Playing Wii on a monitor

sihumchai
post Jan 16 2007, 08:54 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

I think you may need a VGA cable for playing on a monitor.

And IMHO, it is not advisable to play Wii with small screen TV's/monitors as you need some distance from the sensor bar, once you distance yourself, the screen will look a little small..
sihumchai
post Jan 16 2007, 04:04 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

You must be at least 2-3 metres away from the bar, further also can, but the Wiimote might not detect the sensor bar. So if you're using a 17" monitor, from a 3 metre distance, you might need to adjust your sensitivity settings too.
sihumchai
post Jan 17 2007, 08:24 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(ckwey @ Jan 17 2007, 12:19 AM)
Is there any VGA cable for Wii?
Yes, but I dunno where they can be found. PLay-Asia and all those sites might have them.

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Jan 17 2007, 01:04 AM)
Aiyoh, I think my room wall to wall baru 3 metre nia lol. biggrin.gif

Was thinking of giving it maybe 1-2 metres distance between monitor and playing area.

What'll happen if I play within 1-2 metres? Cannot detect the controller?
1 Metre is not advisable at all. The sensor bar is quite long for that 17" monitor you were speaking of. Try 2 and maybe it'll be fine smile.gif

sihumchai
post Jan 18 2007, 08:22 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

I'm not a TV expert, but if I'm not mistaken, the Wii could only (upscale?)display 480p EDTV, through component, or VGA cable.
sihumchai
post Jan 24 2007, 04:03 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Hmm.. I guess I was wrong about the availability of the VGA cable. My sources were from Joystiq, who got their news from direct translation for Nintendo of Japan website. Their D-Cable(Japanese only TV's) was mistaken for VGA cables.

My bad.
sihumchai
post Jan 24 2007, 04:10 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Jan 24 2007, 03:58 PM)
do I still need VGA cables if I'm getting 1)?

is 16ms too slow for Wii (or any console)?
VGA cables are non-existent for the Wii, (I just corrected myself), and it is quite obvious that most people want to hook it up to 17"-21" monitors because they don't want it on TV, the problem is, it is discouraged to actually use/play the Wii on smaller screens like PC monitors and .. small TV's. Reason already stated in the first few post from me.

The best you can get out of the Wii for visual clarity, is to get a TV(or monitor), about 32" (I still consider it too small), or 40" which has component output. Wide-screen is highly advised, but then again, not all games for the Wii supports EDTV(480p) and Wide-screen. (stares at Rayman)

sihumchai
post Jan 24 2007, 04:28 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Beware of crappy Paintjob ahead, it merely serves one purpose, and that purpose is to show that playing on small setups, like computer, sitting infront of monitor is not a good idea.
  • Sensor bar won't detect if too near
  • Stand too far and you won't see anything

sihumchai
post Jan 25 2007, 12:02 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

If you don't mind looking from a distance, then it's ok.

And like the "Full Wii Experience" is having to actually do motions, like in Tennis, instead of doing small 'flicks' of the wrist, it's much more enjoyable if you actually swing a forehand/backhand.

Games that requires the pointer input(for targetting) like Red Steel, and Elebits can be playing sitting down, infact it's better, but some games require you to stand to fully enjoy the game.
sihumchai
post Jan 30 2007, 03:26 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Jan 30 2007, 03:06 PM)
Were you at Zio's shop last Sat?

From the gathering at Zio's shop, I saw you guys were playing from a Dell LCD Monitor. Is that - DellTM 2007WFP 20" UltraSharpTM Wide Screen Flat Panel LCD Monitor (the one that has Analogue / Digital / Video - 15pin D-sub, DVI-D with HDCP, S-Video, Composite, respond time =16 ms typical)?

How's the refresh rate? need any xtra cables or convertor?
That was a 24" wide-screen Dell monitor. Quite suitable for personal enjoyment, and the distance we stood was perfect, altho' a little cramped for 4 player Tennis.
sihumchai
post Jan 30 2007, 04:26 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Jan 30 2007, 04:21 PM)
LOL~ cool. the other guy playing w bid is you, rite? andy_lhc?

once again, thanks Sihumchai~  icon_rolleyes.gif
Nope, that would be Zio's customer from da' shop. Andy's the one asking, "Eh, this one arr, is 480p.." (pitch +10)

And.. no prob.
sihumchai
post Apr 6 2007, 11:49 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 5 2007, 06:23 PM)
Ok, I have similiar question here.
But I'm not using with 20", I have a Dell 3007WFP, will have enough space from the screen and still visible. So my question, any of you tried with your LCD monitor?

Wii -> component -> component converter -> LCD?
Wii -> composite -> vga box -> LCD?
I don't think the Wii has VGA cables at the moment, never heard of anyone using converters before, but I do know of a forumer CoreZ who has a Dell 24" (or bigger) with a component cable, works perfectly + gorgeous.

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Apr 6 2007, 12:03 AM)
wii is design in such a way that YOU stand  and excercise  (workout) with the game ...

so ... a small LCD monitor is NOT an ideal setup ....

when playing bowling on wii sport i need about 3 meters of walking space ... just like the steps needed of playing bowling at the real bowling alley ....
lawl, you are right. To get the feel of the game in bowling you'll need that walking space wink.gif Just 3-4 small steps then uber-bowl!

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 6 2007, 10:09 AM)
I have more than 3m of distance. Anyone can answer my question?
That's good, make sure you've got space AROUND you also so you don't get any Wiijuries from playing any of the sports game. My friends have bowled backwards and hit a cupboard(thus, resulting a minor finger/hand injury), and forwards while smacking themselves in the face laugh.gif
sihumchai
post Apr 11 2007, 02:37 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(lilcool @ Apr 11 2007, 02:14 PM)
I thought the wii video output is a composite cable? If it is, I thought i can just connect directly to my 20 inch dell that got composite input. Can the wii owner confirm this? cos i am planning to get wii soon and want to connect to my monitor.
Wii's default video output is composite(you can get component), that is correct, if the Dell you're refering to supports composite, then it's likely that it will work. But the last time me and Corez hooked the system up was with component.

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 7 2007, 08:47 AM)
I aware its "possible". My question is how good or how bad is the end result?
Not too sure, never seen/hear/read anyone using that method.

On other news, Wii + Widescreen + Component is t3h greatz. I jeles already.

sihumchai
post Jan 25 2008, 01:16 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(kayone360 @ Jan 25 2008, 01:06 PM)
where can get mayflash vga cable
?
from the website itself?

Check play-asia.com .
sihumchai
post Jan 25 2008, 02:06 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(kayone360 @ Jan 25 2008, 02:01 PM)

but any way from KL can get this item?
Maybe you can get one of the retailers to buy it for you.
sihumchai
post May 11 2008, 03:35 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Azhar, it would be just fine. Just don't set the tone of sharpness to the maximum. That way, even with component cables, you'll still have jaggies.

0.0229sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:39 PM