Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:09 PM

692 posts

Hi guys, I just got my job offer in SG. So basically im pretty new to everything in SG. Here are my questions,

1. Passes like TnG in MY, what does it called in SG? (ezlink? where can i reload this card?)
3. The first time i went to SG, i doesn't have the exact amount for bus fare, the smallest amount i got was $5 and the bus driver doesn't return the balance. Is this normal? Do i need to bring the exact amount of cash to enter buses?
2. Still in mist of finding room, office around pasir panjang area, so can anyone suggest me the best place to stay? (Clementi area seems like many room for rent, however im trying my best to find for room priced around $600 or $550 and below with wifi and aircond include, it would be even more great if someone here is a hunters/agent for this sad.gif )

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 3 2016, 05:15 PM
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:30 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:17 PM)
1. ezLink...You can reload on the terminals or over the counter. Cash or cards can be accepted.
2. I use ezLink to board buses too...Opt for cashless in SG unless in food junctions...
3. Not used to that area but with 600 or 650 I think you can get such rooms... Cheaper if you are willing to share room...
Thanks for the info. My friend did gave me an ezlink card, so was just wondering is this the cheapest card to travel (bought the normal train ticket and it costed me almost double the amount when i saw my friend used his card).
for question (3), since im new in SG, therefore i decided to stay alone first and probably get use to the environment and culture before deciding to share with someone.

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:17 PM)
1. Ezlink or nets flesh pay, both accepted , some debit card or ATM card oso have Tis function, I got alot extra card can gv u if wan, easiest way to top up at any MRT,  no charge

3. Take bus jus use the card

2. Wish u luck, 600 should able to find if u r not choosy and no a.c and stay outskirt of city
Thanks for the info. As for reloading at any MRT, is it at the ticketing machine? or reload over the counter?
Not really choosy, but a room without a.c. with the priced of 600 is a little too expensive for me sad.gif Don't mind to stay a little outskirt, as long as there is mrt to bring me around/work.
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:34 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(calson @ Aug 3 2016, 05:26 PM)
1) The card is call Ezlink Card. You can top up in all MRT/LRT station.

2) Basically all public transport (except taxi) is using Ezlink card for payment. You will need coin if you doesn't have EzLink card. Yes, you're right. No change/balance will be return.

3) The best was to use agent to find accommodation. Unless you know someone who has "lobang" to help you find. With agent, you will need to pay 50% as commision. Therefore your 1st month will be "1 month of rental +  1 month deposit + 50% agent fees". With recent drop of rental price, $600 with wifi and aircon is possible. But still depends on the area.
Thanks for the clarification on question (2). Twice i board the bus, and both didn't return me the extra balance, i thought it was due to too many passenger at that time sweat.gif
For question (3), do you have "lobang" for me? laugh.gif Currently using ibiliksg to find for room, not sure if this is the best place to find for room or not sweat.gif
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:36 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:33 PM)
Got counter and machine for top up

Really convenient , u step into station and u will knw

Here utility really expensive, no way landlord will let u use a.c without charging u another 150 to 200

Another way is to share room
True also.. Since I'm still having approximate a month before i start my work in SG, so gonna try to find for room with a.c for current 2 weeks, then without a.c for the final 2 weeks. sweat.gif
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:43 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:40 PM)
No one will rent u a room jus for 2 weeks

No matter how no harm trying wish u luck
I think you got me wrong. What i was trying to say is, my job starts on 1st Sept, so for the current 2 weeks (1/8 - 14/8) I'll try to find a room with a.c around $600. If i failed to find 1, i'll move to finding room without a.c sweat.gif
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 08:31 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Aug 3 2016, 05:59 PM)
Not only ibilik, you can also try nestia, propertyguru.com, flatsdb, 99.co etc., plenty of sites out there.
But since you're starting work in Sept, perhaps, wait until the 3rd week to start finding.
Many agents won't bother responding to you if too early. Too early as in 1 month early.
Also, you should allocate at least one day to go and view the rooms in SG.
Photos sometimes doesn't show the real condition of the unit.
When you go and view the rooms in SG, prepare some cash to pay deposit (usually 1 month).
This saves the hassle of having to TT the money to agent later.

If you want, I can recommend a good agent to you.
Can try and whatsapp this agent.
It's ok, I found 1 agent kind enough to explain me everything. Thanks for your offer.
I decided not to take room with a.c. as usually house owner will impose specific time (eg night till morning) for a.c. and my work do required rotation nightshift. Single room rental without a.c. , cost around 500 should be ok right?
LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 08:17 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 08:34 PM)
Yes tats normal market price
Thankss.. Then I shall be looking around with that price range.

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Aug 3 2016, 08:50 PM)
500 should be ok, but depends on location.
Mind telling which field? Medical or IT?
Agent offered the place in Bukit Batok, working area around pasir panjang.. should be fine I guess since Googlemap show me mrt only required less than 30min.
It's IT field..

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 4 2016, 08:17 AM
LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 10:29 AM

692 posts

Guys,
Any google apps to intro for mrt, which includes fare price of travel?
LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 11:36 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(loverukianini @ Aug 4 2016, 11:32 AM)
hi, is it normal for foreigners like us to use agent to find our 1st room there?
plus can i have the agent contact details?  thx in advance smile.gif
Based on my friends explanation, foreigners like us would required to register with MOM for the place we are going to stay. Therefore, ppl like me (1st time staying in SG) are recommended to find an agent, as they will do all this process for us. Correct me if im wrong sifus laugh.gif

LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 11:57 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 4 2016, 11:51 AM)
No such thing.
ggwp... so foreigner like us, can just simply rent a place to stay? Go and back from work as per usual without worrying anything like in Malaysia room rent?
LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 12:22 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 4 2016, 12:15 PM)
There are people who stay in Malaysia and draw Singapore salary.
For what my question is, and also loverukianini, do we need to find agent if we wanna rent room in SG. And why do we need agent for room renting in SG (from what i heard is needed to register the address)? But since you said no such thing, so kindly clarify it, as my agent said contradict to what u had said and im worrying i might get cheated now sweat.gif
LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 12:59 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 4 2016, 12:29 PM)
Yes, jus rent a room, mom dun care where u stay

Just like when u moved away, mom oso dun fuking care
I see.. for the clarification..

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Aug 4 2016, 12:47 PM)
Agents will help you find places to stay and sometimes might help you to get a good price.
Also with the rental agreements, etc. However, the payoff is that you'll have to give commission.
I've heard that when you get your work card, you're supposed to fill in your accommodation address.
They'll probably help with the documentation but never heard that we need them to help register with MOM.
Guess I'll need to talk to my agent again.. might heard it wrong myself.. thanks to all sifus..

LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 03:51 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 4 2016, 03:11 PM)
Yes, he is right. There is no such thing. Another thing you should note is that agent should be collecting agent fees from either landlord or tenant. Never both sides. My previous agent created some story and said that he has a co-agent sharing in the same property hence both me and my landlord need to pay him and his partner. If your agent serviced you by bringing you to view a few rooms then, you'll be paying the agent the agent fees. Otherwise, the landlord will be paying the agent fees for bringing prospective tenants to view his rented room. Hope I'm clear enough. If you ask me, I feel an agent is not really necessary unless you're in a rush and unless you don't feel confident that your relationship with your prospective landlord is steady, i.e, able to settle things peacefully or come to an agreement on a friendly basis....but to each his own.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I see.. My agent told me that he doesn't charge us agent fee, so basically it sounds good to me, but the weird thing is that he required my FIN number (which later he told me that he needed it to register for the address), and i passed it to him without thinking twice sad.gif
Am i dealing with some kind of scam here or something? sad.gif

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 4 2016, 03:53 PM
LalaluSan
post Aug 4 2016, 03:57 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 4 2016, 03:23 PM)
to be honest agent is not necessary. i find it too expensive to pay since most of them are useless.
just try to get a room from websites like ibilik or easyroommate. they are good enough. i got good rooms from easyroommate.
The agent i found, gave me the room details in Bukit Batok street 33, which near to Bukit Gombak mrt station. Rental cost quoted was 500sgd. And also, he said he doesn't charge agent fee. Sounds legit?
LalaluSan
post Aug 5 2016, 09:41 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 4 2016, 06:23 PM)
TLDR: As a tenant it is not compulsory to engage an agent and pay agent fee.

Long version: A landlord looking to rent out his property will (almost) always engage an agent to help him find tenant. This agent is the landlord's agent, he represents the interest of the landlord, and he charges the landlord 0.5 months rental per year of tenancy agreement as agent fee.

A tenant looking for a place to rent can (optional) engage an agent to help him look for a place to stay. This is your tenant's agent, who looks out for your interests, and he charges you 0.5 months rental per year of your tenancy agreement.

As a tenant, you can choose whether you want to have an agent or not. If you don't want, then whenever you look for rooms on propertyguru or wherever, you can ask the agent whether he is representing the seller. If he say yes, that means you are dealing directly with the landlord's agent (who gets paid by the landlord), and therefore you don't need to pay any agent fee to anybody. However of course you have to gaudim everything yourself because this agent has no reason to look out for you.
Thanks... Now i can safely assume that my agent fall under "landlord's agent" category.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 4 2016, 09:05 PM)
probably he just use your FIN number to borrow money from Ah Leong only.
Don't bully me sad.gif I'm just having "young and dangerous not dangerous" blood in me.

QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 5 2016, 09:07 AM)
Well, this agent (sorry I refuse to say "my agent" as he wasn't exactly servicing me) at first told me he's not charging me agent fees but after learning that I was interested in renting that room, he begin twisting his story, manipulating his words, and dunno somehow the room I view actually co-broke with his other partner. Although it seems to be legal, co-broking a rented room is not widely practiced and the fact that he wasn't honest and upfront about this thing wasn't cool with me. So, I just dropped it.

At the end of the day, he can't force it on me as he's actually the landlord's agent, not mine. To protect yourself, make sure you're well-informed of what should be their practices. Attached file is for your reference and info. Hope that helps. bruce.gif So far, I've shifted 3 times and found my previous + current place without any agent help and thankfully, no problems so far.  rolleyes.gif
Well, I'll take note of this. In coming week or 2 I'll be meeting up with my agent. sweat.gif I don't have much time left, hopefully rushing doesn't kill me. Also, mind pm me the "nickname" of the agent? Just for precaution purposes, pm and identity will be deleted.

QUOTE(tHeDuD3 @ Aug 4 2016, 09:37 PM)
pls make sure tat ur landlord register ur info with HDB within seven days from the commencement of lease agreement.

it is to make sure tat whn u wanna renew ur pass, MOM can match ur current stay add wif the registered add (register by ur HR). if the add nt match, MOM wil nt allow u to renew ur pass.
I see. Thanks for the clarification. Just wondering, does agent themself able to register the above mentioned info?

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 5 2016, 10:16 AM
LalaluSan
post Aug 5 2016, 09:47 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Aug 5 2016, 12:41 AM)
1) I would suggest that u and other new members read back what are the questions, feedback and comments as all these questions has been answered and discussed previously. (I did that few months back, here is not like /k/ so u surely learn new things every few pages u go through).
2) Online reading and google-ing around will help, some feedback may not be true because everything changes and it will be outdated especially those one-time off process.
3) SG is full of all kind of people comes from many countries, so don't worry everyone u meet not necessary Singaporean also, so don't feel like "foreigners like us" smile.gif

Regarding to room rental question: I believe it depends on what pass u holding, I was informed by landlords that certain pass (Excluding EP) requires them to register at HDB just to ensure that they do not overstay and reachable/contactable by authorities if needed. It is illegal to rent to those do not have valid permit e.g. expired permit and HDB landlord could lose their unit due to this. Not much hassle if EP holder.
I see... Another clarification solved my questions.. Sorry for the "post without using search" first, im only afraid on room renting procedure as what i heard from agent are different compared to Malaysia. So pretty much every sifu here explained everything. I'm settle with all my questions, thanks to all sifus. sweat.gif Wish everyone the best in your career path.
LalaluSan
post Aug 5 2016, 02:04 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 5 2016, 01:51 PM)
maybe he took the agent fees from the landlord, so no need to take from you already.
Should be, most of the sifu here explained about this. Best way is to clarify this directly with my agent. Thankss..

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 5 2016, 02:06 PM
LalaluSan
post Aug 10 2016, 03:06 PM

692 posts

Hi all.. Questions, from the application received from jobline, the pass stated was "Type of Pass: EP" , which is stands for "Employment Pass" right? And reading from the MOM page, EP holder "Candidates need to earn at least $3,300 a month and have acceptable qualifications." right? Or for some cases, it doesn't matter?
LalaluSan
post Aug 10 2016, 03:19 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 10 2016, 03:10 PM)
maybe u miss out the key word somewhere >> GUIDELINE blink.gif
QUOTE(KilJim @ Aug 10 2016, 03:11 PM)
Yup those are the guidelines
If you already have the job offer you already know how much you earn, so ignore the guidelines as they may not apply to you
Ahhh, i see.. Didn't know it was just a guideline. Thanks for pointing out, and also for the clarification.. sweat.gif
LalaluSan
post Aug 30 2016, 10:36 PM

692 posts

Guys, if i wanna enter sg via 2nd link, which bus should I take to go to the nearest mrt station?

0.1401sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:35 PM