165 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

harrychoo
post Aug 18 2016, 11:51 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(Megatronika @ Aug 18 2016, 07:55 PM)
Hi all sifus here are my current profile:

Job Title : Senior Quality Engineer
Job Desciption : Handle product's quality
Years spent in company : 3 years
Company : MNC
Industry : Manufacturing
Tenure: Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 4 Years (Product Quality Engineer)
Total Experience: 7 years (all working in Malaysia)
Highest education background : Degree in Electrical Mechatronics
Current Salary : RM 4,700

My question, is it reasonable if I put my Salary expectation SGD 5,000? Is it too high? Initially I did not want to put any numbers, but it is mandatory column when registering at Jobstreet.sg.

Thanks!
i think at most u can get is 3.5k sgd only
Megatronika
post Aug 19 2016, 12:37 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Aug 18 2016, 11:51 PM)
i think at most u can get is 3.5k sgd only
Wow, I think my expectation is too high already. 3,5k is around 74% from my current salary dollar to dollar. Anyway at least I have some hints what to put.
Megatronika
post Aug 19 2016, 12:39 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 18 2016, 10:28 PM)
i will give u s$3k tops if i'm the hiring manager
rclxub.gif How I can survive with $3k, stay at JB maybe
deodorant
post Aug 19 2016, 01:20 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Uh ... 31 years old, 7 years exp, you guys asking him to accept / target 3-3.5k salary? Really?!? NUS NTU SMU median FRESH GRAD already getting paid 3.3k nowadays.
IwanAGP
post Aug 19 2016, 01:46 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 19 2016, 01:20 AM)
Uh ... 31 years old, 7 years exp, you guys asking him to accept / target 3-3.5k salary? Really?!? NUS NTU SMU median FRESH GRAD already getting paid 3.3k nowadays.
Yeah so cruel...

25, 2 years into work now. Am getting that range
Megatronika
post Aug 19 2016, 09:05 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 19 2016, 01:20 AM)
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 19 2016, 01:46 AM)
Yeah so cruel...

25, 2 years into work now. Am getting that range
Good to know that with 2 years experience you already get 3~3.5k range. May I know what field you are in and your post.
deodorant
post Aug 19 2016, 09:26 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Megatronika @ Aug 19 2016, 09:05 AM)
Good to know that with 2 years experience you already get 3~3.5k range. May I know what field you are in and your post.

My view is that a similar post in Singapore should pay you roughly the same pay as in KL (so you should be looking at least around s$4.5-$5.0k to be fairly compensated).

However ... that also does depend on how desperate you are. The others do have a point that job market isn't so hot right now, so you need to decide whether you'll hold out for "fair" compensation, or if you're willing to lowball yourself and take a pay cut just to hop over the causeway.
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 19 2016, 09:32 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(Megatronika @ Aug 19 2016, 12:39 AM)
rclxub.gif  How I can survive with $3k, stay at JB maybe
Dun listen to them

Nvr low ball urself

If u r not in hurry just slowly find, it took me half year to get now this decent offer, and remember, if the company really appreciate you, they will pay for tat, not to mention they willing to spend, means their benefits wouldnt be tat bad too..... compare to u low ball urself and join and Cheapskate company and suffer even longer

nothingz
post Aug 19 2016, 09:48 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

$3k cannot survive in SG? if you expect to have the lifestyle of KL in SG then confirm cannot.
Mackiddo
post Aug 19 2016, 09:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 19 2016, 09:32 AM)
Dun listen to them

Nvr low ball urself

If u r not in hurry just slowly find, it took me half year to get now this decent offer, and remember, if the company really appreciate you, they will pay for tat, not to mention they willing to spend, means their benefits wouldnt be tat bad too..... compare to u low ball urself and join and Cheapskate company and suffer even longer
yeah. everyone should listen to you. everyone should wait and wait till they get the salary they want.

Fiona Chin
post Aug 19 2016, 10:16 AM

1,172 posts

Why cannot? One day 100 leh.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 19 2016, 10:42 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 19 2016, 09:26 AM)
My view is that a similar post in Singapore should pay you roughly the same pay as in KL (so you should be looking at least around s$4.5-$5.0k to be fairly compensated).

However ... that also does depend on how desperate you are. The others do have a point that job market isn't so hot right now, so you need to decide whether you'll hold out for "fair" compensation, or if you're willing to lowball yourself and take a pay cut just to hop over the causeway.
He is based in melaka so his pay is already adjusted. Lowball somemore and he is selling himself short.
madmoz
post Aug 19 2016, 10:48 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 19 2016, 09:48 AM)
$3k cannot survive in SG? if you expect to have the lifestyle of KL in SG then confirm cannot.
Why not? Rent aside, I use about 150 - 200 per week only.
Megatronika
post Aug 19 2016, 12:56 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 19 2016, 09:48 AM)
My concern is more in my monthly commitment where my average monthly expenses now is around RM 5k! So basically it already exceeded my monthly salary. So I should be considering the expenses needed in sg too if I am about to stay in Sg. I guess the minimum pay that I should accept is $4k.
Freedom15
post Aug 19 2016, 01:07 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Megatronika @ Aug 19 2016, 12:56 PM)
My concern is more in my monthly commitment where my average monthly expenses now is around RM 5k! So basically it already exceeded my monthly salary. So I should be considering the expenses needed in sg too if I am about to stay in Sg. I guess the minimum pay that I should accept is $4k.
Bro, you need some financial planning...
Anyways I do think 4k is doable...
Just post and see how la...
Don't quit ur Malaysia job first...

nothingz
post Aug 19 2016, 02:09 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 19 2016, 10:48 AM)
Why not? Rent aside, I use about 150 - 200 per week only.
He said he has lots of commitments in mys.

QUOTE(Megatronika @ Aug 19 2016, 12:56 PM)
I would agree that if you earn RM5K in mys, you should request for the same amount of $5K in SG. However you will need to take note of the market condition, supply and demand gap
KilJim
post Aug 19 2016, 03:43 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Pay is always a function of 2 things: What you are asking and what you are being offered

Not much point just talking about what you should be asking for
Just go for some interviews to have an idea of how much you are worth, then you can think realistically
FrontierX
post Aug 20 2016, 04:07 AM

current salary sgd5k ok... cpf take away 20% only can take 4k.

after rental and spending only left 2k plus nia...
IwanAGP
post Aug 20 2016, 09:10 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(FrontierX @ Aug 20 2016, 04:07 AM)
current salary sgd5k ok... cpf take away 20% only can take 4k.

after rental and spending only left 2k plus nia...
RM6000. The salary of yours if you're working in Malaysia. A lot eh
FrontierX
post Aug 20 2016, 11:21 AM

Earn 5k, take home 4k...

give back parents 800, rental 600, usual spending 1k.

Only left 1.6k nia. nowadays save this 1.6k dunno when then can go back msia.

unless i leave totally and take cpf along also...

165 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:12 PM