NVIDIA GeForce Community V16 (welcum pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

kmarc
post Jun 26 2016, 09:40 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Aaarrgghh!!! I just started playing Rise of Tomb Raider with maxed out setting and my GTX980 4gb can't handle it! And that's on 1080p! bangwall.gif Cut scenes were especially brutal and I never though 4Gb VRAM will be so fast inadequate!!!

Need.... 1080.... 8gb...... cry.gif

kmarc
post Jun 26 2016, 12:29 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jun 26 2016, 11:40 AM)
Give in, child. It is useless to resist. brows.gif
Probably later on this year. Wait for prices to stabilize first. However, I have not come to terms with spending 3k+ for a graphic card yet. sad.gif

1080p gaming needing a 1080 8gb GC. Incredible!
kmarc
post Jun 26 2016, 02:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 26 2016, 01:28 PM)
Err you sure its the VRAM holding back? ROTR is pretty brutal on the VRAM side, but it does a pretty decent job in managing if it doesnt sweat.gif

Assuming if maxed and ROTR has TressFX still built in, that alone can contribute to 50% of frame lost
Did some simple googling and it seems ROTR eats up as much ram as it can but it is not the main factor. No more TressFX but PureHair which cost something like 6-8% performance impact. Whatever it is, looks like GTX980 cannot handle ROTR smoothly at 1080p in it's full glory........

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 26 2016, 02:46 PM
kmarc
post Jun 26 2016, 02:55 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 26 2016, 02:47 PM)
well, you could check this out laugh.gif
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Perform...b_Raider/4.html

ill say most likely GPU reached perf limit most of times than hitting VRAM cap. but yeah 4GB is not really sufficient these days esp newer ones
Yeah, gameplay mostly smooth up to now but the cut scenes were brutal. Never thought 4Gb would be inadequate....
kmarc
post Jun 26 2016, 04:21 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 26 2016, 03:00 PM)
could it be due to PureHair? TressFX was brutal as well during cutscenes of TR2013

heck, the most recent brutal cutscene rendering i had was Black Ops 3.

>normal gameplay 50-60FPS
>goes to cutscene
>JEESUSCHRISTDATSLIDESHOW
Lol. Most review found PureHair doesn't impact that much as compared to TressFx. Example : http://wccftech.com/rise-of-the-tomb-raide...mance-analysis/

kmarc
post Jun 26 2016, 06:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 26 2016, 04:33 PM)
Haha so if 1440p confirm need 1080ti is it laugh.gif rclxub.gif
Haha..... just thought 1080(p) suitably matches (GTX)1080......

Of course, I can get better frame rates if I dial down the settings a bit... still contemplating whether I want Lara to have REAL hair or fake hair....... rclxs0.gif
kmarc
post Jul 1 2016, 11:51 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 1 2016, 10:45 AM)
Tempted by <RM2k GTX 1070. But then again, I game at 1080p only and currently on a GTX 970 which is quite sufficient. Would make more sense to upgrade my display to at least 1440p.

Tempted, but in no hurry... as the wiseman says, "Poison is stronk."
I'm also on 1080p with GTX980 and I'm pulling my hair out because I can't max everything on Rise of Tomb raider. Lag and stutter very obvious but I'm on dx12 though. Feel like running out to get a 1070 so that I can see Lara in all her full glory biggrin.gif

Patience..... Patience......
kmarc
post Jul 1 2016, 12:21 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 1 2016, 11:58 AM)
hmmmmm....
Hehe. With clothes on la... tongue.gif Have been running on max texture that needed more than 4gb vram. Tonight I'm going to try lowering texture and see how it is.

It's true though. Feel like getting a 1070 just because of Lara ROTTR.
kmarc
post Jul 1 2016, 03:20 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Jul 1 2016, 02:49 PM)
haha think of the temptation of the game to trade gtx980 for gtx1070 wasn't really worth it at all unless you have some extra to spend however i test my gc level max detail i can afford which already heaven for me  biggrin.gif

Oh? What card are you using? Look at the minimum frame rates. That would really spoil the experience....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 1 2016, 03:21 PM
kmarc
post Jul 1 2016, 03:55 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Jul 1 2016, 03:35 PM)
haha I think that minimum frame rates just a small hiccup (1 sec due to i notice anti virus update). anyway I using gtx1080 FE upgrade from my GTX480

Nice! As I was mentioning previously, for ROTTR, I need 1080 to play at 1080p!!! biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jul 1 2016, 05:24 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 1 2016, 04:57 PM)
must be the 4GB RAM limit, max textures need more than 4gb.
Yup. Got a warning note when I set to max texture. cry.gif
kmarc
post Jul 1 2016, 06:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 1 2016, 05:57 PM)
it's still a great gpu to keep if you dont mind turning down abit.
Definitely still a good card. Yeah, tonight going to set lower texture. Actually went to local shops to ask but no stocks yet..... sad.gif
kmarc
post Jul 2 2016, 06:17 PM

14,576 posts

Ok, updates on GTX980 4gb and Rise of tomb raider. Dialed down texture from "Very High" to "High". Made A LOT of difference. VRAM usage dropped from max to around 3Gb and frame rates jumped from 30-40 to 60-70. Stutter and lag totally disappeared. Able to set all other settings to max except post-process set to SMAA only, to retain higher frame rates.

If I'm not mistaken, power limit also jumped from 60-70% to 100%. It looks like the limitation was VRAM due to "Very High" textures that needed more ram. cry.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 2 2016, 06:19 PM
kmarc
post Jul 2 2016, 09:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 2 2016, 07:32 PM)
is this 1080p? seems like 8GB vram (or 6GB at very least) is the standard for future games. dissappointed that 1060 only go 3GB/6GB 192bit route if rumor is true, might as well buy a used 980. maybe they thought 3.5GB is too generous already for 1080p so need to reduce it.
Yes, 1080p. After googling around, it looks like ROTTR likes to eat VRAM for fun.

Yeah, probably more titles in the future will need more than 4gb for max settings....
kmarc
post Jul 4 2016, 08:28 PM

14,576 posts

Why I need to upgrade my GTX980 soon cry.gif

Top 10 Upcoming Graphically Demanding PC Games in 2016/2017 : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBPA-TWw1ko

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 4 2016, 08:29 PM
kmarc
post Jul 4 2016, 09:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 4 2016, 08:35 PM)
upgrade upgrade rclxms.gif Star Citizen can be quite taxing i heard. Deus Ex Mankind Divided not sure got down graded or not. not forgetting Battlefield 1 too.
Everspace looks gorgeous. I always wanted to be a space fighter pilot... ahem.....

Aiming for 1080 before the year is out..... drool.gif
kmarc
post Jul 4 2016, 10:09 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 4 2016, 09:52 PM)
By then, 1080 ti may just be around the corner lor devil.gif
Good! That will result in prices coming down. rclxms.gif
kmarc
post Jul 8 2016, 08:16 AM

14,576 posts

Historically, IINM, newer generation GTX x60 cards could never beat a previous generation GTX x80 cards. If 1060 could consistently beat a 980 in most games, that would be a surprise.
kmarc
post Jul 8 2016, 09:27 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jul 8 2016, 08:38 AM)
IIRC, previous generations of x60 cards usually come with very little ram and 128bit memory interface. This time it's 192 and with a lot more rams so it probably is as they claimed.
I think most predict the performance at the level of 970 OC'ed. Even at that level, it is still a damn good performance for a GTX x60 relative to previous gen x80. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jul 8 2016, 12:30 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Jul 8 2016, 09:14 AM)
From the GTX1080 and GTX1070 reviews, it seems that Pascal with GPUBoost 3.0 will clocks higher than its rated boost clock, running at 1780 to 1800MHz most of the time.

GTX980 TFLops = 2048 x 1216 x 2 = 4.98 TFlops
GTX970 TFlops = 1664 x 1178 x 2 = 3.92 TFlops
GTX1060 TFlops = 1280 x 1800 x 2 = 4.6 TFlops (very similar to GTX980 perf)

Overclocked:-
GTX980 = 2048 x 1450 x 2 = 5.94 TFlops (close to GTX980Ti, stock)
GTX970 = 1664 x 1450 x 2 = 4.83 TFlops (close to GTX980, stock)
GTX1060 = 1280 x 2050 x 2  = 5.25 TFlops

Using the TFlops comparison, this is IMO quite accurate indicator on how GP104 and GP106 will perform based on Maxwell. It is after all very similar layout. GP100's layout is somewhat different from GP104.

GTX1070 = 1920 x 1800 x 2 = 6.92 TFlops
GTX 980Ti = 2816 x 1075 x 2 = 6.05 TFlops
GTX TitanX = 3072 x 1075 x 2 = 6.60 TFlops

Hence, GTX1070 is faster than TitanX. But what happens when overclocked?

GTX1070 = 1920 x 2050 x 2 = 7.87 TFlops (only 14% increase)
GTX980Ti = 2816 x 1450 x 2 = 8.17 TFlops (35% increase  flex.gif )

GTX980Ti once overclocked, will be faster, a bit smile.gif
Yeah, 980Ti is still a great card especially now when the card is selling at a great discount. However, if I were to choose between 1070 and 980Ti, I'd probably go for 1070 due to lower wattage and more ram unless the price difference is great i.e. much cheaper 980Ti.

0.0928sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:37 PM