▌►LYN SWIMMING THREAD V2 ◄ ▌, C'mon swimmerz!

Aurora
post Aug 3 2009, 09:14 PM

630 posts

Seriously, I recommend speedo goggle. I never had fog problem with their goggle, provided you know how to keep them. It has an antifog polymer inside the lense, where it attract water to "wet" the surface.

After swimming, just wash the inside of goggle with running water, do not use your hand or anything to rub it. Then let it dry on it's own. It last me like 1+ year before it start fogging. The fogging is due to trace of oil, probably from our face. Just wash it with light detergent (soapless type), like nivea facial face (soapless), shower gel, gently use your finger to spread the detergent and rub it (do not apply force), and rinse it with water, the fog will disappear. Soap and shampoo will be too strong and it may remove the antifog coat.

Just be careful of your fingernail when rub it with your finger, as it may scratch the antifog coat.

Speedo got few range, a decent goggle for casual swimming is around RM30-40, while for regular swimmer, a good one cost around RM50. They last very long, easily 2-3 years. I had to give up mind because of scratches on the lense, inside (due to fingernail) and outside.

I'm tried ogival goggle before, totally crap goggle. One time I bought it on on the spot because I forget to bring my goggle. After use few time, the antifog layer deteriote and disappear. Not recommended.

This post has been edited by Aurora: Aug 3 2009, 09:21 PM
Aurora
post Aug 7 2009, 12:34 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Aug 6 2009, 11:23 AM)
is it too late for a 20 year old to start training for competitive swimming?
(just learned swimming last month lol)

my goal is to at least represent my teacher training college in next year sport's meet, win or lose, lain cerita. haha.
If you train hard, eat right, with right coach, should be able to swim for your college. smile.gif

QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 6 2009, 05:23 PM)
i wan to learn how to swim la...but im in my middle age...still can ? anyone know who teaches around ampang/cheras area?
There is no age limit for swimming. Few years ago, I met one person, around 30+ who start learning swimming. He's a regular, but I never talk to him. He usually swim by himself. Didn't go that well at first. Then, sometimes ago when I return there, he has become a really good swimmer. Not for competition, but can easily swim laps.

Added on August 7, 2009, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(DikkieD @ Aug 7 2009, 10:58 AM)
Guys and gals,

Could someone advise me on where to buy standard goggles for swimming? Here at the pool they use so much chlorine that I am dizzy for hours after taking a swim smile.gif...

Pref in the Bukit Bintang area? Any sportshop that sells these goggles?

And to stay on the subject, does anyone know whether it's possible to buy goggles with prescription glasses?

Cheers
You can get goggles in Jusco or any big sport shop. Last week when I went to 1U, they have a whole range of speedo goggle there. You can try check out that place.

There is special goggle corrected for short-sighted people. That one need to go to more specialist shops that sells swimgear. For purchasing this special goggle, one friend advice to get a value (1 point) less than your actual sight. Say if you are using a 6.0 spec, get a 5.5 or 5.0 goggle. He say the water will add some deflection and don't need to get that high. But don't take my word literally, do get a second opinion. biggrin.gif Maybe you can ask the shop when you buy it smile.gif

This post has been edited by Aurora: Aug 7 2009, 12:44 PM
Aurora
post Aug 22 2009, 12:13 PM

630 posts

I plan to go for a swim this weekend around afternoon before it gets too crowded, (today, but looks like going to rain in KL), or tomorrow. Staying at PJ area. Any nice place to recommend guys?

I found this link about swimming location, any other recommendation beside this one?
Aurora
post Oct 11 2009, 12:56 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Oct 10 2009, 08:11 PM)
what equipment do u guys usually use when swiming ? other than goggles ?
any one bring ipod into the pool? lol
Ipod got waterprove version? unsure.gif I don't know wor. If it does, be careful not to entangle yourself with the wire. tongue.gif
There are many type of swimgear, like swimcap, nose clip, earplug, hand-flipper, leg-flipper, float (no pun intended tongue.gif, not only for children, but also for serious swimmer who want to train), etc..
Aurora
post Oct 22 2009, 05:39 PM

630 posts

Kids just want to play, they don't really bother with the water. Parents are more likely to pay attention to water than their kids lor. laugh.gif

Last time I go bukit jalil, the water there are clean, but toilet is somewhat nasty la... But for washing and changing, should be enough. For guys la.. haha. Not sure about ladies room.
Aurora
post Nov 28 2009, 02:00 AM

630 posts

There's a speedo outlet in Pavillion. They have quite a nice selection of goggles and swimwear, just bought a new goggle there. tongue.gif Not sure if they still have the same lasting antifog coating as before. (I find that their goggle has the best antifog coating, but that was few years ago) Maybe I'll comment here after few times trying.

Anyway, the water method only last for 2-3 minutes, after that the fog will return. I used to try that. Other option is to get those baby bathgel, anti-tears type. Pour some inside the lens, spread it with finger thoroughly, then put it under running water, but don't wash all the bathgel away, leave some behind. You should be able to see a coating of soap/water wet over the inner lens. You may need to try this a few times to get a nice coating.

Try to avoid water contact as much as possible during your swimming session, it should last for several laps, or throughout the session. smile.gif
Aurora
post Nov 29 2009, 03:53 AM

630 posts

Better don't use vinegar, it smells! I tried the toothpaste method suggested by fellow forumer here, I could smell the toothpaste when swimming, and the mint in my eyes. Not a good idea laugh.gif

Vinegar smells are hard to get rid, if I remember correctly. It's acidic, will it deteriorate the rubber? I think better read the details on the windscreen bottle. Watch for those warning "If comes in contact with eye..." before you decide to use it. Later you end up spend more on medication. sweat.gif
Aurora
post Jan 5 2010, 11:19 PM

630 posts

guys, anyone from TARC? I know there is a pool in there, is it open for public? Any information on the rate, opening hours, etc?
Aurora
post Feb 26 2010, 04:01 PM

630 posts

plan to go bukit jalil for a swim later. anyone going?
Aurora
post Dec 3 2010, 02:50 PM

630 posts

where is this kolam renang kl? HUKM?
How's the pool condition? Plan to go swim if the weather is good..
had been raining past few days, they allow you guys to swim?

0.0450sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:16 PM