U-Mobile Thread V7, www.u.com.my

cfa28
post Oct 22 2016, 11:47 PM

4,829 posts

Can I ask how is U Mobile coverage in Melaka.

Was there few months back for holiday and I could not get any 4G signal and even 3G was very weak and my Waze kept on searching for network.

U Mobile served me well in KV but how is the coverage outside of KV

KV = Klang Valley
cfa28
post Dec 4 2016, 04:16 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(tky1993 @ Dec 4 2016, 03:57 PM)
Really frustrated with umobile. Unclear with their own product just simply spit out something they donno. Worst Cs of all telcos!! I am now charged for call usage under share20 plan as opposed to their so called unlimited calls.
Though the unlimited calls was only if you subscribe to the RM50 a month supplement plan and not RM20.

For rm20 supp plan to get unlimited calls is really too good to true.
cfa28
post Dec 5 2016, 05:29 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(ChrisChan98 @ Dec 5 2016, 01:27 PM)
Through my experience, coverage in cities are good but when you get to the outskirts, it's almost impossible to get line.
You can still get 2G or 3G for calls and basic Internet like WhatsApp.

Was in Melaka, Internet coverage was not good, waze kept searching for the network.

But in KL it's quite good but outskirts like say Semenyih, only maxis has 4G according to a friend who just moved in.

He tried Celcom, Digi, U Mobile and Maxis.

Only maxis had 4G
cfa28
post Dec 5 2016, 10:43 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ Dec 5 2016, 07:12 PM)
Not sure is this correct place to post this.

Anyway, need some feedback from user who are using U mobile currently. How was the network coverage.

Give how much out of 10? Is it always on LTE? Is the line good during call?

Also any user from Sabah any feedback?

Thank You
LTE on Klang Valley is quite good, comparable to the Top 3 Telco.

Call quality is BETTER compared to my Digi.

Whenever the other party cannot hear me when I am on Digi, I use my UM and volla, the line is crystal clear. Happens on many occasions.

But once outside of KLANG VALLEY, you may not get LTE, depend on maxis 2g and 3g.

Signal is very BAD on PLUS HIGHWAY
cfa28
post Dec 6 2016, 11:24 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 6 2016, 11:47 AM)
I just test my friend U Mobile 4G speed in Mate 9. Her quota still available. The speed is unbelievable!!! OMG! What 4G is that! 0.44Mbps in U Mobile 4G network!

Whereas I get 100+Mbps using Maxis.

What areas is this.

I was getting about 35 mps this evening, same speed as my Hotlink fast somewhere near zouk.

In face, feel that UM has increased their speed recently.

Previously only could get 15 to 20 mps but last week and this, speed has been past 30 mps.
cfa28
post Dec 7 2016, 07:53 AM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 6 2016, 11:48 PM)
The speed test was test at Senai, Johor.

Senai no 4G issue for Maxis, DiGi & Celcom except U Mobile now, last time it was better than what you seen now.

From all the post I read here, you the only mentioned speed for U Mobile is increase, no one is getting increase but very bad speed. Maybe U Mobile only good in a very limited area then.
Honesty, I also found it strange that the speed test for my UM actually increased substantially. At my office, the speed was always around 15 to 20 most but this week, the speed exceed 30 mps.

But honestly, I did not feel that the browsing speed increasing substantially.

But I agree that UM coverage outside of major city centre is not good. Had no 4G coverage on the PLUS Highway and in Melaka.

The first image is FROM UM, exceeded 40 mps, second image from. Maxis, at same location and time.

This post has been edited by cfa28: Dec 7 2016, 09:09 AM

cfa28
post Dec 7 2016, 01:11 PM

4,829 posts

My office is near to Prince Court medical centre.

Yes, perhaps UM adds some tower nearby since its quite near to Berjaya Times Square which is their main office
cfa28
post Dec 7 2016, 01:25 PM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:23 PM)
May I ask, isn't it danger to have recycle number? Look at my example for explanations:

I bought a sim card with a number 012 345 6789. Then, I use the number to receive TnC code from online accounts like banking, social networks, email etc. Then, I forgot to topup because of some reasons(oversea etc). The number would be recycled, rite? If I didn't update my details maybe because I forgot or something, the new owner with the number 012 345 6789 can access my accounts, rite?
I was also previously receiving TS for a number that I bought for my Filipino Maid.

It was tune prepaid. Was wondering how the actual owner can still use online banking if the code came to my HP
cfa28
post Dec 12 2016, 10:54 AM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ Dec 12 2016, 08:17 AM)
it depend, if u want more call and lazy to top up every month u can go for u28.

u28 = 3GB+3GB  50mins call 300sms
umi30 with power prepaid = 2.5GB+2.5GB+1GB 30mins call
The U28 also offers 3gb video streaming from iflix, YouTube, etc for free.

Most value for money in the sub rm30 category
cfa28
post Dec 19 2016, 08:11 AM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Dec 18 2016, 11:14 PM)
Sigh, dang it! Thought having UMI would suffice, so have been holding on to buying credits just enough to pay for the UMI thingy only. hahaha.

By the way, prepaid would kena 6% GST (with no rebate) from Jan'17 onwards, right? Any further extensions to this? Hope Govt can do the Ahmad Maslan stint one more time biggrin.gif
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016...o-be-maintained

Already announced extension for 1 more year.

He coming soon.
cfa28
post Dec 19 2016, 08:37 AM

4,829 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016...ined-next-year/

0.0907sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:36 PM