AMD® Athlon/Sempron socket 754 owners, come in!, Help me fill this survey =D

TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 03:20 PM, updated 19y ago

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Just wanna know the idle temperatures for those using old skool socket 754 athlon or sempron processors... with AIR COOLING only, how much is your idle temperatures.

If you've got a good heatsink/CPU cooler to recommend for this socket, please do share with us smile.gif

*edit*

Remember, AIR COOLING only! For those who are using watercooling or other super duper high end method of cooling and accidently voted, then please confess by posting what cooler you are using and your temperatures. I wanna make sure those who get >34 degrees are genuine air cooling.

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Jan 12 2007, 10:30 PM
seveneleven
post Jan 12 2007, 03:26 PM

359 posts

Sempron can?

Idling at 37C - Sempron 2800 @ 2400MHZ, Stock VCore.
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 03:29 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jan 12 2007, 03:26 PM)
Sempron can?

Idling at 37C - Sempron 2800 @ 2400MHZ, Stock VCore.
Actually was looking for Athlon users but thanks for reporting in! At least we know how are socket 754 owners doing. The one big problem I'm facing now is that no matter how I try, the temperatures always seem high. I guess its the heat problem with s754 procs?
edwuave
post Jan 12 2007, 03:38 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jan 12 2007, 03:20 PM)
Just wanna know the idle temperatures for those using old skool socket 754 athlon processors... with AIR COOLING only, how much is your idle temperatures.

If you've got a good heatsink/CPU cooler to recommend for this socket, please do share with us  smile.gif
same problem with u. but i m using sempron 2500 oc to 2.1GHz. initially, my cpu idle temp is around 35 degree celcius, that was reeeeal cool. after few months, it went up as high as 50 in hot day time. and around 45 degrees at night time. reapply the heat compound the problem still persist. decided to get an Artic Silver 5, but dunno can solve the problem or not.
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 03:45 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(edwuave @ Jan 12 2007, 03:38 PM)
same problem with u. but i m using sempron 2500 oc to 2.1GHz. initially, my cpu idle temp is around 35 degree celcius, that was reeeeal cool. after few months, it went up as high as 50 in hot day time. and around 45 degrees at night time. reapply the heat compound the problem still persist. decided to get an Artic Silver 5, but dunno can solve the problem or not.
Gosh.. even sempron also has this heating up problem? Btw eduwave... you're using stock cooler or aftermarket ones?

seveneleven
post Jan 12 2007, 03:56 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(edwuave @ Jan 12 2007, 03:38 PM)
Idle at 50C? I guess something is wrond with the cooling. How much vcore do you feed?

Last time I used 939 athlon 64 3000+ Venice, idle was at 28/29. So much head room for overclocking.
edwuave
post Jan 12 2007, 03:59 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jan 12 2007, 03:56 PM)
Idle at 50C? I guess something is wrond with the cooling. How much vcore do you feed?

Last time I used 939 athlon 64 3000+ Venice, idle was at 28/29. So much head room for overclocking.
default vcore, as the vcore cant b adjusted. my sempron 2500 is 90nm btw.
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 04:03 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jan 12 2007, 03:56 PM)

Yes I know socket 939 has so much headroom to overclock.... but thats not what we're here for. I just want to know what is the temperatures that everyone who uses aftermarket or stock cooling for socket 754 is getting.
DaRkSyThE
post Jan 12 2007, 04:14 PM

4,809 posts

hey, if there response isnt that good, then u might have to close the thread yeah smile.gif
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 04:34 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Jan 12 2007, 04:14 PM)
hey, if there response isnt that good, then u might have to close the thread yeah smile.gif
There are hundreds of socket 754 users in the forum. I just need a fraction of them to vote in here... why do we need to close this thread?
E-J@1
post Jan 12 2007, 08:01 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jan 12 2007, 04:34 PM)
There are hundreds of socket 754 users in the forum. I just need a fraction of them to vote in here... why do we need to close this thread?
what's the purpose of this pole anyway? i mean, let say u got 50 forumer voted their temp, then what u goin to do bout it unsure.gif just asking only, don't be mad notworthy.gif biggrin.gif
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 08:13 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 12 2007, 08:01 PM)
what's the purpose of this pole anyway? i mean, let say u got 50 forumer voted their temp, then what u goin to do bout it unsure.gif just asking only, don't be mad notworthy.gif  biggrin.gif
I've got 50 votes already then I'll know the limitation of socket 754. So then I know that buying an even more powerful/expensive heatsink won't solve the problem of heat... sweat.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 12 2007, 08:46 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jan 12 2007, 03:20 PM)
Just wanna know the idle temperatures for those using old skool socket 754 athlon or sempron processors... with AIR COOLING only, how much is your idle temperatures.

If you've got a good heatsink/CPU cooler to recommend for this socket, please do share with us  smile.gif
QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jan 12 2007, 08:13 PM)
I've got 50 votes already then I'll know the limitation of socket 754. So then I know that buying an even more powerful/expensive heatsink won't solve the problem of heat...  sweat.gif
well, if that's the case, what's ur budget for it? then u can buy the best hestsink within ur budget lor rclxms.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Jan 12 2007, 09:21 PM

4,809 posts

although there are alot of people, not many like to respond nor do they come to this section much.
that was just a heads up for u smile.gif
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 12 2007, 10:25 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Well, then it is the good courtesy of the cooling and hard modding guys to keep this thread alive..

Gosh... those who have 34 degrees and below, what cooler you guys use? Please don't tell me the watercooling gang came and vote doh.gif
edwuave
post Jan 13 2007, 01:00 AM

331 posts

i think im gonna buy a artic silver liao, this evening my cpu went up to as high as 50 degree celcius, and it is raining day. i use stock cooler btw.
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 13 2007, 01:15 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(edwuave @ Jan 13 2007, 01:00 AM)
i think im gonna buy a artic silver liao, this evening my cpu went up to as high as 50 degree celcius, and it is raining day. i use stock cooler btw.
Arctic Silver won't let you drop 10 degrees wor... unsure.gif
edwuave
post Jan 13 2007, 03:14 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jan 13 2007, 01:15 AM)
Arctic Silver won't let you drop 10 degrees wor...  unsure.gif
maybe 2 or 3 also good. dunno why my sempron palermo 90nm even at default speed 1.4GHz default vcore 1.4v, my temp is so high. shuld b around 35 degrees or less. i try to touch the heatsink and guess what? it is cold. which means the heat didn conduct well between the processor and heatsink. i know how to apply an efficient layer of heat compound as i hv did it many times. i suspect it mayb a bug for some AMD 90nm processor that it cant spread heat over the small core which we apply the heat compound.... rclxub.gif
jcheong
post Jan 13 2007, 07:25 AM

323 posts

Or maybe the temp sensor problem. I had the same problem during s462 days. The temp sensor lies beneath the processor. Had to bent it upward to make good contact.

0.0454sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:55 AM