8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Home Theatre Projector Talk, Epson TW700 Transformers Movie pic pg 33

TSjasonlky
post Apr 18 2007, 09:17 PM

451 posts

Please stay on Home Theatre Projector Topic, 1 or 2 post out of topic OKlah, but we have spent 4 posts on egg crates oledi... 5 if you count this post.
Discussion on Accountic Treatment is found here.

Thank you for your understanding.

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Apr 18 2007, 09:23 PM
TSjasonlky
post Apr 19 2007, 10:34 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 19 2007, 09:46 AM)

When I output 1080p on my oppo - I can only have normal setting, de epson greys out all de other settings even 'through' is gone - getting more strange....

Bro,

When feeding the Epson TW700 with 1080p signal, the projector has to downscale to 720p, as such the "through" and other settings that allow a 1:1 pixel mapping will not ba available. I hope you understand what "through" setting is? It allows you to pass "through" the signal without any up of downscaling. Thats why when feeding a normal DVD signal which is 480i, you get a small picture. There is no point allowing the through setting for 1080p signal coz then you won't see the complete picture

Cheers

TSjasonlky
post Apr 19 2007, 10:38 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 18 2007, 10:59 PM)
Will have mr. Tan, Director of Mediaplex himself do the site-visit at my house on Friday thumbup.gif

So close to getting all the items. The longest wait would be the Anthem Statement D2, at least 2 weeks sweat.gif

But, I'm pretty sure it's worth it. I Love the Mitsubishi HC5000!!
Your list of equipment has left me and I would guess many others salivating. Any chance for a site visit. We promice to good little boys and not break anything.
TSjasonlky
post Apr 20 2007, 10:10 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 20 2007, 08:49 AM)
Bro PsP is rite ... but I thought I could let de oppo's 1080p image thru' as is but it looks like if I want tat to happen have to change to de Tw1k liao... hehehe
Just think about it, how can a native 720 projector display a 1080 picture? IF the through aspect is available, then you will not see the whole picture, i.e. only displya 720 lines out of the 1080 from the original signal.

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 20 2007, 08:49 AM)
Bro Tim - I dunno about ur sony but de oppo 981 can upscale to 1080p(from Faroudja processing if not mistaken) from SDVD's no need BR or HD DVD la.... I would have gotten de sony if not for tis feature, not worth to go to all dat trouble...
Apologies if this is already obvious, can de Oppo 981 output a 720p signal? If can, I would feed a 720p signal to the TW700. Coz I dun think using the Oppo to upscale to 1080 and then the TW700 to downcale back to 720 does the picture quality any good. In addition the upscaling by Faroudja still cannot come close to a proper BR or HD DVD. Coz remember, standard 480 lines of standard DVD only has so much details. Faroudja cannot "make" more detail from that original signal.

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Apr 20 2007, 12:31 PM
TSjasonlky
post Apr 20 2007, 12:39 PM

451 posts

Diden mean to say twice. Having flu now, so I diden even notice I press twice blush.gif . Shy oni. The change in weather hot to wet and cold within a day for a few days.... then my kids sick.... in the end I also kena.

When it comes time to replace the TW700 projector, a year or more from now, there may be other more affordable large format viewing equipment... as such we do not have to stick to front projection. It is after all a means to an end.

Instead of LCD TV, you may be able to get LCD wall.... just pasang like wall paper!!! Must be the antibiotic and painkillas tokking now. Going to rest now.
TSjasonlky
post Apr 20 2007, 03:43 PM

451 posts

Bro dirtrun, I am excited for you. All the pieces for your HT seem to be coming together nicely. Please pos pics of the screen.

Bro psp_boy, wanna give a description of your HT setup... the room I mean.

Talking about sticking at 720p.... actually we do not have any source for 720p material locally. My 720p material come from HDTV material off the www. So in reality, except for the projector, there is really nothing holding us at 720p technology. Standard DVD is at 480 and HD/BR at 1080. 720 technology seems to be in a sort of comfort zone... better than the rest but not quite up there yet. But upgrade we must.... but we will do so at our own leisurelah.

I have yet to hear from my designer since the last time I told her I want it MY WAY. Called her recently and she said she is "digesting" my ideas and proposal. She will put it all together "soon", guess this is what you cal artist's privelege, cannot hurry wan. Basically this is going to take more time than expected.

I did not get any new DVDs this week, so I am planning a run through Star Wars Ep. VI, V, and VI this weekend.
TSjasonlky
post Apr 20 2007, 04:37 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 20 2007, 04:07 PM)
Hi Bro J,

Will try and oblige but no promises ... I have big problems taking lolite shots cos I dunt have a tripod - have figured out dat resting de camera on a ladder and using de timer can get some decent shots  ...well at least to de limits of my chap ayam digicam la...

Oso sumtimes very lazy la to do all dat - you just want to on de aircon, start everything up, choose a title - pop it in de dvdp and just immerse yourself in de movie la ... if you get wat I mean...

Tired after a hard weeks work
Dirtrun
Totally understand dude!!
TSjasonlky
post Apr 23 2007, 11:05 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 21 2007, 07:15 PM)
I have oso noticed a slight defect on my image too - just noticed it after de screen is up but I guess I'll live wif it(there was a case of this in AVS too) cos its minor and de pics are really no comparison coming from  34inch crt...
Bro Dirtrun,

I am interested to know more about this defect that you are getting from your unit. From my unit and the other units that I have helped others to acquire, the only issue is a very slight misconvergence of the 3 LCD panels. The extent og the misconvergence of the panels is as follows:
1. red shift downwards by half a pixel
2. green to the right by half a pixel.

Almost all units have this issue but only when viewed up close. At viewing distance everything is A-OK thumbup.gif THe other thing that is starting to annoy me is the SDE, but only when the movie is boring and slow!!!

TSjasonlky
post Apr 23 2007, 11:19 AM

451 posts

Bro Tim,

So have you decided to stick with the AX100 or move on up to the AE1000. I would have requested for a new unit for evaluation before I made a final evaluation. But please do not go back to 29"CRT. Tell us which way you have decieded to go.

I must admit the recent spate of talks about 1080 and HD/BR has got me hands itching and me wallet aching!! But I do not think the Minister of Home Affairs will approve of the upgrade, especially since she believes the setup is now perfect!

Cheers
TSjasonlky
post Apr 23 2007, 02:18 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 23 2007, 11:19 AM)

I have also noticed dat my image is a bit lopsided that is on de right side it is about a third of an inch shorter than de lefts 54inches - you will notice tis while on test patterns

I have no lopsided image from mine or any other unit. All corners of my image are of equal length and at right angles. Here is somthing you can check.

1. Verify that the projector and the screen is exactly parallel to each other. Take it from me, even if it out by 1/8th inch, the effect on the screen would be an inch or more.

2. The base of the projector must be level, i.e. don't angle the projector at all, just use the lenshift mechanism to move the picture to the correct position.

Good Luck.
TSjasonlky
post Apr 24 2007, 10:50 AM

451 posts

To Jack28HT and peace228,

Wow, Home Theatre Projector veterans here.... an AE200 and an AE300 owner. Welcome to the discussion. I believe that your projectors have served you well...2.5k hours is very impressive indeed.

But 3 years or more has passed and the world of projectors have improved 10 fold since. If funds are not an issue, then I would advice that you go straight for a 1080p projector. Full HD is right around the corner and if I were to purchase one today, I would go for 1080p... prolly the JVC RS1 thumbup.gif

I have the Epson TW700 which I bought more than 2 months ago. Seems like ages ago now. Currently clocked over 50 hours with no major complains. Picture is sharp as a needle, enough lumens to view in the afternoon with bright sunlight filtering in from the outside. Colours so amazing that it pops out of the screen... or wall in my case. With Blacks unheard of for LCD at this price.

The Epson TW700 uses the D5 organic LCD panel, but there has not been any report of burn in on this panel. Incidently Panny also uses the same panel but it has encountered many problems compared to the Epson. This is probably due to an inherent design flaw with the Panny.

The only gripe I have with my Epson TW700 is that its a 720p projector and as such SDE is visible but only when I go looking for it. However if the movie is exciting and I am fully immersed in the storyline, I dun notice it at all.

TSjasonlky
post Apr 24 2007, 05:13 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 24 2007, 11:42 AM)
Wahhhh... Rich man spotted... Just got TW700 now wanna go 1080p already. Kekekek...

Not richlah, just saying if I buy today. But I ain't gonna change since I oledi have the Epson TW700. I will be staying with it for the forseable future... at least one year.
TSjasonlky
post Apr 24 2007, 05:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Apr 24 2007, 05:20 PM)
Thanks Jason. 
RS1 or HD1 is on my wish list only.. hoping for much better price includiing the source (waiting to build a powerful HTPC with "Quad Core" CPU) and also the AVR with HDMI 1.3 switching support and true HD audio decoding.  But this will be at least another 2 years time. Maybe I should do research only for the time being...  biggrin.gif and enjoy the AE300 while it lasts...
Staying with the AE300 also makes sense, especially since the dust on HD not yet settle. I also want to go HTPC route and wiring the whole house up. Still compiling data and researching now. No rush on this front.
TSjasonlky
post May 2 2007, 03:18 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 30 2007, 01:48 PM)
Yoo hoo,

Wah kinda quiet in de front Pj land ah???

Recently caught Babel - surprisingly very vibrant print but unfortunately too lazy to grab a digicam liao...

Cheers
Dirtrun
Nothing much to report on the Home Theatre projector front. The TW700 is performing very well, nothing that I would like to complain about. The projector is used abour 2-3 hours every other day, a bit more on the weekends. I have received another draft design for my Home Theatre, it is simple and elegant but still needs some work. Started talking pricing with the contractor and shocking.gif they are trying to cut my throat.

Went to watch Spider-Man yesterday at the cinema and it was.... bleah. GO watch it and form your own opinion.
TSjasonlky
post May 3 2007, 03:06 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 3 2007, 02:02 PM)
Hmmnn,

I liked Spidey3 with all its gimmicks and short character buildup(just imagine so many evil villians squeezed in a 2 odd hr movie...

Oso had some free time and popped in my avia and did some vdo calibrations and surprise surprise de factory settings are pretty spot on where basic vdo settings are concerned - didnt have to change anything(well at least I didnt see any improvement so decided to leave it as is...)
Did notice my elcheapo makeshift screen had hotspotting thou at de ctr of screen(is there any other place that tis is suppose to happen) mainly during de all white balance setting pages... thou have to be fair and tat it is not so noticeable during a movie...

Hmmnn now to find de time and de energy to try out de tweakked settings from AVS...

Cheers
Dirtrun
I thought Spidey3 is going the same way as the previous Batman franchise.... just trying too hard. The Batman Begins was a welcome "back to basics" that I thought Spidey 3 should have at least learned from. By the way, in the comics, Venom was one of the toughest opponents spidey ever had to face, but in the movie I though he was pretty easy to kill.

I am having no luck in getting my Avia DVD. Bought one thru ebay and it never arrived... someone in Pos Malaysia must be using it to calibrate his system. Luckily the seller reimbursed me. Now I am shopping around for another one.

If the hot spotting is not bothering you then just leave it. Hotspots usually occur at the center of the screen, but it may happen at other areas if the screen is not flat.

Note that the tweaked settings in AVS are specific for a screen and setup, so it may not have the desired effects since you have a different screen.

TSjasonlky
post May 5 2007, 02:23 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 4 2007, 06:36 PM)
Dirtrun

OK, I am getting confused again. Kekekeke...
Now, I need to get my deal fast before they make me liveless.

Anyway...

Your TW700 is similar to Epson PowerLite Pro 810 in the USA?
Let me weigh in on this....

I mentioned earlier that if I am buying a projector today, I would go for a 1080p resolution projector. If anything, just to guard against the investment of the initial outlay. 1080p is very quickly becoming the default. And the beauty of it is that you do not have to plonk another handful of dosh for HD or BR just yet. You can still wait another 6 months to a year then decide what to do on that front. But all the time you are safe in the knowledge that your projector is ready to go 1080. If you get 720p projector then if 6 months down the line you want to go HD/BR.... the initial outlay for the 720p projector is most probably sunk, plus you have another outlay to get a 1080p projector. Granted you may be able to get a 1080p at today's 720p prices... but there is no guarantee.

So in the end you may be paying more. That said, I am not sure if I would choose the Panny... go shop around. Not sure what your dealer carries.... Note that all 1080p do not have the high lumen output compared to the current crop of 720p.

TW700 is the same as the 810.
TSjasonlky
post May 6 2007, 11:01 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 5 2007, 10:34 PM)
Jason... thanks for the review. It was an eye opener.

Sorry to cause your kid to cry just now.

It was great and nice of you to let us intrude into your lovely house. You got a dream home there.

Your AV room gonna rock soon.

Thanks again.

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Not a problem dude. Glad to finally put have a face to go with a name. It is a pleasure to have met your lovely wife too. Don;t worry about my kid.... they get bumps and bruises all day long!!!

My AV room still got a long way to go, sorry for the mess.... diden even have proper place for you to sit.

Cheers
TSjasonlky
post May 12 2007, 10:38 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 11 2007, 05:09 PM)
Not really updates but after few conversation with them, I guess I am going to get back my money + another brand projector. I'll only burst it out later once everything confirm.
Glad that you are near a solution to the saga. Do tell which "another brand you are talking about....
TSjasonlky
post May 14 2007, 07:50 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 14 2007, 02:28 PM)
Possible Pearl also...
kennot be pearl coz then how you watch Astro with lights on?

Me thinks.... Epson
TSjasonlky
post May 14 2007, 11:52 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 14 2007, 10:24 PM)

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 14 2007, 07:50 PM)

kennot be pearl coz then how you watch Astro with lights on?

Me thinks.... Epson
As if I have choice... tongue.gif
dirtrun, our work is done, Tim has finally turned.....

Tim, welcome to the wonderful world of Epsonhood.

On a side note, I watched 300 and Monster House in one sitting on Saturday night. Both movies thoroughly enjoyable. I have watched 300 in the Cinema as well and the experience was very similar, actually better at home, coz at the cinema, there was a lot of noise in the picture, on the HT Projector, no noise visible.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:02 PM