Quick question to any Celcom users using unlocked iPhone - does your SMS work?
Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones
Sep 13 2007, 04:50 PM
1,161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Quick question to any Celcom users using unlocked iPhone - does your SMS work?
Sep 13 2007, 04:53 PM
55 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(derred @ Sep 13 2007, 04:47 PM) I think u got this all messed up. Do I need to explain step-by-step how actually this thing works ? ok ok. wait for ur more detail explaination. thanksStatus: I have to eat "sahur" for puasa. I'll be back in 30 mins to explain everything how it works. How to escape bla bla.. |
Sep 13 2007, 05:05 PM
2,743 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seremban |
ya... need that explanation too
in case my bro wanna buy... and btw... any idea how much will the tax when buying iphone cost? |
Sep 13 2007, 05:07 PM
3,152 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
lamanya bersahur
Sep 13 2007, 05:16 PM
137 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: The Other Side |
I understand the excitement and anxiety of those who are eager to get the iPhone working here in Malaysia. Here are some frequently asked questions and answers pertaining to the iPhone. Hope it will help:
Q: How do I get an iPhone? A: Buy from Apple / AT&T store in US or eBay Q: Will I need to sign a 2 year contract with AT&T? A: No, you don't. Q: You mean I can just walk in an Apple store and buy the phone alone? A: Yes Q: Really? A: Yes. But you gotta pay taxes on top of $399 for the phone Q: How much? A: About US$50 (for the old price of $599) Q: Is there anyway I can get away without paying tax? A: Yes, if you are Steve Jobs Q: Do I need to buy a TurboSim to unlock the phone? A: No. Use the free iUnlock widely available on the net. Q: Which local telco supports the phone feature of the iPhone? A: DiGi and Celcom works flawlessly. Maxis, no call in. Q: Is there any way I can get Maxis working? A: Call Maxis and try your luck. Q: But someone mentioned here Maxis works flawlessly. A: Then you ask him to do a live demo on video for ya. Q: Are you sure? A: Yes. Am using a 3G card for Maxis. It can't receive calls. Q: Will non 3G cards on Maxis work? A: Just tried with a non 3G card - Nope, still doesn't work. Q: Are you using Prepaid or Postpaid on Maxis? A: Prepaid. Both 3G and Non 3G prepaid cards. Q: Maybe it works on Postpaid? A: Good question. Maybe others here can confirm this? Q: Will future updates from Apple re-lock my iPhone? A: Most probably yes. Q: How can I avoid that? A: Do not update your firmware or iTunes Q: Will YouTube works with iUnlock on the iPhone? A: You gotta hack the iPhone feature on your own. iUnlock just unlocks the phone. Q: How can I hack the YouTube feature? A: Visit hacktheiphone.com for a step-by-step tutorial. Q: But the iUnlock tutorial is so complicated. A: Wait a few more days for a simpler GUI version. Q: What's a GUI version? A: Basically, a version with buttons you click to unlock Q: Cool! When will it be available? A: Check gizmodo.com for updates Q: Any advice before I decide to get the iPhone? A: Just do it. This post has been edited by ps360: Sep 13 2007, 05:54 PM |
Sep 13 2007, 05:18 PM
770 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Digital_Life @ Sep 13 2007, 02:17 PM) Just found this ...something about iPhone and mobile operator DIGI and CELCOM are working, should put inside the list, MAXIS also can ? i am wondering, cos most of ppl tested it and not working for call in function.http://www.engadget.com/2007/09/13/iphone-...nd-69-carriers/ from what i have read, you should -------------- - buy iPhone - jailbreak ur iPhone ( activate it and SSH enable) - follow the guide - remote the AT&T sim card, slot in any comm sim card (so far digi and celcom only, maxis can't call in) - tada Don't care about what contract with AT&T or any other stuff, just bring the phone back malaysia. correct me if i am wrong This post has been edited by kokyun: Sep 13 2007, 05:23 PM |
Sep 13 2007, 05:20 PM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
Tax are varied depends on state. it about 7% +-
Sep 13 2007, 05:28 PM
ps360
thanks for the detail will inform my bro in us see whether he wanna buy or not |
Sep 13 2007, 05:32 PM
490 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Sep 13 2007, 06:07 PM
1,238 posts Joined: May 2007 |
someone already answered that for me. But this is my version of it. Firstly, say u bought here in PA (pennsylvania).
Here how it works. Iphone available on AT&T stores or either from Apple website (ship to you; more convenience). Then u pay either $299 or $399 depending the iPhone u choose (4gb or 8gb). With tax, strictly in PA say, total amount with the iPhone cheap 20 casing will be $444.xx. That iPhone will not be tested or open inside the AT&T store if u bought it at store. They can't open it, it's not allowed. They even have the specific bag that sealed it (yeah it's glued). then the other process will be the activation. Ok as u guys don't even care about the contract, my version of waiving it, is by inserting this specific number of SSN 999999999 (social security number, which is like I.C in Malaysia) so that will activate month by month credit installment. Don't get this confused, in the US, prepaid is super expensive. U have to pay even to receive call, just like sms. This is the other side of the world so don't ask me why. Then by using the software, u can use other sim so u don't have to worry about black listing or other risk at all. U can continue using whatever carrier u like. This is solution for other Americans for using diff telco that still lives here in the US. So they can't afford to mess up their credit score or such, just bcoz they want to use other telco namely T-Mobile, Sprint bla bla. ADDED: So that basically means, u don't have any 2 years contract. What u will have is a monthly. So instead of two years, u just pay like one month instead of 24. It is troublesome. Good things come to those who wait. No point of getting now. Ur giving away ur hard earn money to Stevie blindly IMO. When the time comes, u will feel like kicking urself in the nuts. If u dont have one, then try other alternative. If I where to use with other telco; I'll wait. Smoother process, better phone (meaning better features and that will includes something like capacity hopefully, battery surely, not to mention all those nasty2 features.) If ur thinking just to boast among friends, cmon grow up. I know it's a great deal with it's price now. But certainly not for everyone that is. So I dont know about any other better methods than this. Some might found this the best way out, some may not. This is strictly unique according to individuals. Even the iPhone itself is controversial enuf. No video recording no bla bla no 3G bla bla. It's the first generation for god sake. If u want better, then wait lah. About the risk of updates bla bla, even the hacker themselves couldnt promise you anything. It's all up to Apple. If they are thinking making more sales than securing their partner AT&T, then we should not be to worried. That means that officially sell 1 Million iPhone with contract and another 1 Mil just the iPhone itself without contract. They don't lose anything either way. Just which one gives em more money. Added on September 13, 2007, 6:11 pmADDED: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/516970 pictures of the sealed wrapper from AT&T and some unboxing pics. There are 2 pictures from the iPhone itself. This post has been edited by derred: Sep 13 2007, 06:26 PM |
Sep 13 2007, 06:18 PM
hmm
sounds a bit troublesome will... jz see my bro wanna buy ornot.. |
Sep 13 2007, 07:38 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I am thinking to get one more iPhone 8gb and wondering any friend here going to US? Please pm me.
Added on September 13, 2007, 7:45 pmI am having a big problem on my iPhone. There is no sound from the external speaker irregardless ringer, sms or music but I can listen thru the headset I have tried the following 1. Plug in and out many many times, it becomes an exercise for my finger 2. Reset and restore to factory setting thru itunes many times 3. Tried many different setting on the iPhone 4. press volume up and down many times and the silent mode 5. Searched many websites Please help! Anyone experience this problem? This post has been edited by ASAP: Sep 13 2007, 07:45 PM |
Sep 13 2007, 10:33 PM
2,494 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Kemuning, Shah Alam |
QUOTE(ASAP @ Sep 13 2007, 07:38 PM) I am thinking to get one more iPhone 8gb and wondering any friend here going to US? Please pm me. How Did You Get The iPhone At The First Place? Added on September 13, 2007, 7:45 pmI am having a big problem on my iPhone. There is no sound from the external speaker irregardless ringer, sms or music but I can listen thru the headset I have tried the following 1. Plug in and out many many times, it becomes an exercise for my finger 2. Reset and restore to factory setting thru itunes many times 3. Tried many different setting on the iPhone 4. press volume up and down many times and the silent mode 5. Searched many websites Please help! Anyone experience this problem? |
Sep 13 2007, 10:39 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
My friend bought it from me from US
Sep 13 2007, 11:09 PM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
hehehe.... more poison from me.
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sep 14 2007, 01:13 AM
946 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(derred @ Sep 13 2007, 06:07 PM) ADDED: So that basically means, u don't have any 2 years contract. What u will have is a monthly. So instead of two years, u just pay like one month instead of 24. It is troublesome. Good things come to those who wait. No point of getting now. Ur giving away ur hard earn money to Stevie blindly IMO. When the time comes, u will feel like kicking urself in the nuts. If u dont have one, then try other alternative. If I where to use with other telco; I'll wait. Smoother process, better phone (meaning better features and that will includes something like capacity hopefully, battery surely, not to mention all those nasty2 features.) If ur thinking just to boast among friends, cmon grow up. I know it's a great deal with it's price now. But certainly not for everyone that is. uh derred, where are you getting your facts from? I've never heard of anyone paying for 1 month out of the 24 months -- from what i've derived from the forums you don't need to activate the AT&T card, just run the unlock app and you'll be fine. I'll be getting my iphone soon, you're more than welcome to wait for a more non-technical approach (i.e the official apple version, but that could take months); I've heard theres even a GUI now that requires one click for the open source unlock so I don't see much of a problem. As for the price, I think $399 is a steal. I have a $50 credit in the store so i'll be getting mine for $349. $600 expensive -- yes, and not worth it IMHO, $399 hits the right price point, and if you don't need that much space, you could always go for the 4GB version for $299. |
Sep 14 2007, 01:47 AM
1,428 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(derred @ Sep 13 2007, 06:07 PM) U have to pay even to receive call, just like sms. This is the other side of the world so don't ask me why. Off-topic, but making handphone users pay for incoming calls is good regulatory policy - it results in lower charges for everyone. You can't have true competition unless customers are paying all the fees associated with calls to/from their own phones. Otherwise you end up with the case like Malaysia, where when I (a Digi customer) call you (a Maxis customer), you don't pay anything to Maxis for the call. Instead, I have to pay Maxis (Digi passes the charge on). There is no incentive for Maxis to reduce that charge because I am not a Maxis customer; there is no danger that I will leave them. This is why the US, Canada, Singapore, Hong Kong, and China are using the system where the receiver pays for the call. In all of these countries, as a result of competition, handphone charges are very low on a PPP basis. Australia is considering changing over too, a very good idea given how overpriced handphone usage is there. |
Sep 14 2007, 02:08 AM
QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Sep 13 2007, 12:13 PM) uh derred, where are you getting your facts from? I've never heard of anyone paying for 1 month out of the 24 months -- from what i've derived from the forums you don't need to activate the AT&T card, just run the unlock app and you'll be fine. I actually tried to search back from my sources but I couldn't find it. It's probably word of mouths or either comments from US consumer/customer. I'll be getting my iphone soon, you're more than welcome to wait for a more non-technical approach (i.e the official apple version, but that could take months); I've heard theres even a GUI now that requires one click for the open source unlock so I don't see much of a problem. As for the price, I think $399 is a steal. I have a $50 credit in the store so i'll be getting mine for $349. $600 expensive -- yes, and not worth it IMHO, $399 hits the right price point, and if you don't need that much space, you could always go for the 4GB version for $299. QUOTE I'll be getting my iphone soon, you're more than welcome to wait for a more non-technical approach (i.e the official apple version, but that could take months); I've heard theres even a GUI now that requires one click for the open source unlock so I don't see much of a problem. I already have an Iphone. So next time either read everything or don't just shoot people point blank. I mentioned it out in general for those who in Malaysia but urged to get one. QUOTE As for the price, I think $399 is a steal. I have a $50 credit in the store so i'll be getting mine for $349. $600 expensive -- yes, and not worth it IMHO, $399 hits the right price point, and if you don't need that much space, you could always go for the 4GB version for $299. Couldn't agree more. Read my thread that I mentioned it out. I actually buy mine the day after they announced the price drop. This post has been edited by derred: Sep 14 2007, 02:10 AM |
Sep 14 2007, 02:13 AM
197 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/520169
Don't mean to advertise here, but i really want to get my mitts on iphone real bad so i decided to start a bulk. As i am not sure how much the tax and handling charges is, right now i dare not state an over low price so i say it is 2.5k. Can all the abang's here who are pro go in to the thread and tell people about the goods and bads of gettin iphone in malaysia. What works and what doesnt, and when will the 3G iphone reach our shores. And those who know how much tax/shipping will be incurred can please pm me and teach me. |
Sep 14 2007, 02:24 AM
FoX,
it's just few posts back. Mine was PA's tax. Taxes are differ between states. I heard someone mention online it says $399 including tax & shipping or either inlcuding tax only or shipping only. Couldn't confirm. check it for urself. |
| Change to: | 0.0307sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:08 AM |