Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

KilJim
post Jul 13 2016, 02:46 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jul 13 2016, 02:34 PM)
He said company will pay the levy. Doesnt affect the salary he offered me.

My concern is, is not getting E pass or S pass something I need to be worried about.
Yeah, you will be looked down upon in society cry.gif
ITzai
post Jul 13 2016, 02:54 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(chesterchek @ Jul 13 2016, 02:30 PM)
Bro at least you have some responses.. I sent almost 100 resumes and got 0 reply atm  cry.gif
I keep seeing new job openings being published everyday but wonder why hardly to get any response.
Is Singapore now freezing or what..
kevin613
post Jul 13 2016, 02:56 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(ITzai @ Jul 13 2016, 02:54 PM)
I keep seeing new job openings being published everyday but wonder why hardly to get any response.
Is Singapore now freezing or what..
not freezing. just keep in mind you'll have to compete with others from China/India/Philippines/Thai/Viet/etc etc..
whoever cheaper better faster will get the job...
deodorant
post Jul 13 2016, 03:10 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

My concern is, is not getting E pass or S pass something I need to be worried about.

Work Permit for unskilled immigrants (those ppl who work as maids, etc) normally got limitations like can't marry Singaporean or PR and can't get pregnant otherwise SG will ask you to GTFO; but these limitations are normally waived for educated hires.

Here and there you might find some inconvenience with applying for loans, credit cards, etc cos some organizations treat WP vs EP differently.

If I'm not mistaken, Work Permit holder not eligible to apply for PR (but normally you need to work few years before applying anyway, so there's time for you to find a new company that will do an S Pass / EP for you if you want to use this one as a stepping stone).

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 13 2016, 03:13 PM
Freedom15
post Jul 13 2016, 03:28 PM

171 posts

I heard that you need to pay an extra deposit when you are trying to get a Telco contract too...
If you are work permit...
EP I think no need for those extra deposit...
specopsmarines
post Jul 13 2016, 03:30 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 13 2016, 02:46 PM)
Yeah, you will be looked down upon in society  cry.gif
Really? How do people know? Ppl ask about this?

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2016, 03:10 PM)
Work Permit for unskilled immigrants (those ppl who work as maids, etc) normally got limitations like can't marry Singaporean or PR and can't get pregnant otherwise SG will ask you to GTFO; but these limitations are normally waived for educated hires.

Here and there you might find some inconvenience with applying for loans, credit cards, etc cos some organizations treat WP vs EP differently.

If I'm not mistaken, Work Permit holder not eligible to apply for PR (but normally you need to work few years before applying anyway, so there's time for you to find a new company that will do an S Pass / EP for you if you want to use this one as a stepping stone).
I see, thanks for the useful info. Im at the limbo now. Salary offer is good. Just this WP thing makes me feel like pulling out sad.gif Plus there's 1 month salary payback this if I leave within one year.
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2016, 04:38 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

that levy has to come from somewhere or someone
since it is being paid for u, it will come from the "budget" to pay the particular headcount.
if a levy is not required, where do u think the "additional budget" would have went to?
SUShuaweie5830
post Jul 13 2016, 04:43 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jul 13 2016, 03:30 PM)
I see, thanks for the useful info. Im at the limbo now. Salary offer is good. Just this WP thing makes me feel like pulling out sad.gif Plus there's 1 month salary payback this if I leave within one year.
Well ur phone plan oso need to pay deposit more than a EP holder, if u staying in sg oso difficult, some house owner prefer at least EP holder
KilJim
post Jul 13 2016, 05:04 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

A lot of things need your IC which is your WP card
Once you take it out.... bye.gif

Jk la, you come here to work or kao lui
Lui also see your pay not see your pass status tongue.gif
Grajindo
post Jul 13 2016, 08:32 PM

2,171 posts

How long normally will it take for the application of EP or S-Pass, considering that everything required is there
SUShuaweie5830
post Jul 13 2016, 08:38 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jul 13 2016, 08:32 PM)
How long normally will it take for the application of EP or S-Pass, considering that everything required is there
unknown ,tis always been a secret we wan to find out
Grajindo
post Jul 13 2016, 08:39 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 13 2016, 08:38 PM)
unknown ,tis always been a secret we wan to find out
thanks, just found out that there was a post a page earlier mentioned that got it in 2 weeks time.. pretty reasonable
IwanAGP
post Jul 13 2016, 08:42 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Open POSB bank account must go specific brunch not every brunch can open.

Extra deposit for phone

Counted towards their quota for foreign worker need MYE to apply the pass but to be worried by employer not you

But protected under the employment act (or something like that, can't remember) which EP holder may not be covered.

Make no mistake... I often meet WP holder that fetches home more than me doh.gif Most of the time they got OT but EP holder like me work like kuli still same pay

1 month is ok lo... Mine was 3 months :rollleyes: EP lagi...
xyrotix
post Jul 13 2016, 10:03 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jul 13 2016, 08:32 PM)
Apply 1 week will get IPA letter .
Then depend on when you reach sg medical checkup 2 days . Then mom appointment 3 more days . Then send pass to you in 4 Days .

Fastest will get pass in 3 weeks .
Grajindo
post Jul 13 2016, 10:42 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(xyrotix @ Jul 13 2016, 10:03 PM)
Apply 1 week will get IPA letter .
Then depend on when you reach sg medical checkup 2 days . Then mom appointment 3 more days . Then send pass to you in 4 Days .

Fastest will get pass in 3 weeks .
thanks for the detail. just another question, this might be stupid but, do people normally start working while applying for their pass?
IwanAGP
post Jul 13 2016, 10:47 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jul 13 2016, 10:42 PM)
thanks for the detail. just another question, this might be stupid but, do people normally start working while applying for their pass?
You can only start working upon receiving IPA, nothing less.

You can't start working only apply pass.
Ultimaweapon
post Jul 13 2016, 11:02 PM

88 posts

If you're working without the pass or even at least an IPA letter,
it's considered to be illegal and if found out, not only the company but you're in huge trouble as well.
You maybe barred from entering Singapore for a certain number of years if you work without the IPA.

You can start working with just the In-Principal Approval (IPA) and get the physical card later.
No matter what, do not work until you get the IPA, no matter even if it's past
your supposed date to report for work. I'm sure the HR and bosses will understand.

SUShuaweie5830
post Jul 14 2016, 11:50 AM

967 posts

Sgd keep dropping

Everyday like drop 0.5% like tat

So sakit
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 14 2016, 12:03 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 14 2016, 11:50 AM)
Sgd keep dropping

Everyday like drop 0.5% like tat

So sakit
Temporary nia. Gomen trying to weaken sgd. Bnm.oso will want to weaken myr to boost domestic growth.
xyrotix
post Jul 14 2016, 12:07 PM

252 posts

After IPA you need to reach sg . Then agent will make apointment to pass document . The appointment letter can work for 1 month .

Ipa letter cannot work .

This post has been edited by xyrotix: Jul 14 2016, 12:08 PM

165 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:28 AM