Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
knwong
Oct 25 2016, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 25 2016, 01:09 AM) Homes in Malaysia under rm1 million are not open to foreigners either; would you say they are "not full market price?"  Anyway just saying that while HDB's were subsidized when sold brand new to the SC, the subsidy doesn't transfer over to the PR when he/she buys it 5 years later. The SC songlaps the subsidy and opens thread on EDMW saying "Moi bought Pinnacle @ Duxton $500k then now sold to jiu hu kia SPR for $900k, HUAT AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH" lol. True. There's no gov subsidy for property when it comes to resale HDB.
knwong
Oct 27 2016, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Oct 27 2016, 09:51 AM) I thought nowadays auto gate is the one damn pack? especially during weekend, "All Passport" counter are nearly empty, while auto gate pack until dono what to say By the way, can EP holder/PR still go through "All passport" counter? Yes to your question.
knwong
Nov 2 2016, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Nov 1 2016, 11:17 PM) Actually, is it worth to work at Singapore and leave your wife and children in Malaysia? How's the salary there? After minus tax and expenses, how much can you save? Feel damn bad loh, if not worth, must well work in Malaysia Teman wifu and children. 3 options: 1. Travel back to be with family every weekend - doable for mid to high income 2. Relocate to JB and travel to work everyday - doable for low to high income 3. Relocate whole family to S'pore - doable for mid to high income
knwong
Nov 3 2016, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 3 2016, 11:03 AM) Singapore gomen will find a way  What way?
knwong
Nov 8 2016, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(deadravel @ Nov 8 2016, 09:15 AM) If you join a company from Middle East or Brunei, they may declare it as holiday - along with all other designated occasions in Islam calendars...
knwong
Nov 8 2016, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(darrenboy @ Nov 8 2016, 04:55 PM) SGP public holiday so few only. Singapore has no strong cultural, race, symbolical and religious identity hence less holidays That's why S'pore is productive when it comes to work cos not many holidays
knwong
Nov 8 2016, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(darrenboy @ Nov 8 2016, 06:42 PM) With few PHs, and not as many annual leave, must be very difficult for you guys to take long leave?? ...unless take unpaid leave. Taking unpaid leave will affect your performance bonus Welcome to Singapore, you have to prepare for change of work culture here, don't bring Msian laid back work attitude
knwong
Nov 11 2016, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 11 2016, 12:38 PM) can a EP holder with converted SG driving license, buy/own a SG registered vehicle? Anyone can buy S'pore registered car. What car are you getting?
knwong
Nov 14 2016, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Nov 14 2016, 11:36 AM) Anyone rent a parking lot in JB and park their Malaysia car there long term? I don't mean daily commute between SG and JB, I mean long term parking e,g. those in Condo. Any clue where to search for it? Been looking at ibilik, seems no one is letting their car park lot. Is it really that rare as demand is too high? Thinking to move my car from KL and park at JB, spent too much on bus/flight every time going back. Thank you. I heard of people leaving their cars at friend's house/condo in JB, quite far from checkpoint and inconvenient to get to. Those nearby checkpoint are mostly short term parking. Like RM12-2x per day
knwong
Nov 16 2016, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(myeong86 @ Nov 16 2016, 06:21 PM) Is there any nice quiet beach? Feels like need fresh air... Thanks. You need to travel to Bintan, Batam, Desaru or islands off Mersing to get a 'proper' beach to wind down.
knwong
Nov 28 2016, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 27 2016, 11:56 PM) Anyway... Google tell me no need translate. SG official language is BM leh  **Cough** Correction... S'pore national language = Malay S'pore official language = English S'pore conversational language = Singlish So, If you want to earn a living in S'pore, English will suffice If you want to take up citizenship, better integrate and pick up Singlish
knwong
Nov 29 2016, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Nov 29 2016, 02:49 PM) Thinking of applying job in spore in near future but fiancée, tell me if wanna go spore to work, cannot have baby. any good childcare facilities in Spore? or nursery? Why your fiancee think so negative? Life is a journey. Having child is a bliss S'pore although experience to up bring a child, it's still manageable
knwong
Nov 29 2016, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 29 2016, 04:16 PM) You have to understand the first world country situation (Japan, Scandinavian countries, etc) Even if it wasn't due to cost, the birth rate would be low But focusing on the money aspect, it's simple How much does you or your wife earn vs the child care cost? Unless you're earning less than 2+k each or have more than 2 children, it usually doesn't make sense to stop working and care for the child That's purely the money aspect of course Better don't give childcare advice if don't have children yet. It costs on average $1k to raise a child per month for a middle income family When you have 2 child and your spouse only makes 2k per month, it makes sense for the other half to quit job and raise the children full time.
knwong
Dec 6 2016, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Dec 6 2016, 10:12 AM) I be direct: Money Money Moneh !!!! Employer: Reject! Reject! Reject! Might as well go to other countries that has bigger currency if aiming for money alone
knwong
Dec 7 2016, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(alexis2power @ Dec 7 2016, 11:56 AM) http://www.malaysianchinesenews.com/2016/0...lying-for-br1m/I think those pest or losers are really jealous with those who are earning their keep in Singapore but apply for BR1M. 3 years jail waiting for you get caught. Is RM500 BR1M (~S$166) worth the risk? World are full of foolish people who only think about short term again. I encountered students who study abroad, signed up expensive phone contracts right before they come back after their degree - thinking of avoiding the lengthy contract is worth that risk One will get away short term with these benefits, but when you become successful in the future, people will start to dig your dirty laundry. Your life career will be in jeopardy when they found out you did all these foolish things
knwong
Dec 8 2016, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 8 2016, 03:50 PM) Any of you from Sabah, Sarawak or northern Peninsular? Have you guys booked the tickets home for CNY? I see that the flight costs are unbelievably high, and getting fewer. Monitor and buy up to 1 year earlier. So 2018 CNY can start looking in Feb 2017 dy
knwong
Dec 9 2016, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(whizwhiz @ Dec 9 2016, 02:55 AM) 4-5k SGD is because i am a Malaysian or it is standard Singapore rate? Like this better work in Malaysia - if lucky get into oil and gas can earn the same conversion rate value in Malaysia. 4-5k SGD after tax, feels like quite tight if plan to rent a 2-bedroom flat and bring family there... That's the market rate. Don't put down yourself because you are from inferior country Based on the sharing from my network of friends, chances for you to strike off a stellar career is higher in Singapore than hoping to striking it rich into Malaysia oil n gas Can start low here and slowly rise up. That's a fair risk to take
knwong
Dec 13 2016, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 13 2016, 08:29 PM)  Syukur, 15 years time HSR only need to do immigration clearance once at point of departure, not bad  (But what I dun get is ... does it mean the KL - SG service doesn't stop at any station / town along the line?) It's already been done now at Woodlands Train Checkpoint (you clear both SG & MY custom) when you head to JB Sentral
knwong
Dec 15 2016, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(larilagilaju @ Dec 15 2016, 10:31 AM) Anyone travel daily from JB to Singapore using public transport? Suggestion. If your work is flexible or start later like 10pm then can think of public transport commute. Otherwise better stay in S'pore I know of factory operators who wake up 3am to catch 3:30am company bus for 7am shift (Very tiring) I ever met architect who can have flexibility to work from home in JB and only come to SG office once a while for meeting (Envy...) This post has been edited by knwong: Dec 15 2016, 02:53 PM
knwong
Dec 16 2016, 01:28 PM
If one never been in that predicament, better don't offer the advise. Will sound like a fool.
Done it before, learnt my lesson