I believed the first batch don't have a Backlit Keyboard. I bought the Switch Alpha i7 version last June 2016 because of the backlit keyboard, but after unbox, not! Call Acer, the tech said Malaysian version does not. The Catalogue does not state anything about the Backlit Keyboard is only on certain region. Feels cheated, but so far after 1 n half year no issue.
I did replace the LCD screen though due to I accidentally dropped the Switch while it still in the bag, bang the corners, got crack from the side towards the Camera lens. Cost of replacement RM800 at Highpoint USJ. huhu
Now is my turn to crack the screen Time to get a new laptop lah
Wow, tks for the quick reply. Yes, white spots, appeared after two years. Other than that, no issues. Based on ur comments, maybe i should just live with it
Optional normally it is not noticeable until your whole. Background is a single colour.
Friend of mine sent her unit for warranty recently. The glue holding the screen was giving way and the keyboard wont hold on to the magnetic part of the screen.
Turns out the battery had expanded inside. Extended warranty does not cover the battery, but because the battery was causing other issues, they replaced the battery foc
Problem: When I press the ON/OFF button, the laptop turns on (you can hear the fan moving, sound,etc) but it immediately shuts down. Then a few seconds later, it switches on again. How can I get it to start normally? I've already installed latest updates.
In urgent need for help. Thanks.
This Laptop doesn't have any moving parts What you even talking lol. You sure you're using Switch Alpha 12 as your laptop
My bad. 'moving' as in 'the fan starts working'. I'm using Acer Swift 3. Since I urgently need help, I just posted in any thread which contains the word 'Acer' which is more active.
To paraphrase, my notebook is unable to start normally. Even if it starts normally, ie shows login screen, and after I've login, then the notebook shuts down suddenly. It sort of reboots but shows a blank black screen. It is unable to show the login page. TLDR: My notebook can't start properly. It restarts every 10 seconds after I press ON/OFF. What are my options?
Bad RAM / Hard Drive / Motherboard / Faulty Power Supply / Battery can be an issue. Have you tried factory reset the machine?
This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 21 2018, 10:06 PM
I had the same issue with the bloated battery that affecting the screen to pop out.
Sent to service center and later they confirmed is the battery problem. They initially wanted to charge me for the replacement of the battery since the battery only cover 1 year warranty even though I bought the extended 3 years warranty.
However, I highlighted your friend case and they replaced it FOC for me.
Thank you for sharing and thank you the service center for the replacement.
Nice. I will try to use this to replace me screen also
Hi. My aplha 12 can"t start after 2 week no use!. sent shop they just reset and use 1 day ok. Charging then start LOCKING. and black out. What wrong? Now can't start. Any sifu help.
Bring to Highpoint let them take out the battery and plug it back in. I've encounter this problem before.
Tell them that, your issues is more towards charging then the system locks up and black out everytime. With some luck they might replace the whole unit for you, if that warranty still exists...
I've replaced my motherboard for RM 600++ last time.