Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

VinceCheong
post Jun 26 2016, 11:09 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jun 26 2016, 10:32 PM)
The following text is from Hong Leong Mach FD:
Why does Hong Leong want to regain the excess interest? Correct me if I am mistaken, but isn't that the more fund I place in FD, the more profit Hong Leong will gain by lending the FD amount to other bank customers? The interest rate I gain is same percentage, regardless of the placement amount.
Well probably they've excess funds and have no clue what to do with it! Lol.... If they're not benefiting you, it's time to cash and carry to another FD tongue.gif hehehe

Deal Hunter
post Jun 27 2016, 01:45 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Jun 26 2016, 11:09 PM)
Well probably they've excess funds and have no clue what to do with it! Lol.... If they're not benefiting you, it's time to cash and carry to another FD tongue.gif hehehe
Probably still have enough collected from their previous 4.5% FD promotion. So no need to offer anything high. Just enough to try to keep those blindly loyal customers who do not want to be bothered to shift to another bank.

If you have 5 million, surely you would not even look at HL now unless you are sleeping on the job or want to help the bank? Maybe just some reverse psychology for marketing their FD to attract as tho very hot bargain and need to limit the good stuff per customer.

If no promo, the retail client on maturity or walk-in will just go to any other bank with promo. So always need to have some promo, never mind not a high rate. There are always first timers and folks who don't bargain hunt, or waste time, or feel the difference is too low to even cover their transport and cheque costs.

The slow OTC transfer does not help matters, nor the limits on IBFT and IBG transfers thru ATM or internet. Even cash top-up thru MEPS ATM to make the minimum is constriicted by the rules on such cash withdrawals. Not everybody is happy with the idea of carrying big sums of money around from bank to bank.

From experience, I don't think bank staff are really that conversant with all the trip-ups in the system. Maybe the top people should get off their Beemers and take the bus (get off their arses and really look how screwed things are). Maybe not really want to make shifting around too easy?
LostAndFound
post Jun 27 2016, 09:45 AM

6,257 posts

I think any bank also will reduce/cut-off your interest at high worth. I know OCBC and PBB after 1 million or so the remainder of the amount earns savings account interest (basically nothing).
cherroy
post Jun 27 2016, 10:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jun 26 2016, 09:32 PM)
The following text is from Hong Leong Mach FD:
Why does Hong Leong want to regain the excess interest? Correct me if I am mistaken, but isn't that the more fund I place in FD, the more profit Hong Leong will gain by lending the FD amount to other bank customers? The interest rate I gain is same percentage, regardless of the placement amount.
Banks prefer 100 customers with Rm50K, instead of 1 customer with RM5 mil.

As when the 1 customer suddenly (premature) wish to withdraw Rm5 mil, it may cause hassle for bank to borrow 5 mil from interbank to pay for the customer.
Whilst there is virtually not possible for all 100 customer to withdraw premature together.

This especially when promo FD is higher than board rate, and if they launched a promo FD intend to get 1 bil deposit, they do not like to see situation ended with 100 customer x 10 mil, whereby it may resulted customer base is not spread wide enough if no limit imposed.

Fyi, last time, banks did impose Tier 1 & 2 for customer who deposit more than 1 mil, whereby interest rate for customer more than 1 mil is actually lesser than the ordinary one.

bbgoat
post Jun 27 2016, 11:43 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 27 2016, 10:06 AM)
Banks prefer 100 customers with Rm50K, instead of 1 customer with RM5 mil.

As when the 1 customer suddenly (premature) wish to withdraw Rm5 mil, it may cause hassle for bank to borrow 5 mil from interbank to pay for the customer.
Whilst there is virtually not possible for all 100 customer to withdraw premature together.

This especially when promo FD is higher than board rate, and if they launched a promo FD intend to get 1 bil deposit, they do not like to see situation ended with 100 customer x 10 mil, whereby it may resulted customer base is not spread wide enough if no limit imposed.

Fyi, last time, banks did impose Tier 1 & 2 for customer who deposit more than 1 mil, whereby interest rate for customer more than 1 mil is actually lesser than the ordinary one.
Good point on the customer base spread for FD in banks. notworthy.gif

Yes, I remember last time bank did impose the >1 mil deposit then lower interest rate. But now this may not have been implemented by all banks.
kinwawa
post Jun 27 2016, 11:52 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 27 2016, 11:43 AM)
Good point on the customer base spread for FD in banks.  notworthy.gif

Yes, I remember last time bank did impose the >1 mil deposit then lower interest rate. But now this may not have been implemented by all banks.
even for kiddies account....interest rate (FD-like) reduced upon reaching 50k onwards
bbgoat
post Jun 27 2016, 02:38 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 27 2016, 09:45 AM)
I think any bank also will reduce/cut-off your interest at high worth. I know OCBC and PBB after 1 million or so the remainder of the amount earns savings account interest (basically nothing).
I know banks like UOB, SCB, BR, HL do not have the restriction. PBB wise I thought they allow even higher amt for FD promo like 10 million max !

https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc-pbfdextra-01.aspx

See 3.1:

Minimum (RM) Maximum (RM)
Individuals 20,000 10.0 Million
Non-individuals 50,000 20.0 Million
nexona88
post Jun 27 2016, 06:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

Maybank Research sees a strong likelihood of a cut in the domestic OPR or statutory reserve requirement (SRR) by Bank Negara as early as July.

Maybank Research said this comes amid the new uncertainties brought on by Brexit and headwinds from its knock-on effect, with global financial markets’ volatility expected to heighten.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ead-to-opr-cut/

nexona88
post Jun 27 2016, 06:51 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 27 2016, 06:49 PM)
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
so faster go grab best rate u can get for long term FD before OPR cut dry.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 27 2016, 07:34 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 27 2016, 06:37 PM)
Maybank Research sees a strong likelihood of a cut in the domestic OPR or statutory reserve requirement (SRR) by Bank Negara as early as July.

Maybank Research said this comes amid the new uncertainties brought on by Brexit and headwinds from its knock-on effect, with global financial markets’ volatility expected to heighten.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ead-to-opr-cut/
The Brexit make the OPR drop even becomes more certain. sad.gif

Big Bones, final nail in the coffin for high FD rates this year, no more 5%, even 4.6% also gone ? brows.gif
nexona88
post Jun 27 2016, 08:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 27 2016, 07:34 PM)
The Brexit make the OPR drop even becomes more certain.  sad.gif

Big Bones, final nail in the coffin for high FD rates this year, no more 5%, even 4.6% also gone ?  brows.gif
So faster go grab affin 4.5% FD brows.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 27 2016, 08:16 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 27 2016, 08:09 PM)
So faster go grab affin 4.5% FD brows.gif
Already have 2 placement in Affin 4.5%. Have plan next week for that ! Hope still there by then ! biggrin.gif
nexona88
post Jun 27 2016, 08:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 27 2016, 08:16 PM)
Already have 2 placement in Affin 4.5%. Have plan next week for that ! Hope still there by then !  biggrin.gif
If people read / following the advice.. Sure will achieved quotas blush.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 27 2016, 08:22 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 27 2016, 08:21 PM)
If people read / following the advice.. Sure will achieved quotas blush.gif
What to do, have to share share the good news, then all depends on whoever grabs it before it goes ! tongue.gif
nexona88
post Jun 27 2016, 09:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 27 2016, 08:22 PM)
What to do, have to share share the good news, then all depends on whoever grabs it before it goes !  tongue.gif
Sharing is caring lor blush.gif we happy for them...
kart
post Jun 27 2016, 09:22 PM

1,597 posts

cherroy
Thanks for your insightful information. rclxms.gif
SUSendau02
post Jun 28 2016, 01:16 PM

3,180 posts

Just did my 4.5% in affin bkit tinggi branch.
cybpsych
post Jun 28 2016, 01:56 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(matow @ May 26 2016, 04:53 PM)
No such luck as well in Affin Bukit Tinggi Klang when I went there today. The staff don't have an inkling about it.
Funny how the 4.5% only applies to certain branches only  hmm.gif

Anyway, took my money to Kuwait Finance for the 4.25% FD with upfront interest. The staff says the upfront interest will be deposited into the savings tomorrow.
l think I can scrounge up enough cash to add to the upfront interest and make another FD deposit.
QUOTE(endau02 @ Jun 28 2016, 01:16 PM)
Just did my 4.5% in affin bkit tinggi branch.
matow you might want to try again?
wjchay
post Jun 28 2016, 03:51 PM

645 posts

Hi guys, other than Bkt Tinggi & Kinrara, which other Affin branch is offering 4.5%?

nexona88
post Jun 28 2016, 04:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

Affin Bank 4.5% FD (special)

available branch (as said by fellow forummers)

Affin Bangsar, Cheras, Subang Jaya, Shaftbury Cyberjaya, PJ New Town

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jun 28 2016, 10:03 PM

129 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:53 PM