810 Pages « < 643 644 645 646 647 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

ChAOoz
post Aug 6 2023, 10:09 AM

3,500 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 3 2023, 11:15 AM)
I invest long term, once go in that's it leave it there till I need the money or old later.
Even paper loss also just leave it. Unless if the stock in question really need to sell due to the company being in deep shit.

So far my Amazon, Apple, Tesla stocks showing good results due to this. After 1 year+ can see they go up so much.
Then continue DCA once every few mths. Gave up on timing the market.. like yesterday news suddenly out of nowhere Fitch downgrades US' credit rating causing market to fall. Out of nowhere pops up.

Only news we can time somewhat is Fed's decision to raise interest rates (impact already over somewhere last year), or if company have many bad news and in decline (time to cut loss). Or if something really bad happens to US and time to sell our stocks.
I think the universal rules and also a fact is we can do directional prediction but timing is near to impossible.

But even knowing that fact, it has never stop myself from thinking im omnipotence and can predict directional movement and time the movement with high accuracy, everytime i did that i lose money. That is a fact hahaha, almost like a natural law now.

I think the biggest bane when come to investing is our emotions, not just fear and greed but also others like ego and pride.

Rules and principle based investing so far yield best result but its boring and lack the excitement compare to a quick 10x returns that specuculative bets provided.

SUSTOS
post Aug 8 2023, 12:03 AM

8,667 posts

WSJ MARKETS: TREASURYS

Investors Bet That High Rates Will Linger
‘Bear steepening’ trade drives 10-year Treasury yield close to a decade-plus high

https://www.wsj.com/articles/investors-bet-...share_permalink

-----------------------------

WSJ MARKETS: HEARD ON THE STREET (lots of stuffs)

danmooncake
post Aug 8 2023, 11:41 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

Nasdaq (QQQ) is already at 50ma.. anyone wants to step in to tease the bears? biggrin.gif

SUSTOS
post Aug 8 2023, 11:55 PM

8,667 posts

WSJ Real Estate

New Lending by Mortgage REITs Has Dried Up
Blackstone Mortgage Trust and KKR Real Estate Finance Trust halt loan origination to shore up balance sheets; Starwood cuts back

https://www.wsj.com/articles/new-lending-by...share_permalink

--------------------------------

WSJ MARKETS: FINANCE

Bank Stocks Slide After Moody’s Downgrade
M&T, U.S. Bancorp, Truist and others are down sharply

https://www.wsj.com/articles/bank-stocks-sl...share_permalink

WSJ MARKETS: HEARD ON THE STREET

The AI Frenzy Resurrects the Old SoftBank
The tech downturn didn’t chasten SoftBank for long. Signs of overexuberance are already reappearing along with the new bull market.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-ai-frenzy-...share_permalink

----------------------------------

Wegovy stuff

danmooncake
post Aug 8 2023, 11:57 PM

10,123 posts

Damn.. the banks are getting whacked. They smell something fishy from the vault.

xander2k8
post Aug 9 2023, 05:16 AM

4,642 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 8 2023, 11:57 PM)
Damn.. the banks are getting whacked.  They smell something fishy from the vault.
Not the big boys 🤦‍♀️ it is because Moody’s downgrade regional banks which because NII is getting lower
ozak
post Aug 9 2023, 08:47 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 8 2023, 11:41 PM)
Nasdaq (QQQ) is already at 50ma.. anyone wants to step in to tease the bears?  biggrin.gif
Hanging man. The dip is here?

SUSTOS
post Aug 9 2023, 10:06 PM

8,667 posts

WSJ MARKETS: HEARD ON THE STREET

Banks’ Problems Aren’t Over, According to the Bond Market
Moody’s bank downgrade highlights how bonds are showing less relief on banks than their shares

https://www.wsj.com/articles/banks-problems...share_permalink

------------------------------

WSJ ECONOMY: CAPITAL ACCOUNT

Why Fitch’s Downgrade Matters
U.S. debt is in much riskier territory than when S&P lowered its rating in 2011

https://www.wsj.com/articles/fitch-downgrad...share_permalink

WSJ NEWS EXCLUSIVE: FINANCE

This Hedge Fund’s Two Feuding Founders Are Under Pressure to Make Peace
Questions from regulators and investors, plus one founder’s pending divorce, are forcing Two Sigma to address the rift

https://www.wsj.com/articles/this-hedge-fun...share_permalink

--------------------------------------

WSJ NEWS EXCLUSIVE: IPOS

NYSE, Nasdaq Battle for New Listings in Sign of IPO Awakening
Nasdaq wins Instacart and Arm, while NYSE snags Birkenstock and Klaviyo

https://www.wsj.com/articles/nyse-nasdaq-ba...share_permalink
ozak
post Aug 10 2023, 12:08 PM

17,018 posts

$NVDA look attractive this dip of more than -10% and touch 50ma. brows.gif
-_-
post Aug 10 2023, 01:26 PM

178 posts

i wonder how long the bear will last.

i also see Paypal also down by a lot
ChAOoz
post Aug 10 2023, 09:17 PM

3,500 posts

Seemed like no japan equities thread here.

Any sony share holders here ? Added position during last night sell down.
umboy
post Aug 11 2023, 04:53 PM

226 posts

I am doubtful in investing in US stock market. My feeling will go up and down like roller coaster looking at the chart daily.
Ramjade
post Aug 11 2023, 06:28 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(umboy @ Aug 11 2023, 04:53 PM)
I am doubtful in investing in US stock market. My feeling will go up and down like roller coaster looking at the chart daily.
Why are you looking at charts? Don't look at charts unless you are trader. If you are investor look at fundamentals. If you dont know or don't want to look at charts look at fundamentals, just buy S&P500. For me very easy. When things are red, buy When things are all green, I ignore the market.

All my wealth have always been make in red market. You name it. Microsoft, amd, Tesla, abnb, BlackRock, visa , unp, Adobe, Google, crowdstrike all bought when market is red. The redder it is the happier I am as I get to scoop stocks on discount.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 12 2023, 12:41 PM
ozak
post Aug 11 2023, 11:34 PM

17,018 posts

Macam shopping time.
danmooncake
post Aug 12 2023, 03:47 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 11 2023, 11:34 PM)
Macam shopping time.
Can start early but need to be careful....tipping toes only.

Got sharks lurking sweat.gif
ozak
post Aug 12 2023, 12:26 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(umboy @ Aug 11 2023, 04:53 PM)
Mental game. Harden it.

Or follow Ramjade advise.
james.6831
post Aug 12 2023, 04:27 PM

937 posts

yea man just my thought as well, could be a good point to buy some...
danmooncake
post Aug 15 2023, 04:04 AM

10,123 posts

Everyone all aboard this choo-choo train for the ride? tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Aug 15 2023, 08:47 AM

8,667 posts

13-F fillings now available:

Berkshire: https://13f.info/13f/000095012323008074-ber...way-inc-q2-2023

https://whalewisdom.com/filer/berkshire-hathaway-inc

---------------------------

Temasek: https://13f.info/13f/000110465923090710-tem...ate-ltd-q2-2023

https://whalewisdom.com/filer/temasek-holdings-private-ltd

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 15 2023, 08:48 AM
Kaka23
post Aug 15 2023, 11:14 PM

8,259 posts

Trade US stocks using Rakuten and FSMone... which fee is cheaper?

810 Pages « < 643 644 645 646 647 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:41 PM