Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

LNYC
post Jun 6 2016, 02:15 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 3 2016, 04:40 PM)
Guys,

I found a small 'workaround' in Maybank online GIA account if you want the interest to credit to principal instead of credit to account.

Once you have selected all the details like amount, term, credit to account, etc... click next.

Then DO NOT click submit but click back.
The option Credit to Principal will be an option in the dropdown.
Wow... Impressive..

This back door found.. Hope no maybank staff here... Kekeke
LNYC
post Jun 6 2016, 02:21 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 6 2016, 01:29 AM)
I called EPF in Feb, was told effective this year salaried workers are not allowed to contribute separately. The 60k is meant for self employed.
I checked with epf around Apr, salaried workers need to fill up a form and then only can opt for more contribution for epf. They can't contribute sendiri must through salary deduction.

😨😨 now I hope I x get wrong infor
LNYC
post Jun 7 2016, 09:34 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jun 7 2016, 03:08 AM)
Usually normal FD are supposed to pay the interest at the end of tenor (period in months or years) on maturity. However some banks have monthly interest payments as an option which you must choose during placement of the FD principal (your capital), subject to certain conditions.
For example, Bank Rakyat requires at least 5k, tenor of 6 months or longer, and an account to credit the interest automatically each month.
Ambank also offers monthly interest for senior depositors. Other banks may offer monthly interest but usually specific to a particular promotion such as HongLeong current offer for seniors (qualifying age is not standard for all banks).

Interest rate may be higher for senior or priority/privilege/private higher worth accounts but need to ask to get it if you qualify.
Usually the banks allow a senior to have a joint account with a younger person/s.

To avoid any confusion, place your FD not later than the 28th of the month, then the interest will always creditted on the same day each month.
Some banks calculate based on  29/365 when a  leap month occurs, and 28/365, 30/365 or 31/365 for other months..
Some other banks eg Maybank, will take into consideration leap month and use 366 as divisor.
Alliance Bank however, will divide the total interest due by number of months (promo over).
All the banks will make adjustments to the interest paid due to rounding error for each month.
To avoid confusion, you may place a multiple of RM 365 such as RM 3,650, RM 5,110, RM 7,300, RM 10,950, RM 36,500.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
very detail write out.
LNYC
post Jul 11 2016, 09:28 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(stevotan @ Jul 9 2016, 11:18 AM)
sorry guys newbie here,
just to share what I been advise from a PRO FD investor.

was told if you have large amount of excessive money and not good on share market. The ways to make some additional CASH from bank is through FD.

This PRO had about few millions in FD. He share with me how he make the money grow in FD. Earlier was heavy lost on unreliable share market and he is not good on it. So he workout a better and guarantee return investment.

the formula what he told me as below:

presume the FB interest is 1 month 3.25% and compare 3 month 3.30%.

month amount interest rate        total
1        10,000.00  3.25% 27.08  10,027.08
2        10,027.08  3.25% 27.16  10,054.24
3        10,054.24  3.25% 27.23  10,081.47

month amount interest rate        total
3        10,000.00  3.30% 27.50  10,027.50
Most of the banker will approach you by offer you a higher interest for longer period such as 3 months onward.
But when you work out as formula above, actually if you put in 1 month FD you could earn better. (if you put the interest add in, auto renew).
And additional benefit for short term is you could withdraw any time when u require without loosing half of the interest profit. Let say tight up 6months or 12 months, and emergency need CASH.

This PRO although he is CASH cow, he still prefer split his MONEY is several FD. (he told me about 100 over piece FD document).
If any bank have special promotion you can withdrawn ASAP and reinvest even within same company BANK.
Just my humble sharing, if any above is inaccurate please ignore.
apologies for in convenient cause.
thanks for your sharing....
i didnt calc your formula, just wanna thank you for the hard work you posted
LNYC
post Jul 14 2016, 12:07 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jul 14 2016, 12:01 PM)
Just walked in to Public Bank to check ...... 12-months FD rate @ 3.15% :-(
Omg😵😵😵 3.15???...that is super low
LNYC
post Jul 14 2016, 12:54 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jul 14 2016, 12:25 PM)
Should I just put into 1-month FD board-rate for the time being until they have new promotional rates?
I have another FD maturing next week ... quite substantial amount. What should I do? Suggestion please. TQ.
Mayb pounds or euro since it is low??
Rm may deficit too and fd rate is so low?
Just a suggestion.. Think first ya.. I m newbie oso..

LNYC
post Jul 15 2016, 01:38 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Jul 15 2016, 10:59 AM)
Below replied from Affin, they still offer me below rate valid till 24/7/2016. And i've date their branch manager to secure info.

[color=blue]Raya Merdeka Bonanza 2016 Campaign

This campaign is from 1 June 2016 until 30 September 2016 both dates inclusive.

The prizes to be given away under this campaign are a total of eighty-eight (88). Each customer stands a chance to win cash prize of RM88 each. The cash prizes will be credited to the customer’s account within 2 months after the closing date of the promotion.

This campaign provides customers with attractive fixed deposit interest rates when customers deposit minimum RM10,000 or 80% of the total deposits (fresh fund) in Fixed Desposit (FD) and earmark minimum RM2,500 or remaining 20% of the total deposits in CASA (Current Account/Savings Account).

Eligibility

To participate in this campaign, customer must deposit into Fixed Deposit and Current/Savings account the minimum amount stipulated.
1.        This campaign is open to all new and existing AFFINBANK individual customers (“Eligible Participant”).
2.        Eligible customers who deposit the stipulated amount in Fixed Deposit (80% of the total deposits) and earmark in CASA (the remaining 20% of total deposits) will be able to enjoy promotional Fixed Deposit rates as follow:

FD Tenure
Promotional Rate
Minimum FD Placement (80%)
Minimum deposit amount in CASA (20%)
CASA Earmark Tenure
6 months
4.18%p.a.
RM 10,000
RM 2,500
6 months
9 months
4.28% p.a.
9 months
13 months
4.38% p.a.
13 months
Thank you for the infor...this is the promo i once "ceh"..looks like it is the last chance now.
LNYC
post Jul 15 2016, 10:44 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 15 2016, 01:44 PM)
Better rates exist at KFH, BR
ya... but i choose which ever more convenient
LNYC
post Jul 28 2016, 02:44 PM

520 posts

HIHI, wanna ask for maybank fd, do i need to go bck to the branch where i put the fd or i can just withdraw at any other branch? thx
LNYC
post Jul 28 2016, 11:07 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 28 2016, 05:19 PM)
If I recall correctly, have to go back to the branch where you put the FD.
Sometimes because they know you already ma. laugh.gif
Doesn't matter. GIA can be placed online and can withdraw anytime. For that rate, it's a pretty good deal already.

You can choose to go with conventional FD if you are worried about PIDM coverage. There's a maximum limit that PIDM covers anyway.
thx for the reply~~ohno...very troublesome if in that case cry.gif cry.gif
LNYC
post Jul 29 2016, 01:34 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jul 29 2016, 11:41 AM)
just came back from br today. asked the staff about this. she said we can withdraw the fd at any branch if the amount is not more than 50k. she also mentioned that other branches will take longer to process since they dont have your signature specimen.

sounds very outdated. in other countries, signature specimen is stored in the computer system.

so i believe the best answer to whether you can withdraw at other branches is: maybe smile.gif
LOL thx for the follow up.
I have not try maybank before. But I know hong leong cannot... Some bank actually allow us to withdraw away from the original branch.
LNYC
post Aug 3 2016, 04:28 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Aug 3 2016, 04:23 PM)
ya i think its the best rate with pidm for now..
but for new to bank customer the account opening is really slow.. bangwall.gif
i guess they are not used to have so many customers influx at once...

this is glory time for bangkok bank now~~
LNYC
post Aug 4 2016, 11:27 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Aug 3 2016, 04:43 PM)
i think it's not about coping with high number of new clients..when i was there opening new account I am the only customer in entire banking hall  sweat.gif

so i guess it's more about their internal process..
I do noticed some banks procedure are troublesome..or should say is their system. like hong leong and maybank forever slow in everything.

Public bank need customer to fill up forms at customer servce first; but at least they are fast.

edited: ah~i read through the comments and only i understand. Bangkok bank is the best la~took days to open account is unbeatable. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by LNYC: Aug 4 2016, 11:32 AM
LNYC
post Aug 4 2016, 01:17 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Aug 4 2016, 01:00 PM)
Hong Leong Penang very fast leh! FD in 5 minutes (if noone in the FD queue), opened that islamic account in 10-15 minutes.
so good~i been tp 2 HLB in KV, both also quite bravo~
The snail award goes to one that i went in 2.30pm, came out about 5pm something.
LNYC
post Aug 4 2016, 03:37 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Aug 4 2016, 01:23 PM)
sounded like Maybank to me lol
maybank blush.gif already no hope...6 counters, 3 people occupied, 2 busy another one dont know do wat~, 2 lagi main jari
LNYC
post Aug 4 2016, 10:30 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Aug 4 2016, 06:10 PM)
total 8 people leh
Sorry is 6 people only~~
the bank has up to 6 counters, but only 4 were occupied. among the 4, 2 worked hard only..one dont know do wat...another one, came in at 4.30pm.

4 sit at counter, 2 sit behind.
LNYC
post Aug 4 2016, 11:03 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 4 2016, 06:25 PM)
just to keep anyone interested informed...
hlb... 4% pa for 12 months.

cimb 4% 6m, 3.9% 12m.
Hi~ what is the cimb 6m 4% about ya?

LNYC
post Aug 10 2016, 08:44 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(HarpArtist @ Aug 9 2016, 11:32 PM)
fd is trending so badly. makes more sense to prepay housing loans nowadays.
Yalo... Really need to replan strategy
LNYC
post Aug 10 2016, 01:44 PM

520 posts

please dont post the "once upon a time" good rate~cause my heart is broken and deep sad seeing the rate...
LNYC
post Aug 10 2016, 08:51 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Aug 10 2016, 08:44 PM)
got to live with gud and bad news. sing 'how to mend a broken heart'. cool2.gif
bye.gif bye.gif bye.gif

coincidentally i have 3 fd maturing after the opr free fall cry.gif cry.gif