cherroy
post Jun 2 2016, 04:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 2 2016, 03:54 PM)
thanks for this HLB headsup smile.gif

I wonder if senior FD account need to open one of these other "harvest" account or not sad.gif
I hope Kochin wish come true also smile.gif

After hoping for about 2 years, finally can hear BFM radio talking about US rate hike nearly every morning

Yellen also said 5 days ago that raising rates over time is appropriate smile.gif

What should I do? Got maturity tomorrow. How many points do you think they'll bump it? How will our BNM and comm banks react? Maybe i'll just roll into the HLB 4.3% 6 mths deal. Any other shorter term options?
Promotion FD won't be much affected by Fed move, but local issue, like OPR, LDR, liquidity etc.
After all, Fed is only expected to raise 0.25%.

If you need/want to place in the coming few days up to months, it doesn't matter much.
Fed rate hike doesn't have direct impact on local interest rate environment, although RM vs USD exchange rate.
cherroy
post Jun 16 2016, 10:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 16 2016, 08:14 PM)
For PBB, I asked about my FD that matured on Sat. The counter staff gave me the 2 days interest in cash, on Monday. So ask PBB when u redeem your FD on the working day.  biggrin.gif
Same here, got extra day of interest after the cashier asked the officer. cheers.gif
cherroy
post Jun 20 2016, 11:08 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jun 20 2016, 09:40 AM)
do you all think it's a good idea to put foreign currency fixed deposit? Like SGD or AUD for 12 months. Rate is lower than RM FD of course. Looking at long term hedge
Diversification for long term, yes.

Hedge against Rm especially for short or mid term? No.
You don't gain much actually if the amount is not significant.

While if amount is significant, there are plenty alternatives which may be more effective and better way or can get better yield compared to foreign currency FD rate that able to hedge against RM.

cherroy
post Jun 20 2016, 11:19 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jun 20 2016, 11:12 AM)
OK thanks Sifu Cherroy....
Indeed it's for diversification.....had already some on promo FD rates. Looking at the way RM is dropping....planning to hedge some in foreign currency maybe for the next 10 yrs.....not planning to use the money...

based on your advice, 10 yrs considered short-, mid- or long- term?

10 years is considered long term enough. We don't have many x10 years, probably only a few up to around 5. laugh.gif

May explore/post in the foreign currency FD, which we talked plenty previously.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/512136/+440
cherroy
post Jun 25 2016, 10:17 PM

25,802 posts

Please post at economy thread if wish to discuss more about macro economy issues.

This is pure FD, FD interest rate thread.

Ty.
cherroy
post Jun 27 2016, 10:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jun 26 2016, 09:32 PM)
The following text is from Hong Leong Mach FD:
Why does Hong Leong want to regain the excess interest? Correct me if I am mistaken, but isn't that the more fund I place in FD, the more profit Hong Leong will gain by lending the FD amount to other bank customers? The interest rate I gain is same percentage, regardless of the placement amount.
Banks prefer 100 customers with Rm50K, instead of 1 customer with RM5 mil.

As when the 1 customer suddenly (premature) wish to withdraw Rm5 mil, it may cause hassle for bank to borrow 5 mil from interbank to pay for the customer.
Whilst there is virtually not possible for all 100 customer to withdraw premature together.

This especially when promo FD is higher than board rate, and if they launched a promo FD intend to get 1 bil deposit, they do not like to see situation ended with 100 customer x 10 mil, whereby it may resulted customer base is not spread wide enough if no limit imposed.

Fyi, last time, banks did impose Tier 1 & 2 for customer who deposit more than 1 mil, whereby interest rate for customer more than 1 mil is actually lesser than the ordinary one.

cherroy
post Jun 29 2016, 04:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jun 29 2016, 04:09 PM)
Ok got a question, what sort of rules or terms or laws are there about withdrawing our FDs prematurely, more specifically about whether are we entitled to the interest for that particular new period.

Scenario a, withdraw on the tenth day prematurely on a 1-mth tenure.
Scenario b, withdraw on the sixteenth day prematurely on a 1-math tenure.

Do we get Ny? If we do, st what sort of minimum interest percentage are the banks obliged to give, or is it a big fat zero egg?
Generally (can be varied), from what I knew,
Deposit less than 3 months, premature withdrawal, you get zero interest, even just a day to mature.
Deposit more than 3 month, you get half of the board rate, calculated on daily basis on number of days completed.

cherroy
post Jul 3 2016, 04:33 PM

25,802 posts

Please do not off topic too much, but focus on FD issue only.

We have specific Giro, IBFT thread, can post at there regarding about it.

Ty.

cherroy
post Jul 3 2016, 04:51 PM

25,802 posts

I don't think there is need to "micro-manage" on FD too much.

If the sum is substantial, a few RM won't bother much for them generally.
If the sum is not substantial, a few cents won't make much a different.

Sometimes for convenience sake, we need to give and take.
Time and conveniences sometimes is more precious than spending too much time and effort just for "micro managing" on something.

If IBFT limit is 50K, and you have 100K, just perform IBFT/Giro in next day if exceeding the daily limit, first 50K deposit today, another 50k tomorrow, or just get a banker cheque or personal cheque, with cost of Rm0.53+0.15, a merely RM0.68 cents solve all the hassle, instead want to get many account that enable one to send IBFT/Giro with 100K.

"Conveniences" may save one even more.
cherroy
post Jul 4 2016, 10:15 AM

25,802 posts

There is no issue of talk about IBG, fund transfer, or even OPR, as all are having some relationship on the FD placement/rate.
Just don't OT too much.

There is needless to feel "discontent or whatever" even if your post being reported, moderating team will always act as fair as possible so that the thread is progressing well, and informative to readers.

To the report person,
There is needless to be too strict on the way of forumer posting, and resort to report every post that just slight off the topic.
A little chit chat, OT (not excessive) will always no harm to the thread, and may be good to build up community relationship among forumers in this thread, which eventually more FD info can be shared here.
We don't wish to chase away forumers just because of too strict on the thread itself, which eventually lesser people willing to share the FD info/issues around.

Thank you for all the cooperation.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jul 4 2016, 10:16 AM
cherroy
post Jul 4 2016, 01:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 4 2016, 12:25 PM)
Deal Hunter, Maybank2U inter bank giro RM30k daily fund transfer limit is based on per login ID.
To IBG /IBFT RM30k each from several linked/tagged accounts respectively within the same day and under the same login ID in an attempt exceed the daily 30k limit wouldn't work. The maximum limit you can IBG under one M2U login ID is RM30k per day. But I'm happy if you can prove me wrong with your method.
HNWI's money is scatted in several banks, they easily have few online banking accounts with different banks. Combining the IBG/IBFT daily limit of several banks then IBG/IFBT from each bank to form a large combined sum to a target bank within a day is the only way to do it at home without OTC.
Experienced with one bank separate IBG and IBFT limit one, so totally combined limit can be transferred become 50K+30K.

cherroy
post Jul 5 2016, 09:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 4 2016, 02:33 PM)
Great info! mind sharing which bank is it?
A foreign bank.

cherroy
post Jul 5 2016, 06:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jul 5 2016, 05:58 PM)
It can only happen if most people withdraw and place with the bank with the top FD rate only. The other banks will then see loss of funds and react to replenish their cash flow. Just imagine what will happen if everybody goes to Affin Bank only.
Unfortunately, many people are kinda tied to their bank due to loans, overdraft facilities, credit card, share investment, insurance and all sorts of funds.
It is not the OPR that matters but the cashflow position and whether the bank has enuf to make enuf profit to survive. rolleyes.gif
It won't.

If every deposit flock to Bank A.
Bank A will have too much cash, which prompt bank A to stop the FD promotion and back to board rate rate already.

While Bank B, C, D who suffer flee of deposit due to Bank A better FD promotion, may go to interbank to borrow from bank A for short term cash needed.
This is how interbank lending works between them to mitigate temporarily lack of cashflow.

It is the total LDR that matter the most.

cherroy
post Jul 13 2016, 04:38 PM

25,802 posts

Tomorrow, we may see revised promo FD rate across.
cherroy
post Jul 13 2016, 05:29 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Jul 13 2016, 04:17 PM)
errr...i think for these promo, they hv such clause, and this is taken from MBB fd promo:

*Should there be an Overnight Policy Rate change, the offer rates may be revised.
The clause is for used to stop the promo FD like today scenario.

If not inserted this clause, people may claim that the offer rate is up until month end or date stipulated in the earlier offer and bank needs to continue to offer old rate if without inserted rate may be revised if OPR change.
cherroy
post Jul 14 2016, 08:20 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 13 2016, 11:02 PM)
Anyone recall what was the average 12m FD promo rate when the OPR was 3%?
The promo FD rate was around 3.7% to 3.8%, if not mistaken.

Actually, before last year second half, when OPR was at 3.25%, the best promo FD was actually around 4% only.
It was LDR shrink to low point at second half of 2015, that prompt banks to offer promo rate until 4.2~4.5% last year end up to recently.

I am surprised BNM makes early move on OPR cut, as I was looking for SRR reduction instead.
cherroy
post Jul 14 2016, 10:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 14 2016, 09:16 AM)
Nope. But just want to know. To increase my knowledge.
I am asking about eg. those 4+% FD. Are they still valid today? Cause as far as I can see, only affin withdraw their 4.5%. What about other banks? hmm.gif
Public bank also took down its 6+6 months FD offer in their website around 4.2% one.

Banks generally quick to react on FD rate when OPR being reduced time.
Can say immediate/next day when OPR reduction is known.

The slowness may cause bank a lot of extra interest needs to be paid.

But they generally will react much slower in reduction of BLR or BR. whistling.gif vmad.gif
cherroy
post Jul 16 2016, 08:53 PM

25,802 posts

Banks most are "surprise" on the early move of BNM.
Many predicted BNM only move on Sept, that's why plenty of promo FD previously was targeted to end around Aug.

It may take a while before some new promo rate coming out.
Banks still need to run some promo FD, as a cut OPR won't have much direct impact on LDR.

The high LDR is the reason why banks run FD promo in the first place.
Having said that, the LDR situation may improve with some inflow of fund recently.

cherroy
post Jul 20 2016, 10:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 20 2016, 09:13 PM)
Just received today smile.gif

1. Fixed Deposit Deal
8-m @ 3.80%pa
12-m @ 3.90%pa

Before 0.25% OPR cut, 12 month was 4.20%.
A 0.30% cut.

Same with UOB
Before OPR cut 4.25%.
Now 3.95%.

While so far for other banks that has announced BLR/BR cut one, most cut their lending rate around 0.20%.

FD cut 0.3%, lending rate cut 0.2%.... vmad.gif
cherroy
post Aug 3 2016, 08:18 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Aug 2 2016, 02:16 PM)
For those who frequently transfer big sums interbank any issue with banj negara etc?

Must give reason in the remittance forms.

What is safe or not safe reason?
Unless it is transfer to 3rd party name, I see no issue of big sum transfer.

As for FD promotion "merry go round", you are transferring into your own account in another bank only.

0.1163sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:17 PM