Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

kinwawa
post Jun 13 2016, 10:18 AM

2,181 posts

Y not many ppl interested in PBBANK 4.30%? Is it becoz of the 20k min fund required? thx
kinwawa
post Jun 20 2016, 09:40 AM

2,181 posts

do you all think it's a good idea to put foreign currency fixed deposit? Like SGD or AUD for 12 months. Rate is lower than RM FD of course. Looking at long term hedge
kinwawa
post Jun 20 2016, 11:12 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 20 2016, 11:08 AM)
Diversification for long term, yes.

Hedge against Rm especially for short or mid term? No.
You don't gain much actually if the amount is not significant.

While if amount is significant, there are plenty alternatives which may be more effective and better way or can get better yield compared to foreign currency FD rate that able to hedge against RM.
OK thanks Sifu Cherroy....
Indeed it's for diversification.....had already some on promo FD rates. Looking at the way RM is dropping....planning to hedge some in foreign currency maybe for the next 10 yrs.....not planning to use the money...

based on your advice, 10 yrs considered short-, mid- or long- term?

kinwawa
post Jun 20 2016, 11:33 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 20 2016, 11:19 AM)
10 years is considered long term enough. We don't have many x10 years, probably only a few up to around 5.  laugh.gif

May explore/post in the foreign currency FD, which we talked plenty previously.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/512136/+440
Thanks! Just surprised nobody talking about it anymore...hehe.....

kinwawa
post Jun 20 2016, 11:40 AM

2,181 posts

lol....true true...mostly for children's education in future hahha...now getting older...risk appetite getting lower.....
kinwawa
post Jun 21 2016, 09:05 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 21 2016, 08:27 AM)
"QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jun 20 2016, 11:12 AM)

OK thanks Sifu Cherroy....
Indeed it's for diversification.....had already some on promo FD rates. Looking at the way RM is dropping....planning to hedge some in foreign currency maybe for the next 10 yrs.....not planning to use the money...

based on your advice, 10 yrs considered short-, mid- or long- term?

thanks"

Tq bro Ramjade,...

Kinwawa... it depends on the timeframe you can afford to leve your funds there before you need to take it out for usage. The longer the timespan you have, the higher your chances to gain from your foreign currency investment. YOu can change back from the foreign currency into the RM if you wished to use the funds when the RM has weakened adequately against that foreign currency that you are holding.

The following graph will demonstrate how long it took for the SGD to pull ahead vs the MYR, and finally reached the level of the SGDMYR today :-

http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=SGDMYR%...ing":true}

From this graph, you can estimate how long you need to leave the MYR 'overseas',... but it also depends on your entry level and the timing of your entry,...

Let us know,...
Thanks Hansel! Saw your discussion on forex etc.....i'm just thinking of parking extra money there for children's education in future (if required). Like i say...maybe 10 yrs..but i might put in low volume and accumulate slowly if req...like AUD5K, SGD5k, USD5k for 12 months and let it roll and accumulate later when got extra savings again
kinwawa
post Jun 27 2016, 11:52 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 27 2016, 11:43 AM)
Good point on the customer base spread for FD in banks.  notworthy.gif

Yes, I remember last time bank did impose the >1 mil deposit then lower interest rate. But now this may not have been implemented by all banks.
even for kiddies account....interest rate (FD-like) reduced upon reaching 50k onwards
kinwawa
post Jul 13 2016, 05:07 PM

2,181 posts

think public bank already revising...in their website all those deposits promotion gone!
kinwawa
post Jul 14 2016, 10:10 AM

2,181 posts

maybank mid year FD promo also gone liao.....called maybank just now.....

0.0800sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:22 PM