Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

yygo
post Jun 10 2016, 09:03 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jun 9 2016, 01:21 PM)
rates going lower and lower sad.gif having my last month with 4.5% via mach HLB... gonna end soon... not sure where to place now... is it a good choice to put at 3 mths @ 3.9 while waiting for new promos? will the rates improve?? hmm
rate may go down tis year. dr bones dream 5% tis year not happening. devil.gif
yygo
post Jul 1 2016, 08:32 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 1 2016, 02:11 AM)
Went to HL to transfer out matured FD, was offered 4.05% for 12 months, no need fresh fund. But I have decided to transfer to UOB. IBG charge is RM2.15.

They have also promo rate for senior citizen, above 50 yrs old, fresh fund 12 months at 4.3% but must keep RM1000 in saving account. Didnt ask in detail coz wasnt that keen as I am trying to consolidate my FD in the most 4 banks. Moreover I didnt log in for quite  some times, may be this deal already been reported
unker goat reported tis. the 4.3% 12 mth for senior in hl, keep rm1000 in one new sa (some harvest sa?). but can take out next day.

now july 1, so not sure still there? hmm.gif
yygo
post Jul 1 2016, 08:45 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 1 2016, 12:54 PM)
Deal Hunter can you write your own financial blog, instead of flooding this topic with your vague writeups?
rclxms.gif yup, vague writing, read 3 times still tak faham.

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jul 1 2016, 08:39 PM)
good points esp number 2.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  transfer limit 10k, 30k, 50k per day depending on banks. lose interest if got to transfer few times/days.
some pipu also put in board rates. so no rite/wrong way of put fd in good luck dates. need micro manage some more. devil.gif
yygo
post Jul 2 2016, 05:22 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jul 2 2016, 05:07 PM)
Another FD puzzle entertainment story - those not interested please skip. Those interested use your calendars to understand, otherwise lost.

Meeting at Best Deal Business.

Boss Kiasu, "Now we move on to our contingency plan for September 2016. We have no estimate/best guess what the best FD promo will be, so we will use 12 months first and adjust later if anything better shows up. As I understand from our financial trainer Deal Hunter, the smart money focusses  somewhere on the 2nd week to  somewhere 1 week before the end of the month for practical financial reason, unless there is a need to do earlier for fear of missing the boat as in our plan for 1 July."
The finance guy flips the calendar to September 2016 and projects it. Then he projects the September 2017 from the computer next to it. He says, "Hari Raya Haji expected on Monday 12 and Tuesday 13 and Malaysia Day fixed on Friday 16."
Boss Kiasu turns to his financial controller and says, "You went with me to the "Use Kiasu Kungfu - Get Rich Faster Case Studies Workshop". How are we supposed to deal with this case for 12 months?"
The financial controller replies,
"1) Ordinary days Monday to Thursday - no extra gain - no kiasu points.
2) Normal Friday - gain 2 kiasu days.'
3) Extra Holidays - that is what we are here to work out.
4) Human Factor - make your own luck according to our and others circumstances and behaviour.
So only Friday 9 and Thursday 15 to consider."
"Well summarised", beamed Boss Kiasu. "I concur, now which one?"
The finance guy continues, "Effective Friday 9, mature Monday 11 September 2017, 367 interest paying days.
Effective Thursday 15, mature Friday 15 September 2017, 365 interest paying days.
Obviously Friday 9 is the choice."
"OK, that dealt with point 3, now what about the Human Factor?" asked the boss.
The business manager (grad in Business and Marketing Psychology) replies, "We have to make early booking and show up early on Friday to avoid any missing staff. If there is some slacking in the bank, check clearing may be delayed max up to Monday 19 - lucky for us if the Effective Date is confirmed beforehand as Friday 9."
"OK we arrange our collection and placement for Friday 9," confirms Boss Kiasu.
"Boss, which check  we use this time?" ask the finance guy.
"The one giving the highest interest while waiting for our luck to happen," fumes Boss Kiasu remembering the previous mistakes.
"No bank cheque this time. Use the Maybank PMA cheque. Sweep from the holdings in eGIA-i into the PMA account at the right time to maximise interest. Can do from home during holiday," the financial controller explains.
"Okay, that's it. October plan next."
catch no ball? bangwall.gif

you sound like 1 guy who like to tell stories last time.

wat is the key point in 3 sentence the most? devil.gif

yygo
post Jul 4 2016, 08:12 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jul 3 2016, 11:10 PM)
hahahaha i got reported for this post  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

damn lah, i forgot that FD Rates no longer managed by Gen-X. Miss those days  sad.gif

Back then, I guess because he was the thread starter nobody told him to go to ibg thread to discuss ibg & rentas & whatever other fund transfer methods ... and he did talk and shared info about them in the FD Rates thread. hahaha i guess only because he was the thread starter???

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...ts&highlite=ibg

Miss those days  console.gif
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jul 4 2016, 08:08 AM)
thumbsup.gif

off topic a bit is ok. not talk for over 10 posts.

key thing is not to use it to slander/attack, like one guy was doing it in revision 12.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

agreed. dun talk long on ot. but dun use the post to attack on personal side. rev 12 one popular (last time popular) guy was doing tat.
yygo
post Jul 13 2016, 09:41 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 12 2016, 10:18 PM)

I believe certain bank like OCBC also offer 5% p.a. for 3 months FD for their PB customers which he should take advantage of.

oh and that loyalty to branch is quite silly, highest % offered get my money. who cares if you cry father or cry mother about new branch and what not.

Not so pro, imho.
ocbc pb fd offer must go with investment product la! bangwall.gif

https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...2016/index.html
yygo
post Jul 13 2016, 12:42 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 13 2016, 12:39 PM)
your link show 6% bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

are we on the same page? whistling.gif

I'm sure they publish every single deal online and let you slowly decide laugh.gif
sure, bro. tongue.gif

your 5% old one, ocbc change promo all the time for new pb. whistling.gif

cannot be 5% pure fd, tied with ut. bruce.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Jul 13 2016, 12:43 PM
yygo
post Jul 13 2016, 12:52 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 13 2016, 12:49 PM)
you wanna win go ahead, i rest my case. Not gonna go into detail with every word of posting.

my point is he could have earn more thus the method is not so "pro".
tongue.gif

he can go for other 4 to 4.5% fd. but not the quoted 5% ocbc as tat is not pure fd. bruce.gif devil.gif
yygo
post Jul 13 2016, 03:47 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 13 2016, 03:04 PM)
Sounds like a better deal than Affin Bank now... got gold coin.  shocking.gif
from bro bbgoat april posting:

yygo
post Jul 14 2016, 10:03 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 14 2016, 09:50 AM)
Well you did say you need to spread out the eggs. Don't put all eggs in one basket. tongue.gif
tun, dun change the topic. bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bagi kiddo, dun know much on fd/money relationship, listen to pro like bbgoat. devil.gif laugh.gif
yygo
post Jul 14 2016, 12:08 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 14 2016, 12:04 PM)
Oh...  doh.gif

Might as well put chocolates inside, at least can eat.
some pipu just like sour grape mind set. laugh.gif

wat, you expect to sell it? it is like souvener oni. i wud keep it if can get one. nice shiok looking.
yygo
post Jul 14 2016, 12:36 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 14 2016, 12:14 PM)
Best bang for buck...

Kiasu...
You name it.  laugh.gif
not evithing for sale! brows.gif

cannot go for it to get the gold coin and sell it for cash. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 14 2016, 12:20 PM)

Of course la sell. Boost your effective rates. If want gold plated coin, might as well buy online. Very cheap and nice looking if get from China. tongue.gif whistling.gif

coming from a supposedly murid. evithing for sale! devil.gif or because cannot get one, sour grape mentaliti. icon_idea.gif
yygo
post Jul 14 2016, 01:32 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 14 2016, 01:28 PM)
Please define Xclusive customers... thank you.
300k deposit in br
yygo
post Jul 29 2016, 08:21 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 28 2016, 11:00 PM)
Well well some people cant take a joke. Well it does explain why the banks dont trust you enough. I never had  any issues issuing cheques and being asked to come back later for the cert.
tomei babx, tis is funny. bank ask pipu to come back cause dont trust them. rclxm9.gif

bank policy, boy. so your cheque must be super big, wow, uhnwi. bruce.gif tongue.gif
yygo
post Jul 30 2016, 08:42 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jul 30 2016, 08:34 AM)
now someone blame br for big company with differen policy in branches! doh.gif

o yes, the person that say he is trust worthy and bank accept his personal cheque. he never meet a bank that ask people to come back to collect fd cert, like bangkok bank? he should try bangkok bank and tell us.

personal cheque acceptance has been discussed before, where some bank or branch ask people to come back after clearance to get the cert. maybe uhnwi is different? hmm.gif
kekeke, he now blame br? before adamant that no monthly interest for br current promo. laugh.gif keeps on arguing over tis point with bbgoat and drag out cheque acceptance issue. tongue.gif misquoted aromachong oso.

This post has been edited by yygo: Jul 30 2016, 08:43 AM
yygo
post Aug 2 2016, 04:17 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(DemRum @ Aug 2 2016, 03:28 PM)
Is people here investing in bank funds? Where can I get investments portfolios?
here talk fd oni. cek other forum
yygo
post Aug 2 2016, 06:03 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Aug 2 2016, 02:06 PM)
please keep this forum "clean". fd talk, no personal attacks. take it elsewhere.
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Aug 2 2016, 05:36 PM)
Alliance offer Merdeka bonanza 4.15 PA. CASA 2500. Can I go ahead ?
wat is t&c? min 10k? effective rate lower because of casa.
yygo
post Aug 2 2016, 07:50 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Aug 2 2016, 06:15 PM)
I really don't understand this .
As I know I put fd 10k
Casa 2500.

Interests 4.13 pa base on 10k,  any outcome lower ?
QUOTE(cklimm @ Aug 2 2016, 07:37 PM)
it means that, you tied up 12.5k in casa and FD, but only the 10k in FD earning 4.15%, the 2.5k is earning savings acc interest?

Masih tak faham? Just go ahead, practical experience teaches best
learn from sifu lim. better go with pure fd type like uob, ocbc.
yygo
post Aug 2 2016, 10:06 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Aug 2 2016, 09:43 PM)
Assume FD 50K, CASA 2.5k
FD 4.15% PA = 2075

UOB 3.95%
lump sum 52.5k
Interest : 52.5k x 3.95%  = 2073..

I dont see any different here. Slightly different only. Correct me if wrong.
the bigger sum of fd deposit, smaller difference seen. alliance bank you lose on the 2.5k (fixed amount?) in casa interest.
yygo
post Aug 3 2016, 07:54 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 2 2016, 10:20 PM)
Your calculation is rite
In addition, u can move around 2.5k anytime
o, can move out 2.5k so soon? no casa tie up?

0.0952sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:20 PM