What kind of set up is this?

TSskullz)
post Jan 16 2007, 12:15 AM, updated 19y ago

Shutterbug
651 posts

I found out that my setup is working this way..

The input cables from the HU, ch 1 and ch 3 (as labelled by installer) red cable is connected to the amp normally (ch1 -> front, ch 3 -> rear) but the white cables are reversed (i.e ch1 -> rear, ch3 -> front)

i noticed that this way, when i turn the gain for my front all the way down, there is still a very faint sound coming out from my speakers (by right only the sub should be sounding as it is using the rear ch on my 4-ch amp)

if i reverse the white cables, then it works normally (only sub sounding, rest of the speakers silent)

but i noticed that using the original set-up, my sound sounded more balanced and well-rounded as opposed to me switching the cables..

i'm just wondering..is this a special method that ICE sifu's use to get better sounding systems? (I installed my system at a shop that has won ICE competitions all across M'sia, so i don't think that they would have made a mistake here right?)

Here's a brief description of my setup (acc. to the person who installed)

Single 1600w 4-ch amp using 2 ch to drive woofer, 1 ch for front, 1 ch for rear. No crossover as he said the amp already have built in crossover (in fact he took out my old crossover). Please advice.. icon_question.gif

howiechoo
post Jan 16 2007, 12:42 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

seriously, i think it;s a mistake...
driftmeister
post Jan 16 2007, 11:17 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

=_=
1ch front 1ch rear????
laugh.gif ur installer is damn funny man

go and ask him to set it front 2 ch
rear drive by HU
TSskullz)
post Jan 16 2007, 02:34 PM

Shutterbug
651 posts

rear drive by HU got enuf power ?
kangyoon20
post Jan 16 2007, 04:31 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(skullz) @ Jan 16 2007, 02:34 PM)
rear drive by HU got enuf power ?
i'm noob in ICE but i dun think u need "enuf power" for the rear....
just let it got sound which can be listen by rear passenger only then enuf~ laugh.gif
driftmeister
post Jan 16 2007, 05:25 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(kangyoon20 @ Jan 16 2007, 04:31 PM)
i'm noob in ICE but i dun think u need "enuf power" for the rear....
just let it got sound which can be listen by rear passenger only then enuf~  laugh.gif
absolutely correct rclxms.gif
craziechild
post Jan 16 2007, 10:45 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

people who won many titles wont gurantee they dun make mistakes... they might be some mix up while wiring your setup...

and seriously... wire your front pair to the amp and let the HU run the rear pair... you get better result tht way....

cheers....
TSskullz)
post Jan 17 2007, 10:14 AM

Shutterbug
651 posts

thanks all for the suggestions thumbup.gif
kangyoon20
post Jan 17 2007, 04:26 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(skullz) @ Jan 17 2007, 10:14 AM)
thanks all for the suggestions thumbup.gif