Do you use cheats?
TSionStorm
Jan 13 2007, 01:14 PM, updated 19y ago
*nyan*
Hey guys. This isn't really just an Xbox thing, but I thought i'd just ask anyway. Now, please don't turn this into a bashing thread. If you don't use cheats, good on you. If you feel that you need cheats to make your gameplay experience better, good on you also.
What I do want to know is how many of you out there use and don't use. Why do you use/not-use cheats?
I personally have used cheats on and off since the days of DOS. I hacked savegame files. It was good fun and experience. The downside was, I became too powerful that the game was not a game anymore, so nowadays I stay away from cheats, for fear of losing interest of a game.
My thoughts on cheats...I don't think its bad to cheat if you really need to. I mean, if thats how you gain enjoyment from a game, more power to you.
MobiusVyper
Jan 13 2007, 01:46 PM
I only cheated in GRAW
Mgsrulz
Jan 13 2007, 01:48 PM
tailgunner
Jan 13 2007, 01:58 PM

so far i havent use any cheat on my 360 games but i need a cheat for my Dead or Alive Xtreme 2  is impossible to complete the game.
ImSIEBEL
Jan 13 2007, 03:32 PM
I use Cheats on my PCGAMES...But not on my 360 !!!...
deodorant
Jan 13 2007, 03:57 PM
I cheated on GoW to get the insane achievements.
TSionStorm
Jan 13 2007, 04:13 PM
*nyan*
Huh? I thought someone said cheat cannot get achievement points? OMG! LOL!
Hamster X
Jan 13 2007, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 13 2007, 04:13 PM) Huh? I thought someone said cheat cannot get achievement points? OMG! LOL! He was bull-ing smart one. Ubisoft was dumb on making GRAW, the fact that the first person setting sucks crap and you can cheat for the 'Hard' difficulty achievements. GoW on Insane isn't hard if you've got a friend to play with and you survived the first level of Rainbow Six: Vegas.
madhatter2k
Jan 13 2007, 05:54 PM
i used to cheat back when i was a pc gamer, but i restricted myself to use it only for the 2nd run thru the game, juz for fun.. nowadays on 360, i'm trying to upgrade myself from a casual to a pro-gamer, so no cheating for me whatsoever..  how to control urself not to cheat? it's like trying to convince an old-time smoker that smoking is bad for health..coz once u know a cheat for a game, ur fingers will itch like hell..
un9ku
Jan 13 2007, 06:59 PM
gaydevice n mav3gay using cheats when playing GoW multiplayer. they got aimbot
Hitman190
Jan 13 2007, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(un9ku @ Jan 13 2007, 06:59 PM) gaydevice n mav3gay using cheats when playing GoW multiplayer. they got aimbot I agree...
gnome
Jan 13 2007, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(un9ku @ Jan 13 2007, 06:59 PM) gaydevice n mav3gay using cheats when playing GoW multiplayer. they got aimbot Wei unkool you also la, sniper aimbot
izaman
Jan 13 2007, 11:10 PM

cheaters losers...heheheh. why dont you put a poll. easier to see result.
hikaru_x
Jan 14 2007, 02:33 AM

cheat in MP = l00ser! cheat in single player = it's his problem, none of ur business  and yeah, cheats are nice to have in games but i think developers shouldn't allow achievements to be unlocked with cheats...
entity
Jan 14 2007, 02:40 AM

I didn't know you can cheat in 360 games?
I did however play around with some glitches in oblivion, but that was for fun
deodorant
Jan 14 2007, 02:42 AM
QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 13 2007, 04:13 PM) Huh? I thought someone said cheat cannot get achievement points? OMG! LOL! Eh well for GoW campaign, you only need to pass the last checkpoint in insane/hardcore to get the insane/hardcore achievement for that chapter ... the rest of the earlier checkpoints can play casual ... that's cheating, I suppose
hikaru_x
Jan 14 2007, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 14 2007, 02:42 AM) Eh well for GoW campaign, you only need to pass the last checkpoint in insane/hardcore to get the insane/hardcore achievement for that chapter ... the rest of the earlier checkpoints can play casual ... that's cheating, I suppose  that doesnt work lah... u need to pass all chapters in an act to get the achievement... check out the load last chapter option and there will be an icon beside each chapter to indicate the highest difficulty u passed that chapter with
deodorant
Jan 14 2007, 01:48 PM
I used the wrong terminology I suppose.
You only need to pass the last checkpoint in a chapter in insane/hardcore to get the entire chapter "passed" as insane/hardcore, everything else can be done in casual. Do this for all the chapters and you'll get the insane/hardcore achievement. It's actually a pretty well-known exploit/bug/cheat (whatever), I'm surprised not more people know about it.
[edit] ok wait a minute, I DID use the right terms.
e.g. Act 5 has 3 chapters, right? I believe the second chapter starts from berserker until just before Raam. You can play this entire part on casual, then just before entering the ammo car, quit and reload in insane and trigger the checkpoint and you'll get the achievement for insane for the second chapter.
This post has been edited by deodorant: Jan 14 2007, 01:50 PM
xxboxx
Jan 14 2007, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 14 2007, 01:48 PM) I used the wrong terminology I suppose. You only need to pass the last checkpoint in a chapter in insane/hardcore to get the entire chapter "passed" as insane/hardcore, everything else can be done in casual. Do this for all the chapters and you'll get the insane/hardcore achievement. It's actually a pretty well-known exploit/bug/cheat (whatever), I'm surprised not more people know about it. [edit] ok wait a minute, I DID use the right terms. e.g. Act 5 has 3 chapters, right? I believe the second chapter starts from berserker until just before Raam. You can play this entire part on casual, then just before entering the ammo car, quit and reload in insane and trigger the checkpoint and you'll get the achievement for insane for the second chapter. i didn't remember you can choose difficulty level when loading checkpoint? i thought thats only when loading chapter.