Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
LalaluSan
Aug 4 2016, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 4 2016, 12:15 PM) There are people who stay in Malaysia and draw Singapore salary. For what my question is, and also loverukianini, do we need to find agent if we wanna rent room in SG. And why do we need agent for room renting in SG (from what i heard is needed to register the address)? But since you said no such thing, so kindly clarify it, as my agent said contradict to what u had said and im worrying i might get cheated now
SUShuaweie5830
Aug 4 2016, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 4 2016, 11:57 AM) ggwp... so foreigner like us, can just simply rent a place to stay? Go and back from work as per usual without worrying anything like in Malaysia room rent? Yes, jus rent a room, mom dun care where u stay Just like when u moved away, mom oso dun fuking care
nothingz
Aug 4 2016, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 4 2016, 08:47 AM) Anyone PR of SG tried using passport less than 6 months to enter SG b4? Is it still allow to enter? My passport will be less than 6 months validity period but Msia passport shortage. Doubt if i am able to get a queue number. My colleague tried before, he said can come in
Ultimaweapon
Aug 4 2016, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(loverukianini @ Aug 4 2016, 11:32 AM) hi, is it normal for foreigners like us to use agent to find our 1st room there? plus can i have the agent contact details? thx in advance  QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 4 2016, 11:36 AM) Based on my friends explanation, foreigners like us would required to register with MOM for the place we are going to stay. Therefore, ppl like me (1st time staying in SG) are recommended to find an agent, as they will do all this process for us. Correct me if im wrong sifus  Agents will help you find places to stay and sometimes might help you to get a good price. Also with the rental agreements, etc. However, the payoff is that you'll have to give commission. I've heard that when you get your work card, you're supposed to fill in your accommodation address. They'll probably help with the documentation but never heard that we need them to help register with MOM.
LalaluSan
Aug 4 2016, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 4 2016, 12:29 PM) Yes, jus rent a room, mom dun care where u stay Just like when u moved away, mom oso dun fuking care I see.. for the clarification.. QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Aug 4 2016, 12:47 PM) Agents will help you find places to stay and sometimes might help you to get a good price. Also with the rental agreements, etc. However, the payoff is that you'll have to give commission. I've heard that when you get your work card, you're supposed to fill in your accommodation address. They'll probably help with the documentation but never heard that we need them to help register with MOM. Guess I'll need to talk to my agent again.. might heard it wrong myself.. thanks to all sifus..
shanelai
Aug 4 2016, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 4 2016, 12:32 PM) My colleague tried before, he said can come in Glad to hear that. Any idea how long validity period your colleague left before he/she renew the passport?
stargazer92
Aug 4 2016, 02:07 PM
Hi guys, I need advice, so far I only work for 1 month in a company and I decided jump another company which offer more good benefits.I already ask IRAS for confirmation for tax matter(exempted from 15%).
So my monies will be on hold by my employer also? Or should i wait till my pay day first then only i tender my resignation?
KilJim
Aug 4 2016, 02:22 PM
^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 4 2016, 09:41 AM) You are allowed to return to M'sia since you are M'sian. But to exit M'sia will be problem - if M'sia custom doesn't stop you, S'pore side will Negative I went from SG to Hong Kong, back to SG with my passport valid just below 6 months The counter guy at airport checked with someone who said as long as my EP is valid its no problem (though the HK side he can't confirm, but it work out ok)
clofae
Aug 4 2016, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 04:30 PM) Ennnnn.... u made appt liao Else dun even bother , get Ur appt date first whIch will be half years later, coz watever info u got now, eventuallly u will forgot and ask again later Dude, you're not even helping.  Can anyone please shed some light here? Many thanks in advance!
clofae
Aug 4 2016, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 4 2016, 11:57 AM) ggwp... so foreigner like us, can just simply rent a place to stay? Go and back from work as per usual without worrying anything like in Malaysia room rent? Yes, he is right. There is no such thing. Another thing you should note is that agent should be collecting agent fees from either landlord or tenant. Never both sides. My previous agent created some story and said that he has a co-agent sharing in the same property hence both me and my landlord need to pay him and his partner. If your agent serviced you by bringing you to view a few rooms then, you'll be paying the agent the agent fees. Otherwise, the landlord will be paying the agent fees for bringing prospective tenants to view his rented room. Hope I'm clear enough. If you ask me, I feel an agent is not really necessary unless you're in a rush and unless you don't feel confident that your relationship with your prospective landlord is steady, i.e, able to settle things peacefully or come to an agreement on a friendly basis....but to each his own. This post has been edited by clofae: Aug 4 2016, 03:12 PM
TzeThon
Aug 4 2016, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(stargazer92 @ Aug 4 2016, 02:07 PM) Hi guys, I need advice, so far I only work for 1 month in a company and I decided jump another company which offer more good benefits.I already ask IRAS for confirmation for tax matter(exempted from 15%). So my monies will be on hold by my employer also? Or should i wait till my pay day first then only i tender my resignation? some companies may drag salary until next pay day. it depends. IRAS tax if i'm not mistaken they will still require you to pay first. then they will refund the money once you have started your new employment.
TzeThon
Aug 4 2016, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 4 2016, 12:59 PM) I see.. for the clarification.. Guess I'll need to talk to my agent again.. might heard it wrong myself.. thanks to all sifus.. to be honest agent is not necessary. i find it too expensive to pay since most of them are useless. just try to get a room from websites like ibilik or easyroommate. they are good enough. i got good rooms from easyroommate.
nothingz
Aug 4 2016, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 4 2016, 01:55 PM) Glad to hear that. Any idea how long validity period your colleague left before he/she renew the passport? Less than 6 months, that is all i know. He said pr is ok because you have re-entry permit QUOTE(stargazer92 @ Aug 4 2016, 02:07 PM) Hi guys, I need advice, so far I only work for 1 month in a company and I decided jump another company which offer more good benefits.I already ask IRAS for confirmation for tax matter(exempted from 15%). So my monies will be on hold by my employer also? Or should i wait till my pay day first then only i tender my resignation? To withhold your salary is a standard practice required by IRAS. You can resign anytime as long as you served sufficient notice and you are sure that your new employer can get you a work pass. To be safe, wait till the new work pass is approved only tender your resignation in the current company
madmoz
Aug 4 2016, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 4 2016, 03:11 PM) Yes, he is right. There is no such thing. Another thing you should note is that agent should be collecting agent fees from either landlord or tenant. Never both sides. My previous agent created some story and said that he has a co-agent sharing in the same property hence both me and my landlord need to pay him and his partner. If your agent serviced you by bringing you to view a few rooms then, you'll be paying the agent the agent fees. Otherwise, the landlord will be paying the agent fees for bringing prospective tenants to view his rented room. Hope I'm clear enough. If you ask me, I feel an agent is not really necessary unless you're in a rush and unless you don't feel confident that your relationship with your prospective landlord is steady, i.e, able to settle things peacefully or come to an agreement on a friendly basis....but to each his own.  Well, the first agent I dealt with shoved some documents for me to sign that says I appoint her exclusively which I flat out refused. Wanted a month's fee too. When we went to see the place another agent had the keys and she said the other agent was the one who wants the fees and she doesn't get anything, very cham sob story yada yada. Damned red flag dodgy. Sibeh greedy. Then when i didn't get back to her she calls and says fee can be halved cause she 'nego' with the other side. And when I didn't bite she said now free, to which i asked her why then are you working for free? The other agent charging the landlord and giving her a cut, she wanted to worm a month's rent out of me on the sides methink. Btw, I didn't pay agents fee at all in the end. I found my place on propertyguru sg.
LalaluSan
Aug 4 2016, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 4 2016, 03:11 PM) Yes, he is right. There is no such thing. Another thing you should note is that agent should be collecting agent fees from either landlord or tenant. Never both sides. My previous agent created some story and said that he has a co-agent sharing in the same property hence both me and my landlord need to pay him and his partner. If your agent serviced you by bringing you to view a few rooms then, you'll be paying the agent the agent fees. Otherwise, the landlord will be paying the agent fees for bringing prospective tenants to view his rented room. Hope I'm clear enough. If you ask me, I feel an agent is not really necessary unless you're in a rush and unless you don't feel confident that your relationship with your prospective landlord is steady, i.e, able to settle things peacefully or come to an agreement on a friendly basis....but to each his own.  I see.. My agent told me that he doesn't charge us agent fee, so basically it sounds good to me, but the weird thing is that he required my FIN number (which later he told me that he needed it to register for the address), and i passed it to him without thinking twice Am i dealing with some kind of scam here or something? This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 4 2016, 03:53 PM
LalaluSan
Aug 4 2016, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 4 2016, 03:23 PM) to be honest agent is not necessary. i find it too expensive to pay since most of them are useless. just try to get a room from websites like ibilik or easyroommate. they are good enough. i got good rooms from easyroommate. The agent i found, gave me the room details in Bukit Batok street 33, which near to Bukit Gombak mrt station. Rental cost quoted was 500sgd. And also, he said he doesn't charge agent fee. Sounds legit?
madmoz
Aug 4 2016, 04:25 PM
Yes I believe they need the FIN number.
Blues89
Aug 4 2016, 04:37 PM
some doesnt charge agent fee,cos it is charged to the owner...
stargazer92
Aug 4 2016, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 4 2016, 03:15 PM) some companies may drag salary until next pay day. it depends. IRAS tax if i'm not mistaken they will still require you to pay first. then they will refund the money once you have started your new employment. Thanks for your advice,appreciate it ☺
stargazer92
Aug 4 2016, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 4 2016, 03:26 PM) Less than 6 months, that is all i know. He said pr is ok because you have re-entry permit To withhold your salary is a standard practice required by IRAS. You can resign anytime as long as you served sufficient notice and you are sure that your new employer can get you a work pass. To be safe, wait till the new work pass is approved only tender your resignation in the current company Thank you so much for your advice,appreciate it ☺