[WTA]2nd hand Nissan Sylphy, Asking advise to buy 2nd hand Sylphy

TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 14 2016, 06:30 PM, updated 10y ago

26 posts

Hi, I'm interesting with 2009 to 2012 Nissan Sylphy.
Price range found is From RM45k to RM60k.

Any advise for this car?

1. Can send to Nissan SC for a car condition checking before purchase?
2. How to identify a faulty gearbox? As i heard some sylphy might had gearbox issue which cost a lot.
3. Can i add extended warranty like provided by Nissan / AAM?

Kitty_catts
post Jun 14 2016, 10:26 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 14 2016, 06:30 PM)

Any advise for this car?

2. How to identify a faulty gearbox? As i heard some sylphy might had gearbox issue which cost a lot.
1. Yes you can but if im not mistaken you have to bring the owner along. Please do so to check for odometer altering or any major repair done at nissan
2. Its by luck. 2010/2011 one have problem, thats why 2010/2011 is cheaper than 2009.
3. Nissan got extended warranty? 🤔 Anyway, you have to cash out ur own money to make it
More reliable through repairs.
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 14 2016, 11:40 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Kitty_catts @ Jun 14 2016, 10:26 PM)
1. Yes you can but if im not mistaken you have to bring the owner along. Please do so to check for odometer altering or any major repair done at nissan
2. Its by luck. 2010/2011 one have problem, thats why 2010/2011 is cheaper than 2009.
3. Nissan got extended warranty? 🤔 Anyway, you have to cash out ur own money to make it
More reliable through repairs.
Really? if 2009 and below don't have this problem i would rather go for 2009 model.
So far as I know is 2012 facelift fixed this issue. Just is quite rare to get 2012 face lift sylphy / teana in JB here.
lsm1991
post Jun 14 2016, 11:56 PM

309 posts

what i have heard is completely the reverse of this..... have been told, the facelifts are less problem prone, prefacelifts were more issue proned
and no... the 09 cars are not more exp... you can easily check if you do not believe me....
littlefire
post Jun 15 2016, 08:29 AM

2,736 posts

I think the most important thing is to let a reputable mechanic to check the car condition.. If the gearbox wasnt been maintain well, like changing the right fluid at the right mileage for sure any gearbox KO..
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 15 2016, 09:27 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 14 2016, 11:56 PM)
what I have heard is completely the reverse of this..... have been told, the facelifts are less problem prone, prefacelifts were more issue proned
and no... the 09 cars are not more exp... you can easily check if you do not believe me....
Yes, so far my founding was 09 cars didn't more expensive.
If like that maybe need to compromise and go for 10 Altis facelift. tongue.gif
So far I found 2010 Altis face lift 1.8G can cost around RM65000 in JB area. (Checked both mudah, carlist and some jb fb group)
Anything to take note with 2nd hand Altis?

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 15 2016, 08:29 AM)
I think the most important thing is to let a reputable mechanic to check the car condition.. If the gearbox wasnt been maintain well, like changing the right fluid at the right mileage for sure any gearbox OK..
Erm... Thanks for the advice. But I don't' have any contact of a reputable mechanic.
So far the brand service centre are most reliable to me...
gugukrez
post Jun 15 2016, 09:35 AM

943 posts

why buy high maintenance car? better get vios 2nd gen trd.. sylphy the car quite petrol consume.. as the body is too heavy..
lsm1991
post Jun 15 2016, 09:49 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 15 2016, 09:27 AM)
Yes, so far my founding was 09 cars didn't more expensive.
If like that maybe need to compromise and go for 10 Altis facelift. tongue.gif
So far I found 2010 Altis face lift 1.8G can cost around RM65000 in JB area. (Checked both mudah, carlist and some jb fb group)
Anything to take note with 2nd hand Altis?
Erm... Thanks for the advice. But I don't' have any contact of a reputable mechanic.
So far the brand service centre are most reliable to me...
haha altis has that 'T' brand mah.... has the reputation of reliability..... altis is a reliable car.... the general used car rulebook/checklist applies
unitron
post Jun 15 2016, 09:51 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jun 15 2016, 09:35 AM)
why buy high maintenance car? better get vios 2nd gen trd.. sylphy the car quite petrol consume.. as the body is too heavy..
how can you even compare a 2.0L C-segment mid-size sedan with a 1.5L B-segment sub-compact using ancient technology doh.gif
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 15 2016, 10:19 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jun 15 2016, 09:35 AM)
Thanks, bro.
Personally, I don't like Vios biggrin.gif
So Will not consider Vios in this case.

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 15 2016, 09:49 AM)
haha altis has that 'T' brand mah.... has the reputation of reliability..... altis is a reliable car.... the general used car rulebook/checklist applies
Erm... will research and see does it worth to go with this price.
Maybe will use 2-5 years then change another one.
That time might consider teana facelift at almost the same price.. brows.gif

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 15 2016, 09:51 AM)
how can you even compare a 2.0L C-segment mid-size sedan with a 1.5L B-segment sub-compact using ancient technology  doh.gif
Hehe.... agree with you.
We are some who care about segment but I think gugukrez is based on others prospect.
For maintenance, price, rv, fuel consumption Vios seem to be winner.
Just that's not what I'm looking for.
unitron
post Jun 15 2016, 10:33 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 15 2016, 10:19 AM)
We are some who care about segment but I think gugukrez is based on others prospect.
For maintenance, price, rv, fuel consumption Vios seem to be winner.
Just that's not what I'm looking for.
I always go for lunch with my friend who drives a Slyphy.
Love the space, comfort and insulation. biggrin.gif

I've driven it, and power is not great but acceptable.
But definitely better than those <1.6L NA non-manual cars as expected.

Fuel consumption is on the high side for town driving but comparable to other 2.0L

lsm1991
post Jun 15 2016, 10:45 AM

309 posts

sylphy is a very comfortable car.... very very much so

only thing is you have to stomach its looks not everyone likes it (its got a crude nickname) and deal with its lackluster performance (not that comfortable cars need to go fast tbh)
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 15 2016, 10:46 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 15 2016, 10:33 AM)
I always go for lunch with my friend who drives a Slyphy.
Love the space, comfort and insulation.  biggrin.gif

I've driven it, and power is not great but acceptable.
But definitely better than those <1.6L NA non-manual cars as expected.

Fuel consumption is on the high side for town driving but comparable to other 2.0L
Thanks bro.
I knew the good of Slyphy...
Only worry is CVT....

Haiz...a headache topic...
unitron
post Jun 15 2016, 10:57 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 15 2016, 10:46 AM)
Thanks bro.
I knew the good of Slyphy...
Only worry is CVT....

Haiz...a headache topic...
What is there to worry about CVT ?
Most manufacturers have models with CVT.
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 15 2016, 11:15 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 15 2016, 10:57 AM)
What is there to worry about CVT ?
Most manufacturers have models with CVT.
I did research online and found the Nissan Sylphy pre-facelift having chance of cvt failure which costly as the defect of design. Just like the first City using CVT and what happens to VW DSG.
Most of them will fixed it in facelift model.

In USA, they extended Nissan transmission warranty from 5 years to 10 years but it doesn't happens in Malaysia.
Maybe due to loose consumer law here... brows.gif
unitron
post Jun 15 2016, 05:24 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 15 2016, 11:15 AM)
I did research online and found the Nissan Sylphy pre-facelift having chance of cvt failure which costly as the defect of design. Just like the first City using CVT and what happens to VW DSG.
Most of them will fixed it in facelift model.

In USA, they extended Nissan transmission warranty from 5 years to 10 years but it doesn't happens in Malaysia.
Maybe due to loose consumer law here... brows.gif
I owned the 3rd gen City using CVT, pre-facelift... never had a problem with it.
But I did hear some owners complaining, especially the early batches.

One reason I know about the City CVT problem is that many of it due to assumption it's normal automatic and used ATF oil when you actually need CVT-F for it.

Same if you buy Slyphy.. need to use CVT NS-2 fluid, not normal ATF.

There are way too many dumb mechanics in Malaysia who think they know better than their customers. Doesn't help it that most customer just leave car and walk away to mamak for a drink.

Until today every mechanic will overfill my gearbox ATF unless I specifically supervise and inform them myself.
Need to teach them how to read the level indicator on the dipstick. And it's a Civic, you would think there is so many same model, they should know by now. This overfilling will cause long term damage.
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 15 2016, 06:13 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 15 2016, 05:24 PM)
I owned the 3rd gen City using CVT, pre-facelift... never had a problem with it.
But I did hear some owners complaining, especially the early batches.

One reason I know about the City CVT problem is that many of it due to assumption it's normal automatic and used ATF oil when you actually need CVT-F for it.

Same if you buy Slyphy.. need to use CVT NS-2 fluid, not normal ATF.

There are way too many dumb mechanics in Malaysia who think they know better than their customers. Doesn't help it that most customer just leave car and walk away to mamak for a drink.

Until today every mechanic will overfill my gearbox ATF unless I specifically supervise and inform them myself.
Need to teach them how to read the level indicator on the dipstick. And it's a Civic, you would think there is so many same model, they should know by now. This overfilling will cause long term damage.
Thanks for the info.
Yes, this is one of the critical points also.
Since it's 2nd hand car, doesn't ever know how they or their mechanics treat the CVT....

I am not a frequent car user actually.
Mostly Use the car during weekend only.
And hope can use it to travel around Malaysia during the holiday.

So struggling between Slyphy and Altis.

This weekend will go visit several 2nd hand dealer first and keep researching..... tongue.gif
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 09:10 AM

26 posts

May I know what is the possible charges that might apply to trade 2nd hand car?
eg. Handling fee, inspection fee, ownership transfer fee, bank legal fee and etc.
Anyone had experience can help provide the info?

1. if trade with dealer, usually will dealer absorb all those charges?
2. If trade privately with owner, what's the process and charges might occur?
unitron
post Jun 17 2016, 10:08 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 17 2016, 09:10 AM)
May I know what is the possible charges that might apply to trade 2nd hand car?
eg. Handling fee, inspection fee, ownership transfer fee, bank legal fee and etc.
Anyone had experience can help provide the info?

1. if trade with dealer, usually will dealer absorb all those charges?
2. If trade privately with owner, what's the process and charges might occur?
I did once back in 2009, deal with owner. From my records

RM 30 puspakom inspection fee
RM 250 transfer fee
RM 10 stamp duty
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 10:30 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 17 2016, 10:08 AM)
I did once back in 2009, deal with owner. From my records

RM 30 puspakom inspection fee
RM 250 transfer fee
RM 10 stamp duty
Thanks bro.
Do you pay cash or loan?
Does it any charges for loan application? I did saw some mudah seller highlight got this charges..... confused.gif
unitron
post Jun 17 2016, 10:32 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 17 2016, 10:30 AM)
Thanks bro.
Do you pay cash or loan?
Does it any charges for loan application? I did saw some mudah seller highlight got this charges..... confused.gif
Loan.. Sorry, I dun remember transfer fee and stamp duty is for what purposes, for bank or others.
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 10:38 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 17 2016, 10:32 AM)
Loan..  Sorry, I dun remember transfer fee and stamp duty is for what purposes, for bank or others.
It's fine.
Thanks a lot for the info.
rclxms.gif
aaron1717
post Jun 17 2016, 10:44 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

Any advise for this car?

get the latest 2012 slyphy.... and ask them check the CVT gearbox whether it had overheat issue before.... i think 2012 slyphy shud be the batch... but overall performance... my fren driving one... comfortable and good NVH... spacious.... speed.... Nissan have always make their car to be sort of family car... so no driving performance to comment about... does Nissan have extended warranty? however.... typical japanese car... many outside workshops know how to repair as well....
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 10:55 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 17 2016, 10:44 AM)
get the latest 2012 slyphy.... and ask them check the CVT gearbox whether it had overheat issue before.... i think 2012 slyphy shud be the batch... but overall performance... my fren driving one... comfortable and good NVH... spacious.... speed.... Nissan have always make their car to be sort of family car... so no driving performance to comment about... does Nissan have extended warranty? however.... typical japanese car... many outside workshops know how to repair as well....
U means the 2012 Slyphy is which one?
I always heard 2012 Slyphy got enhance CVT but not sure is

Any idea what kind of shop can identify CVT overheat? need transmission specialist?
aaron1717
post Jun 17 2016, 11:02 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 17 2016, 10:55 AM)
U means the 2012 Slyphy is which one?
I always heard 2012 Slyphy got enhance CVT but not sure is

Any idea what kind of shop can identify CVT overheat? need transmission specialist?
the first one.... yeah... need transmission specialist to check... or maybe nissan service staffs... they should be experience enough of this issue for that batch of Sylphy... or you can try your luck with new Slyphy... since Civic already launch... they should be thinking a way to clear the stocks with huge discount... since seldom gt ppl will buy Slyphy nowadays....
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 11:12 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 17 2016, 11:02 AM)
the first one.... yeah... need transmission specialist to check... or maybe nissan service staffs... they should be experience enough of this issue for that batch of Sylphy... or you can try your luck with new Slyphy... since Civic already launch... they should be thinking a way to clear the stocks with huge discount... since seldom gt ppl will buy Slyphy nowadays....
Thanks. I cannot find any the 1st model in JB actually doh.gif
The latest model I can find is the 2nd photo.

Erm... new car not suitable me at this moment.
I just use the car 1 - 2 days per week. Tried before but the new car depreciation had stopped me.

Thinking so too might ask NISSAN sc see them can help or not.
If can, I might even get 2008 version (As this is the only one I found is sell by direct owner, mostly dealer will not let me send car to SC for checking one.)
aaron1717
post Jun 17 2016, 11:16 AM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 17 2016, 11:12 AM)
Thanks. I cannot find any the 1st model in JB actually doh.gif
The latest model I can find is the 2nd photo.

Erm... new car not suitable me at this moment.
I just use the car 1 - 2 days per week. Tried before but the new car depreciation had stopped me.

Thinking so too might ask NISSAN sc see them can help or not.
If can, I might even get 2008 version (As this is the only one I found is sell by direct owner, mostly dealer will not let me send car to SC for checking one.)
since you not driving it all the time... yeah... 2008 also nvm for you.... save the money for other purposes.... heck maybe even pay 50% downpayment for it... haha....
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 12:01 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 17 2016, 11:16 AM)
since you not driving it all the time... yeah... 2008 also nvm for you.... save the money for other purposes.... heck maybe even pay 50% downpayment for it... haha....
drool.gif 50% downpayment....
BTW, Thanks for the info ya
unitron
post Jun 17 2016, 02:04 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 17 2016, 10:44 AM)
typical japanese car... many outside workshops know how to repair as well....
No at all... mine is a Civic.. everytime also outside workshop dunno how to do things properly.

e.g personal experiences

wrong jacking point, damage to undercarriage
never fully install all screws and nuts after dismantling
can't locate the engine oil dipstick
wrongly dismantle part while looking for fuel filter
lost the correct valve cover nut, so replace with nut from dunno what car
overfilling engine oil / ATF oil
never bleed the radiator completely
never replace under engine cover
never fully replace all clips for plastic cover
never tighten anti-roll bar to the correct torque
never replace safety pin after changing tie-rod ends
timing chain replaced wrongly
valve seals mixed up
cutting coolant pipe because some other parts in the way... doh.gif
break my ignition coil wiring connectors
wrong wiring of ignition coil firing sequence
wrong wiring of headlamps
damage to wheel lug nut
never install properly hub cover
etc, etc... off the top of my head, I'm sure there is more.

aaron1717
post Jun 17 2016, 02:10 PM

10,188 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 17 2016, 02:04 PM)
No at all... mine is a Civic.. everytime also outside workshop dunno how to do things properly.

e.g personal experiences

valve seals mixed up
cutting coolant pipe because some other parts in the way...  doh.gif
damage to wheel lug nut
etc, etc...  off the top of my head, I'm sure there is more.
lol........... which workshop u went to? so far.... my friend's workshop all very satisfying.... and hence they deem japanese car... outside workshops can repair better.... haha
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 17 2016, 02:36 PM

26 posts

e.g personal experiences

valve seals mixed up
damage to wheel lug nut
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
So did you went back Honda sc after warranty finished?
Actually, I prefer the original brand SC. brows.gif
unitron
post Jun 20 2016, 08:52 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 17 2016, 02:10 PM)
lol........... which workshop u went to? so far.... my friend's workshop all very satisfying.... and hence they deem japanese car... outside workshops can repair better.... haha
Yes, all friends. It's the workers that they employ which is the main problem.
The bosses (i.e friends) are mostly 90% ok, but also make mistakes.

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Jun 17 2016, 02:36 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
So did you went back Honda sc after warranty finished?
Actually, I prefer the original brand SC. brows.gif
No... the wait is damn bloody long at my SC. The price also more expensive
But my main issue is the super long wait.

Just to change engine oil and filter can take half day.
This should at most take 45-60 minutes.
TSnelsonmui87
post Jun 20 2016, 09:21 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 20 2016, 08:52 AM)
Yes, all friends. It's the workers that they employ which is the main problem.
The bosses (i.e friends) are mostly 90% ok, but also make mistakes.
No... the wait is damn bloody long at my SC. The price also more expensive
But my main issue is the super long wait.

Just to change engine oil and filter can take half day.
This should at most take 45-60 minutes.
Haha... understand.. waiting time in SC really too long...
lsm1991
post Jun 20 2016, 09:50 AM

309 posts

e.g personal experiences

wrong jacking point, damage to undercarriage - yesh.... idiots
never fully install all screws and nuts after dismantling - yesh my case, alternator nut not fully tightened, caused lots of issues down the road
can't locate the engine oil dipstick - whoa this one hardcore
valve seals mixed up
damage to wheel lug nut
shakehead.gif
plouffle0789
post Mar 6 2024, 04:16 PM

1,837 posts

Any advise for this car?

May I know do you buy Nissan Sylphy 1.6 finally?

I think 2014 Nissan Sylphy 1.8 (A) is good.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Mar 6 2024, 04:20 PM
BL98
post Nov 1 2024, 06:48 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Mar 6 2024, 04:16 PM)
May I know do you buy Nissan Sylphy 1.6 finally?
I think 2014 Nissan Sylphy 1.8 (A) is good.
Thinking of getting a 2015 Sylphy 1.8 VL at about RM25k.

What do you think of the reliability?

0.0225sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:38 AM