TSWhizzWork2005
post Jan 16 2007, 11:25 AM, updated 19y ago

1,433 posts

My Current Setup
- JVC Compact Disc Player (Support MP3)
- JVC 5" Speakers (Front)
- Pioneer 6 x 9 Speakers (Rear)

I have no amplifier or anything modded, just normal setup.....
And, I wish to add tweeter at rear and front......
Do i Need any crossover or capasitor??

I wanna know where can i buy Audio Capacitor from?
What's the price range?
How i choose audio capacitor?

Pls Advice...
Thanks...

This post has been edited by WhizzWork2005: Jan 17 2007, 11:27 AM
craziechild
post Jan 16 2007, 10:54 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

you can buy them from internet... site like solen.ca has them... or jus hop down to jalan pasar to look for them.... price range i not sure...

as for the value.... you can check http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/cross4ohm.asp
TSWhizzWork2005
post Jan 17 2007, 11:28 AM

1,433 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jan 16 2007, 10:54 PM)
you can buy them from internet... site like solen.ca has them... or jus hop down to jalan pasar to look for them.... price range i not sure...

as for the value.... you can check http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/cross4ohm.asp
Thanks bro for your info....
It's nice info there....

But, dunno whether to add only capasitor to my tweeter...
Or add a crossover....

Any idea??
Thanks a lot.,..

driftmeister
post Jan 17 2007, 02:19 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

u dun need a passives
bcos u r powering from the HU
TSWhizzWork2005
post Jan 17 2007, 04:25 PM

1,433 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jan 17 2007, 02:19 PM)
u dun need a passives
bcos u r powering from the HU
Thanks for your advice...
Then, should i need a capasitor for it??
or just plug and play the tweeter with adding anything...
my JVC head unit is 4 x 45W

Thanks...

vincent_audio
post Jan 25 2007, 12:40 AM

1,161 posts

just get a cheap capacitor around RM 5, else u will blow ur tweet in no time

u need to remember to get a non-polarised one, anything above 200v will do... value will depends on the impedance of ur tweet and ur xover point

get a
5.5uF for 8ohm, xover@ ~3500Hz
7.5uF for 6ohm, xover@ ~3500Hz
11uF for 4ohm, xover@ ~3500Hz

you are pretty safe with those value. u need to get the impedance correct.

kong5091
post Jan 28 2007, 01:07 PM

942 posts

How should i tell the shop assistnt wht i need?
vincent_audio
post Jan 28 2007, 01:31 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(kong5091 @ Jan 28 2007, 01:07 PM)
How should i tell the shop assistnt wht i need?
erm, wat do u need then ? if you don't know wat u need, of course it's hard for u to tell the shop assistant wat u need and it's hard for me to advice u also

0.0144sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:04 AM