Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

titarium
post Jul 28 2016, 12:38 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 27 2016, 03:15 PM)
Singapore is one of the countries in the world where you can 'buy' your way to citizenship.

With USD2.5 mil, you get immediate PR
Well you can do that for Australia as well .
titarium
post Jul 28 2016, 12:40 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Jul 27 2016, 04:01 PM)
My case, start work in SG on  April 2014, ROM in SG on NOV 2015, submit PR application (Spouse under my application, so two ppl applying) on NOV 2015, June 2016 approve.

I'm 26 YO and my wife 25 YO.

Rumors said, below factor will increase your chance:

1) Age: the younger the easier you get PR, singapore is facing ageing population issue cuz low birth rate... so they love young talent who can work long time to contribute SG economy and of course CPF rclxms.gif

2) Married and spouse working in SG: The chance of you will build family in SG is very high, for your next generation future, and yes, singapore love baby, this will lead to first factor.

3) Qualification, salary, job industry, company: With good education(Degree), decent salary (able to feed family in SG), great job with good prospect (IT, engineer, development, research, medical and etc), good company (company with bad financial condition will affect because you are highly kena lay off or company shut down you will lose job, gov don't want to feed you)

4) Nationality, Race: people who are easier to adapt to SG culture will get PR easier. Malaysian (Chinese), Bruneian (Malay, Chinese), Indonesian (Chinese) are easier to get PR than Indian, Pinoy, Burmese, Vietnam, PRC and other third world country...
Congrats
titarium
post Aug 25 2016, 05:54 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 25 2016, 12:15 PM)
personally i think friends are not everything. my best buddies here are french since i face them everyday, badminton / drinking / party buddies are locals, talk cock whining buddies are msians and prcs, ocassional drinking with aussies and brits. heck got even so tired walking around till bored of it. i think the value of childhood friendship means more to me. thats why i cant figure out how some who emigrate to places like aus & uk, will 360deg adapt to the social circle there?. Long run, end up chinese mix chinese also. Some will be dog tail wagging wannabe whites, but I have and know my roots and tend to enjoy the malaysian life despite how fuked our country is to an extent. Justifiable from a perspective of better living? Well just a matter of time before you miss the roadside nasi kukus nasi lemak, goreng pisang, 'challenging' environment, variety of sights, stuffs like that. well at least to me SG is culturally diverse from the outside, but no depth at all. just walk around and see how superficial everyone is. chasing time, chasing money, chasing careers, double faces in work, ultimately you feel the sense of emptiness. the infrastructure, development yes are 5stars but its more like catered from the foreigners success. like what locals telling me it feels like being caged, espcially when expats (bunch of them!) easily making >15k + condo allowances + good car vs them confined in small rooms and smelling mrt armpits everyday. opps, a little off topic
I tend to agree to some but not all , depth of culture in SG depend who you mix around with, to me life - style is similar to KL , diff is I am able to reach home earlier and better variety of drafts and places to have a drink .

Friends and companionship I believe is very individual .

For my case maybe abit unique some how quite a number of Uni kaki is here , in fact few group of them , some still finding hard to catch up .

Childhood friends well still very closely in touch , infact 1-2 buddy migrated (TW , AUS) , we always make a point to catch up with each other , if I go back if got time just go out catch up , if they travel here always make a point to meet up , some of them even bunk at my place - especially when those special marathon season going on, those in TW , AUS if I go there we meet there if they come over to SG I meet them , if we all go back to MY same time big gathering .

Thing do change after you are married , it is even harder to find time when you have kids .

When my spouse goes for long holiday is like Jail break for me , calling everyone out d !

Food wise Malay food I tend to agree Malaysia have better choices , for other Malaysian food I still think not that far off you just need to know where to get it ( so far KL Hokkien Mee can't find same standard as Jln Ipoh , but equivalent to PJ , Old Town still avail ) , in fact on concentration and variety SG you have more choices and higher quality for Jap, Korean and Western .

Look from other side of the coin you can find more S.E.A & International delicacy in SG compare to MY
- Thai > Beach Road
- Philippines > Lucky Plaza
- China > Geylang & China Town
- Indonesia > scattered around Singapore , revolve more in Geylang Serai - typical ones are Bakso , Padang , Penyet
- Korean > City Area - around Amoy Street
- Jap > City Area , Orchard / Clark Quay , Buono Vista
- Western : German , Sweedish , French , Greek , US , Italian > City Area , Holland V , East Coast , Buono Vista

Well the suckiest feeling is room size feels like divide by 2 , but yet again in KL if you are staying in Condo the size of flat you are buying here still similar 900 - 1200 sqft , well if you are renting a room then that's a different feeling .

Planning will be different for married couples usually they will plan to settle down in SG with children , thus finances are focus in SG and it isn't that difficult to get a resale unit in SG , SG resale starts at 300k KL - Penang decent condo start at 400k , SG typically maybe 1 car in MY must have 2 cars .

titarium
post Aug 30 2016, 01:37 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Aug 30 2016, 11:10 AM)
Hi Folks, I got an offer from a Switzerland company that having their SEA headquarter based in Singapore. The wage will be in SGD currency (they ask for expected salary I request for the same pay of my current company but in SGD currency. I receiving wage in MYR.)
They’re not sure which one is a better option, to let me based in Singapore but travel to Malaysia frequent, or to let me based in Malaysia because I take care of the market here.
If based in Singapore – they have to pay levy
If based in Malaysia – they have concern about the tax issue. Should I declare the tax to Singapore or MYR? From the company standpoint, which one is a better option?
Appreciate if experienced person can help to clarify of this case. Thank you
Base in Malaysia , self declare tax in Malaysia as foreign income , pay own EPF .

Base in SG still need to rent room that's 500 SGD in a small corner .

titarium
post Aug 30 2016, 01:40 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Aug 30 2016, 10:43 AM)
Okay now i understand. But once I gain exp, then they are willing to go through the hassle to employ me?
Usually such applicant I shall place aside.

Unless you are recommended by someone within the industry .

Remember kid everyone says they are good , action speaks louder than words .

If want to work in SG try harder , else gain experience only move to SG , if you are that good you can even top in MY need not to go SG .

titarium
post Aug 30 2016, 03:40 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Aug 30 2016, 02:04 PM)
If declare as foreign income, do we still enjoy tax deduction as a local malaysian ?
Yes , fill in the income tax as per normal .

means you declare tax in Malaysia , as you will be consider receiving income at Malaysia .

I just realize 1 disadvantage , MY tax rate higher .
titarium
post Aug 30 2016, 05:00 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Aug 30 2016, 04:02 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply.

Even the currency in SGD? In this case am I still entitled to tax deductions as a Malaysian citizen?

Is it better if I consider to receive wage in SGD but based in MYR  so I only declare to SG.. Which one is a better choice?

If I don't have epf here, should I ask the employer to subsidize the tax or anything to trade off the additional tax?
tax subsidy and trade off you have to nego with your employer , infact you need to do your own calculation .

EPF is base on self contribution - this amount you can deduct tax

If declare Tax in SG means better to have a work permit , then eases your your tax declaration process, at least if you are permanent in SG you have a record .

To make things clear:

Receive income in Malaysia (SGD auto convert), declare Tax in Malaysia , use Tax deduction of Malaysian Citizen

Receive income in SG , declare Tax in SG , Tax deduction scheme in SG -> then company have to apply your work permit

Do take note that the company will also be audited so their finance should be clear cut .

The basis of personal income tax is normally see where you base in , since you live in MY and your passport wouldn't indicate you travel out often , for record basis is better to declare in Malaysia , so you have a record even you want to apply for loans in the future you would have a track record to prove the legitimacy of your salary .
(so on company's account books will be recorded as salary expenses in Malaysia)

Unless you are in Singapore most of the time , then your tax is require to be declare in Singapore .

titarium
post Aug 30 2016, 07:58 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Aug 30 2016, 05:43 PM)
I am traveling 2/3 of the months around sea countries. Does that affect my record?
You should be tax where you are base .
titarium
post Sep 9 2016, 12:27 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Sep 8 2016, 09:52 AM)
Finally back after one week banned

Fuking MOD

Btw, i jus received my Approval letter for conversion to SGrean

Now need to complete the sgjourney

Dunaseng, everything within 2 months too short lah

U all keep your property in malaysia OR simply dont declare to SG .
Declaring property anot and conversion is 2 different thing.

infact after you convert you should update your status on your bank account and property with the letter from Malaysian Immigration Authorities stating of your conversion , this is to avoid future complication if want to do withdrawals or change in names , as you don't hold MY IC anymore .

Property ownership for HDB requirement are self declaration , well if you lie and being found out can say good bye to your HDB , anyway you are still eligible to buy HDB either a second hand unit or selling off your unit in MY and wait for cool off period before you apply .
titarium
post Sep 9 2016, 12:34 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Sep 8 2016, 02:55 PM)
Lol let me knw when u got the answer

Btw anyone knws how long the whole process

Lets say u done the sgjourney within 2 months time, after tat what is the next step ? Wat happening next
1 - 3 months after completing your sg jouney , ICA will send you a leeter to complete to formalities .

you will be require to go to Malaysia Embassy to surrender all your docs IC passport birthcert .
Acknowlegement letter will be issue within 3-4 days ( time this process properly as appointment will be fix at ICA side )
Get the Acknowledgement letter head to ICA to complete your IC , taking oath and passport application submission

Basically within this period you aren't able to travel out of SG and consider stateless for a short period biggrin.gif
titarium
post Sep 10 2016, 11:55 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Sep 9 2016, 09:42 AM)
erm...then sg issue birthcert for new sgporean?
birthcert temporary held by them , and will be return .

IC and passport definately will be taken back .
titarium
post Sep 10 2016, 11:59 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Sep 9 2016, 10:08 AM)
So my understanding, they will send me a letter after complete sgjourney

within the approval letter period of 3 months to complete formalities -> surrender ic passport and birthcert in this 3 months time -> will receive ackowledgement letter frm Malaysia government within 3 to 4 days -> so after I surrender my Malaysia citizenship and the period before I able to get my new Singapore passport by appointment with ICA , I basically can't travel in out of Singapore ? Is my understanding correct ?

But one question, how to surrender my Malaysia citizenship while I need to come back to Singapore to work without my passport . 

understanding correct , and surrendering of citizenship can be done in Malaysian Embassy in Singapore .

Just google around there's alot of step by step
titarium
post Sep 14 2016, 08:18 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 14 2016, 07:41 PM)
I totally agreed with this, don't get to bog down by the Sg tel number thing, unless maybe you are applying for a really small local Co that wanna save that few dollars of not making a idd call.
I was interviewed and signed offer letter in KL last time, don't even have to step into Sg before landing a job. Those were the good old days smile.gif
I beg to differ , If I am the interviewer with different applicants I will review applicants from with SG contact number with presumption they are already in SG - who are easier to arrange an interview.
titarium
post Sep 15 2016, 09:49 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 14 2016, 11:19 PM)
Every recruiter and hiring manager main objective is to hire the RIGHT candidate for the job.

If they choose to hire someone just because it's easy, cheaper and faster for the candidate to come for interview, you'll be wasting everyone's time including yourself when you discover the person you want to hire is not a good fit

Good companies with proper hiring policy will not be bothered with candidates' MY tel number, address, etc. They'll go the extra miles to get the right talents for the job. Some may even have budget to fly the candidates to over to their office for the interview
I think you and Mc Kiddo got me wrong .

Yes final objective is to find the right candidate this doesn't mean in SG doesn't have the right candidate .

Probably you have not come across HR managers asking especially in the financial sectors :
- Are you PR or SGrians
- Are you in SG currently
- Are you a local graduate

above are some general criteria even recruiters like adecco will ask , so for those applied more than 50 application and not getting a replied this is the reason

I am sharing tips for those looking forward to work in SG , all you need is just the one chance to get an interview , increasing any chance like placing a SG number gives you an edge against others .

To me the best way to getting a job is by recommendation , but how many of forumers have this chance being recommended by the management for relocation , many of you applied to SG with intention to earn SGD , all I can do is sharing what I know.

Flying candidates over for interview days are over MNC are holding on budget for such things , even the technology sector interview candidates via teleconference - and invite candidate over if it is enlisted , SME forget about it .

You guys maybe are here and comfy , for those eager to come over here would sincerely like tips to get the very small opening of opportunity , remember the HR manager don't know you and won't read through all applicants they will filter out base on criteria set by MOM first only then move on to other options , and the other options are typically applicants not in SG and you are going against not only fellow Malaysians but also China , Myammars, Indonesian, Filipinoes, Thai ..... experience position for reputable companies may go against Westerners .

titarium
post Sep 24 2016, 04:51 PM

683 posts

Don't worry too much on the license thing , the letter is to check prior to the conversion whether is there any outstanding summons or penalty .

Malaysian License will be suspended that's all , is not consider blacklist - blacklist when you did something wrong .

JPJ will suspend your MY license , since you will be taking up a foreign license.

Whether system is align anot that's another issue , so your old licenses just keep it.
titarium
post Oct 24 2016, 05:22 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 24 2016, 08:11 AM)
Does anyone knows a serviced apartment give short rental (less than one year), 3-bedrooms budget around sgd5500/month? Office in Suntec City. Thanks
At that price quite a number is available even for lease < 1 year.
titarium
post Oct 24 2016, 05:45 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 24 2016, 05:32 PM)
Went through some listing in google but so far only found 1 within that budget for 3-bedder. (LMB Housing)
If someone has any suggestion, I'm very appreciated.
Apparently, our HR not really wants to do extra job by saying all residential/condo only lease for a min 1 year.
So, asking me to stay in serviced apartment. Thanks.
Some of those lease let's say 4.8 or 5 k , If you offer 5.5k they will definitely sign up with you on a shorter lease .

Some will just take up the offer for short lease , especially the more desperate owners.

Market are quire bad some Condo is hard to rent out, allowance are being cut in alot of MNC, so driving alot of expat to HDB or Condo in the outskirt (3k , 1k ++ sq ft) .

Property Guru
titarium
post Oct 26 2016, 05:17 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 26 2016, 06:58 AM)
Are you implying that only 10% of the population in SG is eligible to buy resale HDB? 🤔

Anyway let's not argue semantics, because the technical definition of "market price" is so broad that if you and me meet in ION and you sold me a strand of your hair for s$0.01, that would technically be a market price icon_idea.gif

The only point I was trying to make is this: The government subsidy stays with the citizen and doesn't 'transfer over' to the PR; So therefore since the PR doesn't technically enjoy BTO subsidies, why should "subsidized HDB" be a valid reason to exclude him/her from private house ownership outside of SG?
SG rule , want subsidy : be a SC household income < 12k .

if owning a resale HDB too much of a hassle private is always there .

Looking at the SGrian and Gov stand point , they wouldn't want the property market on an Island become what like in HK , so they are placing all measures possible.

Basically they are saying choices are there , not happy move on .
titarium
post Dec 1 2016, 12:07 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 30 2016, 08:46 PM)
For those who send their infant and toddler to the nursery because its make economical sense to do so, do prepare for your kids sending you to elderly home when you are old and helpless because it would also make economical sense for them to do so.
Looking from another perspective .

Sending kids to nursery for them to mix around so they learn social behavior .

When you are old at times when you are lonely can check yourself in to old folks to get some accompany .
titarium
post Dec 4 2016, 08:37 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 4 2016, 07:56 PM)
Can what. I stayed home to take care my baby for 1 year. Only need bout 1k for food and house expenditures. The other half sure can bring home 1k right. You sure most of 2 working parents family is because need or want? Want better lifestyle, so sacrifice the time with the kids. Hawkers earn alot btw if you think their earning is little.
Well at times you have to put other people's situation into consideration .

Some have other commitments loans, aging parents, younger siblings , family member with medical condition etc... the other partner is require is not the extra 1k but extra 3k and above.

0.0988sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:11 PM