Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V1, Turbo kick in yo...

wkc5657
post Jun 23 2016, 05:26 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 23 2016, 02:43 PM)
Correct me if im wrong, but i believe a turbo spool does not have liquid, its merely compressing air right? Fuel doesn't touch any turbo components right?

At most its cooling oil / liquid that needs to be pumped AROUND the turbo siput.
The impeller get spun by the exhaust gas pressure after combustion. Traces of fuel from incomplete combustion still reaches it. Some very minor amount of engine oil also can leak into it as the oil seal is something like a piston ring, not completely sealed off but good enough to stop major amounts of oil escaping.

The turbo in this civic is water cooled, meaning the water will circulate around the jacket housing of the "siput". So if water pump fail, hehehehe.... devil.gif
wkc5657
post Jun 24 2016, 10:28 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jun 23 2016, 11:44 PM)
[attachmentid=6923109]

Bible thick manual. The least favorite part of owning a new car
This is the most important thing to look through after getting your car back to your home. cool2.gif

Quite a lot of things to learn by reading the manual, instead of relying on inputs from the SC or forum members.
wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 10:06 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(usopkun @ Jun 28 2016, 09:59 PM)
How to check tire pressure? You check yourself using tire gage?
Go to a petrol station air pump station. You slot it in, the pump gauge will show what is the current tyre air pressure. Some pumps can auto bleed the air out, but some don't. So you just press the middle pin of the tyre air valve to let the air out.

QUOTE(fooj @ Jun 29 2016, 09:54 AM)
Recommended to go up hill (Genting) within 1k km ? plan to go for road trip during raya season
You can drive anywhere and anyhow you want, modern cars don't really need to follow bulat bulat on breaking in already. Modern materials sciences and engineering solved that.

Just enjoy the car and follow the service schedule.
wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 01:26 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Jun 29 2016, 12:23 PM)
Buying directly from them costs USD19.75 shipping, but the screen protector itself costs USD11.95. I bought 2 units so it's cheaper buying direct from Photodon (me and my wife's car). Amazon I checked on 19th was slightly higher back then. It's slightly cheaper now. Didn't know there was an interested party to buy here in Malaysia so I didn't ask.
With that kind of money, can buy at least 2 pieces of high quality ipad screen protector. Why not just buy those and cut to size, save time and save cost.

And there's really no need for screen protector as 99.9% of time, you're using your finger tips to operate it. If you say want to avoid finger smudges, the protector does help initially but after sometime, after wiping it countless times down the road, the oleophobic coating also gone.

Unlike with the smartphone, where you put it in the pocket with keys, coins or other hard items which can scratch the screen surface. So have sense in applying a screen protector. Even for my own smartphone, despite only using side bumper type of silicone casing with no front flip cover, i didn't apply screen protector and till now, i hardly have any very visible scratches after almost 3 years of using it.

Here's an idea, for those who go do coating on your car, might as well request them to help you coat the screen. The vendor may feel puzzled but, i don't think they will charge you extra for that. Since the coating can help protect the car surface, it will also do likewise on the screen right?

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jun 29 2016, 01:30 PM
wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 02:28 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 29 2016, 02:23 PM)
mine also will park roadside when i got the car sad.gif
scared of being scratch especially by the garbage truck
Don't worry, garbage truck drivers very experienced already. All kinds of narrow roads, road blocks, weird car parking positions, early morning driving before the sun is out, these are the conditions that they face daily. As long as can fit the width of the truck, they can manage rather easily. Further, there are spotters on the ground all the time.

My house opposite audi A6 park outside, my side a SUV. Till now, not even a sign of issue on either of us.
wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 02:37 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 29 2016, 02:31 PM)
so far i got no issue but sometime when the space is cramped and they having a bad day, i can't imagine what they will do laugh.gif

btw, along the same street has new f30 320d parked outside everyday too. i guess that car will be the main target compare to mine tongue.gif
Even rich bentley owners also have to throw rubbish right? So, all sorts of cars also they've seen it, they no feeling liao...

No cars will be targeted by them. Your risk of getting your car scratched by kids running around or bicycle handles are much higher than getting hit by garbage trucks. Although very much under rated, garbage truck people have serious driving skills thumbsup.gif

wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 03:07 PM

558 posts

wa...orang selangor manyak kaya....
wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 03:56 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 29 2016, 03:44 PM)
do you guys turn on the ECON mode? i read up is not much difference with on/off
You try driving under ECON mode for a few days and a few days without it, you decide which one you prefer.

ECON mode will :
1) reduce throttle sensitivity = slower acceleration
2) reduce air cond compressor time = warmer air cond
wkc5657
post Jun 29 2016, 04:43 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 29 2016, 04:00 PM)
but FC wise not much difference right? better driving feeling = turn off
I can't comment on the fuel consumption with this mode on/off as I don't own this car. You can experiment on your own.

Who knows, maybe you find the ECON mode ok for your driving style. You get to save some petrol (theoretically) at the same time.
wkc5657
post Jun 30 2016, 11:59 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(dororo @ Jun 29 2016, 11:38 PM)
Do you think Honda Malaysia will cut usage of expensive high tensile steel to manufacture civic in Malaysia? whistling.gif
Our plant here is a CKD plant, so it is mainly an assembly plant, not manufacturing. Only certain unimportant plastic bits, bumpers, interior finishing and some paint work is done by local contract manufacturing here. The main body structure is from Japan, Malaysia have no metal press plant for Honda. Our volume is too small to justify for such a metal press plant, that one needs huge amount of investment.
wkc5657
post Jul 5 2016, 10:45 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 5 2016, 09:22 AM)
Guys, on the topic of the condition based maintenance for the Civic turbo variants, no matter how well you drive you will never be able to match the engine oil life span with the actual distance travelled because there is a time element which is used to calculate the intervals. Not just the condition of the oil itself.

This is my experience based on my BMW and my car is only 7 months old. I've tried going in full Eco Pro mode (which is more saving than even the Civic Eco mode because it has energy de-generation) and yet my servicing interval is 8,000km less 2K from the stated 10K.

This was 1 of the reasons why I didn't want to get the Civic Turbo when I learnt that it was condition based servicing.

But it's not really a bad thing to service your car faster. For BMW turbos, there is a common issue with oil sludge build-up which is why most BMW owners are happy to service every 6-7K. But for us, we have 100% free servicing for 5 years or 150,000km. This oil sludge could be an issue with the Civic turbos as well.

But I also think that if ure going to drive slowly and as gently as possible to try and increase your engine oil life span, then u're never going to enjoy your turbo. Might as well have bought the 1.8S.

So my advise is just drive normally and enjoy the turbo. Don't worry too much about the servicing intervals. It wont be a huge 'loss' for you in the long run.
For this kind of system, the engine oil is mainly monitored by the engine hour method or the in built viscosity sensor (or a combination of both). Our weather and driving conditions can be the harshest on engine oil life (other than the extreme winter cold which we don't experiece). Hot and humid weather, combined with lots of start-stops and traffic jams, our bad habit of idling the car for long periods of time just for the air cond, and top it up with a relatively dustier environment, these factors are much averse to engine oil life. So we may have driven (example) 800km, but the actual engine hour could be equivalent to double of that or more. So even as you idle your car with the engine on, the engine is actually still running thus reducing the oil life despite no movements. Hence, the example given by cybermaster98 will surface. This, i just learned not too long ago, is very much unaware by most motorist.

The rule of thumb is, go for fully synthetic engine oils, (at least) service once a year or 10,000km (give and take 2000km; 15,000km - 20,000km if you use top range high mileage engine oil family together with range extended oil filters or change oil filters at half point). If you do lots of short runs (less than 10km or less than 10 minutes driving), better change your oil every 6 months. You can use semi synthetic in this case to save a bit on cost. Also, give it a good highway run at least once a week for about 15 minutes to evaporate out the water in the engine oil. Short runs can't bring the engine oil up to proper temperature.
wkc5657
post Jul 5 2016, 10:50 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Jul 5 2016, 10:45 AM)
Forgive me for being a total noob in this, but the 1.8S is the regular mileage based servicing? Is that the reason why the 1.8S lacks the feature where the dash tells you how many more KM to go for a service?
This one may need to ask Honda technicians, but unlikely they implement 2 different system for the same thing. But who knows, maybe the 1.8 version just use mileage reminder....
wkc5657
post Jul 5 2016, 10:12 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jul 5 2016, 03:59 PM)
I didn't realize but Malaysian civic is recommended to run 0W20?

The low viscosity (thinner) SAE 20 is formulated to run in colder climate. Will it hold up to our much higher climate?

Vw, audi and etc are running 5W30 or higher viscosity oil.

Let's hope the Honda engineers have throughly tested it in extreme heat tempreture.
The hybrids are already xW20 engine oil here for sometime. Modern engine oils are quite robust and since they recommend it, they sure have thoroughly tested it. Open up your manual and see the details regarding engine oil.

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 5 2016, 09:06 PM)
For real is the car telling me to change oil at 130km mileage? Zzz
130km is your total driven mileage, should be the 9000km+ reading that is the estimated mileage till next oil change.
wkc5657
post Jul 5 2016, 11:10 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 5 2016, 10:50 PM)
Yea understood but if you look closely indicator "A" pops up. It happened straight after I went to refuel.

I am still not comfortable with 130km mileage and 9500km oil life. If 100km+- consume 500km+- oil life @ oil life expectancy of 10,000km. Rough calculation would show oil change to be done at 2,000 km mileage. To make it worst, my car is telling me to change the oil at 130km mileage. doh.gif

Anyway, got to visit my dealer soon.
For now, just drive like normal until you see the indicator for oil change, no need headache to figure this out at the moment. This kind of system sure will have a reminder when reach a certain point. Enjoy your new car icon_rolleyes.gif
wkc5657
post Jul 6 2016, 06:30 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 6 2016, 05:46 PM)
Ala,  people wanna change oil,  u let him change la. How much does it costs for an oil change?

Honda will gladly take ur money. My other honda did an engine oil change on the first service. Usual service plus atf and coolant change on the 2nd service. They also accept mah,  jus pay the money.
ok lor.... smile.gif
wkc5657
post Jul 8 2016, 10:36 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 8 2016, 03:45 AM)
After being accustomed to HID headlights (Kia Optima K5) since 2012 and LED (BMW) now, I needed a bit of getting used to. Found myself turning on the high beam a lot when I was on the trunk road.

(P/S No rattling or any defects so far)
If the headlights really bothers you, can consider changing to those slightly whiter halogen bulbs from Osram Night Breaker series or Philips Crystal/Diamond Vision. Shouldn't void warranty as those are wear and tear parts like the tyres. Just need to get the correct socket type and wattage. icon_rolleyes.gif

Good for you to have a non rattling unit thumbup.gif

0.0208sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:06 AM