Asus ASUS Zenfone 3/3 Deluxe/3 Ultra ~ Discussion ~, The hype of 6GB RAM is here

abubin
post Oct 6 2016, 04:57 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Oct 5 2016, 02:37 PM)
Hi guy, got somebody use before Asus Zenfone 3 (ZE552KL) model?
Can share the battery usage detail and also other conditions (such as special features and performances)?

Planning to get for this model, but not sure good or not.
it last 2 days for my wife. She is typical low usage user. Only use for facebook and whatapp and checking emails. Something watch a bit of videos.
abubin
post Oct 10 2016, 12:06 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Oct 8 2016, 02:11 PM)
Ya, I know. If want to put Sim card on slot 2, need to sacrifice the memory card.

But want to know is it the sim slot 1 is micro sim or nano SIM? I want to put the DG simcard in sim slot 1 if the device sim slot suuport microSIM, while my maxis put in sim slot 2 which this device support nanoSIM.

Yes, I hv this exactly maxis simcard all in one.. But the only first telco in Malaysia implement this tri-cut.

Hope other telco can implement it as soon as possible..
the phone have 64gb storage. Still not enough meh? Unless you take lots and lots of videos, it should be enough without the need to sdcard. Plus, when you us sdcard on your phone, it will generally slow down your phone because it need to constantly scan the card.

abubin
post Oct 11 2016, 11:31 AM

10,429 posts

by default you can backup to google drive. Standard is now 15gb for google free accounts.
abubin
post Oct 14 2016, 11:15 AM

10,429 posts

ANNNNNND

why would you want to save so many SENSITIVE data in your phone until 64GB also not enough? A phone is one of the least secure device as it is prone to fail due to water or drop or stolen and so on. Just leave the documents online and get a google business plan. If fortune 500 companies in US can trust their data with google and you can't then it means your company is bigger than fortune 500 companies!! Or maybe you can setup your own private cloud. Quite easy using owncloud and so on.
abubin
post Oct 24 2016, 12:20 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Oct 21 2016, 11:06 AM)
My son is using ASUS Zenfone 2, and its a good phone.
Fast and reliable.

ASUS is a good choice for mobile phone.
for me, I think zenfone 2 is a failed phone cause of the intel SoC. For a 1 year old phone, it is laggy and it's camera also is bad.

I think Asus learned from that mistake hence they improved a lot based on past mistakes. They improved the SoC, camera and design. All of which were the top issues with Zenfone 2.
abubin
post Oct 27 2016, 10:55 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Oct 27 2016, 09:12 AM)
this is why smartphone nowadays to me does not differ much one with the other. for example, with the auto-start manager thing - you can get apps for it if you don't already have it. the apps will have different features, sure, but you basically get it to do the same things. on the extreme end, you can modify the software and strip it down so that they all become essentially the same.
once you "match" all the apps, the main differentiating factors that remain will be the design (physical) and its specs.

SD625 is no doubt on the lower end of the midrange group. however, i have a feeling it was designed that way so that qualcomm has an option for SOC that leverages power-efficiency, instead of just "power"
I have a feeling Asus took the decision to use SD625 consciously. I mean, they probably were aiming to make the ZF3 power efficient. for performance, they covered it with other ZF3 variants.
however, for people who don't actually make use of the more powerful socs like SD650 or even SD821, like me obviously, SD625 is just the right choice. only thing is, I think that ZF3 is overpriced. I'd like to buy it, but I refrain from it since I can get the Mi 5 (xiaomi official version) for 1399 now.
i agree the price of ZF3 is a bit on the high side. But not that terribly expensive. Cause it really have good quality built and SD625 is really not that bad.

I got it from Digi with subscription packages so had some discount on the phone. That is worth it for me else I would not have bought that phone.

Comparing between mi5 and zf3 5.2", I would not mind going for zf3 cause it is better looking than mi5 and personally, I am not a fan of miui.

abubin
post Nov 1 2016, 03:03 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 1 2016, 07:50 AM)

QUOTE(Timer @ Oct 29 2016, 04:03 PM)

Is Ultra version  camera good if vs Note 5 or iPhone 6?
I would say is better than both of them
i will say that too cause asus have fast laser focus and OIS. Both are very important feature for taking good pictures.

This post has been edited by abubin: Nov 1 2016, 03:04 PM
abubin
post Nov 4 2016, 11:23 AM

10,429 posts

[quote=abubin,Nov 1 2016, 03:03 PM]
I would say is better than both of them

[/quote]

i will say that too cause asus have fast laser focus and OIS. Both are very important feature for taking good pictures.

[/quote]

btw..just saw this review from our friend tekgil. Looks like iphone 6 is doing well for a 2 year old phone.

abubin
post Nov 21 2016, 11:32 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Roddin @ Nov 18 2016, 05:04 PM)
Fark la. Woke up this morning with my zenfone 3 deluxe fucking hot and useless. Screen won't switch on. Can't power down. Samsung, why did u have to fuck up the note 7. FML
i think this is more like issue on apps that you have installed in your phone. This is a very common android issue which even samsung phones have. You really need to remove all bloatwares and keep the phone processes at minimum.

My wife used to be a samsung s5 user and she faces this kind of battery drain and overheating issue very often. Until she went to samsung phone shop and paid someone to fix it. What they did is update the firmware and charge RM50 for it. I could have done it for her but she is just a typical ignorant user who only knows how to check facebook.

The thing is after her phone got stolen, when looking for replacement she still want to go back for samsung. Because she said she is "familiar with samsung". So after getting this Asus Zenfone for her, there are no more heating issue (for now) and she is happily using it. Cause I used the security apps in the phone to control processes startup.
abubin
post Mar 9 2017, 05:53 PM

10,429 posts

wow nice!!! please update here if the upgrade is working or not. Thanks for being guinea pig for us.... smile.gif
abubin
post Mar 22 2017, 02:46 PM

10,429 posts

asus is trying to position their phone as high mid-range phone with good camera. Unfortunately, that segment has been taken by one plus and xiaomi and zte and huawei and so on. So they won't do well if they continue to sell their mid range phone for such a high price.
abubin
post Apr 3 2017, 04:39 PM

10,429 posts

i find it strange that the asus zenfone 3 5.5" is snappier than xiaomi redmi note 3. Eventhough the RN3 have slightly better processor, the zenfone UI feels more responsive and faster. Maybe cause miui sucks but to those who say SD625 is slower then SD650, I would say not really.
abubin
post Apr 3 2017, 05:22 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Apr 3 2017, 04:45 PM)
Still waiting for zenfone 3 zoom camera review
personally, I think that asus zenfone is not worth it. Their phone overall quality is good but with the price they are selling, you can get other brand phones with better quality. For example, at RM2000, you can get one plus 3T, huawei mate 9 and so on that have better camera and SoC.

I got mine through phone plan so that is fine.
abubin
post Apr 5 2017, 04:34 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Apr 5 2017, 12:03 PM)
Its all about the software...even an old Nexus 5 with SD800 is smoother than RMN3. Miui is a very heavy OS.
I think its very worth it. Zenfone 3 5.5" is rm1.4k, the phones u mention is >rm2k, other SD625 phones like Vivo Oppo is ard rm1.8k. Redmi note is cheaper but laggier and lousier camera...for budget of rm1.5k zenfone 3 is a good buy.
with 1.5k you can get

xiaomi mi 5 - better SoC with almost equally good camera.
oneplus 3 - better proc, 6gb memory and better camera
huawei p9 - better proc, better camera

comparing the 1.4k you can get with zenfone 5.5, i would rather add RM100 and get one plus 3. That SD625 is the deal breaker.

Seriously..this Asus Zenfone is not selling that well. A lot of review says the phone is overpriced which it is. It is definitely a good phone there is no denying that. The only people who think it is worth it either already bought it or did not do enough research. Please find me a review about Asus Zenfone that says it is a good buy with reasonable price. If you can find one, chances are it is paid review.

This post has been edited by abubin: Apr 5 2017, 04:42 PM
abubin
post Apr 6 2017, 03:25 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Apr 6 2017, 11:57 AM)
Last I heard, Xiaomi phones are only average-good with their camera performances. Not to mention that their MIUI is one of the more bogged down OS. I'm also unsure of their after-sales support on either software or hardware, but I assume they don't update their phones after it left the factory, maybe only for those security patches.

But I do understand that people usually buy Xiaomi phones for their specs, and install custom ROM as soon as possible to get the most out of the hardware.
Eventhought Mi5 and Mi5s uses same sony sensor, from the review that I have seen Mi5 still have better quality. Cause Mi5s camera does not have OIS. In fact, I can say all xiaomi phones have appaling camera except Mi5.

In terms of MiUI firmware, I have to say yes it is quite bloated. I still do not like miui after using it for months. but xiaomi do come out with firmware patches quite often.

BTW, my colleague just bought a oneplus 3 for rm1.5k 2 months ago.

abubin
post Jun 1 2017, 04:41 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Jun 1 2017, 02:05 PM)
Hi bro, u are using the ZE520KL right? How is the battery life?

I use Waze quite a bit, and also usually just leave my phone with mobile data on. Able to last through at least 1 day?
yes can. SD625 is known to be very efficient with battery. Your usage is very typical mid range usage. How many hour do you use waze per day?
abubin
post Jun 15 2017, 06:40 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Jun 1 2017, 06:55 PM)
Yea. Do know that SD625 is efficient with battery, but 2.6k mah battery worries me a bit. haha. At most 1 n half hour of waze per day, and i like to keep my mobile data on through out the day. Unless when I sleep, then I turn mobile data off.

Coz I play this game in my siggy. During some event, I can tap the phone for whole day. laugh.gif

Saw some place selling this ZE520KL at RM1199.

Comparing between Lenovo P2, Moto G5 Plus and ZE552KL. Then i notice this ZE520KL which is cheaper. laugh.gif
so you are considered heavy user? I think should be able to last you barely 1 day. You probably need to recharge by the end of the day. I am using the 5.5" model..so not sure how much difference in term of the battery compared to the 5.2" model.

As for the mobile data off, I think in 2017 if you still need to turn off your mobile data to conserve battery then the phone is "tak boleh pakai". All my phones, I leave the mobile data on. I hate it when need to turn on or off and then sometimes forget.

0.0237sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:58 AM