Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Hansel
post Jun 21 2016, 08:27 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 20 2016, 11:15 AM)
Best person to answer your question would be Hansel.
"QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jun 20 2016, 11:12 AM)

OK thanks Sifu Cherroy....
Indeed it's for diversification.....had already some on promo FD rates. Looking at the way RM is dropping....planning to hedge some in foreign currency maybe for the next 10 yrs.....not planning to use the money...

based on your advice, 10 yrs considered short-, mid- or long- term?

thanks"

Tq bro Ramjade,...

Kinwawa... it depends on the timeframe you can afford to leve your funds there before you need to take it out for usage. The longer the timespan you have, the higher your chances to gain from your foreign currency investment. YOu can change back from the foreign currency into the RM if you wished to use the funds when the RM has weakened adequately against that foreign currency that you are holding.

The following graph will demonstrate how long it took for the SGD to pull ahead vs the MYR, and finally reached the level of the SGDMYR today :-

http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=SGDMYR%...ing":true}

From this graph, you can estimate how long you need to leave the MYR 'overseas',... but it also depends on your entry level and the timing of your entry,...

Let us know,...

0.0906sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:39 PM