Home Theatre Home Theatre Projector Talk, Epson TW700 Transformers Movie pic pg 33

Red Maniac
post Jan 19 2007, 11:18 AM

347 posts

Yesterday NST (Tech&U) has an article on the new Hitachi PJ-TX300 projector. Not many here are aware of projectors from Hitachi but it is one of the best for the price range. Just a year ago I bought my PJ-TX200 in HK as I can't find it affordable locally.

I started to research and audition many projectors in late 2005 (such as AE900, Z4, TW600, and many DLPs). At that time the most affordable projector to my budget (<$6.5K) is the AE900 but it has its share of cons (as discuss in AVS forum). Sanyo, Epson, and Hitachi are price at >$8K locally. In the end I choose Hitachi for its superior quality and flexibility as well as its price (I got for <$6K in HK). Now the prices have drop tremendously. rclxms.gif
Red Maniac
post Jan 22 2007, 11:45 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 19 2007, 05:53 PM)
Red, Thanks for the information.  BTW 720P projectors are as cheap as HK... I have recently checked.  Do not believe the Retail price that is advertised.  You can almost get 20% off the retail price if you are persistent.  How about giving us your take on the Hitachi?
I think so too... The prj prices are getting more reasonable nowadays compare to a year or more ago. Perhaps there are more awareness and popularity in the prj experience. Nowadays most night time mamak stalls sure have prj with some cheapo screen.

I'm very satisfy with my Hitachi as it never stop impress my friends with its picture quality. I have the whole systems setup in a medium size room with lights control. For me no matter how brighter the prj can be, it is still best to view in darkened room. Otherwise you won't view black as black.
Red Maniac
post Jan 25 2007, 11:54 AM

347 posts

DLP still won't produce perfect black like a CRT does. I think the LCD technology has improved so much on this (ex. Sony prj).

I have done alot of reading from AVS forum. All projectors do have some fair share of problems but the Panasonic has a serious problem with the lamp life. The customer services is very bad too (but it may not be relevant here).

However, since I bought my projector I stop reading the forum and reviews. Just enjoy your projector and ignore any shortcomings. Newer and better models are produce every year end. Maybe in another year or 2 my projector might consider old technology. doh.gif
Red Maniac
post Jan 26 2007, 12:31 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 25 2007, 02:49 PM)
I am in the same boat.  It has been a process of elimination.  and now it is down to the Epson TW700 and Panny AX100 for me.

Have you seen other LCDs in this price range for 720p native resolution.  If not then I encourage you to see as many as you can, then you will be able to make an informed decision.  No projector is perfect for everyone, but there is one that is perfect for you.  Its out there, calling your name....can you hear it.... icon_idea.gif
For LCD, you have the choice of Panasonic AX100, Sanyo Z5, Epson TW700, and Hitachi TX300.

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 25 2007, 02:55 PM)
I think the new 720p range of LCDs that just came out in the past 2-3 months have exceeded DLP stranglehold.  I find the LCD blacks to be better than DLP.  A lot is attributed to the better LCD panels and most importantly the dynamic irises.  By the way I am in the 5%, so I may be biased.

I have come to know that some new generation DLPs with more mirrors on the colour wheel has almost eliminated the rainbow effect.  Better technology and more options can only be better for us the consumer.
Not sure the black level from LCD can surpass the DLP. But it is all personal. A good DLP (with more color wheels) can be very expensive and beyond ones budget. But it does help to eliminate RBE.

0.0248sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:23 PM