The Official Blu-ray Thread v17, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

westlife
post Apr 8 2020, 11:39 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(PcEvo @ Apr 2 2020, 03:19 PM)
Thanks for the info.

Is hard to get a 4K player with region free... the only is China Brand; BOE and it cost about Rm1k unless opt for Pioneer UDP-LX500 which around Rm4k+?

I'm now having Sony for my Blu-Ray and Pioneer DVD player with Region Free for my old DVD movies especially those with DolbyD Ex and DTS Es.

Stay safe guys!
just get a xbox one. it is the cheapest player one can buy.
westlife
post Apr 9 2020, 07:32 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Apr 9 2020, 06:24 AM)
similar case to blu-ray... i bought PS3 because it was the cheapest blu-ray player i can afford at that time when i first starting up (that's about 13 years ago cool2.gif). but it has its downside as it does not have the features and enhancements of a standalone player. but i get what you mean... nod.gif
Not really. pretty much it has all the necessary functions to play a 4k blu-ray disc i would say and cheapest in price. just get the Xbox One S or X
Only downside is that it has no dedicated control like PS3 that you can buy to use it like a remote control. You need to use the controller as remote.
Given its price, it is certainly best value for money 'player' comparing to any other options around.

Yeah, i use my PS3 as blu-ray player only and I do not have any other blu-ray player. I bought a sony official remote control for PS3 to be used as blu-ray player remote control but end up i dun really use it. I use my game controller afterall. Not a big issue seriously.
Most people will just use the play, pause, forward or backward functions when they watch a 2 to 3 hours movie seriously. At most they change the audio or subtile track.

The best parts about game console as player is that they are very durable also.
My PS3 is still working even now.
I have not bought a Xbox one S/X yet becos I have yet to own a 4K blu-ray discs. However, they will certainly be my first choice if I need to own one.
westlife
post Apr 9 2020, 08:42 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Apr 9 2020, 08:26 AM)
I also used a PS3 as a Bluray player back in the day. But I think the example is not the same as using Xbox One S/X. PS3 did not have the ability to bitstream lossless audio for example. In that regard it's not as good as a standalone player.

The Xbox One S/X is better than a regular 4K Bluray player in my opinion. It can output both HDR10 and Dolby Vision HDR, where most standalone players just support HDR10. It can bitstream all audio tracks including Dolby Atmos just like a standalone player. And if you use Netflix, it even loads faster than a 4K Bluray player. It won't be able to beat an expensive Oppo or high end Panasonic player, but if we're talking 1000 plus ringgit players, there is nothing an Xbox One S/X cannot do that a regular player can.
yup, especially xbox one s is very cheap now. below sgd300 can get one easily.
westlife
post Apr 10 2020, 08:43 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Apr 10 2020, 06:13 AM)
oh i didn't know that, thanks for the info... i'm not that familiar with Xbox as i'm not really a gamer. that's to show also that i bought my PS3 just for the sake of blu-ray playback. and yes... i did buy the remote controller for bluray navigation  blush.gif
oh i guess you are lucky, as my experience is not the same as you. my PS3 was the earlier batch (the fat one), it was not released in m'sia yet at that time. i thought i was lucky enough because most people suffered the lens problem after only 1 or 2 years, but mine was all good... until it ended up with the YLOD after 6-7 years of use!  doh.gif  and that was in 2015 when it just refused to boot when switched on.... btw i still have that PS3 on my deck collecting dusts. still unsure what to do with it – whether to get it fix (which may cost a bomb now?) or just leave it to rot since i already have a standalone bluray player rclxub.gif
my PS2 bought in year 2003, it is still working now. it is a modded one something which allows the playing of 'friendly games'. but too bad that time mine is still the 'fat' original PS2. The slim version was out in 2004.

my PS3 i bought it for more than 10 years now also. Mine is the slim version. Not the 'fat' one. However, subsequently, there is one more super slim version.

PS4 can play blu-ray, DVD. However, it cannot play audio CD. what a bummer. tongue.gif Of course, it does not play 4k UHD blu-ray discs also. Another bummer.

Console to me, they are the best players. They exceed many standalone players.

This post has been edited by westlife: Apr 10 2020, 09:05 AM
westlife
post Apr 10 2020, 09:55 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Apr 10 2020, 09:34 AM)
That's something that never sat right with me. Why wouldn't Sony put in a 4K Bluray drive in the PS4 Pro? I do appreciate the increased performance in games, but it would have been great to also have 4K Bluray playback built in. Relatively speaking, 4K Bluray is somewhat of a failure, especially compared to DVD adoption rate, but it seems a bit premature of Sony to dismiss 4K Bluray in favor of 4K Streaming. That was the official reason given:

“4K is becoming mainstream first through streaming, and then through broadcasts. Only after this will 4K content start to become commonly distributed on discs, and we are anticipating more of this going forward. Sony will thus bring a distinctly “Sony,” high-quality 4K Blu-ray disc player equipped with Sony’s latest technologies to market at the appropriate time, in a way that is consistent with market demand for 4K discs. Sony hopes to invigorate the 4K market in this way.”

I'm glad the PS5 will finally include a 4K Bluray drive. It's weird that Microsoft is the one pushing 4K Bluray this generation, despite them not really having a reason to do so. The PS3 was the cheapest Bluray player for a long time, and it also helped drive the adoption of Bluray media. Microsoft backed HD DVD instead, and required the external HD DVD drive as an extra purchase. Guess who won that format war?
yeah. Sony being the member of the Blu-ray Disc Association, their ps4 does not support 4k blu-ray while their competitor Microsoft Xbox One supports it.

yeah. you are rite. my gut feel is 4k UHD Blu-ray will unlikely to be popular anytime soon.
1) firstly, it is still very expensive.

2) compatibility issue, to buy a standalone player that supports it will deter ppl from considering. Although XBox One S/X is relatively cheaper alternative.

3) most content on youtube, netflix are still major at 1080p. probably it needs to wait until it becomes on norm at the said platforms then physical discs got chance to catch up.

4) one needs a compatible device to enjoy the fullness of 4k. TVs are ok (this is quite common now and 4k TVs are relatively cheap nowadays so not so much a big deal) but other devices such as laptops/tablets/mobile phones are not are mostly at 2k resolution average. So technically, 4k to those devices are not a must since one cannot enjoy at full resolution. Netflix is a good example on mobile phones, you can select 4k but ur phone maybe is only 2k resolution. it will still look sharp since the content exceeds the resolution of device but one actually will waste more data (if not on wifi) to stream 4k content and again does not enjoy the maximum resolution of the content.

5) digital content seems to elimate the needs of physical discs. i hardly heard anyone buying blu-ray discs nowadays. I was previously used to buy blu-ray discs for those movies/concerts that i like to keep for collection purpose. For many years i have not done it already, partly due to the fact that lesser movies that interest me to keep as collection. Even those singers/bands have hardly released new albums or blu-ray discs for concerts, therefore no chance to buy too. My most recent blu-ray disc is the concert by Westlife. This will likely to be a trend. I afraid one day, we may not even see the physical discs for all these contents.
Even for those ps4 physical game discs, the quantities they released are very limited, if you dun happen to buy the game titles you like at the earlier stage, you may not even able to get the physical copies later.

I myself is a supporter of blu-ray discs. I hope they will continue to release them.

This post has been edited by westlife: Apr 10 2020, 10:04 AM

0.0493sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:51 AM