TSITLearner
post May 28 2016, 12:04 AM, updated 8y ago

245 posts

Tonight I watch my anime video as usual

Suddenly my HDD freezed

and then unable to detect it in my computer again

even i restart my pc, the welcome loading screen will take for endless ages

when i pull it out from motherboard and plug into my HDD external enclosure, it show like this in disk manager

after i clicked ok:

I cannot assign any letter nor initialize and reformat it

I already tried diskpart and not able to access it as it said the volume is write protected

I just cannot do anything...

any solution for this?

If not i will sent for RMA... cry.gif

This post has been edited by ITLearner: May 28 2016, 12:06 AM
Mr.7
post May 28 2016, 12:11 AM

1,242 posts

Try entering cmd and run chkdsk /f.
chocobo7779
post May 28 2016, 12:12 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,368 posts

Looks like it's dead... might as just well RMA the drive. icon_idea.gif

Tip: use the diagnostic tool from the HDD manufacturer to double confirm. icon_idea.gif

Seagate - Seatools

WD - Data Lifeguard
TSITLearner
post May 28 2016, 12:14 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ May 28 2016, 12:11 AM)
Try entering cmd and run chkdsk /f.
but only if the disk has letter right?

I cant event initialize it with a letter
TSITLearner
post May 28 2016, 12:16 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ May 28 2016, 12:12 AM)
Looks like it's dead...  might as just well RMA the drive.  icon_idea.gif

Tip: use the diagnostic tool from the HDD manufacturer to double confirm.  icon_idea.gif

Seagate - Seatools

WD - Data Lifeguard
newly bought for three months only cry.gif
Mr.7
post May 28 2016, 12:17 AM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ May 28 2016, 12:14 AM)
but only if the disk has letter right?

I cant event initialize it with a letter
Ah yes, sorry. Use the HDD diagnostic tool to scan for errors as mentioned instead.
chocobo7779
post May 28 2016, 12:20 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,368 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ May 28 2016, 12:16 AM)
newly bought for three months only cry.gif
HDD reliability is very random - I still have mine going strong for years... flex.gif

Still, why not diagnose the drive and if the drive is really dead, you can always send it back for RMA. icon_idea.gif
foohoa
post May 28 2016, 12:20 AM

976 posts

cabut all cable and plug balik see how first, or change the cable
TSITLearner
post May 28 2016, 12:24 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ May 28 2016, 12:20 AM)
HDD reliability is very random - I still have mine going strong for years...  flex.gif

Still, why not diagnose the drive and if the drive is really dead, you can always send it back for RMA.  icon_idea.gif
All SeagateTool Test failed except self test

Really bricked, my precious seagate drive, with almost 2TB anime stuffs inside, R.I.P

my other old 2TB seagate drives still running happily in my pc, except the latest this one....

This post has been edited by ITLearner: May 28 2016, 12:29 AM
TSITLearner
post May 28 2016, 12:26 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ May 28 2016, 12:20 AM)
cabut all cable and plug balik see how first, or change the cable
Ok, i tried change the sata port

regarding the cable, i think it is not the problem because...

my pc will not enter the desktop with the drive attached, coz long POST check time may be
sHawTY
post May 28 2016, 05:59 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

After reconnecting the HDD to the motherboard, download & run CrystalDiskInfo to check the health condition of your HDD
Paste a screenshot in here so we can help you identify if there's an issue with your HDD
JohnLai
post May 28 2016, 07:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,620 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ May 28 2016, 12:24 AM)
All SeagateTool Test failed except self test

Really bricked, my precious seagate drive, with almost 2TB anime stuffs inside, R.I.P

my other old 2TB seagate drives still running happily in my pc, except the latest this one....
At least tell us HDD model number..........you know the 7200.11 model has sudden death syndrome? Just because you bought few months ago doesn't mean your model is latest version.
Maveric88
post May 29 2016, 02:55 PM

you can try this guy, 012-7740417. used to deal with him for data recovery service. Maybe he can help.
noobiedonkey
post May 29 2016, 07:04 PM

810 posts

lucky still under warranty. RMA fast.

0.0141sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:49 AM