Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

clivengu
post Sep 22 2007, 05:04 PM

1,850 posts

May I know how much will it cost to bought an Iphone from US back to malaysia? 4gb and 8gb one..after tax etc... will it cost more than RM 2k? And is that including local warranty? If my phone got problem will Msia Apple retail fix it for me and can claim warranty? rclxub.gif Im just worry about this. I think unlocking d phone shouldnt b a problem anymore right?

Thinking to wait till it is officially launch in msia, just buy. But i predict the price will go up to rm 3k and above which I need to give up.

Whats u guys suggestion? Is it really OK to bought the IPhone directly from US? I have friends coming back from Chicago end of d year. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by clivengu: Sep 22 2007, 05:06 PM
clivengu
post Sep 22 2007, 06:39 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(zekrycortez @ Sep 22 2007, 05:27 PM)
if u got friend that can bring it back here, why not! but must find people that can unlock ur iphone and use it here. I predict that if maxis can solve the call in problem, sure they hike up the price. thats my opinion.

Added on September 22, 2007, 5:28 pmbut there's no warranty la until it been released officially in malaysia.
So is much much cheaper to buy now from US right?Thought unlocking just need install a software..n easily unlock.. so complicated ah? U mean after malaysia officially release..than warranty can b get although d iphone from us..?
clivengu
post Sep 22 2007, 10:35 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Sep 22 2007, 07:29 PM)
I think what u mean is by using mp3/ songs as ringtones. Officially, they are looking forward to release that (of coz in situation that they can profit from it by charging 99 cent/$.99 per track which I know is ridiculous. By ibrickr-ing or nullriver-ing isn't so hard. Within 3 minutes, everything can be done even more than that.

Added on September 22, 2007, 7:33 pm

think of it like this, how about those earlier owners like irwan or myself that actually bought it here in the States ? So when I went back and it's somehow broken (assume it's out in Malaysia) I will not received any warranty ? No Apple said somewhere that their products are warranted internationally, for example MacBook or stuff. They do not offer extended international warranty for laptops for that reason. It could be a problematic processes and stuff, but still they officially cover it worldwide (of coz which assumption that the product is for sales in the local countries respectively).
I don quite get it. Is that means, once I phone is officially launching in malaysia.. Those US Brought in Iphone, can be claim warranty n repair in local Apple Store too?? My Friend coming back in December... Should be quite close to the Releasing date in Asia. The reason I want to get it from US directly is bcause of the much cheaper price... rm 1.5k can get already...as when is officially lauched in msia.. I really doubt it will be selling at that price.. definately more than 3k. and i cant afford that sweat.gif
clivengu
post Sep 26 2007, 11:08 PM

1,850 posts

Lets guess how much would they sell I phone in malaysia next time. 3k Above? I might as well give up now n buy HTC Touch tongue.gif.

HOnestly im a bit sceptical bout puchasing it from US...though it will be very much Cheaper. The fact that, im not really good in tweaking phone, computer stuffs,, might get myself into troubles~ ho ho ho.. decision decision decision

my friend back from US in Dec.. Mayb that time the I phone bought oredi is d updated version n cannot b unlocked one. If Msia selling it more expensive like rm 400-500 ..im willing to pay for it.. IF extra rm 1k is really not worth it. I think im very unlucky and most of my gadget (Mini o2, Canon Camera, etc) usually will require using its warranty one... juz my bad luck.
clivengu
post Sep 27 2007, 10:42 PM

1,850 posts

If ask my friend brought I phone from US to malaysia.. Will he kena tax? What if he says is his own phone? Dont wanna cause trouble for him.
clivengu
post Sep 28 2007, 10:59 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 28 2007, 10:34 PM)
Just subscribed to unlimited EDGE from Digi, but have to wait till tomorrow to activate the sim card. From the test made at the Digi center, EDGE works smoothly, and surprisingly......fast!? In fact, i was comparing it with Celcom 3G, upon loading same URL location, between the two, and the EDGE connection loads it faster than the 3G!

So a week of testing the EDGE line to see if it is viable enough to replace Celcom 3G before i permanently disconnect Celcom 3G. The thing is, i was conned and lied upon when i wanted the switch to daily Mobile Broadband, from the earlier add that claims that the daily Mobile Broadband from Celcom which taps into the HSDPA network, that it will give me that elusive  "up to 3.6 Mbps" download line. Turns out that Celcom could never achieve that speed, in fact now it is locked to 384kbps, with the "up to 1.8 Mbps" available only to data subscribers on the RM120. No way am i gonna get conned twice....., once Digi EDGE proved its viability, bye bye Celcom 3G!Maybe when you truly provide the speeds you claim Celcom, then i'd consider you again.
how much u subscribe for the digi EDGE? n is it really as fast as streamyx broadband speed?
clivengu
post Sep 28 2007, 11:07 PM

1,850 posts

rm 99 for unlimited connection + phone call? im not sure of the DIgi plan.. I have been using Prepared for over 5 years now....hehe

0.0388sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:23 AM