Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

derred
post Jun 26 2007, 04:24 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 24 2007, 09:56 AM)
Don't worry pal, by the time it hits Asia I'm sure it's unlocked at compatible with all carriers. I think for now is only AT&T.
Yes, you are correct, it is only AT&T (its actually cingular the best wireless provider in the US but now cingular is under AT&T). It is coming in 4 days! The downside is the 2 years contract with cingular. Unless im using most of the features (especially the wifi), i dont see it is worth my $599 USD.

This post has been edited by derred: Jun 26 2007, 04:36 AM
derred
post Jun 26 2007, 08:12 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

I dont think it will get under RM2k for first hand purchase in the near future. It might be get under 2k but that prolly will take a longer time. As for now i dont think it will be under 2k, if u asked me but who knows. If it really gets < RM2k im might be the one who jumping around enjoying the price slash.
derred
post Jun 27 2007, 10:36 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 26 2007, 08:59 PM)
Actually if you consider that $60 includes the minutes plus unlimited data plan, it's not so bad. What I really don't like about Cingular/AT&T is that the coverage is bad, at least where I usually am.
Lucky me, Cingular coverages is the best in my place. brows.gif However, this is too costly for me. So, next..
derred
post Sep 11 2007, 02:31 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

Iphone is finally unlocked guys !!

Unlocking Iphone

iphonesimfree.com
<--- more on that here, click on the links !

other thread on lowyat for iPhone hands-on with pictures and bla bla

Iphone hands-on

Added on September 11, 2007, 2:35 am
After numerous delays and endless cries of "hoax!", it looks like the iPhoneSIMfree iPhone unlocking software is finally available for purchase from four online retailers around the world. Wireless Imports in the US, iPhoneWorldwideUnlock in Australia, 1digitalphone in Germany, and iPhone4arab in Saudi Arabia (currently down) have all purchased bulk licenses from the iPhoneSIMfree team and are selling individual unlocks for around $100 (Update: that price is just from the US etailer, it seems; looks like the Aussies are letting it go for under 50 bucks American. Also, the Hackint0sh community is already busy at work trying to snatch these sites' code as we speak). Go nuts, and let us know your initial experiences below...

Update: The Hackint0sh guys claim they will not be reverse engineering the iPhoneSIMfree software. Ok, well, whatever.

http://www.engadget.com/2007/09/10/iphones...nlocking-begin/

Video proof

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/apple/iphone-so...p?autoplay=true

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 11 2007, 02:35 AM
derred
post Sep 13 2007, 04:47 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(chieulee @ Sep 13 2007, 03:26 AM)
oh .. ic... so i can just ask my friend in US to buy the iphone ONLY without the AT&T contract. thanks dude for the explaination.
I think u got this all messed up. Do I need to explain step-by-step how actually this thing works ?

Status: I have to eat "sahur" for puasa. I'll be back in 30 mins to explain everything how it works. How to escape bla bla..
derred
post Sep 13 2007, 06:07 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

someone already answered that for me. But this is my version of it. Firstly, say u bought here in PA (pennsylvania).

Here how it works.

Iphone available on AT&T stores or either from Apple website (ship to you; more convenience). Then u pay either $299 or $399 depending the iPhone u choose (4gb or 8gb). With tax, strictly in PA say, total amount with the iPhone cheap 20 casing will be $444.xx. That iPhone will not be tested or open inside the AT&T store if u bought it at store. They can't open it, it's not allowed. They even have the specific bag that sealed it (yeah it's glued).

then the other process will be the activation. Ok as u guys don't even care about the contract, my version of waiving it, is by inserting this specific number of SSN 999999999 (social security number, which is like I.C in Malaysia) so that will activate month by month credit installment. Don't get this confused, in the US, prepaid is super expensive. U have to pay even to receive call, just like sms. This is the other side of the world so don't ask me why. Then by using the software, u can use other sim so u don't have to worry about black listing or other risk at all. U can continue using whatever carrier u like. This is solution for other Americans for using diff telco that still lives here in the US. So they can't afford to mess up their credit score or such, just bcoz they want to use other telco namely T-Mobile, Sprint bla bla.

ADDED: So that basically means, u don't have any 2 years contract. What u will have is a monthly. So instead of two years, u just pay like one month instead of 24. It is troublesome. Good things come to those who wait. No point of getting now. Ur giving away ur hard earn money to Stevie blindly IMO. When the time comes, u will feel like kicking urself in the nuts. If u dont have one, then try other alternative. If I where to use with other telco; I'll wait. Smoother process, better phone (meaning better features and that will includes something like capacity hopefully, battery surely, not to mention all those nasty2 features.) If ur thinking just to boast among friends, cmon grow up. I know it's a great deal with it's price now. But certainly not for everyone that is.

So I dont know about any other better methods than this. Some might found this the best way out, some may not. This is strictly unique according to individuals. Even the iPhone itself is controversial enuf. No video recording no bla bla no 3G bla bla. It's the first generation for god sake. If u want better, then wait lah. About the risk of updates bla bla, even the hacker themselves couldnt promise you anything. It's all up to Apple. If they are thinking making more sales than securing their partner AT&T, then we should not be to worried. That means that officially sell 1 Million iPhone with contract and another 1 Mil just the iPhone itself without contract. They don't lose anything either way. Just which one gives em more money.

Added on September 13, 2007, 6:11 pmADDED: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/516970

pictures of the sealed wrapper from AT&T and some unboxing pics. There are 2 pictures from the iPhone itself.

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 13 2007, 06:26 PM
derred
post Sep 14 2007, 02:08 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Sep 13 2007, 12:13 PM)
uh derred, where are you getting your facts from? I've never heard of anyone paying for 1 month out of the 24 months -- from what i've derived from the forums you don't need to activate the AT&T card, just run the unlock app and you'll be fine.

I'll be getting my iphone soon, you're more than welcome to wait for a more non-technical approach (i.e the official apple version, but that could take months); I've heard theres even a GUI now that requires one click for the open source unlock so I don't see much of a problem.

As for the price, I think $399 is a steal. I have a $50 credit in the store so i'll be getting mine for $349. $600 expensive -- yes, and not worth it IMHO, $399 hits the right price point, and if you don't need that much space, you could always go for the 4GB version for $299.
I actually tried to search back from my sources but I couldn't find it. It's probably word of mouths or either comments from US consumer/customer.

I'll be getting my iphone soon, you're more than welcome to wait for a more non-technical approach (i.e the official apple version, but that could take months); I've heard theres even a GUI now that requires one click for the open source unlock so I don't see much of a problem.

I already have an Iphone. So next time either read everything or don't just shoot people point blank. I mentioned it out in general for those who in Malaysia but urged to get one.

As for the price, I think $399 is a steal. I have a $50 credit in the store so i'll be getting mine for $349. $600 expensive -- yes, and not worth it IMHO, $399 hits the right price point, and if you don't need that much space, you could always go for the 4GB version for $299.

Couldn't agree more. Read my thread that I mentioned it out. I actually buy mine the day after they announced the price drop.

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 14 2007, 02:10 AM
derred
post Sep 14 2007, 02:24 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

FoX,

it's just few posts back. Mine was PA's tax. Taxes are differ between states. I heard someone mention online it says $399 including tax & shipping or either inlcuding tax only or shipping only. Couldn't confirm. check it for urself.
derred
post Sep 14 2007, 06:07 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 13 2007, 04:48 PM)
so who is going to pay to the at&t subscription? at least $50 monthly plan for 2 years.
I only pay 40 bucks per month. woho. And trust me, u can get cheaper than that.
derred
post Sep 14 2007, 08:24 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 13 2007, 05:55 PM)
depends on how you negotiate wit the rep?

i get $50 quote from their website though.
Nope. Yeah technically yes. But that is if u created a new account. That is one of the reason I went for it (iPhone). Even the bill is not so bad. If u already have an account just plus 20 to whatever u paid before. So say I pay 28 for previous bill, then I have to pay 48 for iPhone. Say if it is 10, then 30.
derred
post Sep 14 2007, 04:54 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 14 2007, 02:14 AM)
oo got it. that is what we referred as upgrade. upgrade plan to get a better phone, or when contract is getting to the end.

do AT&T sells the iphone without any plan / subscription?
Iphone is not AT&T's; so better Q shud b does Apple sell iPhone without subcription. I won't give u straight answer but I think u already know d answer. It's both no and yes. And yeah I answer no first b4 yes.
derred
post Sep 17 2007, 10:04 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 16 2007, 08:21 PM)
Haiya.... almost jump off the chair...
I believe u already did, dont cha?

QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 16 2007, 08:01 AM)
thanks for pointing that out.

not everyone knows about that, paranoia.

as different country have different system. for example malaysia dont have contract subscription at all that comes with free phone and free minutes monthly, while for EU, you wont be able to get a phone at its advertised price unless you subscribed to their plan.
I thot some of us including myself have explained this over and over again. But good thing u understand already by now smile.gif

Added on September 17, 2007, 10:05 am
QUOTE(yaosiang @ Sep 16 2007, 08:49 PM)
laugh.gif  Same Here.. Dunno When Will There Be A Fix For Maxis.. Just A Question.. Let's Say Those Who Are On AT&T Line Visit Malaysia And They Are Roaming.. Can They Receive Call With Maxis?  unsure.gif
They probably can but the bills is gonna ridiculous. I mean extremely ridiculous. Better unlock it for free and use local telco for local calls.

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 17 2007, 10:07 AM
derred
post Sep 18 2007, 09:59 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

Anyone using must-have software on the iPhone for now ? I was thinking of hacking mine then again I don't see any incentive for me to do it. So far all I did is the ringtones hack which is relatively a must-have.

I am actually glad to hear that iphone is fully-compatible now in Malaysia. By the time I am home, I won't miss any features at all.
derred
post Sep 22 2007, 01:36 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

I actually updated few paragraphs bout installing third party software on iPhone. I am using the new iTunes (7.4.2) and nothing have change by far (I have not simhack my iPhone so far, so that might be an important factor).
derred
post Sep 22 2007, 07:29 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(zekrycortez @ Sep 22 2007, 05:52 AM)
im not sure coz let say ipod u buy from us right, if anything happen then can claim the warranty from apple malaysia? if then maybe same as goes to iphone too.
Noob Question - iphone cannot set custom ringtones right? just the the normal ringtone inside the iphone right?
I think what u mean is by using mp3/ songs as ringtones. Officially, they are looking forward to release that (of coz in situation that they can profit from it by charging 99 cent/$.99 per track which I know is ridiculous. By ibrickr-ing or nullriver-ing isn't so hard. Within 3 minutes, everything can be done even more than that.

Added on September 22, 2007, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 22 2007, 05:39 AM)
So is much much cheaper to buy now from US right?Thought unlocking just need install a software..n easily unlock.. so complicated ah? U mean after malaysia officially release..than warranty can b get although d iphone from us..?
think of it like this, how about those earlier owners like irwan or myself that actually bought it here in the States ? So when I went back and it's somehow broken (assume it's out in Malaysia) I will not received any warranty ? No Apple said somewhere that their products are warranted internationally, for example MacBook or stuff. They do not offer extended international warranty for laptops for that reason. It could be a problematic processes and stuff, but still they officially cover it worldwide (of coz which assumption that the product is for sales in the local countries respectively).

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 22 2007, 07:33 PM
derred
post Sep 22 2007, 10:30 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

As long as it is software hack, worst case you will only need to restore to factory settings. Then go on and redo whatever u want (like u mentioned, ibrickr it and stuff).
derred
post Sep 23 2007, 01:41 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

stringfellow basically covers everything. If I were in your condition (zekrycortez or clivengu) I will definitely wait. For my condition and situation for now is definitely different from yours. Plus, I am not worried about warranty at all since I am here.

Some additional pictures from iPhone:

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 23 2007, 01:42 AM
derred
post Sep 23 2007, 09:11 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

how about call them and ask them ? I think they will activate once u let them know ? I don't know for sure but out of instinct I'll say u have to let them know and they will assist u with that no problemo.
derred
post Sep 24 2007, 12:10 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(UnUsUaL @ Sep 23 2007, 10:43 PM)
Topic Merged.
What is that mean ?

Added on September 24, 2007, 12:11 pm
QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Sep 23 2007, 11:04 PM)
Eh got a question guys,

Is it possible to purchase directly from Apple US?
But I have read their shipping FAQ's apparently they only do shipping within the US state.

Anyone mind to me clear this confusion.
meaning they ship only in 50 States (i don't know about Rhode Island tho, but they don't cover that). For ur goodness, it means it doesn't ship to you (outside US).

Added on September 24, 2007, 12:18 pm
QUOTE(six66 @ Sep 23 2007, 08:30 PM)
hi,

my iphone will be arriving on Oct, 6th smile.gif getting a friend to bring 2  rclxms.gif
but im a Maxis user sad.gif

Maxis user please post some updates on Maxis's issue.
Contemplating on getting iphonesimfree .. any idea if it works ?

what are u using to protect ur iphone from dings and dents ?
anyone 'skin' thier iphone ?

thx
If u mean like casing or anything, I have the picture of my sleeve or cover or wuteva here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/516970

This post has been edited by derred: Sep 24 2007, 12:18 PM
derred
post Sep 24 2007, 02:44 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(jodi @ Sep 24 2007, 01:02 AM)
You have the option to buy without activation of contract.
To be exact, the only way to activate with AT&T account is using 1) iTunes 2) u must get out of the store first with unopened plastic bag and iphone box as soon after u paid for it (yes meaning not like you buy phone in Malaysia u can check2 or open it first talked with the rep or anything).

So basically every iPhone buyer buys without activation contract. Contract is your choice in front of your on computer on the iTunes. So technically no matter where you buy, you don't buy iphone and immediately got 2-years contract with AT&T. It's all on you and your choice.

0.0663sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:20 PM