5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

darrenboy
post Oct 16 2016, 09:26 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jun 23 2016, 10:19 AM)
Speaking of money, what is the best way to send money back to Malaysia?
Any limitations imposed on the system? How much maximum etc.?
Thanks for all the advice.
Have you tried CIMB? Has anyone tried? Is the rate ok?

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 16 2016, 09:27 AM
darrenboy
post Oct 16 2016, 10:36 AM

733 posts

How much is rental rate for a room around Woodlands area? And how much is a room with attached bathroom?

Pls PM me. Thanks.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 16 2016, 11:58 AM
darrenboy
post Oct 16 2016, 10:48 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 16 2016, 10:45 AM)
People asking then you go ask people. Funny la you doh.gif
I was only quoting his quote - Not asking him. But I am asking more or less the same question to the public.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 16 2016, 04:31 PM
darrenboy
post Oct 16 2016, 06:05 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Jun 29 2016, 04:52 PM)
Depend on the company I guess...
Mine dropped...ie: RM4000 --> $3000

For taxation, 15% flat if you are working less than half a year...
Normal resident rate if more than half a year...
No CPF deductions for banglas...

Link: https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/Individual...come-Tax-Rates/
What is "bangla"? tongue.gif
darrenboy
post Oct 16 2016, 06:08 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 15 2016, 04:36 PM)
7 year exp in commercial, should be atleast accountant / assistant manager / finance manager?

if you have a proper career growth, 4-5k ( accountant) / FM should be at least 5.5 above.
Some FM is only around SGD4k or 4.5k...depends on the roles & resp. If you put too high, you won't get the job. Sometimes you hv to lower a bit.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 16 2016, 01:52 PM)
last few day the rate was 3.007

but now , they restricted that you only can transfer to your own cimb bank.

If you are using cimb bank in malaysia as well ,thats good.
CIMB to CIMB only? That's fine with me. They also use CIMBclicks, right?

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 16 2016, 06:20 PM
darrenboy
post Oct 16 2016, 06:23 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 16 2016, 06:19 PM)
Based on my auditing experience, i haven't seen FM drawing 4 - 4.5k
Even newly incorporated SME's accountant drawing 4.5k.

just my 2cent  biggrin.gif

Yes, they used CIMBclicks Singapore.
I hv seen before. 4k. But mostly 4.5k. If we ask for 5.5k, susah to get in commercial, not talking about accounting firms lar....esp Big4.

the cimbclicks SGP is same login as the cimbclicks MSIA link?
darrenboy
post Oct 17 2016, 09:44 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Oct 17 2016, 09:21 AM)
Foreign workers...
Only PRs and citizens are eligible for CPF...
Have the rules change? I remember last time foreigners have a choice to contribute or not.

darrenboy
post Oct 17 2016, 10:22 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Oct 17 2016, 10:03 AM)
not sure when it change but at least 2 years ago....when i came to sg laugh.gif

DBS remit currently is the best choice...free transfer and rate also not bad...
2 years ago? I do remember that foreigners can choose. ok.

But I do have CIMB Msia account - isn't it better to just tfr between CIMB Mal & CIMB Sgp?
darrenboy
post Oct 17 2016, 05:52 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 17 2016, 01:49 PM)
Can la.. but must sell all within certain period of time.
In order to buy HDB, I cannot own any property in Msia too? What kind of ridiculous rule is this? Lots of situation of this kind - example, Malaysian home is stayed by parents or relatives (bought before working in Sgp), but planning to buy HDB due to working here in Sgp. Tell me why cannot. Are we expected to stay in Malaysia and travel everyday to Sgp - if that is the reason you mentioned. If home is in JB maybe still can ..but if home is in KL or Kedah, then how to stay there and work in Sgp same time. confused.gif
darrenboy
post Oct 17 2016, 10:47 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 17 2016, 09:51 PM)
You just open can of worms by asking that question. Well according to SG government, for FAIRNESS (which is skewed, depend on WHO you ask) HDB should be reserved for those with real housing needs who are unable to afford a private property. Full stop

Even the locals are not happy with this ruling and have been questioning government for many years. I say no point you pursue this issue further as you will NEVER get a satisfactory answer
Aiyo you guys....I am just wondering only lar.... not trying to challenge them or what....so it means the main attractiveness of the PR status is gone.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 17 2016, 10:48 PM
darrenboy
post Oct 18 2016, 08:12 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Oct 17 2016, 11:37 PM)
for you that is

last i check the online queue system is still few months long.
Then please share what other benefits are there for PR?

Btw, if anyone knows of a room to let around Woodlands, please PM me. Thank you.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 18 2016, 08:13 AM
darrenboy
post Oct 18 2016, 11:40 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Oct 18 2016, 11:22 AM)
mainly the freedom to work without WP, CPF (whether you see it as a pro or con, another arguement for another day), allowed to purchase HDB. Even buying private prop there is an additional stamp duty imposed based on your residential status and the difference of PR and foreigner is up to 10%

everything has pro and con, what is pro for me might be con for you.

you are new to SIN? maybe you will see thing differently once you settled down.
I thought earlier you said if buy HDB, then our existing properties (even if it's situated in Msia) must be sold off. So, if do not want to sell off, it means cannot buy HDB.

Just want to compare something.

1. The medical by employer is up to SGD30 max per treatment, and Annually up to SGD200. Based on normal clinic charges, is SGD30 per visit enough?

2. Also, how many days your annual leave? 12 days seems low. After a few years, increase to 14 days.

3. As for CPF, if we do not contribute CPF, are the companies suppose to add more to our basic salary, since we are not getting employer portion of CPF? Is this compulsory or up to discretion of each company to add extra for us or not?

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 18 2016, 11:42 AM
darrenboy
post Oct 18 2016, 12:00 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Oct 18 2016, 11:53 AM)
yes correct on HDB. you are allowed to buy but with conditions.

1. the local clinic I go to usually charge me more than $30, I think more like $40 per visit

2. this is based on your negotiation with your co. According to MOM minimum is 7 days for first year of service and increment of 1 day for every year. Maximum 14 days.

3. Some co does this but it is not by law for them to do so.
How many days annual leave you got?

ok, thanks. So, seems like the medical is not enough. The pay is also not that good. But I suppose no harm to come over to work in SGP to gain the experience.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 18 2016, 05:18 PM
darrenboy
post Oct 19 2016, 12:44 PM

733 posts

Anyone staying around Woodlands area (or nearby) currently?
darrenboy
post Oct 21 2016, 02:16 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 19 2016, 11:02 AM)
Majulah singapura. Now to migrate to edmw
Are you leaving Sgp, and going back to Msia?
darrenboy
post Oct 21 2016, 04:16 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 21 2016, 02:23 PM)
In progress. Job hunting still. smile.gif
ok, good luck then. Malaysia jobs are not easy to find.
darrenboy
post Oct 22 2016, 06:37 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Oct 21 2016, 05:35 PM)
Singapore Jobs are even harder  smile.gif
Yes, but he is going bk to Msia.
darrenboy
post Oct 25 2016, 03:53 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 25 2016, 10:50 AM)
Apparently jiu hu = johor.
So johor kia.
Haha... oic, jiu hu kia, not anak sotong? icon_idea.gif

Yes, I wud think resale HDB is at market price.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 25 2016, 03:55 PM
darrenboy
post Oct 26 2016, 12:01 PM

733 posts

Any members here who work in the accounting/finance line, but not in accounting firms. Rather, you work in the commercial industries. Please let me know.
darrenboy
post Oct 26 2016, 05:16 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 26 2016, 12:33 PM)
Banking not counted?
No, but you are in banking?? Ok. Noted. Purpose is only for me to know who to contact if I have any work related issues for discussion.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 26 2016, 06:14 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:38 PM