139 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Bottom

Official TM ÜniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V26

anfieldude
post Jul 27 2016, 06:52 PM

3,858 posts

Wonder if anyone is experiencing what I am experiencing.

Was on 30Mbps line for a few months. All was ok. Fast.com which is direct connection to netflix server was showing me download speeds of 25Mpbs and usenet downloads would easily max out to 30Mbps. All this with the unifi router DIR-850L.

I upgraded to 100Mbps and the problems started. 1st couple of days easily got 50-70Mbps in Fast.com and usenet downloads were close to 80Mbps. Then during Raya all went crazy. TM speedtests that were 100Mpbs dropped to 85Mpbs and now usenet downloads seem to slow down to not more than 28Mbps. This even after numerous resets.

Lodged a complaint and they sent someone over. Turned out the router was the problem. The reconfigured at their side and with old Dlink 850L max we could get was 85Mbps and when he changed to RGX4400 speeds were back to about 95Mpbs on the TM Speedtests and usenet speeds at least went back to 75 or so Mbps. All these were always via LAN.

The RGX4400 has a major problem with wifi. Its not range but it seems to buffer via wifi before opening any sites even via 5GHz and 3 ft from router. And now usenet speeds hv dropped back to 25Mpbs.

Is this common?

I am contemplating changing the router to ASUS AC68U so I believe the wifi issue will be solved but has anyone else seen throttling on Netflix fast.com with 100Mpbs. I was getting better speeds via 30Mbps. And I do know that if I use a VPN speeds on fast.com do go up but sometimes only to 50Mpbs. However, usenet speeds do not really improve.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
mztang52
post Jul 27 2016, 07:10 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jul 27 2016, 07:16 PM)
Nope, no sms or call. I just walk in directly into TM Point.
Well, I think it depends on the person whether wanna help or not. My 1st try was on phone with CS, they also tell me only selected customer get this offer. I then ask them, how does one qualify as a selected customer. Prompt payment, have been long enough with TM and bla bla bla. My VIP contract was ended on 2014, and all the while the payment is by CC. So I counter them back, and end up they ask me to try at TM Point~
Indeed, the lady at the counter just turn her back & ask someone else(I presume is higher level people), immediately I got the offer. And the upgrade was done in less than 5hrs time.
Good to hear that.
mztang52
post Jul 27 2016, 07:13 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 27 2016, 07:52 PM)
Wonder if anyone is experiencing what I am experiencing.

Was on 30Mbps line for a few months. All was ok. Fast.com which is direct connection to netflix server was showing me download speeds of 25Mpbs and usenet downloads would easily max out to 30Mbps. All this with the unifi router DIR-850L.

I upgraded to 100Mbps and the problems started. 1st couple of days easily got 50-70Mbps in Fast.com and usenet downloads were close to 80Mbps. Then during Raya all went crazy. TM speedtests that were 100Mpbs dropped to 85Mpbs and now usenet downloads seem to slow down to not more than 28Mbps. This even after numerous resets.

Lodged a complaint and they sent someone over. Turned out the router was the problem. The reconfigured at their side and with old Dlink 850L max we could get was 85Mbps and when he changed to RGX4400 speeds were back to about 95Mpbs on the TM Speedtests and usenet speeds at least went back to 75 or so Mbps.  All these were always via LAN.

The RGX4400 has a major problem with wifi. Its not range but it seems to buffer via wifi before opening any sites even via 5GHz and 3 ft from router. And now usenet speeds hv dropped back to 25Mpbs.

Is this common?

I am contemplating changing the router to ASUS AC68U so I believe the wifi issue will be solved but has anyone else seen throttling on Netflix fast.com with 100Mpbs. I was getting better speeds via 30Mbps. And I do know that if I use a VPN speeds on fast.com do go up but sometimes only to 50Mpbs. However, usenet speeds do not really improve.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Ask TM to come again and reset your port first.
WiLeKiyO
post Jul 27 2016, 07:27 PM

5,144 posts

Finally I received free upgrade to 10mb.

#terimakasihTM
dante1989
post Jul 27 2016, 07:31 PM

288 posts

hori shitto

my mom just upgraded

10mb -> 30 mb for rm189/mth

without discussing with me first :/
fruitie
post Jul 27 2016, 07:48 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(dante1989 @ Jul 27 2016, 07:31 PM)
hori shitto

my mom just upgraded

10mb -> 30 mb for rm189/mth

without discussing with me first :/
laugh.gif Good what, speed got tripled now. tongue.gif
But contract also refreshed. laugh.gif
dante1989
post Jul 27 2016, 07:57 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 27 2016, 07:48 PM)
laugh.gif Good what, speed got tripled now. tongue.gif
But contract also refreshed. laugh.gif
idk how i should feel right now laugh.gif
fruitie
post Jul 27 2016, 08:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(dante1989 @ Jul 27 2016, 07:57 PM)
idk how i should feel right now  laugh.gif
Never mind la. Just enjoy. biggrin.gif
limjenson
post Jul 27 2016, 09:39 PM

755 posts

If Wifi connection is very crap, can complain and get to change to new router?

I am standing next to the wifi router and my speed is only reaching max 18Mbps.
Lan managed to reach 28Mbps.
mztang52
post Jul 27 2016, 09:42 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Jul 27 2016, 10:39 PM)
If Wifi connection is very crap, can complain and get to change to new router?

I am standing next to the wifi router and my speed is only reaching max 18Mbps.
Lan managed to reach 28Mbps.
If warranty over, they will charge for it. But I recommend to buy yourself a router from outside instead of buying with them.
limjenson
post Jul 27 2016, 09:43 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 27 2016, 09:42 PM)
If warranty over, they will charge for it. But I recommend to buy yourself a router from outside instead of buying with them.
Just upgraded to Adv30 so contract renewed. If they won't charge it, might as well try?
mztang52
post Jul 27 2016, 09:45 PM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Jul 27 2016, 10:43 PM)
Just upgraded to Adv30 so contract renewed. If they won't charge it, might as well try?
Is the router still under warranty?
Chosen1
post Jul 27 2016, 10:15 PM

202 posts

Hi all, anyone having slow connection to USA sites and also having big issues streaming apple music?
fruitie
post Jul 27 2016, 10:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(Chosen1 @ Jul 27 2016, 10:15 PM)
Hi all, anyone having slow connection to USA sites and also having big issues streaming apple music?
Also slow download from Apps Store. TM's issue. bangwall.gif
Chosen1
post Jul 27 2016, 10:23 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 27 2016, 10:17 PM)
Also slow download from Apps Store. TM's issue. bangwall.gif
Sigh....... I thought it was my pc.
dannielshazmeer
post Jul 27 2016, 10:26 PM

628 posts

I'm having this problem too. I am trying to download XCode also. It also keeps resetting the download to 0 every few hours and that is very frustrating to me.

I am in Malaysia.

My router says that my Mac Mini is downloading from Singapore (sgsin3-vip-bx-007.aaplimg.com and sgsin3-vip-bx-003.applimg.com). The speed is at average 150kbps which is unacceptable because I'm on 20mbps fiber. Watching HD videos in Youtube is not a problem to me.

Already talked to the ISP (TM UniFi), they claim that the line is fine and there is no service issues.

Already talked on to Apple tech support, had to call Singapore because the Malaysian offices are closed. Talked for half an hour, problem was not resolved.

Is there any way I can convince the App Store to download from a different country like say Taiwan or Thailand? The 4 days wait is unacceptable, and I certainly don't like how the app store keeps resetting my download.
fruitie
post Jul 27 2016, 10:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(Chosen1 @ Jul 27 2016, 10:23 PM)
Sigh....... I thought it was my pc.
Nah, already happening since days ago. Some are encountering slow FB but I don't have such issue.
cskean
post Jul 27 2016, 11:28 PM

2,551 posts

Is this normal? I was upgraded to VIP10 from VIP5 yesterday. Anyhow I feel that the speed is not that stable since the upgrade?

Do I need turn off, unplug all the cables, wait for a moment, and plug back all the cables and turn it on? Need to contact TM to reset my port?

Or the router needs to upgrade too to cater the VIP10? Btw, I'm using the black colour router, where wifi is separated from the router type.

Sifus here pls guide. Thanks~
WiLeKiyO
post Jul 28 2016, 01:10 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jul 27 2016, 11:28 PM)
Is this normal? I was upgraded to VIP10 from VIP5 yesterday. Anyhow I feel that the speed is not that stable since the upgrade?

Do I need turn off, unplug all the cables, wait for a moment, and plug back all the cables and turn it on? Need to contact TM to reset my port?

Or the router needs to upgrade too to cater the VIP10? Btw, I'm using the black colour router, where wifi is separated from the router type.

Sifus here pls guide. Thanks~
Try to change different DNS, I am using Google DNS and I can't load facebook and youtube.

After change to the default DNS, everything is smooth.
fruitie
post Jul 28 2016, 01:16 AM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jul 28 2016, 01:10 AM)
Try to change different DNS, I am using Google DNS and I can't load facebook and youtube.

After change to the default DNS, everything is smooth.
Oh yeah, I'm not using Google DNS or any DNS, just let it empty. No wonder mine is OK. tongue.gif

139 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:59 AM