retina macbook current leak, using stock adaptor
TSfunnyface
May 23 2016, 06:23 PM, updated 10y ago
Hi Is the current leak a common problem for macbook charger? i tested few locations other than my house all has the current leaking (kind of like small tingle/vibration) The default stock charger does not have 3rd pin for grounding, i am not sure what else can i do...
tarvalslain87
May 24 2016, 04:34 PM
(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
QUOTE(funnyface @ May 23 2016, 06:23 PM) Hi Is the current leak a common problem for macbook charger? i tested few locations other than my house all has the current leaking (kind of like small tingle/vibration) The default stock charger does not have 3rd pin for grounding, i am not sure what else can i do...  Its a common issue for all Aluminium unibody Macs... Everyone will face this issue unless you have a 3rd ground pin for your plug. Either you live with it as it doesnt really harm you or purchase 3 pin plug
TSfunnyface
May 24 2016, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 24 2016, 04:34 PM) Its a common issue for all Aluminium unibody Macs... Everyone will face this issue unless you have a 3rd ground pin for your plug. Either you live with it as it doesnt really harm you or purchase 3 pin plug I see, thanks for the info but it does not always happen though...  Sometimes the same socket will leak but sometimes does not
ACS325i
May 24 2016, 09:24 PM
just use the 3 pin plug and you should be ok.
NoKusshon
May 25 2016, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(funnyface @ May 23 2016, 06:23 PM) Hi Is the current leak a common problem for macbook charger? i tested few locations other than my house all has the current leaking (kind of like small tingle/vibration) The default stock charger does not have 3rd pin for grounding, i am not sure what else can i do...  Yes, happen to me since day 1 bought it. Use the other 3 pin cable (long cable), problem solved
TSfunnyface
May 25 2016, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(NoKusshon @ May 25 2016, 09:22 AM) Yes, happen to me since day 1 bought it. Use the other 3 pin cable (long cable), problem solved  This guy? http://www.apple.com/my/shop/product/MK122...-cable?fnode=8b
blstz
May 25 2016, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(NoKusshon @ May 25 2016, 09:22 AM) Yes, happen to me since day 1 bought it. Use the other 3 pin cable (long cable), problem solved  Oh I didnt know about that Anyway I notice the tingling sensation is worst when the battery if fully charged. When it's charging, still not too bad.
wei
May 25 2016, 10:19 AM
Stop using the short 3-pin/ 2-pin plug head and use the long extension came with the Mac you should be fine. If still have current shock issue, check your power outlet, lastly send your Mac for warranty. https://www.facebook.com/maccores/photos/a....pe=3&permPage=1
TSfunnyface
May 25 2016, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(wei @ May 25 2016, 10:19 AM) Stop using the short 3-pin/ 2-pin plug head and use the long extension came with the Mac you should be fine. If still have current shock issue, check your power outlet, lastly send your Mac for warranty. https://www.facebook.com/maccores/photos/a....pe=3&permPage=1Thanks for the info Why Apple so cheapskate....lol Small piece of metal also want to save.
NoKusshon
May 25 2016, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(funnyface @ May 25 2016, 09:57 AM) Yeap, that guy