Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

specopsmarines
post Aug 3 2016, 05:14 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 3 2016, 01:02 PM)
He's carpooling I believe
Are there any threads on carpooling sg - kl for weekends? I think that will be very useful for many of us here.
Freedom15
post Aug 3 2016, 05:17 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 05:09 PM)
Hi guys, I just got my job offer in SG. So basically im pretty new to everything in SG. Here are my questions,
1. Passes like TnG in MY, what does it called in SG? (ezlink? where can i reload this card?)
3. The first time i went to SG, i doesn't have the exact amount for bus fare, the smallest amount i got was $5 and the bus driver doesn't return the balance. Is this normal? Do i need to bring the exact amount of cash to enter buses?
2. Still in mist of finding room, office around pasir panjang area, so can anyone suggest me the best place to stay? (Clementi area seems like many room for rent, however im trying my best to find for room priced around $600 or $550 and below with wifi and aircond include, it would be even more great if someone here is a hunters/agent for this  sad.gif  )
1. ezLink...You can reload on the terminals or over the counter. Cash or cards can be accepted.
2. I use ezLink to board buses too...Opt for cashless in SG unless in food junctions...
3. Not used to that area but with 600 or 650 I think you can get such rooms... Cheaper if you are willing to share room...

SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 05:17 PM

967 posts

Hi guys, I just got my job offer in SG. So basically im pretty new to everything in SG. Here are my questions,
1. Passes like TnG in MY, what does it called in SG? (ezlink? where can i reload this card?)
3. The first time i went to SG, i doesn't have the exact amount for bus fare, the smallest amount i got was $5 and the bus driver doesn't return the balance. Is this normal? Do i need to bring the exact amount of cash to enter buses?
2. Still in mist of finding room, office around pasir panjang area, so can anyone suggest me the best place to stay? (Clementi area seems like many room for rent, however im trying my best to find for room priced around $600 or $550 and below with wifi and aircond include, it would be even more great if someone here is a hunters/agent for this  sad.gif  )
1. Ezlink or nets flesh pay, both accepted , some debit card or ATM card oso have Tis function, I got alot extra card can gv u if wan, easiest way to top up at any MRT, no charge

3. Take bus jus use the card

2. Wish u luck, 600 should able to find if u r not choosy and no a.c and stay outskirt of city

calson
post Aug 3 2016, 05:26 PM

Reaching for the Stars
711 posts

1) The card is call Ezlink Card. You can top up in all MRT/LRT station.

2) Basically all public transport (except taxi) is using Ezlink card for payment. You will need coin if you doesn't have EzLink card. Yes, you're right. No change/balance will be return.

3) The best was to use agent to find accommodation. Unless you know someone who has "lobang" to help you find. With agent, you will need to pay 50% as commision. Therefore your 1st month will be "1 month of rental + 1 month deposit + 50% agent fees". With recent drop of rental price, $600 with wifi and aircon is possible. But still depends on the area.

This post has been edited by calson: Aug 3 2016, 05:27 PM
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:30 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:17 PM)
1. ezLink...You can reload on the terminals or over the counter. Cash or cards can be accepted.
2. I use ezLink to board buses too...Opt for cashless in SG unless in food junctions...
3. Not used to that area but with 600 or 650 I think you can get such rooms... Cheaper if you are willing to share room...
Thanks for the info. My friend did gave me an ezlink card, so was just wondering is this the cheapest card to travel (bought the normal train ticket and it costed me almost double the amount when i saw my friend used his card).
for question (3), since im new in SG, therefore i decided to stay alone first and probably get use to the environment and culture before deciding to share with someone.

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:17 PM)
1. Ezlink or nets flesh pay, both accepted , some debit card or ATM card oso have Tis function, I got alot extra card can gv u if wan, easiest way to top up at any MRT,  no charge

3. Take bus jus use the card

2. Wish u luck, 600 should able to find if u r not choosy and no a.c and stay outskirt of city
Thanks for the info. As for reloading at any MRT, is it at the ticketing machine? or reload over the counter?
Not really choosy, but a room without a.c. with the priced of 600 is a little too expensive for me sad.gif Don't mind to stay a little outskirt, as long as there is mrt to bring me around/work.
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 05:33 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 05:30 PM)
Thanks for the info. My friend did gave me an ezlink card, so was just wondering is this the cheapest card to travel (bought the normal train ticket and it costed me almost double the amount when i saw my friend used his card).
for question (3), since im new in SG, therefore i decided to stay alone first and probably get use to the environment and culture before deciding to share with someone.
Thanks for the info. As for reloading at any MRT, is it at the ticketing machine? or reload over the counter?
Not really choosy, but a room without a.c. with the priced of 600 is a little too expensive for me  sad.gif  Don't mind to stay a little outskirt, as long as there is mrt to bring me around/work.
Got counter and machine for top up

Really convenient , u step into station and u will knw

Here utility really expensive, no way landlord will let u use a.c without charging u another 150 to 200

Another way is to share room
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:34 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(calson @ Aug 3 2016, 05:26 PM)
1) The card is call Ezlink Card. You can top up in all MRT/LRT station.

2) Basically all public transport (except taxi) is using Ezlink card for payment. You will need coin if you doesn't have EzLink card. Yes, you're right. No change/balance will be return.

3) The best was to use agent to find accommodation. Unless you know someone who has "lobang" to help you find. With agent, you will need to pay 50% as commision. Therefore your 1st month will be "1 month of rental +  1 month deposit + 50% agent fees". With recent drop of rental price, $600 with wifi and aircon is possible. But still depends on the area.
Thanks for the clarification on question (2). Twice i board the bus, and both didn't return me the extra balance, i thought it was due to too many passenger at that time sweat.gif
For question (3), do you have "lobang" for me? laugh.gif Currently using ibiliksg to find for room, not sure if this is the best place to find for room or not sweat.gif
Freedom15
post Aug 3 2016, 05:35 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 05:30 PM)
Not really choosy, but a room without a.c. with the priced of 600 is a little too expensive for me  sad.gif  Don't mind to stay a little outskirt, as long as there is mrt to bring me around/work.
I think they have this monthly pass or so...Not sure...Gotta check...
The ticketing machine and the reload machine is the same...
You can choose to buy ticket or reload ur card...
And for room sharing, mostly those who share rooms are foreigners like us... smile.gif
So no worries...

LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:36 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:33 PM)
Got counter and machine for top up

Really convenient , u step into station and u will knw

Here utility really expensive, no way landlord will let u use a.c without charging u another 150 to 200

Another way is to share room
True also.. Since I'm still having approximate a month before i start my work in SG, so gonna try to find for room with a.c for current 2 weeks, then without a.c for the final 2 weeks. sweat.gif
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 05:40 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 05:36 PM)
True also.. Since I'm still having approximate a month before i start my work in SG, so gonna try to find for room with a.c for current 2 weeks, then without a.c for the final 2 weeks.  sweat.gif
No one will rent u a room jus for 2 weeks

No matter how no harm trying wish u luck
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:43 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 05:40 PM)
No one will rent u a room jus for 2 weeks

No matter how no harm trying wish u luck
I think you got me wrong. What i was trying to say is, my job starts on 1st Sept, so for the current 2 weeks (1/8 - 14/8) I'll try to find a room with a.c around $600. If i failed to find 1, i'll move to finding room without a.c sweat.gif
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 05:44 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 05:43 PM)
I think you got me wrong. What i was trying to say is, my job starts on 1st Sept, so for the current 2 weeks (1/8 - 14/8) I'll try to find a room with a.c around $600. If i failed to find 1, i'll move to finding room without a.c  sweat.gif
Ok
Ultimaweapon
post Aug 3 2016, 05:59 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 05:36 PM)
True also.. Since I'm still having approximate a month before i start my work in SG, so gonna try to find for room with a.c for current 2 weeks, then without a.c for the final 2 weeks.  sweat.gif
Not only ibilik, you can also try nestia, propertyguru.com, flatsdb, 99.co etc., plenty of sites out there.
But since you're starting work in Sept, perhaps, wait until the 3rd week to start finding.
Many agents won't bother responding to you if too early. Too early as in 1 month early.
Also, you should allocate at least one day to go and view the rooms in SG.
Photos sometimes doesn't show the real condition of the unit.
When you go and view the rooms in SG, prepare some cash to pay deposit (usually 1 month).
This saves the hassle of having to TT the money to agent later.

If you want, I can recommend a good agent to you.
Can try and whatsapp this agent.
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 08:31 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Aug 3 2016, 05:59 PM)
Not only ibilik, you can also try nestia, propertyguru.com, flatsdb, 99.co etc., plenty of sites out there.
But since you're starting work in Sept, perhaps, wait until the 3rd week to start finding.
Many agents won't bother responding to you if too early. Too early as in 1 month early.
Also, you should allocate at least one day to go and view the rooms in SG.
Photos sometimes doesn't show the real condition of the unit.
When you go and view the rooms in SG, prepare some cash to pay deposit (usually 1 month).
This saves the hassle of having to TT the money to agent later.

If you want, I can recommend a good agent to you.
Can try and whatsapp this agent.
It's ok, I found 1 agent kind enough to explain me everything. Thanks for your offer.
I decided not to take room with a.c. as usually house owner will impose specific time (eg night till morning) for a.c. and my work do required rotation nightshift. Single room rental without a.c. , cost around 500 should be ok right?
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 08:34 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 08:31 PM)
It's ok, I found 1 agent kind enough to explain me everything. Thanks for your offer.
I decided not to take room with a.c. as usually house owner will impose specific time (eg night till morning) for a.c. and my work do required rotation nightshift. Single room rental without a.c. , cost around 500 should be ok right?
Yes tats normal market price
harrychoo
post Aug 3 2016, 08:38 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Aug 3 2016, 12:54 PM)
Are you taking bus service from Jurong East to Bukit Indah, JB?

Which bus service you usually take?
Carpooling..planning to drive after chg job but most likely not.

For me not worth the time to take bus just to save like 8sgd per day..

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Aug 3 2016, 05:14 PM)
Are there any threads on carpooling sg - kl for weekends? I think that will be very useful for many of us here.
Fb got a lot carpooling groups but mostly from jb to/from sg
Ultimaweapon
post Aug 3 2016, 08:50 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Aug 3 2016, 08:31 PM)
500 should be ok, but depends on location.
Mind telling which field? Medical or IT?
Grajindo
post Aug 3 2016, 09:57 PM

2,171 posts

May I ask what documents do I need to provide in order to open a bank account?
Grajindo
post Aug 3 2016, 10:19 PM

2,171 posts

And also, I read that most of the people here advise that just start with POSB for first account and only later change to other bank if want. Is this still the same for now?

This post has been edited by Grajindo: Aug 3 2016, 10:20 PM
rookie93
post Aug 3 2016, 11:40 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 3 2016, 10:19 PM)
And also, I read that most of the people here advise that just start with POSB for first account and only later change to other bank if want. Is this still the same for now?
POSB/DBS allows you to open just with IPA letter and passport and $0 initial deposit. Any other banks require you to have a bill statement indicating your residential address(even rental agreements not considered), the actual Work Permit Card, as well as minimum $1000 initial deposit.

165 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:55 PM