4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Asus ASUS Zenfone 3/3 Deluxe/3 Ultra ~ Discussion ~, The hype of 6GB RAM is here

abu.shofwan
post Aug 29 2016, 12:02 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Aug 29 2016, 10:40 AM)
looking at the price trend.. it will be drop further more.. maybe 20% discount? Just hoping whistling.gif

Anyway patiently awaiting ZF3 Ultra review from users esp benny888  smile.gif
price drop can only do us consumers good, right?
at the moment, if i had 1500, i am more inlcined to top up 50 and buy the mi 5
if i had 3200, i am more inclined to buy me a note 7...
(considered only prices before any discount)
abu.shofwan
post Aug 29 2016, 12:24 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Aug 29 2016, 12:14 PM)
Yup good for us consumer  thumbup.gif
for which phone at preferred price point guess it is up to the user preferences.. for me a big 6" and above phone with smooth UI and good battery life is preferred regardless of processor..
some prefer Mi5 with snapdragon 820 but some like prefer big 6.44" phone Mi Max or the monstrous 6.8" Zenfone 3 Ultra for high multimedia consumption..
agree completely, for each their own
i prefer my phones to be smallish (max 5.2") - and yes I carry two phones everyday
the biggest i can consider would be the note series, but that is only because it has the pen (i'm a sucker for digital pens)... otherwise, it would be a stretch for me to accept even 5.5" phone
hence, i am looking more to ZE520 vs Mi 5
well... that, and the fact that i cannot afford to consider Note 7 vs ZF3 deluxe
abu.shofwan
post Aug 29 2016, 04:21 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Aug 29 2016, 01:25 PM)
Wow! It's the first I ever heard problem regarding mobo on a high end device such as Note7
Me to waant to know. Admittedly though, since it's currently out of my budget, I haven't been active in the note 7 thread.
So maybe can share the link? So as not to derail this thread become note 7 thread...
abu.shofwan
post Aug 30 2016, 11:42 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(zulizo @ Aug 30 2016, 11:23 AM)
My sot on z3 z520kl
Quite satisfied
well... after looking at some reviews of phones on SD625 (including this version of ZF3), it seems that many would agree the SOC is much better in battery use. especially if compared with the dreaded (in terms of battery life) Intel Atom.
The C7 was reviewed by GSMArena. While it has 3.3Ah battery, the screen is 5.7 in 1080p - bigger than ZF3 ZE520KL's 5.2 in 1080p unit.
CNET reviewd the ZE520KL and gave a 10 (out of 10!!!) score for its battery life.
Hardwarezone reviewed the ZE552KL and remarked "Long battery life" in its summary/conclusion
AndroidPolice reviewed the 552 and remarked battery life is great while in the comments section the reviewer made a statement of 6hrs SOT with 40% remaining
IndianExpress (yes, I go to any website google throw at me) remarked that the 552KL has good battery life at the start of the review (I mean, rather than starting at whatever good aspects it may have, they chose to highlight the battery life first) and that it lasted a day and a half of usage.

It would be interesting to find this SOC in better screen tech and higher battery capacity.
abu.shofwan
post Aug 30 2016, 02:38 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Aug 30 2016, 12:44 PM)
maybe due to its 14nm architecture?
well, we'd be forgiven to assume that, since it is the most discernible difference with prior SOCs (615, 616, 617).
abu.shofwan
post Aug 30 2016, 11:11 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Aug 30 2016, 10:05 PM)
Well from what I read people complain about it unfair price compare to Note 7, that uses a 820 proc, 4GB RAM, and 64GB storage.

Zenfone 3 Deluxe is 821, 6GB RAM, and 256GB Storage.
I've complained about it (the sd 821 version) being more expensive than note 7, and not the standard deluxe.
I think that sd821/6/256 is still not worth more than note 7,with its better screen, water resistant, stylus and better camera. Not yet sure if both have equal sensors inside, but I'm more inclined to believe the note will have more (barometer, heart rate, etc)
Also, I'm considering the accessories you can find, between note 7 and zf3d, I'm sure note7 will have more support / options.
In shorts, you get (much) more with note 7 than you will with the zf3d-821
abu.shofwan
post Sep 1 2016, 11:31 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 1 2016, 11:12 AM)
I think it means your phone screen always on, can last 9-10 hours.
so, basically it means that you use your phone actively for 9-10 hrs. whether it's playing games, surfing /k, watching videos, social networking... etc.
however mileage will vary as each activity consume battery differently. surfing the web on wifi is different than on mobile data, with wifi tend to be more efficient. watching movie, especially those full of dark scenes, will also tend to be lower consumption than mobile surfing (usually web pages have white background)... these are not always the case though, as physical technology (screen, modem, SOC, etc.) can make the consumption rate differ also...
abu.shofwan
post Sep 1 2016, 11:46 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 1 2016, 11:36 AM)
There is no clear specific benchmark for SOT. So 9-10 hours will be different depending on what you do. Pretty sure if you Pokemon Go the SOT will maybe go down to 4-5 hours compared to its normal operation.
very true. but if we compare the same usage (i.e. the same user to do the comparison), then we might get a better idea.

for example, i use my Xperia SP and got around 2 - 3.5 hrs SOT before it hits 20% - then change to Asus ZF5 and got about 2 - 3 hrs SOT - then change to Acer e700 got about 4 - 5 hrs SOT, and last to Lenovo VibeShot, around 3 - 4 hrs SOT. my typical usage pattern has not changed much (since i dont play games). So for me, I can gauge the battery strength of these phones based on my usage and can say that Vibeshot is 1.5 - 2x better than Xperia SP...

something like that... (I always find myself unable to explain my thoughts clearly)

I guess what I'm trying to say here is, we'd get a better picture if the user gives a comparison with another phone (s)he's used - and especially if that other phone is one we have used before.
abu.shofwan
post Sep 1 2016, 05:15 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 1 2016, 05:04 PM)
To guide those who are concerned about SOT - these are my personal experiences on several phones. All are based on mainly internet stuffs ( mix of LTE/WiFi) - browsing, youtube, newsfeed, facebook, tweeter , whatsapp etc with NO gaming. All my phone had same set of apps installed

Samsung Galaxy A9 Pro : 13-14 hours
Xiaomi Mi Max : 11-12 hours
Zenfone 3 Ultra : 9-10 hours
Mate 8 : 10-11 hours
Note7, S7E : 7-8 hours
Thanks bro
Very informative this way...
I didn't mean to criticize, though

This post has been edited by abu.shofwan: Sep 1 2016, 05:15 PM
abu.shofwan
post Sep 4 2016, 11:47 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Sep 4 2016, 01:29 AM)
I notice my zenfone 3 ultra ram is only stated 3.5GB ram.

Any idea why was it ?
[attachmentid=7456037]
Some RAM would be allocated to GPU, and would not show up in info screen such as this.
My vibe shot (used for this reply) is showing 2.8 out of 3GB.
abu.shofwan
post Sep 16 2016, 09:07 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 16 2016, 08:11 AM)
The ZF3 ultra is indeed a very very good phablet
I am indeed very impressed with it and would like to use as my daily phone over the MiMax if not for its size.
Those who look down at SD652 chipset should think twice. I would say overall is even better than the SD820 Axon 7 which I got yesterday
So impressed with the ZF3ultra I had preorder too the ZF3 Deluxe which should be in my hands next week.
Actually I was wondering when you said the axon performance was beaten by zf3u. Is the sd820 in Axon actually the down clocked version (such as in mi 5 32gb)?
Perhaps you can confirm its frequency in Axon?
abu.shofwan
post Sep 30 2016, 06:44 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Sep 29 2016, 02:23 PM)
anyone using Asus Zenfone 3 MAx? how is the phone?
why some places, www.asus.com/my/, I saw it says it is using Mediatek MT6737M chipset, some, like lazada Asus Official Store, says it is using "It has a 5.2-inch HD 720p IPS screen, a Qualcomm Snapdragon 615 chipset, 3GB of RAM, and 32GB of storage" ??

it is snapdragon or mediatek?
SD615 is used in the Zenfone max 2016 refresh (not zfm 3, but part of the original zfm series). currently all available info point to zfm3 having MTK soc.
abu.shofwan
post Sep 30 2016, 08:20 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 30 2016, 08:12 AM)
From this we know that Asus is not honest for not telling anyone the CPU inside. They are very ashamed of the CPU.
Well, I wouldn't go so far as to say they are "not honest" - since they did say the ZF3M uses the MTK soc in their website.

abu.shofwan
post Oct 10 2016, 12:38 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 10 2016, 12:06 PM)
the phone have 64gb storage. Still not enough meh? Unless you take lots and lots of videos, it should be enough without the need to sdcard. Plus, when you us sdcard on your phone, it will generally slow down your phone because it need to constantly scan the card.
64gb for me is enough to run without sd card expansion. I mean, I will probably not get sd card and use dual sim instead.

But I can understand why some people would still need expansion. And if they need dual sim at the same time, then it's a problem.
abu.shofwan
post Oct 10 2016, 02:00 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Oct 10 2016, 01:55 PM)
You never know one day (if you really bad luck until don't have road) if your phone accidentally drop inside the water or any faulty of your devices that cause cannot turn on your device, then you will understand why I need additional memory card.

You might feedback to me nowadays everybody can use Google Drive or Dropbox that can backup all your files to the cloud anytimes. But sometimes some of the confidential documents, we won't put the files to the cloud server coz everything been monitor through the cloud storage service provider.
On cloud storage, let's not forget that the free version of Dropbox gets you 2gb++ while drive is limited to 15gb... Unless you pay for it...

This is why I don't do cloud backup. I will take my chances with manual backup (by copying to a hdd via cable connection with pc)
abu.shofwan
post Oct 10 2016, 03:19 PM

1,455 posts

Well, there are people who offers services to increase the standard free storage quota. But that should be a separate thread (search and you will find)... And anyway, the max free quota is limited - no way it can rival the paid quota...
abu.shofwan
post Oct 15 2016, 12:11 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(Tuyin @ Oct 14 2016, 08:29 PM)
Saw another phone model from asus website
zenfone 3 deluxe 5.5
So what's the difference eh?
I mean with zf3 5.5 (non deluxe)
abu.shofwan
post Oct 20 2016, 06:33 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Oct 20 2016, 06:25 PM)
Still too expensive to my liking.
abu.shofwan
post Oct 20 2016, 07:58 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Oct 20 2016, 06:45 PM)
Zenfone 3 Deluxe is considered cheap when compared with Pixel, Xperia XZ, and S7E currently for the specs. Yet people will take Pixel anyday rather than Z3F doh.gif
Well, if you "look down" price-wise you will find quite a few SD820 phones... You can even find SD821 phone (mi 5S anyone?) lower than that. So it begs the question, why Asus... Why?

abu.shofwan
post Oct 24 2016, 12:58 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 24 2016, 12:20 PM)
for me, I think zenfone 2 is a failed phone cause of the intel SoC. For a 1 year old phone, it is laggy and it's camera also is bad.

I think Asus learned from that mistake hence they improved a lot based on past mistakes. They improved the SoC, camera and design. All of which were the top issues with Zenfone 2.
IMO, if intel hadn't stopped supplying atom soc this time around, we would have seen ZF3 with intel in it. may be Asus would have gone with Snapdragon SOCs anyway, but i think they would still have ZF3 versions with intel.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0525sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:39 PM