Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Plutoman
post Jul 27 2016, 08:30 AM

145 posts

Guys, for the BR 4.38% FD placement, need to open saving account with ATM card?
Plutoman
post Jul 27 2016, 08:41 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 27 2016, 08:33 AM)
U can opt not to open SA. Get the interest only on maturity add to principal amt.  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the info! thumbup.gif

Prefer no SA/ATM, save rm8.. hahaha..
Plutoman
post Jul 27 2016, 05:36 PM

145 posts

Opened my first FD with BR today and received 1 gift pen too. First time receiving gift from FD placement smile.gif

By the way, I saw BR board rate for 12 months FD at 4.1%. Which is surprisingly high compared to other banks. Of course, this one no PIDM lah..
Plutoman
post Jul 27 2016, 07:46 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 27 2016, 06:44 PM)
PIDM is irrelevant as it serve as mental comfort
Yea. But there are some ppl worry about it..haha..

First time at BR, I find their service pretty fast smile.gif
Plutoman
post Jul 27 2016, 07:52 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 27 2016, 08:32 AM)

Fast fast go leh, before the 4.38% goes away ....................... tongue.gif
I am referring to the current GIA-i of 3.75% interest. The previous eff rate 4.5% one, yet to see. Have to see the Aug mth payout, any change.  hmm.gif
I got my july payout yesterday still at 4.5%. Hopefully it remains this way.
Plutoman
post Jul 28 2016, 10:40 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 28 2016, 09:46 PM)
Perhaps u can snap a photo n whatsapp me  tongue.gif
When i placed mine yesterday at BR, I was also given the options of monthly credit or credit during maturity. I chose to receive the interest upon maturity because dont want to open SA.
Plutoman
post Jul 29 2016, 04:52 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 29 2016, 02:21 PM)
In a forumn like this where people are reacting to  a slight drop in FD rate
and scurrying to get that few decimal % extra,
i am surprised you guys ignore the power of compounding effect not to mention loss of opportunity etc
happily leaving the interest to maturity.........

Banks would be most happy to have more of you.

Say the annual interest is RM200k, monthly is RM16+k and you leave that to the banks to enjoy
for 6 - 12 months......Now imagine banks have millions of that............sikit sikit can add up to alot.
If I am getting RM200k annual interest, i will definitely opt for monthly interest credit. Unfortunately I dont have RM4.5mil to put at BR. Haha..

Also no BR branch that is convenient for me. The nearest branch that I put I need to drive over plus parking over there is a problem too. Seldom deal with BR, so I see no point of having SA with them too.

Guess its depend on individual needs lah smile.gif
Plutoman
post Jul 29 2016, 04:58 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(killallmods @ Jul 29 2016, 04:37 PM)
I'm fully aware that current rate is 3.75. if i select 12 months does this mean i have locked in the current rate? or is there possibility for the rates to reduce and affect me personally?
You will not be able to lock in the 3.75% rate with the GIA FD. If OPR revised, the rate will be affected because the interest is calculated on daily basis and you can withdrawl let say 3 months after your 12 month GIA FD placement and Maybank still pay you full interest for the 3 months.

For my case, the unchanged 4.5% interest I am getting is from the GIA promo that I put last time. So far they still honor the step up rate as per promo.
Plutoman
post Jul 29 2016, 10:04 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2016, 05:04 PM)
How about eGIA-i?  Eg put for 12months,  first 3 months at 3.75%. If 4th month onwards drop, so how? 4-12 months at lower rate?
Yeap.. at least from my calculation. Parked some over there early july and uplifted end of july.
Plutoman
post Aug 8 2016, 06:11 PM

145 posts

Plutoman
post Aug 9 2016, 10:09 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Aug 8 2016, 06:45 PM)
To RHB : 3.9% not so solid la.....haha
Yea, RHB FD has not been competitive recently. Always lower than other banks. All my FD with them "run away" already. hahaha..

0.0888sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:39 PM