planning to rejoin should I?

jwrx
post Jun 7 2016, 08:15 AM

515 posts

i been a raider since 2005/6...i stopped about 6 years ago due to burn out (high level end game raiding)

restarted 2 months ago cos my brother assured me its very casual now and hardly any grinding. he was right..i have 2 kids now and the nites of raiding 4 times a week are long gone.

but WOW now is very very diffrent. it took me just 3 weeks with help from my brother to be raid ready

here are the big diffrences that made wow much more casual friendly

- boost to 90 for new accounts
- tokens for raid level gear and lvl 100 gear (no need vendors, no more gettting gear you cant use)
- dual spec...u click one button...u can be healer or tank, all your spells and toolbars change and your gear changes automaticly
- raids that scale..last time..if you full 20 or 40 raid party didnt show up..u were screwed, now raids scale...more ppl u have..better loot drops and boss have more HP
- Garrison, you have your own garrison with mineshaft,herb garden, JC etc...just logging in for 15min every morning, you can gather all the ores, herbs, food you need. As well as followers and ships that go out to gather gold and gear for you

they split the raids into many categories now...for pure noobs and casuals..up to the cutting edge, hard core raiders

but if you want to come in..might as well wait for Legion Expac in 2 months, everything will change again...no point starting now. Legion will have boost to 100
jwrx
post Jun 7 2016, 08:31 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Jun 7 2016, 08:25 AM)
Yes my intention was to join legion. I'm going to watch the wow movie when it comes out with the missus, and I'l lprobably have 2 months of game time free. I'm planning to use that to evalute the game.

Well at least they made raid scalable. They have been saying they would do it forever. I guess they finally did it after I left. Are the quality of pug raids ok? Back then they were horrible. Lots of leechers trying to get in for free loot. Most raids never go very far in pugs.
they have something called LFR now...which basically makes all raid bosses tank and spank. Hardly anyone dies and its just a loot train for everyone, its just for casuals to experience all the endgame bosses.

but the loot is quite crap in LFR

for decent players, there is normal, heroic and mythic dungeons. You actually have to pass trials to enter LFG for mythic... eg you cant Q unless you get at least a Silver medal for DPS challenge (weeds out all the 8 year olds and the spastic)

i found the boss fights very very diffrent from my time (up to WOLK)....very dynamic, alot of phases, you cant just tank/spank....EVEYRONE in the raid must know the mechanics, or you wipe the raid. stand in fire..u die...dun move from WW..u die, dun debuff...u die, the healers cannot save you. alot more fun

0.0162sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:14 AM