> Diploma in English at UPSI

TSSVM
post May 20 2016, 11:38 PM, updated 10y ago

My daughter got a place in UPSI to do Diploma in English for 2 years. She is a SPM leaver.

Wanted to know what is the prospect or future of this course? Can get a place in local U for degree course later?

Is it worth persue this course ?

Thank you.
SUSSuper Saiya
post May 20 2016, 11:46 PM

280 posts

sambung je la bljr lps ni boleh buat degaree tesl
GarubaSwey
post May 20 2016, 11:50 PM

112 posts

Diploma in English ? lel, what she want to be when she grow up?
jimmyktp
post May 20 2016, 11:52 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(GarubaSwey @ May 20 2016, 11:50 PM)
Diploma in English ? lel, what she want to be when she grow up?
to speaking england.. lol..
fotosintesis
post May 20 2016, 11:55 PM

So which of the favors of your Lord would you deny?
1,002 posts

QUOTE(SVM @ May 20 2016, 11:38 PM)

My daughter got a place in UPSI to do Diploma in English for 2 years. She is a SPM leaver.

Wanted to know what is the prospect or future of this course? Can get a place in local U for degree course later?

Thank you.
Go... I'd say it's a location-wise, since bukan dekat area bandar-less urban lifestyle/dead-town

As for the course, take it if there's no other choice
Had to say eng-course are the best possible way to get a job of she's not into a focused field - you know what i mean

Eng proficiency are at stake when it comes to choose a gooding gomen/worker..else, skill can be learn on site.

Yes, I'm deadly serious
It happen irl
KepliCorn Inc
post May 21 2016, 07:29 AM

97 posts

Whenever i heard about upsi, i thought abt school teacher. Google teacher upsi.

Future prospect for diploma in english:
-Teacher for school, pvt or national (many opportunities, less work)
-Lecturer for pvt or local unis/college
-writer for newspaper/media/mag
-social media handler/exec
-admin/hr in any company
-media/reporter for local tv, international channel, mag and so on
- PR representatives for any company
- negotiator (from negotiator,underwriter,lawyer)

Degree/further studies in future:
- kpli/dpli
-TESL
-Mass comm
-business related
- social media

Teddysaur
post May 21 2016, 07:37 AM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

2 years? what the fuck. i have to spend 3 years for it. fuck this shit dude. fml.

she can try if thats what she likes.
if not, then off you go.

btw, if im not mistaken english is not the same as tesl.
yes there is two options in malaysia.
dip in english and dip in english.
dip in english is more easier and general.

This post has been edited by Teddysaur: May 21 2016, 07:38 AM
TSSVM
post May 21 2016, 12:55 PM

Thanks folk.
She doesn't wanted to do Science subjects in STPM or any science related field such as dentistry, medicine, pharmacy, engineering.
So worried, if she is going to spend 2 yrs and later not getting a place in public U for degree course.
Sending to private, I can't afford at this moment.
TheDeadlySins420
post May 21 2016, 12:56 PM

288 posts

i have a friend studying at upsi. mostly soon to be teachers
TSSVM
post May 21 2016, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ May 21 2016, 07:37 AM)
2 years? what the fuck. i have to spend 3 years for it. fuck this shit dude. fml.

she can try if thats what she likes.
if not, then off you go.

btw, if im not mistaken english is not the same as tesl.
yes there is two options in malaysia.
dip in english and dip in english.
dip in english is more easier and general.
Teddy,
What is the 2 options. You mentioned dip in english and dip in English again.
TQ
Teddysaur
post May 21 2016, 07:37 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(SVM @ May 21 2016, 05:49 PM)
Teddy,
What is the 2 options. You mentioned dip in english and dip in English again.
TQ
Diploma in english and diploma in tesl.

There are actually some more of it.
like corporate communication etc which is more specific.
you are learning english but you are equip more to what field is that course is.
eg: in tesl, you learn about how to teach people about english, in corporate communication, you learn about how to equip yourself with english in corporate world etc. depending on what that course is.

but diploma in english should be general and nothing specific if im not wrong. thus why its easier.
in anyway theyre all the same. dont worry.
Zaazuu
post May 21 2016, 08:02 PM

50 posts

English course graduates can go to various departments, job prospect-wise. I did my degree in English last year and most of my classmates went to work for banks, ministries, translation companies and so on. You also have the option to either further your studies in TESL or English (best choice for dip English graduates) but not limited to those two only.

This post has been edited by Zaazuu: May 21 2016, 08:03 PM
TSSVM
post Jun 4 2016, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ May 21 2016, 07:37 PM)
Diploma in english and diploma in tesl.
There are actually some more of it.
like corporate communication etc which is more specific.
you are learning english but you are equip more to what field is that course is.
eg: in tesl, you learn about how to teach people about english, in corporate communication, you learn about how to equip yourself with english in corporate world etc. depending on what that course is.

but diploma in english should be general and nothing specific if im not wrong. thus why its easier.
in anyway theyre all the same. dont worry.
Thank you so much for the info Teddy.

My daughter has registered & going thru orientation session now.
I also found out from a prof at UPSI, this is a very good course and its a opening (passport) to degree. She have to pass with flying colours and very active in U's ko-ko, the chances are very high to get place for degree course.

TQVM.

rclxms.gif
TSSVM
post Jun 4 2016, 09:54 AM

QUOTE(Zaazuu @ May 21 2016, 08:02 PM)
English course graduates can go to various departments, job prospect-wise. I did my degree in English last year and most of my classmates went to work for banks, ministries, translation companies and so on. You also have the option to either further your studies in TESL or English (best choice for dip English graduates) but not limited to those two only.
Thanks a lot, Zaazuu. Appreciate that.

regan96
post Jun 4 2016, 09:57 AM

581 posts

UPSI is already a public university, I went for their MedSi test and waiting for interview invitation. Career prospect, can be teacher or ( i dont know). I applied for this but I am STPM leaver so I get to do degree.
Teddysaur
post Jun 4 2016, 03:32 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(saymyname @ Jun 4 2016, 09:57 AM)
how's college?
Ayy thanks for the concern.
So far okay.
Waiting for result for sem one.
CyberSetan
post Jun 4 2016, 03:33 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(SVM @ May 20 2016, 11:38 PM)

Thank you.
Later continue with TESL in UPSI la... tell her to study... if she gets taik ayam CGPA... even UPSI will reject her later....
nikita zuleica
post Jun 4 2016, 03:38 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(SVM @ Jun 4 2016, 09:54 AM)
Thanks a lot, Zaazuu. Appreciate that.

hmmmm If i were you, i will give her a chance to make her own mind up,......

as a Mother don't ever underestimate the will of your daughter..... let her do what she think is best for her....

I will encourage her to take A level or STPM first....

0.0164sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:41 AM