Credit Cards UOB Credit Cards v6
fruitie
Jul 16 2016, 10:27 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MyJen @ Jul 16 2016, 10:19 PM) Hi, I would like to ask about the annual fee of UOB Preferred Platinum card. I was told by the booth staff that the annual fee of this card will be waived for the first two year. Then i applied for the card. But when i came home, i cant find any source about the waiving annual fee for this card in the uob official website. Is it true that uob will waive the annual fee for this card for the first two year.If no, will i still be charged if let say my application is successful but i do not activate the card when i received it? Thanks Nope, it is just a promise from the agent who applied for you. Better get the fellow to give you B&W for this, I don't think you want to argue with him after one year? Usually first year is free AF though. Some cards will require you to have at least one swipe to waive it even for first year, some auto-waive it, so check out the website. Just curious though, why did you apply for this card? Free gift from the agent? Else, this is not an attractive card actually... This post has been edited by fruitie: Jul 16 2016, 10:27 PM
fruitie
Jul 16 2016, 10:42 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MyJen @ Jul 16 2016, 10:37 PM) I wanted to apply only VOX card. But they said it comes in combo and keep persuading me saying the card has no annual fee for the first two year. He did promised me i will get a free gift if my application is successful. i keep asking them will uob really will waive the annual fee, they asked me dun worry with very confident face. So at the end i agreed. so, if i do not activate the UOB Preferred Platinum card if my application is successful. will i still be charged with the annual fee and is there any consequences like eg. i will be blacklisted by the bank??? There is no combo card for UOB though...  Once you receive the card, just call to cancel. No issue one. Most of the cards will give free auto-waived first year, while some require one swipe within 60 days. Will not be blacklisted.
fruitie
Jul 17 2016, 11:17 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MyJen @ Jul 17 2016, 11:10 AM) Well, my biggest concern is just about the annual fee of the card. I agreed to apply the card since he promised me that i will get my annual fee waived. if this does happen in the future, i will not mind keeping the card for at least 6 month so that he can earn his commission. Is it every bank charges the annual fee in first monthly credit card statement including UOB? p/s I have no experience on applying credit card which has annual fee charged. Would appreciate if someone answer my question. A million thanks You can always check with UOB, I tried to look for you from its T&C, I don't see this is mentioned. So you have to call and ask for Preferred Plat if they will charge from first year. To answer to your question, some banks auto-waive for first year and some require a minimum swipe, though the former is practised by most of the banks. Still no harm in checking.
fruitie
Jul 17 2016, 11:25 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MillkTea93 @ Jul 17 2016, 11:22 AM) Hi guys, I have 1 question to ask.. currently, I have uob one card and uob vox card.. I am going to buy the phone that cost me around 2k+ at 11street / lazada but both of the website just offer the 0% installmemt for the maybank credit card and some other bank only.. I wonder that we can buy from lazada/11street website, then we make it to 12 installment plan in 0%..?? any 1 can share with me?? because I saw my uob card benefit.. it said we can do 0% installment by calling the cs to make it ... ( NOT EPP ... EPP is need charge for 1st month installment..)Thanks... Is there such a thing? Please share the link here. It's common to have upfront payment to be made to banks.
fruitie
Jul 17 2016, 11:56 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MillkTea93 @ Jul 17 2016, 11:30 AM) Usually banks won't simply give 0% installment. Even no information about this posted in T&C. Better check with CS first before committing to anything. QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 17 2016, 11:31 AM) I think MillkTea93 meant is charge first, convert later. Normally, it's NOT 0% interest. Yes, that's what I thought as well.
fruitie
Jul 17 2016, 11:10 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 17 2016, 11:07 PM) Don't see my 0.3% Cashback in my July Statement for May spends  Your July statement's 0.3% cash back is based on transactions incurred in June statement, not really May spends. That said I also stopped receiving mine since April and my cash back was less than RM 5, that could be the reason as stated in their T&C. Even after accumulation is still less than RM 5. I will wait till it reaches RM 5 and only see if I will get it. Note: I did receive once even below RM 5, after that no more. This post has been edited by fruitie: Jul 17 2016, 11:10 PM
fruitie
Jul 17 2016, 11:38 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 17 2016, 11:20 PM) That could be the "logical" explanation... Till June I've only accumulated RM3.31 rebates (0.3%). I guess need to spend more ONLINE  Yes, but I feel that 0.3% is just too little and can be totally ignored.
fruitie
Jul 18 2016, 09:50 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ayako_o @ Jul 18 2016, 09:18 AM) Hi, I am facing the same problem. Called service center, and the staff said my One card is still in the process of cancelling (I call for the cancellation like 2 months ago) , and that card is in my main account. I guessed this is because I applied One card first then only follow by VOX card. This 'main' card mess up with the system and it can't generate the statement. So the lady said will help me to hand in the request to cancel the One card permanently. And I shall able to view my e-statement tomorrow. Call to cancel card doesn't mean you cancel it permanently? adui  Well because banks allow you to reinstate your card within 6 months if you suddenly change your mind. That could be the reason.
fruitie
Jul 18 2016, 11:28 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 18 2016, 11:25 AM) You work in bank ah sister? Damn pro the answer  No, I'm not. My industry has nothing related to banking.  I also learn from others and this 6-month thing is CS told me.  Not sure if it applies to all banks, but most banks yes. QUOTE(cacheblue @ Jul 18 2016, 11:26 AM) That's what I got also Applied VOX, got one card also Call to cancel, email to reconfirm, said check statement no one card already Got mail today dated 21 Jun want to know reason, offer annual fee waiver for first year, time frame for reinstatement is one month I supposed you One Card is new? It is free first year what.
fruitie
Jul 18 2016, 03:01 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(areankim @ Jul 18 2016, 02:13 PM) still did not see my UOB VOX card appearing, applied at OneU booth before Raya.... maybe not eligible kot... Have you called UOB to check out the status?
fruitie
Jul 18 2016, 08:49 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(cacheblue @ Jul 18 2016, 04:39 PM) Yup it's a new one not yet activated Maybe they meant annual fee waiver for one year - second year I think it is just the first year. QUOTE(royalz @ Jul 18 2016, 07:22 PM) Anyone tried traveloka using uob vox before and got 5% cb? Nope, you can try and let us know. Only those listed on first post have been tested by us.
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 09:41 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 19 2016, 08:17 AM) Reached the PIN enabled card for UOB ONE. Tried to activate via SMS twice but failed. Called CS just now and they said unable to activate by just providing my NRIC. They insisted to have physical card with me during the call for activation.  Have you tried activating via online? I did mine that way. QUOTE(mint22 @ Jul 19 2016, 09:26 AM) Hi, may I know anyone got their 5% cashback already for June's spending? Which card?
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 10:35 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(mint22 @ Jul 19 2016, 10:11 AM) UOB Vox  As of yesterday still nothing yet, so be patient. Usually around 20s of the month. Anything before or on 30th is acceptable, since that is as per their T&C. QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 19 2016, 10:30 AM) I got this error: Credit Card PIN CreationWe are unable to process your request. Your credit card(s) is not eligible for Credit Card PIN Creation.Please contact our 24-hour UOB Call Centre at 03-26128121 for assistance. That's strange.  Anyway, the card no. is still retained, so if you have the old card with you, it works the same since CS insisted right...
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 01:32 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(sohlican @ Jul 19 2016, 01:09 PM) I thought DiGi Self Care does not allow manual enter of amount to pay. My bill is RM25 a month, thought of using UOBPayOnline in order to manual enter amount to pay. Looks like can manual enter amount to pay via DiGi website now when I login.  Yes, Digi website and even the app can manually enter any amount. I always customize my amount because I'm using HLB Wise to pay. Sometimes below RM 1.  Suggest you to use the app, very easy. This post has been edited by fruitie: Jul 19 2016, 01:33 PM
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 02:09 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Jul 19 2016, 02:00 PM) Pay by the app consider online payment right (min RM50)? How about if I use CIMB cashback card (sorry slightly off topic)? Yes, should be online mobile payment. It is the same gateway as Digi website. I use for HLB Wise and I got it under mobile category. You can also pay with UOBPayOnline. CIMB CR will not entitle for any cash back for all telcos.
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 02:50 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 19 2016, 02:29 PM) if eligible, perhaps victorywp to update post #1 for digi mobile app. Somebody can try using the app, my HLB Wise is too hard to resist.  So I won't be using UOB VOX.  QUOTE(monev88 @ Jul 19 2016, 02:38 PM) Is the 5% cashback calculated based on calendar month or billing cycle? E.g if i max out the RM50 cashback, do I have to wait till the end of the month, or the end of billing cycle before it refreshes again? (i.e when can I get another RM50 cashback again) Calendar month. A new cycle will begin on 1st of the month.
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 04:53 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 19 2016, 04:49 PM) if already got a www.shopback.my account, need to create a new account to get the rm15 bonus? Or just install the apps and login to existing account? RM 15 is only for new users. https://www.shopback.my/mobile-appsAnyway, for Shopback discussion, maybe you guys can discuss in this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2843552
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 08:00 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 19 2016, 07:30 PM) I noticed that my card expiry date in UOB IB has been updated from 11/18 to 11/23 Yes, expiry year will change to. Only CIMB CR decreased the expiry year, so far all my cards extended. My UOB VOX from 2020 to 2021.
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 08:20 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 19 2016, 08:16 PM) Just called CS to activate the CS. They said they failed to do so and asked me to do using UOB IB. I told them I failed also. They said I have to wait for the card activation team to call me back within 24 hours. I was like WTF. Wah, what a tedious process for you. Thank God when I did mine was all smooth... Anyway, your old card still can be used i supposed?
fruitie
Jul 19 2016, 08:32 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 19 2016, 08:22 PM) Manual swipe should be no problem. Not sure for online transaction. If you haven't activated it, then still status quo and can still use the old card.