Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

simonhtz
post Jul 4 2016, 12:41 AM

312 posts

Hi folks,

Matter of preference here, do you guys still maintain your Malaysia cellphone number?

Switch it to prepaid, cheaper plan or even cancel it?

This post has been edited by simonhtz: Jul 4 2016, 12:41 AM
simonhtz
post Jul 4 2016, 09:29 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Jul 4 2016, 08:38 AM)
I maintain a prepaid number as when I go back home i will need it for friends and family contact.
Sensible option, I configure my line, switch it for Celcom blue package (couldn't remember the name or something), been paying 50+ ringgit per month.

It adds up to about 600+ ringgit per year, which is equivalent to 200sgd...I may be able to do a lot with 200+ SGD.

This post has been edited by simonhtz: Jul 4 2016, 11:23 AM
simonhtz
post Jul 4 2016, 01:46 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 4 2016, 01:04 PM)
i use redone postpaid...rm8 commitment per month
as my parents are also on redone, it is 24 per month and they get to use rm24 of credit but usually they use about rm20 only.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Thanks for the suggestion!

I had to double check the name. I kept reading it as re-done postpaid. Had to google it, it's redONE. Sweet deal you got there.
simonhtz
post Jan 2 2017, 02:21 PM

312 posts

Hey folks, here's a story, seeking your opinion here.

Sounds trivia, but the story's about ermm...electricity usage.

I've been renting for a while with this family here at Tampines. For almost the past one year, I'm seldom at home.

Day time at work, OTs and outings in the evening, and I return to KL almost every two weeks consistently to see my family.

2 weeks back, I purchased a gaming laptop and as you might have guess, I've been hiding at home gaming away in the evenings and weekends...with some extended usage in throughout the midnight and the AM hours. But of course, I still go back every two weeks to see my family.

The landlord now is seeking compensation for the additional electricity that I'm using. Is this common practice?
simonhtz
post Jan 2 2017, 02:43 PM

312 posts

Hey Kim, thanks for the feedback. I'm discipline with the AC usage.

Now, is the erm...my gaming laptop honeymoon period hence the extended gaming use at night.
simonhtz
post Jan 2 2017, 04:15 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ Jan 2 2017, 03:53 PM)
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/elec...uarter-to-go-up
maybe this is their concern?

Not the first time hearing house owner that acts that way. Taking advantage.
U should  challenge to get the bill to see the difference of kWh usage before and after u play game with ur gaming laptop.
Ha! Thanks folks for the quick response. Nah, probably I've set a high savings benchmark for them, cause for the most the year, I'm out from home except sleeping. Now that I'm domesticated, they see a spike of electricity usage.

Not really keen of confronting them, this is the last straw that I have to put up with their shenanigans. Time for me to move my lazy butt out.

You guys probably know a thing or two, there's this FB group where fellow tenants group together to rent an entire unit or something along the lines, do you guys have that?

Thanks for sharing ya! icon_question.gif
simonhtz
post Jan 2 2017, 10:12 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jan 2 2017, 09:57 PM)
hmm.gif Except AC, shouldn't have anything extra to charge to you leh...

My rental included AC but as far as I remember, for the past 1 year I only on it for like... Maybe 30-40 hours.

This is my second year. My first year here I use more often coz hotter (placebo? biggrin.gif )

Anyway... This way I'm already using a lot less... If they come and jump I take the contract show them lo...
I believe the utilities part should be listed under your contract. Check the contract and see? I believe is only writing about AC usage and Washing Machine usage. The most is say... Don't keep the lights on when you're out that sort of thing.
Another way... You can try do the calculation for them for your gaming laptop. Gaming laptop I believe your adaptor max out 120W. Give 20% power loss, 150W. 1kWh = 6.67hours x 150Wh Take 1kWh PUB charge $0.3 (not sure about this rate but about there la... inclusive GST). It costs $0.3 for you to play your laptop for 6.67 hours. If you play 6 hours per day for 30 days a month, only $9...

How to charge? doh.gif Even include having the lights on at night at most also $11-$12. How to charge arh? doh.gif
Complex calculation, but sweet. Anyway, made my mind up. Time to make a move.
simonhtz
post Jan 6 2017, 11:44 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jan 6 2017, 10:52 AM)
Will applying PR for wife increase/reduce the chance of success?
Ah, asking the important question here. Me too, would like to know as well.
simonhtz
post Jan 9 2017, 09:24 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Jan 9 2017, 07:29 PM)
They required proof of residential address. That's one tricky one la
You may try CIMB @ orchard road. Passport, cash and Malaysian IC will do fine. Help my wife (who doesn't have any valid work pass or local address) to open an account with Cimb.

Caveat: there's only 2 branches...and probably 4 ATMs in SG.

This post has been edited by simonhtz: Jan 9 2017, 09:24 PM
simonhtz
post Jan 31 2017, 08:14 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jan 31 2017, 04:51 AM)
Wao time machine detected
I see what both of you did there. Lol!
simonhtz
post Feb 8 2017, 01:33 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Feb 7 2017, 05:38 PM)
Off topic: this Singlish usage of the word 'ever' annoys me more than the rest, not sure why
Anyone else feels the same?
Err...I think "can" is more annoying. Not annoying per se, but well, it's like a signature. smile.gif
simonhtz
post Feb 8 2017, 02:42 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Feb 8 2017, 02:33 PM)
Can?
You mean something like "Can you do this?" replied by "Can"?
Yeah...

"Can, can, no problem!"

"Caaannnn"

"Can."

Something along the lines. I find these quite endearing and somewhat annoying at the same time. I don't remember hearing that much can when I was in KL. Or maybe I was using "boleeeeh" most of the time.🤔
simonhtz
post Feb 10 2017, 05:05 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Feb 10 2017, 02:32 PM)
yes they will,few interviewer told me not much singaporean wanna be programmers lol...
Can attest. I don't see much Singapore developers in the banking sector.

0.0910sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:50 AM