How to use Credit Card at Fuel Pump - Exact Amount, Just curious

TSwatabakiu
post May 22 2016, 10:57 AM, updated 10y ago

1,573 posts

Alright, at the pump stations, you can either pay cash at the counter or you swipe your credit card at the fuel pump.

I wish to opt for the latter option. And I wish to select a fixed amount to pump. Say, RM40.

I think this is doable, considering you'd have buttons next to the credit card slot.

However, can anyone, enlighten us on how to use it ?

icon_question.gif
arepit
post May 22 2016, 11:01 AM

397 posts

just go over the counter and ask them to cahrge the exact amount
ramdieslow
post May 22 2016, 11:01 AM

122 posts

Use PRESET option when swiping ur card at terminal
matrix88
post May 22 2016, 11:05 AM

2,236 posts

every brand use different method, tell us which brand of fuel you use first.
arepit
post May 22 2016, 11:07 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(ramdieslow @ May 22 2016, 11:01 AM)
Use PRESET option when swiping ur card at terminal
serious??
amirsubhi
post May 22 2016, 11:11 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

petronas, u can see the keypad on the right

press $ then press intended amount, such as rm50 then enter

then fill up
TSwatabakiu
post May 22 2016, 05:47 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ May 22 2016, 11:05 AM)
every brand use different method, tell us which brand of fuel you use first.
Petronas

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ May 22 2016, 11:11 AM)

then fill up
tried. put in the debit card, but terus accepted and then say please fill in pump. no mention to put in the amount.
amidamaru
post May 22 2016, 07:59 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 22 2016, 05:47 PM)
Petronas
tried. put in the debit card, but terus accepted and then say please fill in pump. no mention to put in the amount.
It didnt mention. Just key in the amount you need then press enter. After that angkat nozle la.
TSwatabakiu
post May 23 2016, 10:02 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ May 22 2016, 11:11 AM)

then fill up
Before or after putting in the credit/debit card?
amirsubhi
post May 23 2016, 10:28 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 23 2016, 10:02 PM)
Before or after putting in the credit/debit card?
after put credit card, has been authorized,, then key in intended amount
ramdieslow
post May 23 2016, 11:38 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(arepit @ May 22 2016, 11:07 AM)
serious??
Me using Petron.

Press PRESET, set the amount, then swipe ur card. Once approved, lift the nozzle and fill her up
xixo_12
post May 24 2016, 08:47 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

should be preset first, enter card, pump in
Kilohertz
post May 24 2016, 09:15 AM

2,173 posts

how about BHP?
shinchan^^
post May 24 2016, 11:55 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(ramdieslow @ May 23 2016, 11:38 PM)
Me using Petron.

Press PRESET, set the amount, then swipe ur card. Once approved, lift the nozzle and fill her up
problem is now not always exact amount tangki full edy dry.gif
Zaryl
post May 24 2016, 04:40 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

Ok another question, if TS don't mind me interjecting your thread LOL.

I am not sure if you all are aware of this or not.
When we use our CC at the CC machine at the pump, why does our card got charged RM200 for 8 days per transaction, then later after the 8 days have passed, Rm200 is credited back to our cc?

Example:

You fill in RM50 fuel for full tank.
Then you got charged RM200 for 8 days.

You fill in Rm5 fuel for motorbike also, kena charged RM200 for 8 days, then the credit released back.

Now my question is:

What's the main reason banks do this kind of faggotory?? doh.gif
Why not just the exact RM50 or RM5 for the fuel we fill in and no "temporary" charged for certain amount of days.

Can someone explain?

thanks.
happyking4ever
post May 24 2016, 04:45 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 24 2016, 04:40 PM)

When we use our CC at the CC machine at the pump, why does our card got charged RM200 for 8 days per transaction, then later after the 8 days have passed, Rm200 is credited back to our cc?

Example:

You fill in Rm5 fuel for motorbike also, kena charged RM200 for 8 days, then the credit released back.

Now my question is:

What's the main reason banks do this kind of faggotory??  doh.gif
Why not just the exact RM50  or RM5 for the fuel we fill in and no "temporary" charged for certain amount of days.

Can someone explain?

thanks.
I asked bank about this before, it said is standard practice. But since we are not paying the balance or interest for it, I guess no big deal.

I only knew about it when bank system got too smart and SMS me about the charge of RM200 after I filled the petrol.
confused.gif

This post has been edited by happyking4ever: May 24 2016, 04:45 PM
arepit
post May 24 2016, 04:48 PM

397 posts

so the card will still be charged the rm200 amount first la...even if we set the amount to be let say...rm50?

then by all means, better let it take it course...just stop whenever we want...
Zaryl
post May 24 2016, 05:23 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(arepit @ May 24 2016, 04:48 PM)
so the card will still be charged the rm200 amount first la...even if we set the amount to be let say...rm50?

then by all means, better let it take it course...just stop whenever we want...
yes, if let say you just want to fill in rm30 for the sake of want the fill in the fuel bar just by 1 but not really full tank,
might as well you fill in full tank until the fuel nozzle stops automatically.

because the rm200 will still be charged for 8 days, irregardless of any amount you want to fill the petrol in the first place.

Now i know some people might think this is no big deal. But to those who always monitor their CC outstanding balance and fear that particular rm200 (for 8 days) will just hit the CC limit, it is a big deal. hmm.gif
dares
post May 24 2016, 09:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 24 2016, 05:23 PM)
yes, if let say you just want to fill in rm30 for the sake of want the fill in the fuel bar just by 1 but not really full tank,
might as well you fill in full tank until the fuel nozzle stops automatically.

because the rm200 will still be charged for 8 days, irregardless of any amount you want to fill the petrol in the first place.

Now i know some people might think this is no big deal. But to those who always monitor their CC outstanding balance and fear that particular rm200 (for 8 days) will just hit the CC limit, it is a big deal.  hmm.gif
Because the system always needs to know the charge amount before approving the charge, and since you havent started refuel, there is no way the system can know how much you are gonna charge.

So what the system does, is to use RM200 as the amount to run the approval process. Once it is approved, the RM200 will be entered into the unbilled amount on your account.

As to why it take 8 days, I guess it's just how long it takes to reverse the balance.
SUSMatrix
post May 25 2016, 10:20 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 24 2016, 09:16 PM)
Because the system always needs to know the charge amount before approving the charge, and since you havent started refuel, there is no way the system can know how much you are gonna charge.

So what the system does, is to use RM200 as the amount to run the approval process. Once it is approved, the RM200 will be entered into the unbilled amount on your account.

As to why it take 8 days, I guess it's just how long it takes to reverse the balance.
Just swipe card and pump exact amount lah...all this is pointless...kena charge RM200 for 8 days somemore, later system screw up then no reverse charge....sweat.gif
dares
post May 25 2016, 10:49 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 25 2016, 10:20 AM)
Just swipe card and pump exact amount lah...all this is pointless...kena charge RM200 for 8 days somemore, later system screw up then no reverse charge....sweat.gif
The system needs to know the charge amount to run the approval algorithm ma, if you havent refuel how the system know wor, so it ma put RM200 first lor..... unsure.gif u understand what I say anot jek unsure.gif
SUSMatrix
post May 25 2016, 10:52 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2016, 10:49 AM)
The system needs to know the charge amount to run the approval algorithm ma, if you havent refuel how the system know wor, so it ma put RM200 first lor..... unsure.gif u understand what I say anot jek  unsure.gif
I know, i just don't see why need to pump exact RM xx when using credit card...
dares
post May 25 2016, 11:09 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 25 2016, 10:52 AM)
I know, i just don't see why need to pump exact RM xx when using credit card...
hmm.gif

There must be some kind of miscommunication somewhere sweat.gif

In any case, whether you manually key in your amount or use your refueling skills to get the exact amount you want, your card will still be charged RM200 upfront. Basically as long as you are using credit card at the pump, the card will be charged that amount upfront.

If you want to avoid that when using credit card, the only way is to give the counter cashier your credit card, get him to authorize the pump, refuel your car, then go back to the counter so the cashier can charge the exact amount using the POS terminal. But that defeats the convenience factor of using a credit card.

Dulu AMEX only charge RM80 upfront....now I not sure liao.

This post has been edited by dares: May 25 2016, 11:10 AM
SUSMatrix
post May 25 2016, 11:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2016, 11:09 AM)
hmm.gif

There must be some kind of miscommunication somewhere  sweat.gif

In any case, whether you manually key in your amount or use your refueling skills to get the exact amount you want, your card will still be charged RM200 upfront. Basically as long as you are using credit card at the pump, the card will be charged that amount upfront.

If you want to avoid that when using credit card, the only way is to give the counter cashier your credit card, get him to authorize the pump, refuel your car, then go back to the counter so the cashier can charge the exact amount using the POS terminal. But that defeats the convenience factor of using a credit card.

Is it?? But i never see such charge in the credit card statement?? So i guess it's internally done and the thing cancelled out hence not shown?
dares
post May 25 2016, 11:34 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 25 2016, 11:12 AM)
Is it?? But i never see such charge in the credit card statement?? So i guess it's internally done and the thing cancelled out hence not shown?
Yep, the process is mostly invisible to the customer, unless he/she very rajin go check his unbilled amount.
Zaryl
post May 25 2016, 08:37 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2016, 11:34 AM)
Yep, the process is mostly invisible to the customer, unless he/she very rajin go check his unbilled amount.
including me, that rajin customer who always monitor CC transactions. laugh.gif

thanks for your explaination btw.

Yes, might as well fill in until full tank rather than exact amount. Like it or not, the RM200 charged for 8 days will still take effect.

Insecure Capitalists bastards! laugh.gif
TSwatabakiu
post May 25 2016, 09:52 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 25 2016, 11:09 AM)
hmm.gif

There must be some kind of miscommunication somewhere  sweat.gif

So it is regardless whether preset or not, the CC will be charged RM200 upfront?
Can others confirm too?
-cmi-
post May 26 2016, 03:22 AM

664 posts

The RM200 charge will just affect your total outstanding limit.
You cant even see it in transaction history nor your CC outstanding amount.

I never use debit card before but i heard the concept is just the same which is bad because bank will take your own money 1st before return back to you.

coolstore
post May 26 2016, 12:41 PM

1,524 posts

pay at cashier site with card no additional rm200 charge

pay at pump terminal with card got additional rm200 charge
SUSspanker
post May 26 2016, 01:16 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

you should always pump your tank to full if you want to keep your fuel tank rust free.
zemmien
post May 27 2016, 03:25 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ May 26 2016, 01:16 PM)
you should always pump your tank to full if you want to keep your fuel tank rust free.
can I know the logic behind this theory?

btw yes i always pump my tank full everytime.
TSwatabakiu
post May 27 2016, 07:11 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(-cmi- @ May 26 2016, 03:22 AM)
The RM200 charge will just affect your total outstanding limit.
You cant even see it in transaction history nor your CC outstanding  amount.

I never use debit card before but i heard the concept is just the same which is bad because bank will take your own money 1st before return back to you.
It does matter, say, if you are using Debiit Card, and you need to withdraw the 'withheld' money later the day.

e.g.
Account balance : 250
Amt withhold : 200
bal available to withdraw = 250 - 200 = 50

Though most of the forumers are rich, so the a/c balance would be way higher, so there really is no issue.
But some do face this problem, especially during days just before payday.

QUOTE(coolstore @ May 26 2016, 12:41 PM)
pay at cashier site with card no additional rm200 charge

pay at pump terminal with card got additional rm200 charge
Anyone else can concur this?

This post has been edited by watabakiu: May 27 2016, 11:56 PM
SUSspanker
post May 27 2016, 09:47 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(zemmien @ May 27 2016, 03:25 PM)

https://www.kaltire.com/keep-gas-tank-full/

@riff
post May 27 2016, 09:51 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ May 24 2016, 04:45 PM)
I asked bank about this before, it said is standard practice. But since we are not paying the balance or interest for it, I guess no big deal.

I only knew about it when bank system got too smart and SMS me about the charge of RM200 after I filled the petrol.
confused.gif
good fr u. i only know when i try to withdraw tidak cukup balance... hahahaha since then ive dumped debit card
TSwatabakiu
post May 28 2016, 12:00 AM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(zemmien @ May 27 2016, 03:25 PM)

QUOTE(spanker @ May 27 2016, 09:47 PM)
Good argument. But a few flaws.

If the fuel is running low and that the warning sign has lit, i'd agree.
And being in a traffic, car may stall due to no fuel.

But the tank doesn't have to be full, does it? i think 1/2 or say 1/4 is good enough.

I mean, it does not have to be full/nearing full, kan?
monara
post May 28 2016, 08:03 AM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ May 27 2016, 09:47 PM)
QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 28 2016, 12:00 AM)
Good argument. But a few flaws.

If the fuel is running low and that the warning sign has lit, i'd agree.
And being in a traffic, car may stall due to no fuel.

But the tank doesn't have to be full, does it? i think 1/2 or say 1/4 is good enough.

I mean, it does not have to be full/nearing full, kan?
Nice info in the website, though i think such as condensation, it may occur in cold country, difficult to happen to us here.
While for other points, shouldnt car makers already design the tank to prevent those problem from happening, at least at normal tank operating level.
dares
post May 28 2016, 09:08 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 27 2016, 07:11 PM)

Anyone else can concur this?
At the counter the cashier will only swipe your car AFTER you have refueled, and the RM amount is entered into the terminal. It will be the same as any regular retail charge, eg. swipe your card at the hypermarket.
Zaryl
post May 29 2016, 11:20 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 28 2016, 09:08 AM)
At the counter the cashier will only swipe your car AFTER you have refueled, and the RM amount is entered into the terminal. It will be the same as any regular retail charge, eg. swipe your card at the hypermarket.
but mostly the cashier will just reluctant to do this though. They will simply ask you to swipe outside. doh.gif
SUSbananajoe
post May 30 2016, 12:00 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

Example:

Now my question is:

Why not just the exact RM50  or RM5 for the fuel we fill in and no "temporary" charged for certain amount of days.

Can someone explain?

thanks.
Safety reasons. Ur cc max usage is cap at 200. Incase u forget to put the nozzle properly and ur cc still running
zackskate666
post May 30 2016, 03:18 PM

468 posts

Example:

Now my question is:

Can someone explain?

thanks.
Its called a Pre-authorisation.This amount is reserved directly to your card(if you have enough balance for the pre-auth).. Then once you complete filling up your tank,u put the handle back,it will be called as a completion.Then terminal will send another transaction message to indicate how much does the end completion of your filling.Then processing will be done at the back end between the fuel brand with your card issuer for settlement purposes.After completing the settlement then only your remaining balance is credited into your account back.
TSwatabakiu
post May 31 2016, 09:03 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 29 2016, 11:20 PM)
but mostly the cashier will just reluctant to do this though. They will simply ask you to swipe outside.  doh.gif
Which is absurd really, as customers have opted to pay via card, at the counter. Why the fuss, just do laa.
It'd be more or less the same time taken as paying cash, right?
unknown_2
post Jun 1 2016, 11:07 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 22 2016, 10:57 AM)
Alright, at the pump stations, you can either pay cash at the counter or you swipe your credit card at the fuel pump.

I wish to opt for the latter option. And I wish to select a fixed amount to pump. Say, RM40.
I think this is doable, considering you'd have buttons next to the credit card slot.
icon_question.gif
u put in ur card approve edi, b4 pump, go press the number pad.
u can either choose exact RM, or exact litters.

or u do it the pro way, control the pump wit ur hand to reach exact RM or litters.
i usually do this, coz it adds the fun is refueling.

hotjake
post Jun 2 2016, 10:24 AM

194 posts

Example:

Now my question is:

Can someone explain?

thanks.
shell pump right? laugh.gif

their standard practice, only shell prints it out. the rest no show although happen just the same
Zaryl
post Jun 2 2016, 10:27 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ Jun 2 2016, 10:24 AM)
shell pump right?  laugh.gif

their standard practice, only shell prints it out. the rest no show although happen just the same
no it's for Petronas and other gas stations too eg. Shell, Petron, etc.

Lucky i brought this thing up because i know not all are aware about this hahaha!

Thanks for those who gave their expert feedbacks. Knowledge sharing for all. icon_rolleyes.gif
rip_code
post Jun 3 2016, 04:10 PM

1,972 posts

For Petronas, swipe card and when approve, before lift nozzel, key in amount and press enter. lift the nozzle and it will pump based on your amount you input
juicyliana
post Jun 3 2016, 05:22 PM

when u think juicy, think liana
746 posts

use your hand manually control also can. need skill if u want ngam ngam to get a perfect .00 at the back.
Elaine901211
post Jan 27 2018, 03:24 AM

QUOTE(hotjake @ Jun 2 2016, 10:24 AM)
shell pump right?  laugh.gif

Juz done pump petrol at shell with credit card . Card reading error msg show . Try the 3 RD time only successful payment z

But I had call my bank , they temporary amount withheld is 400 for the first 2 time transaction which is their failure can’t read my credit card

What’s should I do now ? Call shell or credit card bank ?

How long will it take to release my money withheld ?

Appreciate your help

This post has been edited by Elaine901211: Jan 27 2018, 03:25 AM
pgsiemkia
post Jan 27 2018, 09:48 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 25 2016, 11:12 AM)
It just holds the amount, no interest charged. It will also not be reflected on your statements-la!
J1g54w
post Jan 28 2018, 12:58 AM

1,449 posts

I only pump full tank, so never bothered.
SUSTham
post Aug 22 2021, 11:28 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 24 2016, 01:16 PM)

Old post, but this kind of system concept
is ridiculous.

After keying in the amount of
petrol you want on the panel, say RM20,
isn't it a simple matter for
the software to instruct
the pump to dispense
that amount of
petrol as
entered , much like a
coin-operated water
dispenser giving you
the exact amount of
water for the coins
you have put in ?

What's the point of
an automated system
and the keypad
anyway ?

This post has been edited by Tham: Aug 22 2021, 11:30 PM
synical
post Aug 23 2021, 04:18 PM

658 posts

If want liddis might as well go inside pay cash la
MYfc
post Aug 23 2021, 04:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 22 2016, 10:57 AM)

icon_question.gif
Hi, for bank negara it has been set rules that any pre-authorised below that RM250 shall return to account owner within 3 working days. It is not allowed for return by 8 days unless amount is more then RM250.
At SST(Self services Terminal) Most of petrol station is require pre-authorised of RM200 minimum. It will then will be return by 3 workings day BUT the amount will be cancel immediately once you finish and return a nozzle at pump.

Good news, if you are using Petronas SST and using Maybank credit/debit card. The amount will refund straight away after you completed.

Hope this help icon_question.gif

stormer.lyn
post Aug 23 2021, 04:49 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Aug 22 2021, 11:28 PM)
Old post, but this kind of system concept
is ridiculous.

I don't know what bank you use, but in 2021 my bank reverts the RM 200 as soon as the transaction is done

0.3251sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:50 AM