Technical How to eject game disc for 360 ?

TSkillzone2
post Jan 11 2007, 03:29 PM, updated 19y ago

Guys and girls,

Need some advice or recommended ways to eject the game disc for xbox 360 when in game mode....

(1) Press GUIDE button , "Y" goto Dashboard , then eject
or
(2) Press Eject when in game main menu

Any harm in both way ?

Lately when I press Guide button and press "Y" button to do to dashboard i will hear a "thup" sound like a force stop sound... is that normal ???

If I press Eject straight away .. there is no sound..

stringfellow
post Jan 11 2007, 03:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

To be safe, i logged off into Dashboard first before i pull the disc out. But nowadays, there is only one disc inside my 360 anyway, so ejecting hadnt really been a frequent occurence for me anyway.
tot31
post Jan 11 2007, 03:54 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

lol, at first look at the topic what strike in my head was, WTF!! this guy don't know how to press the eject button?. After reading the post I think you should change the topic to "What is the best way to eject 360 drive"
Microsuck_360
post Jan 11 2007, 03:55 PM

241 posts

better go to dashboard 1st... mega_shok.gif
zio
post Jan 11 2007, 03:57 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Depending on how fast I need to change the disc.. those damn GoW invites wait for no man tongue.gif
lexasp
post Jan 11 2007, 04:05 PM

229 posts

From day 1 since I bought the console, I had never eject the disc while the game is running. I always exit back to dashboard every single time then only press eject. Hope this is the better way, atleast it seems better in my point of view. Please correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by lexasp: Jan 11 2007, 04:06 PM
acougan
post Jan 11 2007, 04:07 PM

590 posts

i choose

(2) Press Eject Button. (just make sure the screen is not saying "Now Loading....")

erm, i do note both the dvd and the plastic holder on the dvd drive is pretty warm after eject sweat.gif

after reading TS and other's input on this matter, maybe time to do some experimenting tonight. so the dvd stops spinning after we press the guide button to return to dashboard? the back fans are too noisy for me to notice the dvd spinning sound sad.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 11 2007, 04:21 PM
judge-the
post Jan 11 2007, 04:10 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

if you are doing this,

(2) Press Eject when in game main menu

becareful my friend later the dvd spin out flying and someone might lost his head ler smile.gif

always quit to the dashboard... remember PLAY SAFE smile.gif
Evirober
post Jan 11 2007, 04:12 PM

636 posts

I do the same procedures with the rest of the forumers.

Exit game and enter into dashboard.
Then press the eject button.

My fears are if you eject the disc while the CD is still running is SCRATCHED cds.
lexasp
post Jan 11 2007, 04:32 PM

229 posts

Some how, this reminds me of the good old days of PSOne, No ejecting, just turn off, swap disc and turn back on, fast and easy.
AhYap
post Jan 11 2007, 05:04 PM

Press GUIDE button , "Y" in game,then back to Dashboard , press eject to takeout u disc
Diazepam
post Jan 12 2007, 06:34 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jan 11 2007, 04:07 PM)
the back fans are too noisy for me to notice the dvd spinning sound  sad.gif
The 'fan' sound is the DVD drive dude.

Go to the dashboard and you can hear the drive spin down. The audible difference is quite noticable.

I have no clue why you guys would want to eject the disc when the drive is at the ready - and then later complain about hardware problems. rolleyes.gif
aegis`-
post Jan 12 2007, 07:50 PM

1,480 posts

kick ur box when its spinning! biggrin.gif
and insert a crack disc!
shumaky
post Jan 13 2007, 02:42 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

pry open with a crowbar
munky
post Jan 13 2007, 01:18 PM

1,971 posts

crowbar hahaha laugh.gif
ionStorm
post Jan 13 2007, 01:28 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

Its not a problem to take out a game even when its midgame. That's what consoles were designed for! The drive is smart enough to spindown before ejecting the disc, so no problems there.

I generally go back to the dashboard first. Just seems to be a habit. On occasion i'll just eject the disc as is.
arj
post Jan 13 2007, 02:06 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

I always straight away press the eject button from day 1. No scratched disc or flying disc whatsoever laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 13 2007, 02:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

You actually can eject while in the game, the game will boot you out to the Dashboard, but some games incorporated autosave features, so wouldnt ejecting while that's going on in the background would either screw up your saves, or worse? unsure.gif

EDIT:Bro Arj, hows the new phone?tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 13 2007, 02:56 PM
ionStorm
post Jan 13 2007, 04:21 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

Well, I suppose if you ejected while GoW was saving your checkpoint halfway, then it will screw up lor... tongue.gif
Diazepam
post Jan 13 2007, 04:40 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 13 2007, 01:28 PM)
That's what consoles were designed for!
I thought consoles were designed to suck up valuable time and stick you in a pseudo-realistic on-screen environment for more immersive gameplay so that you'll gladly hand over MORE rent money to buy game after game? tongue.gif

On the other hand, DVD-drives are DVD-drives.

unsure.gif

0.0173sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:03 AM