered

TLDR but gearhead porn....dun fap.

Version 10 uses a wet box 5 speeder though  brows.gif
what you got?
Sifu, my rim is G spec 15.... damn so sayang. So pretty lehhh. SC call back for the price already. 650 per rim for current GX and TRD 15 inch.

Besides bengkok a bit and calar. I actually like new gen gx rim. Lol.

But I think will go repair it hahaha.
g9000z
post Oct 19 2016, 04:24 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2016, 04:29 PM)
Sifu, my rim is G spec 15.... damn so sayang. So pretty lehhh. SC call back for the price already. 650 per rim for current GX and TRD 15 inch.

Besides bengkok a bit and calar. I actually like new gen gx rim. Lol.

But I think will go repair it hahaha.
RM650 per rim? WTF...

I bhot used ori 16" SSR rim 4 piece only RM800...
SC is sure ridiculous

Go repair here Wah Seng Autoparts RM 20 each rim to repair, but u need to separate the tyre 1st.

Location is at setapak
sasuke123
post Oct 19 2016, 04:28 PM

620 posts

hi guys i saw some listing in carlist, 2008 porsche cayman is just 170,000RM

do you think its a nice deal? considering its old will the insurance or road tax be expensive?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 19 2016, 04:39 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Oct 19 2016, 04:24 PM)
RM650 per rim? WTF...

SC is sure ridiculous

Go repair here Wah Seng Autoparts RM 20 each rim to repair, but u need to separate the tyre 1st.

Location is at setapak
I dun like used. I also got offer ori Toyota 15' trd 600. Dun wan used. Got calar here and there sommore
lsm1991
post Oct 19 2016, 04:51 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Oct 19 2016, 04:24 PM)
RM650 per rim? WTF...

SC is sure ridiculous

Location is at setapak
official sc... sure kene scalplah..... i mean, isnt everything expensive there?? added on stuff like body kit can go up to 10k.... then they can advertise, "pomo 15k discount" (discount as in free bodykit, rims and maybe one or 2 other minor differences)

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2016, 04:39 PM)
I dun like used. I also got offer ori Toyota 15' trd 600. Dun wan used. Got calar here and there sommore
u can find nice ones punya.... otherwise just get a set of taiwan rimslah... long as within spec, no real downside (not like its so fragile that a minor bump cracks it, you are not thinking of super low profiles anyway)

QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Oct 19 2016, 04:28 PM)

do you think its a nice deal? considering its old will the insurance or road tax be expensive?
1)prices are around that figure... maybe abit cheaper.....
2) google is there... you can calculate how much the insurance and roadtax will cost u....
there was a quote by someone here.... cant remember who, it goes: "if you have to ask, you cannot afford it"
g9000z
post Oct 19 2016, 04:59 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 19 2016, 05:51 PM)
official sc... sure kene scalplah..... i mean, isnt everything expensive there?? added on stuff like body kit can go up to 10k.... then they can advertise, "pomo 15k discount" (discount as in free bodykit, rims and maybe one or 2 other minor differences)
exactly!
IMHO, nowadays people only go SC to 'protect' their warranty
Therefore SC will squeeze money until the warranty end. biggrin.gif
lsm1991
post Oct 19 2016, 05:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Oct 19 2016, 04:59 PM)
exactly!
Therefore SC will squeeze money until the warranty end.  biggrin.gif
yep.. my dad too, only sent the car to the sc while it was under warranty so that there are no issues, once that was over.... buat sendiri or pergi to a kedai kat luar dah....
digilife
post Oct 19 2016, 05:06 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 19 2016, 01:41 PM)
Thats a E36, Auto somemore, a dime a plenty kat KL.

Go for a E30, Manual , M3 kalo dapat.........

Some sellers might demand rm30K if condition is cun
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 19 2016, 05:07 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 19 2016, 04:51 PM)
u can find nice ones punya.... otherwise just get a set of taiwan rimslah... long as within spec, no real downside (not like its so fragile that a minor bump cracks it, you are not thinking of super low profiles anyway)
2) google is there... you can calculate how much the insurance and roadtax will cost u....
there was a quote by someone here.... cant remember who, it goes: "if you have to ask, you cannot afford it"
QUOTE(g9000z @ Oct 19 2016, 04:59 PM)
exactly!
Therefore SC will squeeze money until the warranty end.  biggrin.gif
No worry guys. Haha. I finding outside. If my mechanic able to find new ori Toyota and at a reasonable price only I consider. Or else repair or just let it. Seems minor.

It sparks my interest because the current gen rim looking good to me 😊

This post has been edited by [Ancient]-XinG-: Oct 19 2016, 05:09 PM
lsm1991
post Oct 19 2016, 05:07 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 19 2016, 05:06 PM)
Thats a E36, Auto somemore, a dime a plenty kat KL.

Go for a E30, Manual , M3 kalo dapat.........
Some sellers might demand rm30K if condition is cun
30k.. i think you cannot even get a converted 'M' car..... for these rarer cars, they usually sell for obscene prices

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2016, 05:07 PM)
No worry guys. Haha. I finding outside. If my mechanic able to find new ori Toyota and at a reasonable price only I consider. Or else repair or just let it. Seems minor.

It sparks my interest before the current gen rim looking good to me 😊
i showed you tadi kan hehe, current gen ones 600 or so... i dont even think thats considered very cheap....
good thing bout newer rims is that they are probably pretty new, some ppl, 1st day ownership, kasut dah tukar.

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Oct 19 2016, 05:09 PM
sasuke123
post Oct 19 2016, 05:13 PM

620 posts

chill man, it has nothing to do with who can afford one... im just asking because i want to know how the system works...

im also curious if it's consider cheap why wont people buy the used porsche instead of getting a new car toyota which at the same price range.

This post has been edited by sasuke123: Oct 19 2016, 05:16 PM
lsm1991
post Oct 19 2016, 05:34 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Oct 19 2016, 05:13 PM)
chill man, it has nothing to do with who can afford one... im just asking because i want to know how the system works...

im also curious if it's consider cheap why wont people buy the used porsche instead of getting a new car toyota which at the same price range.
haha nono not meaning to offend you, i just reallly realllly like that quote laugh.gif

well.... why a toyota rather than a porsche at that price....
i)roadtax @ insurance is only one thing
ii)maintanance, this is no ordinary german marque, a vw sc is already alot more expensive than visiting a toyota sc. Imagine visiting a porsche sc, its like entering an upscale store. servicing a car like this isnt cheap. lets not even talk about servicing the beast in the back, the cost of tyres alone will make your eyes pop (well, it makes MY eyes water then pop)
iii)its impractical... i mean truely so. its not exactly comfortable or spacious, you cant carry much stuff, kids will have to take the buss on vacations, fc is horrendous, you have to own a small coupe or something similar to understand it
iv)you live in fear when parking it in malls.... imagine getting a door ding... i claw out my heart when my 20 yo car gets knocked... imagine if it was a porsche. theres also that fear of getting broken into or getting vandalized.
v) you also have fears driving it around, maybe motorbikes accidentally knocking into your car, grasscutter stones flying and scratching the car, potholes, bumps, maybe even basement parkings if the car's nose is really low.
myself379
post Oct 19 2016, 07:24 PM

Paamayim Nekudotayim
536 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 15 2016, 03:46 PM)
just wana say a few things.....
Thank you sifus for your input notworthy.gif

Alright, I'll be more specific this time. How about :

1. Brand : Doesn't matter
2. Budget : 49k- 55k ~ish OTR with Insurance
3. New/Used/Unreg : New (maybe follow your looking for cars with 1 or 2 year of service record)
4. Specs : Low FC and low maintenance cost
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : Don't mind
8. Remarks :

any other than MyVi 1.5 SE / Advance (Is it true MyVi having a facelift in next year? now I approached a Perodua sales agent and he offer me rebate of 4.2k on MyVi 1.5 SE and 2k ~ish on Advance) or Bezza 1.3? I'm going to test drive those 2 cars. However, I'm still open to other suggestion like sifus zenix advice, just buy Latio, don't ask much notworthy.gif )
digilife
post Oct 19 2016, 08:04 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 19 2016, 05:07 PM)
30k.. i think you cannot even get a converted 'M' car..... for these rarer cars, they usually sell for obscene prices

You are right

http://www.mudah.my/1988+BMW+E30+325i+M+M+...6985.htm?last=1
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 19 2016, 09:26 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 19 2016, 05:07 PM)
i showed you tadi kan hehe, current gen ones 600 or so... i dont even think thats considered very cheap....
good thing bout newer rims is that they are probably pretty new, some ppl, 1st day ownership, kasut dah tukar.
got meh = = cant find lol

Since I am not changing car in few years times liao. So I think worth lo for me la.

Even when change also this car will give to my family member.

That's why I thinking getting a new rims.

But if the rim repaired ad can tahan or not = =
Kieff
post Oct 19 2016, 09:58 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 19 2016, 12:18 PM)
classic stuff

dun mess wif e30 m3  brows.gif

she's a legend for a reason  devil.gif

many variables come into play, let's talk about new cars not used and not recon.

1. how long was it sitting there unsold?
below 5 months usually no price change.

2. what brand/model is it?
sellable brands/models don't stay unsold long, slow brands/models will hold on to the RSP until almost year end or only discount after 1 year.

3. is it a high sales volume car?
like i said high volume sales cars like myvi or bezza although made in low periods like october and november do cross over to the next year with their price unchanged because usually it is to build up volume for higher demand during year end when people get bonus or CNY.
some older mercs especially S-class were over engineered can go 300k without overhaul  innocent.gif
Many thanks! Looking at it, it is the demand that defines the price. So, If the used car demand as low as the or the new Mazda 6, the resale value would likely be lower than the Teena, I supposed.

Anysifu here knows about the skyactive engine. I heard it was designed to operate at a higher pressure than other manufacture can/ dare to do. Ya well, my worry of the used Mazda 6 is that, can that engine kept it's condition/performance after the warranty period? It's common sense, your water hose won't last as long if you using it in higher pressure… that skyactive is still new, n i think it risks the possibility of a higher maintenance cost over time…

zenix
post Oct 20 2016, 02:34 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2016, 03:29 PM)
SC price is like that because you're not only paying for the part, you're paying for availability.
Availability is no matter got customer buy or not an SC will keep a minimum quantity of those parts in their warehouse.
Warehousing cost money, so everything factors in.
Outside stockist cheap because it is on a while stocks last basis.

QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Oct 19 2016, 04:28 PM)
actually insurance should be cheaper since the car value is lower.
roadtax depends, if it got east malaysia plate can get 50% discount.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2016, 04:39 PM)
kan i oredi give u mudah links to an ori set of rims on the cheap? doh.gif

i think it was nut boy.

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 19 2016, 05:06 PM)
it is a buyers market now with such economic climate tell him 20k or you walk brows.gif

370 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:15 AM