LYN Virtual Jam IV, We're back, better then before!

RustReaver4D1
post Feb 14 2007, 11:19 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 13 2007, 07:43 PM)
Urgh... I can't seem to get the dual guitars sounding right..... I need some Maiden and Trivium inspiration......

Anyone has any tips for me?
Just my 2cents... How bout you play a major/minor 3rd harmony for the 2nd guitar? ...baru-lah Maiden! thumbup.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Feb 14 2007, 06:27 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 14 2007, 04:06 PM)
rust reaver : play the same melody, but offset by a constant number of intervals, accordingly to the scale being "used" by the melody... (yes, it doesn't sound easy and it does require some harmony background !)
hey, man... didn't mean to confuse things, just giving me 2cents from me nice and comfy arm-chair (since I ain't booking no slot on the track hehe)... wink.gif

but your explanation is more accurate than mine... noted with thanks. thumbup.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Feb 14 2007, 07:01 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 14 2007, 06:52 PM)
Sigh..... will have to learn harmonies from scratch......
might end up doing a one guitar pentatonic solo then!!
you could probably record one solo... then play another one over it, "ikut feel" style, and see what happens... icon_idea.gif

heck, you may even come up with some really cool contrapuntal stuff that way... thumbup.gif

...or do it Randy Rhoads-style: record the same solo twice and pan each track 100% right and 100% left respectively (although, Randy does lay down a 3rd center track as well). That way, you'll end up with a slight chorus-like effect... cool2.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Feb 21 2007, 06:02 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 12 2007, 09:28 PM)
Updated!!!

Verse 1 - 0:00 - ASURA
Verse 2 - 0:36 - ASURA
Verse 3 - 0:55 - boxhead
Verse 4 - 1:11 - z3r0l33t
Verse 5 (trumpets) - 1:28 - PIX
Verse 6 - 1:44 EchoBrainProject
Verse 7 - 1:59 EchoBrainProject
Verse 8 - 2:17 EchoBrainProject
Verse 9 - 2:32
Verse 10 (trumpets) - 2:49 BlackTriX
Verse 11 (trumpets) - 3:05 BlackTriX
Verse 12 (empty) - 3:22 - LED ZEP FREAK
Verse 13 (hammond)- 3:39 - LED ZEP FREAK
Verse 14 - 3:56
Verse 15 (trumpets) - 4:12 - seongkeat
Verse 16 (trumpets) - 4:29 - seongkeat
Verse 17 (trumpets) - 4:45

Wow... SeongKeat has a tough time. Actually if possible..... Can you move to slots 14 and 15 and leave 16 and 17 open? So that the person doing the ending has more time to move...... Or... you could do the ending at 16 and 17 and leave 14 and 15 open......
Hi, just wondering... is Verse 9 still up for grabs? <hint><hint> wink.gif

<pssst> Valkirye2331, ya wanna try to fit 2 solos in one slot? You take left channel, I take right channel... thumbup.gif 17 seconds, rock-kapak style, ya know what I mean... cool2.gif ...uh, but ya gotta help me figure out the key, mmmkay? whistling.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Feb 21 2007, 07:48 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 21 2007, 06:42 PM)
Sure, you can have slot 9, but at the moment, we're still waiting for people to finish their stuff...

If people like Seongkeat still hasn't gotten back to us, we'll have to remove their names off the list.....

Basically, I'll need a roll call!
Okay, Mr Blacktrix, sign me up for slot 9. My RR3 would love to intro for your RR3... thumbup.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Feb 22 2007, 10:13 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Feb 21 2007, 10:03 PM)
Dude, the key is stated like a few pages back! Anyhow, thanks Mr Blacktrix. RustReaver and I will both take slot 9...me being on left channel and RustReaver being on the right channel.
Dude! You could have just PM-ed me nice and quietly, there were soooo many pagessss to read... err... I mean, ur de bes' bro! tongue.gif

Argh, my A minor is so rusty, <no pun intended>, this is gonna be painful. Guess I just gotta remember, don't hit the black keys! waitasec... that ain't right... hmm.gif

QUOTE(blacktrix)
Actually, if possible, let's try not to have a dual solo..... so we can showcase your talents as an individual.

Hehe, so I can't get valkirye2331 to cover up my sloppiness? Damn... I always believed in safety in numbers... whistling.gif

Ok, ok... Mr Blacktrix has spoken, and I will comply. notworthy.gif Please book Verse 9 and 14 for us then, good sir.

Hey Valkyrei2312, you take Verse 9, I'll take Verse 14? Or vice versa? We'll sort it out at the week's end. I tumpang your rig, can?
RustReaver4D1
post Feb 23 2007, 06:12 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 23 2007, 01:11 AM)
are there still people interested in this jam ? i thought you all backed off after hearing my solo... laugh.gif

wake up guys !!
You've just unleashed the f*kking foory! vmad.gif ...hehe, just kidding... whistling.gif

I think as Blacktrix said, there's gonna have to be a roll-call sooner or later. Maybe that'll free up a few slots... I'm finding it tough to play something decent for 17 seconds - gotta make each note count. Stressssss... sweat.gif

Hmmm... if this thing can be wrapped up before Gathering 3.0, maybe we could have it in the set list?

RustReaver4D1
post Feb 25 2007, 04:34 PM

1,100 posts

Hehe, not everyday off timing will work in your favour mate! wink.gif

But seriously, interesting use of the whole-tone scale and assorted diminished licks. And the arpeggios... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Feb 25 2007, 07:20 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Feb 27 2007, 05:15 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ Feb 27 2007, 12:06 AM)
Nice avatar there, Valkyrie1232. It's good to know that there's a Sonata Arctica fan here in the boards besides myself! wink.gif
Yeah, Tommy Portimo rocksssss! wink.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 2 2007, 09:46 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 1 2007, 11:52 PM)
Another SA fan here, I see. I remember someone from the band said: "I like to create music that I like to listen to". I wished that I was in such a kick ass band...
I think the quote you're referring to is from the intro to the Silence album: "silence... it truly makes the most beautiful music". smile.gif

Yup, and you better watch those curse words... tongue.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 2 2007, 12:48 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 2 2007, 11:38 AM)
Ahhhhh. Sorry for the profanity. My bad. I just wanted to describe how kick ***  SA is but I don't know what other words to use. Kick butt can?
Err... you might want to check your signature too... wink.gif

0.0232sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:58 PM