123 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nexus Huawei Nexus 6P - Roundtable Discussion V5, September security patch is released!

TSterence_nwb
post May 24 2016, 11:01 AM, updated 8y ago

7,011 posts

Huawei Nexus 6P Official Thread V5

RULES

1. ALWAYS READ the first page's information before asking, bunch of useful info.
2. ALWAYS USE search feature, it is located at the left bottom of this thread (CTRL + F is also very useful).
3. Different people have different opinion, so if someone disagrees your opinion and you want to start a argument/fight/war, go somewhere else to settle.
4. Try to avoid typing with CAPS LOCK on or '!!!!'.
5. Try to stay calm and we are NEXUS FAMILY, so just chill  laugh.gif

6. New user? Need more information on rooting/flashing/unlocking/sideloading your 6P? Check this awesome guide on XDA Developers Forum.

7. You can also check the Common FAQ in #3 and #4 post.

If you want me to add any useful info to first page or you see any wrong info here, tag/ping/PM me (use [+ @ + terence_nwb + ], remove the + sign), I will update once I am free.
Android 7.0 Nougat stable release with September security patch (NRD90U) is out.

WARNING: IT IS A LARGE FILE DOWNLOAD, PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU ARE CONNECTED TO AN UNMETERED CONNECTION BEFORE CLICKING THE DOWNLOAD LINK.

Incremental OTA zip from Marshmallow:
Pending...

Incremental OTA zip works only if you are upgrading from the previous latest build, full OTA image works regardless of version, T is for those who are coming from Beta and U is from stable M (both will work regardless of version if you flash the update manually)

Android 6.0 Marshmallow with September security patch (MTC20L) is out.

WARNING: IT IS A LARGE FILE DOWNLOAD, PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU ARE CONNECTED TO AN UNMETERED CONNECTION BEFORE CLICKING THE DOWNLOAD LINK.

NOTE: If you are rooted using non-systemless root method, then you need to unroot first before applying the update, if not the update will fail because it won't pass the system check, this policy started since Android 5.0 (Lollipop), any sort of modifications to /system partition will cause the OTA update to fail. If you are using custom recovery and boot image, you will need to revert back to stock as well, you can go back to stock recovery/boot image by using fastboot flash recovery.img/boot.img and system.img (if /system is modified). If you are on custom ROM please don't apply this OTA update, this is for stock ROM only (including kernel as well, everything must be stock). Unlocked bootloader can still apply this update.

Android 7.0 Nougat

WHERE TO BUY OFFICIAL MALAYSIA SET?

1. Vmall MY
2. Lazada MY
3. GemFive
4. DirectD
5. Superbuy MY
6. Huawei Store

and many more.

MSRP is RM 2698 for 64GB model.

Free gift:
1. Huawei Jelly Case
2. Huawei AM116 Earphone

Huawei Jelly Case is a semi transparent case which provides basic protection to your phone, it does not fully cover the whole phone, power/volume button area, top, bottom and camera area are exposed.

** Free gift is not applicable to all physical/online stores **

Huawei MY does not offer 32GB or 128GB model at the moment.

Some online stores provide voucher/bank credit/debit card discount, so please look for them if you want to get it at cheaper price, i.e. Lazada & GemFive.

WHAT IS THE COLOUR CHOICE AVAILABLE?

1. Graphite
2. Aluminium
3. Frost (not available in MY)
4. Gold (NEW!)

WHAT IS THE LATEST ANDROID VERSION FOR MY PHONE?

Android 7.0 Nougat with September security patch (build number NRD90U) RELEASED ON 8 SEPTEMBER 2016

Android 6.0 Marshmallow with September security patch (build number MTC20L) RELEASED ON 6 SEPTEMBER 2016

WHAT IS THE LATEST ANDROID BETA VERSION FOR MY PHONE?

N/A

Nexus 6P Technical Specifications:

Screen
5.7" 2560x1440 WQHD AMOLED display (518 ppi)
Scratch-resistant Corning® Gorilla® Glass 4
Fingerprint and smudge-resistant oleophobic coating

Rear Camera
12.3MP
1.55 μm pixels
f/2.0 aperture
IR laser-assisted auto-focus
4 K (30 fps) video capture
Broad-spectrum CRI-90 dual flash
Corning® Gorilla® Glass 4
Slow motion at 240 FPS

Front Camera
8 MP
1.4 μm pixels
f/2.4 aperture
HD video capture (30 fps)

Size
159.3 mm x 77.8mm x 7.3 mm

Weight
178g

OS
Android 6.0 Marshmallow (upgradable to Android 7.0 Nougat)

Wireless & Location
LTE cat. 6 (Up to 300Mbps DL and 150Mbps UL)
Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac 2 x 2 MIMO, dual-band (2.4 GHz, 5.0 GHz)
Bluetooth 4.2
NFC
GPS/GLONASS
Digital compass

Network [RoW]
GSM/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900MHz
UMTS/WCDMA: B1/2/4/5/6/8/9/19
TDSCDMA: 34/39
CDMA: BC0/1
LTE (FDD): B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/9/17/19/20/28
LTE (TDD): B38/B39/40/41
CA DL: B1-B5, B1-B8, B1-B19, B3-B3, B3-B5, B3-B7, B3-B8, B3-B19, B3-B20, B3-B28, B5-B7, B7-B7, B7-B20, B7-B28, B39-B39, B40-B40, B41-B41

Audio Output
Dual front-facing stereo speaker
3 microphones (2 front, 1 rear) with noise cancellation

Memory
32, 64, 128 GB internal storage (actual formatted capacity will be less)
3 GB RAM

Battery
3,450mAh
Standby time: up to 440 hours
Talk time: up to 23 hours
Internet use time (WiFi): up to 10 hours
Internet use time (LTE): up to 10 hours
Video playback: up to 10 hours
Audio playback: up to 100 hours
Fast charging: up to 7 hours of use from only 10 minutes of charging

CPU
Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 810 v2.1, 2.0 GHz octa-core 64-bit with Adreno 430 GPU

What’s in the box:

Huawei Nexus 6P 64GB
Quick Start Guide
SIM Tray Removal Tool
USB-A to USB-C Cable
USB-C to USB-C Cable
USB-C UK Charger
Safety and Warranty Information Manual

Previous Thread:

v1

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Sep 16 2016, 05:11 PM
TSterence_nwb
post May 24 2016, 11:01 AM

7,011 posts

Reviews & Videos

Camera Test

Development

Owners List

No.
LYN Username
Color
Storage Size
Purchasing Channel
remix2040
Frost
128GB
Google Store USA
fik92
Graphite
64GB
Huawei Flagship Store Lowyat Plaza
xenohawk
Graphite
64GB
uchiha_sauffie
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
shafeeqhafidz
Graphite
64GB
N/A
kithuei
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
vernon91
Aluminium
64GB
Vmall Malaysia
benny888
Frost
128GB
Techbug
rc2x
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
Lineage
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
cruzzmz
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
hackcremo
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
ming86
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
Terrence300
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
Someonesim
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
Gorila_
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
Dinoz_88
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
Ajiko
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
xxniaoxd
Aluminium
64GB
yelsew
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
kehadapan
Graphite
64GB
N/A
jasonsaw96
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
unclemike
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
ineser
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
toiletwater
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
skyhomer
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
santiago84
Graphite
64GB
N/A
interestingsht
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
kukukakikukaku
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
Kazuki
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
zhou86
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
terence_nwb
Aluminium
64GB
JackAss[Uncletan]
Graphite
64GB
N/A
kc6012
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
shiro169
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
EpsilonStar
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
zelcroft
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
hilal74
Graphite
64GB
N/A
sbd18
Graphite
64GB
N/A
jsc_tidus
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
ChrisWeiYuan
Aluminium
64GB
GemFive
loong4455
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
hlee91
Graphite
64GB
DirectD
tHe^CuLpRit
Graphite
64GB
DirectD
deadman8836
Aluminium
64GB
GemFive
rashad
Graphite
64GB
N/A
ohkimwoei
Aluminium
64GB
Huawei Store (Unknown location)
lost123
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
maks_pain
Aluminium
64GB
GemFive
techslug
Frost
128GB
Techbug
sepulse
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
akemasyraf
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
devilywan88
Aluminium
64GB
GemFive
lOrDjAbU
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
shah6287
Graphite
64GB
Huawei Store Tesco Station 18 Ipoh
bondesjustes
Aluminium
64GB
US
N33d
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
athlonmax
Graphite
64GB
DirectD
whojen
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
bchan28
Aluminium
64GB
Lowyat Plaza (Asia Power)
mhanis
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
LuffyPSP
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
apek
Graphite
64GB
DirectD
ayamFriendly
Graphite
64GB
Huawei Store Subang Parade
cocooh
Graphite
64GB
Huawei Store (Unknown location)
John_Foo
Aluminium
64GB
Vmall Malaysia
holocaust176
Graphite
64GB
N/A
nazbartowski
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
NazmiVDW
Graphite
64GB
11street
Gorobei
Gold
64GB
DirectD
sunichiro
Graphite
64GB
N/A
hihihehe
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
redscorpion
Graphite
64GB
NubPro
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
kiumo
Gold
64GB
N/A
breonwei
Gold
64GB
Vmall Malaysia
Xnet
Graphite
64GB
GemFive
bryant6303
Gold
64GB
GemFive
fatahmy_008
Graphite
64GB
DirectD
preducer
Aluminium
64GB
GemFive
Deani_77
Graphite
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
Sleepfoomuch
Gold
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
michael9413
Aluminium
64GB
DirectD
drumhitz
Aluminium
64GB
Lazada Malaysia
hanny562
Gold
64GB
N/A
polarzbearz
Graphite
64GB
N/A
zuhaili87
Aluminium
64GB
N/A
ace-user
Gold
64GB
DirectD
iamdineshdharma
Gold
64GB
DirectD

If you wish to be listed here, please tag/ping/PM me with your phone color and storage size.

N/A in purchasing channel means buyers didn't disclose where they bought their 6P.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jul 12 2016, 10:12 AM
TSterence_nwb
post May 24 2016, 11:02 AM

7,011 posts

Common FAQ #1

1. How to send for warranty?

Bring your phone to service center listed in this link.

2. What is the warranty period?

1 year under Huawei Warranty Policy. 1-to-1 exchange also available provided your phone is not being damaged purposely.

3. Do I need to leave my phone at service center for 1-to-1 exchange?

First, Huawei Service Center's engineer will check your phone, if the phone passes the test, they will accept your RMA/1-to-1 exchange, but this is subject to stock status, if they have ready stock, the whole process can be done in 3 hours (source from Huawei SC), if they don't have ready stock for exchange, they will book a phone for you and they will most likely ask for your contact number so they can call you next time when stock arrives.

4. Do I need to relock bootloader and unroot before sending for warranty?

Yes, it is better for you to relock your bootloader and unroot your device before sending for warranty purpose, but this is a Nexus device after all, so they might accept your rooted device too.

5. How to relock bootloader and unroot my device before sending for warranty?

You can use toolkit to finish the job for you or learn the command line yourself.

For Windows OS, you can use Nexus Toolkit (a.k.a Wugfresh).

For Mac OSX, you can try this method.

For Linux OS, I think you know how to do it because you are using Linux, only geek use Linux happy.gif

If you want to use command line, download Android SDK and follow the tutorials online.

6. Where to download Nexus 6P factory image?

Here

Please download the correct factory image, look for codename "angler".

7. Can I remove the IMEI and MCMC sticker pasted behind the phone?

Yes, you can peel them off with your fingers and please keep the stickers in the box just in case you need it for warranty or other purposes. Some early batch models do not have the MCMC sticker pasted at the back of the phone, you can find it on the plastic wrapper which covers your phone when you do unboxing.

8. Is the network operator in Malaysia compatible with non-MY unit?

Yes, it is compatible, you can connect to all network bands (2G/3G/4G) operated by local telco even if your phone is not the official MY set.

9. Is there any out-of-warranty and value added services by Huawei price list?

Yes, there is a price list by Huawei on the accessories and parts which you can find it here.

Special thanks to Nullify for digging Huawei website and found this wonderful information

10. Can I buy extra genuine USB cable and charger made by Huawei?

Yes, you can. Visit Huawei Service Center Plaza Berjaya Kuala Lumpur (beside Lowyat Plaza & opposite of Berjaya Times Square), you might need to call them early to ask for stock status first if you are coming from other places, they will book for you if stock is not ready.

For other places, you can consult your nearest Huawei Service Center, but it is not guaranteed they will have this type of service.

Postage service is not available according to one of their receptionists in Plaza Berjaya service center, so please stop asking if they have postage service or not.

Price is stated in #9.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jul 29 2016, 02:23 PM
TSterence_nwb

7,011 posts

Common FAQ #2

1. Battery life is bad?

First, check wakelock. Some apps are acting up and waking your device when screen is off or phone is in sleeping mode, consuming your battery juice in background. Download "BetterBatteryStats" or "Wakelock Detector" from Play Store and check which app is the culprit, both apps require ROOT access due to some several changes since Android 4.4 by Google.

2. No wakelock but still draining lots of battery juice?

Check your network signal, weak signal tends to draw more battery juice because your phone keeps on searching for better signal, if you are on LTE (standby), you can force it to 2G/3G in network settings, some custom ROMs which have Smart Radio feature can do this automatically for you. LTE signal penetration is significantly weaker than 2G/3G due to higher frequency especially if you are in 2600MHz (LTE Band 7) LTE coverage, higher frequency brings higher speed, you don't actually need LTE when standby right? So just put the network to 2G/3G to conserve battery life, VoLTE isn't available in Malaysia yet so another reason not to stay at LTE during standby. If you are using UMobile, then you are out of luck, they only run their LTE network on band 7, no band 3 (1800MHz) at the time of writing.

Another one is your WiFi settings, turn off WiFi always scanning in location settings (the three dots in top right), you can also turn off "Keep WiFi on during sleep" in WiFi settings to save even more battery, but this will disconnect you from WiFi when your phone is sleeping.

3. What kind of SoT (Screen on time) should I expect from this phone?

It is very hard to compare SoT with other people due to different usage, but users are reporting an average of 4 - 5 hours SoT. If you aren't getting this value, it doesn't mean your battery got problem, probably because of your usage pattern is completely different, gaming and GPS service tend to draw more battery than normal.

A 30 minutes Google Maps navigation will draw around 10% of the battery juice, at least according to my personal experience, so you can use this as the reference and do the maths yourself so calculate the battery life that you should be expecting.

4. The included USB Type-A to Type-C cable is very short and I have difficulties to connect to my PC, how to solve this?

If you have extender (Male Type-A to Female Type-A) then problem is solved, just hook up the extender with the cable and you will get a long cable to connect to your PC.

Check if your PC has native USB Type-C port or not, newer motherboard now comes with Type-C port now, use it if you have the port, no need additional fixes.

If you don't have extender nor native Type-C port, buy a longer cable, but you need to check if the cable passes the standard, you can check an article written by Rita on Android Police here for more information. You can use "CheckR" app for the test.

Some important information shared by users
It is safe to use even on my cheap non branded incompatible cable. Just make sure your desktop charger has at least a 2.0A QC output port. HAD tested on my Aukey n Tronsmart QC charger n 3A output Lvsun charger. No problems too on my Aukey QC car charger ( using QC port) n even 2 powerbanks ( use the 2A port)
I read only those who use less than 2A output at times will have their charger burnt?
The Google engineer didn't say positively you cannot use non compatible n merely warn possibility some chargers will get spoilt only
Had been using this incompatible cable since 20 Nov daily.

AUKEY car charger with QC port and either Tronsmart or Aukey QC charger works well too. If you want can get also LVsun 3A output QC charger - all these I get from EBay. But Aukey n Tronsmart and Aukey car charger these days easily found at Lazada, 11th street or google at garage sales. These chargers are normal USB port and NOT USB C type port.

By benny888

To those who are buying Orzly cable, sakurazz and myself concluded that the Orzly cable has two different type. One that can pass the CheckR apps, the other one will not pass the CheckR apps. We also found out the differences between these two types. The one that passed the CheckR would have 6 same lining/size you can observe (coming from Type C USB), easy way is that you will be able to spot 2 tiny hole near to the USB3.0 cable.

The one that does not pass the checkr status will have different sizes/shape at the Type C Usb. It should be (Fat, thin, Fat) and you will not be able find 2 tiny holes at USB 3.0

By ChrisWeiYuan

Here is a Google Spreadsheet made by Nexus community which contains the accessories compability/availability information.

5. I updated/flashed my phone but when I boot it up, the phone shows "Internal hardware error, please contact manufacturer bla bla bla", how to solve this?

Nexus 6P comes with a vendor partition which stores bunch of files for the phone to work properly, everytime when the build number gets a bump, you will need to flash the latest vendor file to bring the vendor files in your phone up to date. So either extract the vendor.img from factory image and flash it via fastboot or download flashable vendor zip and flash it via recovery.

6. My screen is yellowish compared to other IPS LCS/AMOLED phones, is it normal?

Nexus 6P screen is calibrated to be warmer to protect our eyes, it is not a defect, Huawei Malaysia issued an official statement regarding this issue, you can check the statement here.

Special thanks keroll_unwar for capturing the picture and loong4455 for posting on this thread.

Developing...

TSterence_nwb

7,011 posts

Common FAQ #3

1. I saw some people posting screenshot with lots of cats, what is that?

It's Android Neko, the Easter Egg of Android Nougat which can be found in Developer Preview 5 (July final release). You will need to install this particular beta build to play it. Instructions to enroll into the beta is stated in first post of this thread, you are warned that I am not responsible for any sort of problems that you might encounter during the update process. But from my personal experience, update to the beta build from stock Marshmallow ROM is seamless, build is pretty solid but expect some bugs or glitches as it is still tagged as beta after all.

2. Ok, I installed the latest beta build, how to play Android Neko?

Same procedure as previous easter egg games in previous Android version, go to Settings > About Phone > Repeatedly tapping the Android version, you will see a big "N" word, tap few more times and hold it, you should see a cat (very small one) under the "N" word. Now go to quick settings, swipe to the right direction and you will see the a new option (if it doesn't appear please trigger it manually under edit button).

3. What are the chances and time needed for the cat to appear?

Food
Waiting time in minutes
Probability in %
Bits
Fish
Chicken
Treat

The data is extracted from the decompiled EasterEgg.apk located in /system/app/EasterEgg folder.

4. Does this game affect my battery life?

In short answer: No
In long answer: Noooooooooooooooooooo

Your phone will only check for the probability when the timer is up, if the cat doesn't appear then the cycle will go on and re-check when next timer is up.

5. This game is annoying, how to disable it?

Same procedure as how you activate it, in the "N" word splash screen (if you don't understand what I say then it means you never read #2, now go and read it), press few times and hold it, a "cross" sign will appear, Android Neko is gone.

6. How to check my cats collection?

Long press the food icon in quick settings and you will see all the cats that you have collected.

7. The cats looks identical to me, are they the same?

Nope, the chances to get a similar cat is very rare because Google split the cat into different drawable assets.

8. Is my cats collection synced to Google server?

Nope at the time of writing this FAQ (29/7/2016), all your cats will run away if you do a clean flash/factory reset/custom ROM.

9. How to "backup" my cats then?

You need to backup mprefs.xml file located in /data/data/com.android.egg/shared_prefs folder, root access is required, same goes to restoration.

10. Can I "cheat" for more cats?

Yes, you can add new entry manually in mprefs.xml file.

11. Why is the scrolling become laggy when I view my cats collection?

Congratulations, you phone has become a cat house  rclxms.gif

The main reason for this to happen is simply because there are too many drawable objects (cats) that need to be rendered by the hardware, your phone might be unresponsive for few seconds when waiting for the cats to be drawn on the screen, so just be patient and wait for it.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jul 29 2016, 02:04 PM
whojen
post May 24 2016, 11:08 AM

1,198 posts

V5! woot!
keep it up TS
Someonesim
post May 24 2016, 11:08 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

Congrats, we're V5 and Public Beta ( Preview 3 ) rclxms.gif
SUSXnet
post May 24 2016, 11:09 AM

1,862 posts

Nice
sepulse
post May 24 2016, 11:29 AM

423 posts

v5. reporting in!
jun_ng_1208
post May 24 2016, 11:34 AM

1,274 posts

Owh yea ! So fast V5 already thumbup.gif
zhou86
post May 24 2016, 11:40 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Yay, we are growing strong! biggrin.gif
menghua84
post May 24 2016, 11:47 AM

460 posts

anyone got their waze working in latest N preview? the map is not showing though..
drumhitz
post May 24 2016, 12:03 PM

412 posts

Yay!! Nice v5 oledi..
Deani_77
post May 24 2016, 12:08 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,250 posts

N6P user checking in
TSterence_nwb
post May 24 2016, 12:25 PM

7,011 posts

The upcoming U Mobile WiFi Calling (VoWiFi) works on Nexus 6P rclxms.gif

nsg86
post May 24 2016, 12:39 PM

Nexus
1,144 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 24 2016, 12:25 PM)
The upcoming U Mobile WiFi Calling (VoWiFi) works on Nexus 6P  rclxms.gif

how to test on this features? I'm using Umobile also ..
TSterence_nwb
post May 24 2016, 12:48 PM

7,011 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ May 24 2016, 12:39 PM)
how to test on this features? I'm using Umobile also ..
I am not entirely sure, I just borrowed my colleague's U Mobile SIM card to test it.

You can check if there is any WiFi Calling option under Wireless & networks settings, phone dialer (stock one) will have this option as well under the menu option (three dots).

If don't have then probably still rolling out.
jkwanness
post May 24 2016, 02:40 PM

smileypic.gif
1,147 posts

hey guys.. thinking of rooting and flashing my 6p to pure nexus... I'm total noob first timer doing this to an android device.. any advice or good simple guide to do so? thanks all sifus here..
TSterence_nwb
post May 24 2016, 03:13 PM

7,011 posts

QUOTE(jkwanness @ May 24 2016, 02:40 PM)
hey guys.. thinking of rooting and flashing my 6p to pure nexus... I'm total noob first timer  doing this to an android device.. any advice or good simple guide to do so? thanks all sifus here..
Check first post please.
jkwanness
post May 24 2016, 03:54 PM

smileypic.gif
1,147 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 24 2016, 03:13 PM)
Check first post please.
thanks.. i didn't see that earlier..

123 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:00 AM