The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V25

klthor
post Aug 22 2016, 03:08 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Aug 19 2016, 01:32 PM)
a few ringgit maybe...
now rm20 n above for a minifigure, come on..buy 2 minifigures already can get those cheaper lego set already...
minifig is expensive, cheapest single minifig is RM12.90 which are those minifig series. or can get it from LCS mix and match. few ringgit can hardly get anything from lego. not even a keychain. better buy those small sets with 1 minifig + vehicle, cost like RM25 ++ only, i always buy those police motor + policeman. lego is an expensive toy.
deity01
post Aug 22 2016, 03:39 PM

921 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Aug 22 2016, 03:08 PM)
minifig is expensive, cheapest single minifig is RM12.90 which are those minifig series. or can get it from LCS mix and match. few ringgit can hardly get anything from lego. not even a keychain. better buy those small sets with 1 minifig + vehicle, cost like RM25 ++ only, i always buy those police motor + policeman.  lego is an expensive toy.
hmm..funny...i still cant brain this logic...
some small sets with 2 - 3 minifigs sell at 2x-3x only..
Kerry1136
post Aug 22 2016, 03:43 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 22 2016, 12:55 PM)
Check this page for full Lego motor list and specification.

For speed, use this "Electric RC Race Buggy Motor"

Current editions are XL/L/M motors, which are quite slow RPM.

At the vehicle side, will need motor, IR receiver and battery box.
At your RC side, just the RC.

Best and easiest example is refer to 9398 Crawler.

Don't compare to Tamiya RC on the speed, you'll be severely disappointed.
Yeah definitely won't compare to Tamiya RC its just basically to get my display cars like mini cooper to actually able to MOVE, that would be cool.

But because there's no proper guideline on what are the components required to have the Lego movable that's why its kind of confusing.

Such like motor sizes, batteries type and RC controllers...
klthor
post Aug 22 2016, 03:53 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Aug 22 2016, 03:39 PM)
hmm..funny...i still cant brain this logic...
some small sets with 2 - 3 minifigs sell at 2x-3x only..
well, power of bundle smile.gif just like 1 for RM4 but 3 for RM10. but normally, those minifig series are some how a little bit special. and for your info, alot of ppl buy big set just to get their minifig and sell off the rest. especially star wars series and super hero series. if you are lucky, you can try to go LCS to look for those unwanted poly bag, like chima... theres 1 bird minifig + few bricks = RM9.90
cute_boboi
post Aug 22 2016, 04:16 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 22 2016, 03:43 PM)
Yeah definitely won't compare to Tamiya RC its just basically to get my display cars like mini cooper to actually able to MOVE, that would be cool.

But because there's no proper guideline on what are the components required to have the Lego movable that's why its kind of confusing.

Such like motor sizes, batteries type and RC controllers...
I'm not sure on your experience level with current XL/L/M and also the servo motor. My advise is buy 9398 set, build it up, and learn about the motor driving fwd/back, and then whether to use servo/M/L motor for steering left/right.

From there, then can explore into motorize other sets, and you can dismantle 9398 to use as spare parts. Later decide if want to buy the replacement parts or not. Also, check Internet, I'm sure many Lego enthusiast has motorized and share pictures. Some will also share the parts and steps. Generally, most will not give full detailed guidelines, you need to see pictures and reverse-engineer from there yourself. Trial and error. Get lots of spare parts like pins, axles, liftarms, gears, etc. which are cheap, as compared to the electronic parts.

This is what I did to motorized 8110 Unimog couple of years ago, shared in earlier threads here before.

[WARNING HUGE IMAGES]

Servo-motor at mid-front, most ideal position after testing several designs and locations.

Side view of the servo-motor.

XL-motor for Drive, as it fits. Else L or M motor will work also.

Gear reduction. Lessen stress on motor. Also reduce speed. It's not as maneuverable or can climb like 9398, due to several factors.

IR receiver simply put on top of cabin there.

End result - video. Battery box just put at the dumper.

Kerry1136
post Aug 22 2016, 04:29 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 22 2016, 04:16 PM)
I'm not sure on your experience level with current XL/L/M and also the servo motor. My advise is buy 9398 set, build it up, and learn about the motor driving fwd/back, and then whether to use servo/M/L motor for steering left/right.

From there, then can explore into motorize other sets, and you can dismantle 9398 to use as spare parts. Later decide if want to buy the replacement parts or not. Also, check Internet, I'm sure many Lego enthusiast has motorized and share pictures. Some will also share the parts and steps. Generally, most will not give full detailed guidelines, you need to see pictures and reverse-engineer from there yourself. Trial and error. Get lots of spare parts like pins, axles, liftarms, gears, etc. which are cheap, as compared to the electronic parts.

This is what I did to motorized 8110 Unimog couple of years ago, shared in earlier threads here before.

[WARNING HUGE IMAGES]

Servo-motor at mid-front, most ideal position after testing several designs and locations.

Side view of the servo-motor.

XL-motor for Drive, as it fits. Else L or M motor will work also.

Gear reduction. Lessen stress on motor. Also reduce speed. It's not as maneuverable or can climb like 9398, due to several factors.

IR receiver simply put on top of cabin there.

End result - video. Battery box just put at the dumper.

Very detail bro.

Yes I am very new to this at first I didn't even know that I can transform my Lego creator to something move-able.

I did check online with Lego 9398 as a initial beginner to learn about the power functions but it mentioned that it has been retired.

I doubt I can find it locally though.
cute_boboi
post Aug 22 2016, 04:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 22 2016, 04:29 PM)
Very detail bro.

Yes I am very new to this at first I didn't even know that I can transform my Lego creator to something move-able.

I did check online with Lego 9398 as a initial beginner to learn about the power functions but it mentioned that it has been retired.

Hmm, I'm not sure which latest or non EOL set which is good. Maybe 42030 Volvo ? As it has motors, servo and RC.
icon_rolleyes.gif

Kerry1136
post Aug 22 2016, 06:03 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 22 2016, 04:39 PM)
Hmm, I'm not sure which latest or non EOL set which is good. Maybe 42030 Volvo ? As it has motors, servo and RC.
icon_rolleyes.gif
What about 8293? I see that those are still available.

Is it sufficient?
lee82gx
post Aug 22 2016, 06:35 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 22 2016, 06:03 PM)

Is it sufficient?
For sure 8293 and 9398 is eol and very hard to find.

Best bet is 42030 which will donate a great set of RC components. I believe you can still get it for ard rm1k.

If your intention is to RC the mini cooper then just Google it. Pretty sure instructions are freely available everywhere. If you already have the 42030 then you definitely have enough critical parts to RC it.
zemperor
post Aug 22 2016, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 22 2016, 04:39 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif
42030 is good biggrin.gif
just this set have all the parts to do RC thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 22 2016, 04:29 PM)
Very detail bro.

just found back some of my old pictures...

not really detail, just simply add in motor, receiver, battery, maybe some part and gear...
then use controller to play around laugh.gif

all these technic sets already have moving gear... it's not too hard to RC them...

for non technic set, this is the only one that i attemp to make it move laugh.gif

basically, one controller, one receiver, two motor, one battery box and some extra parts and gears will do icon_rolleyes.gif

i'm sure u can easily found more info on internet...
even easier if u have specific set to RC (such as the mini cooper)

i do not have mini cooper, but i think mini cooper do not have gears, probably need to do quite a lot of modification...
i think even the battery box may not fit inside the car laugh.gif
but don't let this discourage u, i'm sure with internet nowadays, u can found a way to do it laugh.gif
Kerry1136
post Aug 22 2016, 09:28 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 22 2016, 06:35 PM)
For sure 8293 and 9398 is eol and very hard to find.

Best bet is 42030 which will donate a great set of RC components. I believe you can still get it for ard rm1k.

If your intention is to RC the mini cooper then just Google it. Pretty sure instructions are freely available everywhere. If you already have the 42030 then you definitely have enough critical parts to RC it.
Yeah RM1k....I'm kinda reluctant to spend that amount as I have other stuff to go for (disney castle, beetle...)

But yea basically I need to know the parts to RC my mini cooper, wall-e or basically any stuff that moves...

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 22 2016, 08:17 PM)
42030 is good biggrin.gif
just this set have all the parts to do RC thumbup.gif
just found back some of my old pictures...

not really detail, just simply add in motor, receiver, battery, maybe some part and gear...
then use controller to play around laugh.gif

all these technic sets already have moving gear... it's not too hard to RC them...

for non technic set, this is the only one that i attemp to make it move laugh.gif

basically, one controller, one receiver, two motor, one battery box and some extra parts and gears will do icon_rolleyes.gif

i'm sure u can easily found more info on internet...
even easier if u have specific set to RC (such as the mini cooper)

i do not have mini cooper, but i think mini cooper do not have gears, probably need to do quite a lot of modification...
i think even the battery box may not fit inside the car laugh.gif
but don't let this discourage u, i'm sure with internet nowadays, u can found a way to do it laugh.gif
Two motors but some sizes are like M some are XL, does it fit basically on a small piece like cooper? I also see there are two types of controller though...

zemperor
post Aug 22 2016, 10:48 PM

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 22 2016, 09:28 PM)
Yeah RM1k....I'm kinda reluctant to spend that amount as I have other stuff to go for (disney castle, beetle...)

But yea basically I need to know the parts to RC my mini cooper, wall-e or basically any stuff that moves...
Two motors but some sizes are like M some are XL, does it fit basically on a small piece like cooper? I also see there are two types of controller though...
i'm not sure about size... since i don't have the mini cooper...

maybe u need to try look for internet, see how they put the motor...

for controller, one is normal, to control on/off
another one is for train, can control speed...

as u can see from my previous post, i use the train controller to control speed of motor for my fairground mixer brows.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 23 2016, 02:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 22 2016, 06:03 PM)

Is it sufficient?
8293 is a beginner box with just M motor and battery box. No IR, no RC, no servo motor.
You have fancy lights for decoration purpose only.
Also, total cost for parts wise is not cheap.

Full box set is more expensive, e.g. 42030 Volvo. But you get a lot of spare parts and full set motor/controllers.

I have mini cooper and samba van, but not yet build. Going slow on building Lego at the moment. Just finish 42009 and an old 8455 pneumatic backhoe recently. Maybe start to mod 42009.

Buying parts in bulk is cheaper, and can use for multiple projects:

icon_rolleyes.gif
lee82gx
post Aug 23 2016, 03:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 23 2016, 02:21 PM)
8293 is a beginner box with just M motor and battery box. No IR, no RC, no servo motor.

Full box set is more expensive, e.g. 42030 Volvo. But you get a lot of spare parts and full set motor/controllers.

I have mini cooper and samba van, but not yet build. Going slow on building Lego at the moment. Just finish 42009 and an old 8455 pneumatic backhoe recently. Maybe start to mod 42009.

icon_rolleyes.gif
drool.gif wah....9m motors....this must be heavy duty MOC
Kerry1136
post Aug 23 2016, 03:44 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif
So do you think its worth to invest in 42030 Volvo or the 4x4 Crawler 9398?
cute_boboi
post Aug 23 2016, 06:33 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 23 2016, 03:44 PM)
Both are good sets in my opinion in terms of technicality, but not the exterior look which the mini cooper, porsche, 41999, etc. wins). It's more towards physics and learning about RC for Lego, e.g. a major Lego problem is always the Ackerman steering issue. This is one of the 8110 motorized factor as I mention in several posts above. Automotive student/grads will know and can explain Ackerman steering better than me. I believe mini cooper will have this issue also. Therefore, it won't be as agile as 9398.

For your case, to learn about Lego RC, 9398 is more attractive.
However, if you don't care much about Technics stuff and just want to RC it, perhaps 42030 is easier option to find.
icon_rolleyes.gif
zemperor
post Aug 23 2016, 06:35 PM

all still in plastic drool.gif
my one all open already laugh.gif

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 23 2016, 03:44 PM)
both also nice set thumbup.gif
9398 come with spring/suspension, 42030 come with big... what is the name that in front of 42030 use to dig? shovel?

42030 may still available but 9398... it may hard to find 9398 now...
cute_boboi
post Aug 23 2016, 06:41 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 23 2016, 06:35 PM)
all still in plastic drool.gif
my one all open already laugh.gif

both also nice set thumbup.gif
9398 come with spring/suspension, 42030 come with big... what is the name that in front of 42030 use to dig? shovel?

42030 may still available but 9398... it may hard to find 9398 now...
All old pictures 2-3 years ago la bro, no time take new pic, even for the 42009 or 8455 non-mod. laugh.gif only few Technic modders here, I remember you brows.gif

Since 8455 is manual pneumatic, I've purchased parts to build an external air-compressor using M motor and pump.
42009 Jurgen Ultimate parts are complete as well, no time mod yet.

BTW, I got 2 sets 9398. 2nd set already broke up for parts. At that time, it was cheapest around RM600 only.
icon_rolleyes.gif

zemperor
post Aug 23 2016, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 23 2016, 06:41 PM)
All old pictures 2-3 years ago la bro, no time take new pic, even for the 42009 or 8455 non-mod. laugh.gif  only few Technic modders here, I remember you  brows.gif

Since 8455 is manual pneumatic, I've purchased parts to build an external air-compressor using M motor and pump.
42009 Jurgen Ultimate parts are complete as well, no time mod yet.

BTW, I got 2 sets 9398. 2nd set already broke up for parts. At that time, it was cheapest around RM600 only.
icon_rolleyes.gif
haha laugh.gif i see...

now not much technic player here already sad.gif
maybe all become silent reader tongue.gif

probably only me and u will come out once a while when someone post about technic laugh.gif

speaking of technic, i miss the box that open like 42009 sad.gif
the 42030 (and probably 42055) open sideway, cannot use back to keep my technic...
now almost running out of space to keep my technic cry.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 23 2016, 07:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 23 2016, 06:59 PM)
haha laugh.gif i see...

now not much technic player here already sad.gif
maybe all become silent reader tongue.gif

probably only me and u will come out once a while when someone post about technic laugh.gif
speaking of technic, i miss the box that open like 42009 sad.gif
the 42030 (and probably 42055) open sideway, cannot use back to keep my technic...
now almost running out of space to keep my technic cry.gif
Many box-huggers and scalpers here tongue.gif
Also most will just build and display.
Only few modders.

Lego aim is for creativity and to explore/build/mod. The default build is just a guideline. icon_rolleyes.gif

You mean you dismantle and keep in original box ? hmm.gif

I keep full unit. Some put in plastic bags and display on simple rack, ugly but no need clean the dust, just change plastic bag. Some I put into carton boxes and stack it up. Easy to take out and review/mod/test parts. Sometimes idea comes out which can test on other builds.

149 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:41 PM