U-Mobile Thread V7, www.u.com.my

andrekua2
post Dec 6 2016, 10:25 PM

13,475 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ Dec 6 2016, 05:07 PM)
i think i will cancer if use their network to play game... 800ms ping..
Yes, UM totally cannot game even though internet pages load just fine. Celcom and Maxis best when it comes to ping.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 6 2016, 10:26 PM
cfa28
post Dec 6 2016, 11:24 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 6 2016, 11:47 AM)
I just test my friend U Mobile 4G speed in Mate 9. Her quota still available. The speed is unbelievable!!! OMG! What 4G is that! 0.44Mbps in U Mobile 4G network!

Whereas I get 100+Mbps using Maxis.

What areas is this.

I was getting about 35 mps this evening, same speed as my Hotlink fast somewhere near zouk.

In face, feel that UM has increased their speed recently.

Previously only could get 15 to 20 mps but last week and this, speed has been past 30 mps.
Andrewtst
post Dec 6 2016, 11:48 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 6 2016, 11:24 PM)
What areas is this.

I was getting about 35 mps this evening,  same speed as my Hotlink fast somewhere near zouk.

In face,  feel that UM has increased their speed recently.

Previously only could get 15 to 20 mps but last week and this,  speed has been past 30 mps.
The speed test was test at Senai, Johor.

Senai no 4G issue for Maxis, DiGi & Celcom except U Mobile now, last time it was better than what you seen now.

From all the post I read here, you the only mentioned speed for U Mobile is increase, no one is getting increase but very bad speed. Maybe U Mobile only good in a very limited area then.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Dec 6 2016, 11:59 PM
kroul2
post Dec 7 2016, 01:36 AM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

QUOTE(N_Silver @ Dec 6 2016, 10:04 PM)
Can prepaid use to buy apps from playstore?
At this moment, cannot. Stay tuned
cfa28
post Dec 7 2016, 07:53 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 6 2016, 11:48 PM)
The speed test was test at Senai, Johor.

Senai no 4G issue for Maxis, DiGi & Celcom except U Mobile now, last time it was better than what you seen now.

From all the post I read here, you the only mentioned speed for U Mobile is increase, no one is getting increase but very bad speed. Maybe U Mobile only good in a very limited area then.
Honesty, I also found it strange that the speed test for my UM actually increased substantially. At my office, the speed was always around 15 to 20 most but this week, the speed exceed 30 mps.

But honestly, I did not feel that the browsing speed increasing substantially.

But I agree that UM coverage outside of major city centre is not good. Had no 4G coverage on the PLUS Highway and in Melaka.

The first image is FROM UM, exceeded 40 mps, second image from. Maxis, at same location and time.

This post has been edited by cfa28: Dec 7 2016, 09:09 AM

stephantsen
post Dec 7 2016, 10:44 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:53 AM)
Honesty,  I also found it strange that the speed test for my UM actually increased substantially.  At my office,  the speed was always around 15 to 20 most but this week,  the speed exceed 30 mps.

But honestly,  I did not feel that the browsing speed increasing substantially.

But I agree that UM coverage outside of major city centre is not good.  Had no 4G coverage on the PLUS Highway and in Melaka.

The first image is FROM UM,  exceeded 40 mps,  second image from. Maxis,  at same location and time.

This post has been edited by stephantsen: Dec 7 2016, 10:51 AM
prosibu
post Dec 7 2016, 10:48 AM

2,429 posts

Honesty,  I also found it strange that the speed test for my UM actually increased substantially.  At my office,  the speed was always around 15 to 20 most but this week,  the speed exceed 30 mps.

But I agree that UM coverage outside of major city centre is not good.  Had no 4G coverage on the PLUS Highway and in Melaka.

The first image is FROM UM,  exceeded 40 mps,  second image from. Maxis,  at same location and time.
the only suspect is they add a new site beside ur office.
Mind to share whr is ur office?
blink.gif
wil-i-am
post Dec 7 2016, 10:59 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:39 PM)
Shitty UM... mom just took U38 and network outage still continue. UM couldn't figure what is wrong with it's network in jinjang. 3rd day already and could continue. Gonna launch a mcmc complain if not fixed tomorrow.
Dun forget to update ya
nexona88
post Dec 7 2016, 11:24 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Well I suspect your area has been upgraded or something..
Added more tower or so..
That's why your speed higher than previously..
cfa28
post Dec 7 2016, 01:11 PM

4,830 posts

My office is near to Prince Court medical centre.

Yes, perhaps UM adds some tower nearby since its quite near to Berjaya Times Square which is their main office
kroul2
post Dec 7 2016, 01:23 PM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

May I ask, isn't it danger to have recycle number? Look at my example for explanations:

I bought a sim card with a number 012 345 6789. Then, I use the number to receive TnC code from online accounts like banking, social networks, email etc. Then, I forgot to topup because of some reasons(oversea etc). The number would be recycled, rite? If I didn't update my details maybe because I forgot or something, the new owner with the number 012 345 6789 can access my accounts, rite?

We would receive spam messages and gets charged just because it's a recycled number

This post has been edited by kroul2: Dec 7 2016, 01:28 PM
cfa28
post Dec 7 2016, 01:25 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:23 PM)
May I ask, isn't it danger to have recycle number? Look at my example for explanations:

I bought a sim card with a number 012 345 6789. Then, I use the number to receive TnC code from online accounts like banking, social networks, email etc. Then, I forgot to topup because of some reasons(oversea etc). The number would be recycled, rite? If I didn't update my details maybe because I forgot or something, the new owner with the number 012 345 6789 can access my accounts, rite?
I was also previously receiving TS for a number that I bought for my Filipino Maid.

It was tune prepaid. Was wondering how the actual owner can still use online banking if the code came to my HP
nexona88
post Dec 7 2016, 01:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:23 PM)

We would receive spam messages and gets charged just because it's a recycled number
Yes. I got hear such case before..
Better change all info..
bjohnxbjohn
post Dec 7 2016, 01:55 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 02:23 PM)

Provided the new owner knows your bank login info
ciwi1166
post Dec 7 2016, 01:57 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

numbers getting scarce...

recycling is normal practice by telcos..
kroul2
post Dec 7 2016, 02:01 PM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

QUOTE(bjohnxbjohn @ Dec 7 2016, 01:55 PM)
Provided the new owner knows your bank login info
When a person wants to register whatsapp, wechat, etc and use that number, they can not register because it has been used. This thing has given clues regarding access related to the number.
jeremyk
post Dec 7 2016, 06:55 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 02:01 PM)
When a person wants to register whatsapp, wechat, etc and use that number, they can not register because it has been used. This thing has given clues regarding access related to the number.
That's true, but u only need to click forgot pin/password and a new pin will be sent over to access the account. So, it is always gd to change to userid for what's app/ wechat.

dgboy
post Dec 7 2016, 07:30 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 02:01 PM)
Till now it has not been a problem to re-register a used number for WhatsApp, so long as you can receive the sms passcode.

New is 2FA, which I setup for mine. Yesterday I happen to reinstall my WhatsApp and now I need the sms passcode and my personal passcode. So I dunno what would happen if I let my number lapse and someone else gets the recycled number and wants to use WhatsApp. It seems they would be prompted to enter my personal passcode.
kroul2
post Dec 7 2016, 07:32 PM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Dec 7 2016, 07:30 PM)
Till now it has not been a problem to re-register a used number for WhatsApp, so long as you can receive the sms passcode.

New is 2FA, which I setup for mine. Yesterday I happen to reinstall my WhatsApp and now I need the sms passcode and my personal passcode. So I dunno what would happen if I let my number lapse and someone else gets the recycled number and wants to use WhatsApp. It seems they would be prompted to enter my personal passcode.
Extra privacy and security for us, but the new owner must say bye bye to Whatsapp biggrin.gif
dgboy
post Dec 7 2016, 07:38 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(kroul2 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:32 PM)
Extra privacy and security for us, but the new owner must say bye bye to Whatsapp  biggrin.gif
WhatsApp have good FAQ, will look into how they handle this one day

177 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:18 PM